Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

GREAT 'CITYVIEWS' FROM THIS CHARMING AND SPACIOUS 2 BR

Petra

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Petra

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT 'CITYVIEWS' FROM THIS CHARMING AND SPACIOUS 2 BR

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-10)

'Cityviews' is a very spacious sized 2 bedroom with lots of prewar charme and fabulous views over blocks of bownstones onto the midtown Manhattan skyline . Furnished in each bedroom with a full size bed with splendor orthopedic mattrasses, the livingroom offers two futon beds in full size a comfortable recliner chair and there is a formal dining room with 8 chairs. Separate windowed kitchen is fully equipped with microwave, gasstove, fridge, coffeemaker and toaster and there is a separate windowed bathroom. Close to: Brooklyn Academy of Music, Prospect Park (zoo, horseback riding, boating) Fort Greene Park (tennis, live summer concerts) Brooklyn Children's Museum, Brooklyn Museum, Brooklyn Promenade, Atlantic Mall shopping center, Stuyvesant Avenue Live Music Venues, eateries, cafes. The A train is just a one minute walk to Nostrand Ave stop, that is just two express stops (8 minutes) in to lower Manhattan. This area has been home to such Brooklyn legends as Spike Lee, Wesley Snipes, Rosie Perez, Eryka Badu, Common, and many more. All that make this a great retreat for all travellers. From JFK take the A train as well in 20 Min.

Keywords: Right off the A train Express on a treelined block with historic brownstones, cafe's and artshops, major shopping and dining just 2 blocks away, a retreat from the huzzle and buzzle and yet close to all

$180 is for 2 people sleeps 8 please add $20 per additional person, children up to 10 years of age stay free, we offer high chair and baby travel cod

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Petra (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 18, 2014

Why Petra chose Brooklyn

very up and coming, charming historic neighborhood, spacious apartment at a convenient location to all

What makes this apartment unique

quiet retreat from the huzzle and buzzle, humongeous for NY

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 22 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
average rating of 4.318182 based on 22 reviews
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2

Basic for the price

  • 2 of 5
The highlights of this property included:
spacious for two single people, light from windows, decent mattresses for two main beds, reasonable television, basic kitchen supplies, close to small grocery market for basics, plush and ample towel supply, friendly check-in, option to book porter to carry suitcases up 4 lights of stairs, friendly check-in, helpful directions for transport form JFK airport using air train and "A" subway, reasonable access time via subway to mahatten (typically around 30 minutes to central manhatten depending on destination), quiet neighbors within building, clean
Downsides included:
poor to fair décor and finish, bathtub very slippery, bring ear plugs for external street noise, toaster didn't work, had to lift down microwave from on top of fridge to plug in to use, extremely bare necessity furnishings that were more reflective of university student's flat
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Huntsville, AL
4

A great hideaway

  • 4 of 5
When we first arrived, at night, we are a little concerned about the neighborhood. We are not accustomed to businesses having gates and metal doors when they close. But in the morning light and after walking around we found a very nice neighborhood with friendly neighbors. Being 2 blocks from the A train was fabulous. We were able to do everything we planned on our short weekend stay. I highly recommend breakfast at Le Paris Dakar, wonderful crepes and pastries. The apartment was clean and had plenty of room for the 4 of us. I would definitely come back
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, indeed many travelers find the New York storefronts differently secured than European ones. We are so happy you had a great time, found all that was promised and want to come back. Please do so any time, we will be happy to have you stay again.
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Germany
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
We appreciated that the apartment is close to Manhattan and allowed us to discover Brooklyn as well. Safe neighborhood where you can get everything you need. We recommend to visit prospect Park and assist to a (free) music event in the BAM (Brooklyn Acabemy of Music) - Cafe. Going to Red Hook by Ferry was Great.
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Andreas and family. Brooklyn has grown and we appreciate that you took advantage of some of its magnificent offers and enjoyed its beauty. The neighborhood is great and really allows you to explore all of New York with its proximity to the Express train. Please come again anytime!
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Cottonwood, AZ
3

Pleasant Apartment in a Sub-par Building.

  • 3 of 5
It is a surprise when you open the door of this unit, for based on the exterior appearances , your expectations will be quite low. The unit itself is spacious (by NYC standards) and airy. It has 2 bedrooms each with full size bed. The living room has 2 'futon' like couches that could be flattened for extra beds. The walls are original and painted in yellow and white.

Pro's:

1. The beds are new.
2. The kitchen counter is new
3. The floors are wood parquet tiles.
4. The kitchen is stocked with all appliances in working order,
5. The bathroom, while small, has nice hot water, a new vanity top, but no ventilation and a tub sorely in need of a refurbishment.
6. Lamps and Art work on walls pretty nice.
7. Subway and LIRR station are within a couple block. (5 minute walk)..
8. Plenty of closet space. Iron and tiny ironing board supplied.
9. Building's other tenants were quiet and not an issue.
10. 'Super' was responsive to our needs.

Con's:

1. The furniture is mainly thrift shop especially the end tables, futons, kitchen table and chairs. Small, fragile, unattractive. Futons were very uncomfortable to sit. TV. Owner needs to spend a couple thousand dollars for some decent furniture.
2. The building has a steam radiator heating system, no controls in unit, which renders the unit way to hot in the winter. The landlord suggests opening the windows to control the heat (which got up into the high 80's). That doesn't work. And, if you are not accustomed to the noise generated by metal radiators and pipes expanding, you will find this disturbs sleep.
1. There is street noise, since this is a corner building on a busy street (Nostrand and Hancock). It quiets after about 10 pm.
2. There was a pipe leak within the wall over the tub at the 4th day of our stay. Hopefully it will be fixed before you visit, since it was pretty nasty rusty looking stains in the shower.

Mixed:

1. TV's worked, but they are tube TV's, not flat , with cable, not satellite. We needed some new batteries (supplied soon by the landlord) to make the remote controls work. There is no DVD player as advertised.
2. Needs a list of local restaurants, Post Office, grocery stores, drug stores, map of neighborhood, etc
You never know in these type of rentals if the landlord owns the building, or just the unit. The building is a turn off, but the unit is decent. The 1 star rating is wrong, but this isn't a 5 star either. Review based on 5 prior Homeaway rentals.
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Will
thank you for your detailed Critique:)
I know that this is your profession and I happen to agree to disagree with many of your outlined CONs
First of all you made a mistake with your dates since you visited in November and since than the leak was long taken care of as the Super already told you when he exchanged the light bulb for you.
My furniture selection was placed very carefully to my taste and all is detailed demonstrated in pictures online. Sorry to hear that is it not your taste, but I guess we cannot please all.
We offer a low budget humongous space as oasis for travelers and never claim to be high end. We cater to people who want clean and nice and convenient with very good beds and easy access to transportation and parking.
There is a huge window in the bathroom for ventilation, unclear why you mentioned otherwise.
We do not own the building and therefore have limited power to expedite outside appearance and update of heating system. It is a prewar building that offers its personal charme and all that is part of living in NY. Thanks again and all the best, you are welcome anytime again but you will find the same side tables I promise:)
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Spain
5

Great Apartment

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful stay in New York. Will come back next year.
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: sounds great, you are welcome back any time
business
Great 'Cityviews' from This Charming and Spacious 2 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377178vb
+1 -7183732226
Brooklyn New York City
Germany
5

My review

  • 5 of 5
A friend of mine recommended your service. The apartment was nice, booking procedure very good, the unit as advertised, and very clean. Location great as as soon as you passed Nostrand subway station.
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad to have you back, anytime again, we love returning guests!

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
JFK
Nearest Barpub
1 block
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Staten Island Ferry- South
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Dyker Beach
Nearest Train
A, C train
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
BQE
Nearest Restaurant
next corner
Nearest Ski
55 Miles
Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Coney Island
Car: not necessary

Proximity to Manhattan 8 Min,20 min to JFK, local farmers Market, Brooklyn Museum, Botanical Garden

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $180 Per night

Brooklyn Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 8.38%
Notes daily and weekly price is for up to 2 people, please add $20 per night per additional person, apartment sleeps 8 people
monthly rent $2800 plus electric and cooking gas
Cleaning Fee $75 includes linen, sheets and towels
monthly cleaning Fee $100
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Brooklyn Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
  • 5 stories
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Fully tiled abd windowed bathroom, with bathtub and shower, toilet and sink
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib , 3 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
very spacious with high ceilings and Manhattan views

Other Vacation Properties

$1,400 - $3,000 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,039 - $1,125 per week
5 - 6 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote