Bad Business Practice/Disgusting Studios
Submitted: March 28, 2012
Stayed: March 2012
I arrived to find many roaches in the studio, multiple stains & filth on the carpet, cigarette smoke coming in through the vent from next door. I went to the office of Hawaiian Condo Resorts to talk to a female employee who was wonderful to us. She agreed to move us to another studio. We encountered the same problem, disgusting and filthy carpet and cigarette smoke. We couldn't tolerate that so we went back to the office to check for other studios in other buildings. The female employee wasn't there and the male employee who was already had an attitude and was very grouchy and said he had no control over the smoke, blah blah and wouldn't help us out. I got so angry as I am deaf and he didn't want to deal with a deaf person. He didn't want to communicate. I had to leave the office as I was so mad. I sent email to the President of the company. He NEVER responded. I also expected a partial refund as the agreement stated that it was negotiable at the manager's discretion. Do NOT stay here or deal with that rental company!!!
Owner's Response: On 3/2/12, this client called our office to inquire on the availability of a budget Ilikai Marina city view studio with full kitchen for the period 3/15/12 through 3/27/12. He was offered a City View Ilikai Marina Studio with full kitchen for a rate of $590.00 per week + tax and applicable fees which the client accepted.
On 3/17/12, the client came to our office stated that he was unhappy with his unit because the neighbors were smoking and he could smell it through the Air Conditioner vent and he found several roaches in the unit. Our staff suggested that he transfer rooms.
We transferred the tenant on 3/17/12, to another unit in the same building. On 3/19/12 client again called our office and complained that the unit next door to his new unit also had smokers and he also stated at that time he would like a two bedroom two bath condo. During the course of our meeting, our staff explained that we did not have any Two Bedrooms available in our inventory. When client asked what we could do about the smoking and he was informed that we could talk to the neighbors, but over and above that we have no control over units not in our inventory.
It is important to note that it was only in the later stages of the meeting with the client on 3/19/12, that the staff member who client states was grouchy discovered that the client was hearing impaired. As the middle of March is still very busy for us, we did not have any other units to move him to for several days
It saddens us that we could not find a condo unit in our inventory which was acceptable by the client’s standards and he checked out early. This in an unfair critique of our unit.. Our Owner takes great pains to facilitate a regular pest abatement program to keep any such problems in check. Monitoring and policing smoking inside of units can be a very hard to do.
Helpful votes: 14/14
Did you find this review helpful?