Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Tom & Dawn

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Tom & Dawn

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cozy Mountain Home, Fantastic Views!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Linville Falls House Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to 9+ private acres of scenic mountain retreat that borders 500,000 acres of the Pisgah National Forest.

Experience secluded relaxation that gets you away from bustling high traffic tourist attractions, and gives you wide open areas to leisurely take in the surrounding mountains.

On top of Eagle Mountain property sits a private mountaintop clearing with spectacular 180 degree south, west and northern views. Build a bon fire in our 20-foot fire pit, surrounded by boulders that create the four points of a compass. Throw down a blanket in the grassy field and create a picnic your memories will cherish. Step off the back of our property and get lost hiking onto a path that takes you deep into 500,000 acre Pisgah National Forest. Walk to the Overmountain Victory Trail and hike into the Linville Gorge where days of trails await you.

Or you can choose to remain on one of our four decks, stroll through the front yards, play some horseshoes or croquet, enjoy a small campfire, and relax, relax, relax.

Our south driveway is paved and the lodge can easily be seen from the road. There is parking at the top of the driveway and also at the patio level midway up the driveway.

Our north driveway is gravel and takes you to the top of Eagle Mountain. They connect via our 'secret passage' by driving behind the Lodge. Experienced drivers recommended :)

This is our beautiful mountainside home! Visit EagleMountainRidge (dot com), our main website, by using the link below or using your browser for more pictures info about area attractions: EagleMountainRidge (dot com).

We are located at 5146 Old Linville Road, off of US-221, accessed by North Cove School Road, or where Old Linville Road intersects US-221 across from Linville Falls Mountain Club golf course.

We are so glad you are visiting us and hope that you will have a peaceful and relaxing time enjoying the beautiful scenery of the Blue Ridge Mountains! Below is some information about the house to help you in your planning.

Eagle Mountain Ridge has 3 bedrooms and a loft plus 2 full baths. Our home is a 2 story with a basement, 3 large decks and a full patio to take in the wonderful breathtaking views. The main floor bedroom has a private entrance to the side deck which wraps around to the main deck. One of the second level bedrooms has it's own private balcony we call the Eagles Nest.


Main Deck access for the mountain views that are spectacular and enough space to seat 8-10 people. Kitchen, Dining area, Desk, Great Room with stone fireplace, TV & BRD/DVD player with surround sound, Stereo receiver for ipod/MP3 hookup, Laundry Room with washer & dryer. Dining area has table with 6 chairs and kitchen island has seating for 4. Bedroom with queen bed and attached full bath and private deck access.


2 bedrooms with King beds. 1 room also has a day bed with trundle. 1 room has private balcony with even BETER views! Loft area with 2 couches and a TV. Large full Bath with garden tub.


Game room with pool table, air hockey, foosball, dart board, game table, 2 hammocks, music player, and outdoor toys. Outside door to access front yard and patio.


In the front yard there is a small fire pit for cozy campfires and a horseshoe pit for friendly competition. A charcoal grill is situated near the kitchen deck. Venture up the driveway to the top of the hill for the best views of all.

This mountain getaway is great for family, small groups, girl's weekend out, the guy's golf outing, hunting & fishing weekends or a place just to escape the stresses of everyday life with million dollar views to relax and enjoy.

And so many nearby places to see:

- 5 minutes to Linville Falls Mountain Club Golf Course

- 10 minutes to Linville Mountain Gem Shop

- 12 minutes to Linville Caverns

- 18 minutes to Linville Gorge and Linville Falls park

- 16 minutes to the Blue Ridge Parkway in Linville Falls

- 19 minutes to McKinny Gap on Blue Ridge Parkway via Peppers Creek Road

- 22 minutes to the Orchard at Altapass on Blue Ridge Parkway

- 26 minutes to Little Switzerland

- 36 minutes to Grandfather Mountain

- 45 minutes to Boone

- 52 minutes to Blowing Rock

- 55 minutes to downtown Asheville

- 55 minutes to The Biltmore Estate

- 58 minutes to the Grove Park Inn

- 67 minutes to Mount Mitchell peak

The rates listed below include all taxes. A cleaning fee will be added.

Keywords: Beatiful Views, Hiking, Hunting, Fishing, Biking, Deer, Turkey, Bear, Boating, Golfing, Skiing, Whitewater rafting, Stocked Trout stream within 1 mile, Historical Overmountain Victory Trail, close to Blue Ridge Parkway, property borders Pisgah Gamelands and Pisgah National Forest.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Tom & Dawn (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 30, 2015

About Tom & Dawn

My wife of 25 years and our 4 grown children enjoy our mountain getaway.

Tom & Dawn purchased this house in 2008

Why Tom & Dawn chose Linville Falls

I've been fly fishing for trout in western North Carolina for over 25 years, this area is one of the most beautiful valleys surrounded by mountains I have seen, and I have always wanted to find the perfect place in this area for our family and friends to enjoy the mountains.

What makes this house unique

So close to everything: fishing, hunting lands border our land, have seen deer, bear, and turkey on property, the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway can be accessed from 3 locations just minutes away, the Linville Gorge is spectacular and has hiking trails that lead right down to our place. A Beautiful golf course is about a mile away. The history of one of the most pivotal battles in the American Revolution, the Battle of Kings Mountain, brought the patriot forces marching literally up the road we are on and then up the mountain behind our land, creating what is now the Overmountain Victory National Historic Trail. We sit on our decks and look across at the mountains which contain 18 railroad tunnels created by the Clinchfield RR, called the Clinchfield Loops, which to this day takes trains up and over (and under) the Blue Ridge Parkway and the mountains.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cozy Mountain Home, Fantastic Views!
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews

Awesome Mountain House!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I rented the mountain house for 3 days over spring break, and it was a blast! We wish we'd had more time up there. The house was great, there were 12 of us and there was plenty of room. We enjoyed playing board games, pool, and foosball on one of the days when it was raining. The bonfire pit at the top of the mountain was very impressive, and we roasted hot dogs and s'mores while relaxing in the mountain air. As far as activities outside the house go, we stopped by a "petting zoo" on the way in (an old man who owns tons of exotic and farm animals) and received a private tour of all of his animals (horses, goats, emus, llamas, birds) so I'd definitely recommend that. We also drove about 30 minutes down the road to the Linville Gorge and spent the day hiking and sightseeing, which was pretty incredible! That night we tried the Mexican restaurant suggested to us by the owners, and we all agreed it was some of the best food we've ever had. I highly recommend this spot for a vacation or getaway, it was a very exciting weekend!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
North Carolina

Eagle Mountain Just Keeps Getting Better!

  • 5 of 5

This is my second time staying at Eagle Mountain and it was even better than I remembered! The furniture in the great room has been upgraded and is perfect, everything reclines now. I like the new location of the lower fire pit next to the parking area and closer to the porch. I love this place and will keep coming back, the entire area is so beautiful with the mountain views, the Linville Gorge, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. I was hoping that it was going to be as good as my previous memories, and I can say it absolutely was.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Not exactly as represented.

  • 3 of 5

The house is nice, and we had a good time. There were, however, some aspects that were disappointing. First, some of the group arrived early in the day and reported that there was no firewood as advertised. This means that you cannot use the fireplace or either of the fire pits. We were still en route, so i called the owner and reported the situation. He said he would try to get some firewood delivered, but it never happened. There were plastic bags left from the last visitors that showed that they also had no firewood and had to buy it at Lowes, which is what we ended up doing. If i had known there was no firewood, I could have easily brought some from home. Part of the weekend allure is obviously a nice fire inside and outside. The other issue is that the photos were not totally representative of the place. Although you can theoretically see the views of the mountains they show in the ad, what you really see is a trailer home with chickens in the yard across the street and another trailer home off to the left side. So, it was certainly not as remote as would be suggested by the photos. The pool/game room was also a little disappointing. Yes the pool table, Foosball, and air hockey were all there, but the quality and the space was very low and they are in an unheated ? basement. Again, the house was nice, but don't expect the pristine place that is depicted in the photos.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear you still had a good time, our apologies for the lack of firewood. The severe cold winter apparently caused previous guests to use up our supply. A three star rating is generous considering your disappointment, and we thank you. But I take exception though to several inaccurate statements you make. The house is “exactly as represented” in both photos and text on this site. Pictures don’t lie, so I would say your title is inaccurate. There were two bundles of firewood by the fireplace, along with two Dura flame 3-hour fire logs, so the fireplace was usable. Nowhere on this site do we claim to provide firewood, even though we always do. The fire pit on the hill has several stacks of pallets to burn, not to mention plenty of accessible wood on our 9 acres next to 500,000 acres of forest. The two plastic bags of purchased firewood you incorrectly assume were from previous guests were actually from the wood provided by us that I mentioned above. Our cleaning lady informed us we were low on wood several days before your arrival, so we paid her extra to make a special trip to Lowes and buy some in case we were unable to get a load there in time, which unfortunately is what happened. This is how we know there was at least some firewood. I called our supplier but got no reply. After you called me I made 5 more calls till I eventually reached him. He informed me he could not get any wood due to lack of supply, and he had turned down over 20 requests because of the huge demand from the record cold winter in the mountains. I asked him to cut some up from the timber from trees that I have cut down. I returned your call and left you a detailed message stating this. Apparently he did not make it. All photos are 100% representative of the land and depict what is actually there. Not sure what you mean by “Theoretically”? Every photo is from the property and you can see the mountains with absolute certainty. Directly across the street is ~2 acres of corn fields which are well maintained by our neighbors living in the mentioned trailer, which does not sit across from our property but across from our neighbors. The trailer home is barely visible; the view is 95% un-obscured mountain ridges. The house to the left is a wood frame home, and is not a trailer. Our game room is in the finished basement and has HVAC, as stated on this website. Most people consider the views stunning. I would recommend everyone read ALL the reviews here.

Eagle Lodge is Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

I recently took my young men's small group to the mountains of NC and we stayed at this incredible home. The house was great with a large, well equipped kitchen and plenty of beds for a large group. The house itself is wonderfully decorated and has a very comfortable, homey feel. The guys had plenty of room to either spread out and have some alone time or all come together to as a group to have fun. All the amenities were top notch and the fire pit at the top of the mountain was a hit! I can't say enough good things about this place. We will be back for sure!!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's wonderful to hear that your youth group took advantage of some quality time away from the distractions of daily life! The fire pits are always fun and I'd imagine the boys probably enjoyed exploring our 9 acres as well as, the attached Pisgah National Forest! I'm glad everything met your expectations and would like to thank you for taking care of the house and leaving it spotless. Look forward to hearing from you again!
Fayetteville, NC

Eagle Lodge review

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at Eagle Lodge and in the mountains. The house was very clean with lots of room! Nice view of Mt. Mitchell off the front porch. Close to some great hiking in the Linville Gorge area. Great game room with pool, foosball, & air hockey! Nice selection of movies to watch at night with something for all ages. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property for anyone!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Roanoke VA

Labor Day Weekend Wedding

  • 4 of 5

Five adults and four children (ages 3 years to 83 years) from three states stayed together here for a family wedding and festivities in the mountains near beautiful Morganton, Linville Falls, and Linville NC including one at close-by Linville Falls Winery. The location of this home was great for us, with plenty of indoor and outdoor space (as described) enabling us to be together or to enjoy solace in between wedding activities. The owners are responsive, hospitable and organized; the house was clean and well-equipped. One caution note: you might want to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper--there is a CSX track across the road and a train blows through on occasion.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Altapass Orchard
"We just love the live mountain music, great step back in time, and unique homemade and pack..."
Linville Gorge Wilderness
"Absolutely spectacular views. Fantastic hiking, miles of trails. Wiseman View is a must see. "
Switzerland Cafe and General Store
"Shopping, driving the Blue Ridge Parkway to get there. "
Blue Ridge Pkwy
"My most favorite road in America. "
Mountain View Restaurant
"More wonderful Vistas, great food. "
Linville Caverns
Louise's Rock House Restaurant
The Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa
"A must visit. Absolutely one of our favorite places on earth. Once you walk in the lobby yo..."
Biltmore Estate
"Words can't describe. Plan on a full day, tours, winery, just amazing. "
Linville Falls Mountain Club Golf Course
"Very challenging and beautiful golf course tucked into the mountains. "
Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Linville Falls Mountain Club Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Famous Louise's Rock House Restaurant


Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Linville Falls House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $120
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed by receipt of first payment.
*Discount rate of $255.00 per night applies if renting 5 nights or more, will be applied to final payment request. Monthly rates negotiable.
**Long term rental available. Contact owner.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Linville Falls House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On 2nd floor.
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , On 1st floor, walk-in shower.
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Located on main floor.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Located on 2nd floor, walk in closet stores a cot.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 child bed , Located on 2nd floor, also contains daybed and trundle.
    Loft - Loft on 2nd floor contains full size sofa and love seat.
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Daybed with Trundle, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Day Bed with roll out Trundle; Also 1 Cot and 2 Queen Air Mattresses
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Small Fire Pit, Large Fire Pit, Hammocks, Horse Shoe Pits, Croquet. Fresh blackberries in July!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,225 - $1,750 per week
2 - 3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote