Great vacation town, unit could use some simple updates to make it 4 stars
My family of 5 (husband and 3 kids 9, 7, 1) stayed in this unit this summer. While the unit offered plenty of space for stretching out, there were some things that need tending to. While glassware and silverware are plentiful, they were not clean when we arrived. The pots and pans were also dirty and many of them warped or scratched (when the non-stick is scratched it's gross) to the point where we couldn't even make pancakes. The bedrooms were spacious, however, the lack of blinds in the master bedroom oceanview window was shocking-how can you sleep in on vacation with all that light glaring in? The blankets provided for the beds were scratchy and uncomfortable. I was also surprised that the window coverings in the main living area were very light, my son remarked he was having trouble sleeping on the pull-out couch once the sun came up. Speaking of the pull-out couch, when we went to unfold, there is a huge, disgusting stain that looks like blood on the underside. The area rugs in the bedrooms were filled with sand when we arrived, and when we left-the vaccuum cleaner in the unit was useless, wouldn't even suck up a cheerio! The seating in the living area was very uncomfortable, two rattan chairs with worn out padding. Hardly enough seating to wind down after a day at the beach for 5 people. The windowsill in the dining room had dead bugs on it which was pretty gross. The bathtub in the master was moldy and dingy and I'm not sure if that's because they weren't very bright or a combination of dimness and dirt. The cabinets in the kitchen are virtually falling off of the hinges in certain spots or stuck and won't open properly.
On a positive note, the view is wonderful and the pool was refreshing-though the pool deck is a bit small. This area of the beach was not very crowded and the people in the building were extremely friendly. I found the location to be central to a variety of shopping and dining areas.
Bottom line, we will return to Myrtle Beach but will likely choose another unit. I have a certain expectation when I spend this kind of money and this unit fell short.
Owner's Response: Dear Kathy
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I had only wished that you would have communicated with me while you were here as we could have helped addressed some of your concerns. Unfortunately, since we don’t live at the condo, if a prior guest does something to the condo, we don’t always know it and depend on the cleaners or the guest to make us aware of any problems. We certainly would have been glad to assist you with any concerns.
I will be going to the condo this weekend to address the vacuum cleaner and the sleeper mattress as those will be replaced. As well, we will do a thorough walk thru to ensure that everything is proper.
We have had nothing but great reviews on this property and will take your feedback seriously as our desire is to provide a great experience for all our guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
Did you find this review helpful?