HomeAway is the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We're committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
This unit is nicely located near Ubahn station but in quiet, older apartment building. It needs some basic maintenance done. Much of wood work needs to be resanded and painted to cover the exposed bare aged wood. There is a large construction ceiling defect on entry. The floor boards have wide gaps between and for some reason the owners have been reluctant to recaulk and repair.
Nice, large windows. Place needs an oscillating fan ! There is no closet space or furniture to hang up one's clothing, only a few pegs by front door. Can do for day or two, but longer than that.....no. The bathroom is small and dimly lit. No bar soap samples. Should a paying guest really have to call just to get some clean towels ? Why not simply stock a few extra ones in bath! Only GERMAN dvds with English subtitles. Wifi works fine. Did not use kitchen.
From street level, the unit is four flights of stairs up to apartment. There is no elevator access. The courtyard one must cross to enter is very dark at night.
Interesting Turkish neighborhood with fairly priced eats and great cultural mix.
Hesitated to write a negative review. Was disappointed in this property. It does not meet a five star status by any stretch. Hopefully there will be some simple improvements made.
Submitted: May 31, 2012
Stayed: Apr 2012
Owner's Response: Hi Jim,
thanks for your review.
We always try to improve ourselves and reviews are a helpful tool.
Nevertheless, we were a little bit surprised after reading yours and we think, that some points need to be clarified:
The state of the furniture:
The building was build in the 1920s and the apartments have old wooden floors – the patina charmed most of our guests. But - there is no accounting for taste.
We do not understand what you mean by “large construction ceiling defect “ ?!
There was a wooden book board which really needed a fresh painting - we did that just after you left. It was already on our to do list.
If you think that the bathroom was inadequately lit, we will of course use a stronger bulb.
The courtyard-situation is typical for old Berlin buildings. There are 2 lights which make sure, that you cross the courtyard safely (It´s just approx. 8 meters).
We provided you with 2 clean towels and you stayed 4 nights. If that is not enough, next time you will get more.
All DVDs we offer – except 2 German movies - include an English AUDIO version – not just subtitles – we will be pleased to show you how to use them right next time.
The apartment is in the courtyard and the good thing about it is, that although it is quite light, it doesn't heat up during summertime. So we didn't see the need of a fan so far.
Yes, the building does not have an elevator – and you knew that fact before you booked. But to be correct - our apartment is 3 flights of steps and not 4.
There are no soap samples in the shower that is right - and you knew that fact before you booked as well.
It seems unfair to complain about these 2 points afterward.
Jim, we think that some of your complaints could have been easily solved with just one phone call. This is why all of our guests get our cell phone numbers and we tell them to contact us whenever they are in need of something.
Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Berlin.
The apartment was spacious and comfortable, and the location was perfect. A two minute walk from the ubahn, great restaurants and bars all around, and because the apartment is accessed through the courtyard you can escape the busy street noises. The landlords were helpful and kind. They provided a book filled with information on the restaurants and bars in the area. This was my first time in Berlin, and having the bike that came with the apartment made it easy to explore. I highly recommend this apartment.
We stayed for four nights and had a great time. The apartment's in a nice lively area, but is nice and quiet at the rear of the building. The owner has made a real effort in making the apartment cosy and homely, with everything you might need, including information about local attractions. The attention to detail was great, for example there were books and DVDs to view, and essentials for cooking. Everything was clean and tidy, and the apartment is decorated very nicely. The u- bahn station is only 5 - 10 minutes walk away and it's easy to get anywhere you want to in Berlin using the excellent public transport network. There are supermarkets, shops and places to eat nearby. The option to use 2 bicycles free of charge was great, although we didn't use them but probably would have done if we'd have stayed longer as everyone seems to cycle in Berlin!
Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
Stayed: Jun 2011
Tourists without a Car,
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.
Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (EUR) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities
Guests provide their own meals
Parking On Street
Local Restaurant Guide
4 Ring Stove
Bathroom 1 -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Bedroom 1 -
1 baby crib
Satellite / Cable
Books for Adults
Local Services & Businesses:
Sports & Adventure Activities:
The nicely furnished apartment ( 38m2 ) is in the third floor of the building in the courtyard (quiet and light).
It offers a well equipped kitchen with fridge/freezer , a bathroom with shower (towels provided), as well as:
- 2 bicycles to cruise around for FREE ( pretty nice in summertime )
- Comfortable bed ( 140 x 200 ; bedding provided)
- Baby bed & high chair if required
- Cable TV
- DVD player
- Book Exchange (sharing is caring)
- Berlin Guides and Maps
- Highspeed broadband wi-fi
**** Internet is free of charge! ****