Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Luxury Home in Tropical Gardens Close to Beach and Town

Property Manager

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Luxury Home in Tropical Gardens Close to Beach and Town

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Playa Carrillo House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Casa Rosa is a beautiful five year old home in the exclusive gated subdivision of Loma Verde.

It is located 2 km from stunning Carrillo Beach and Carrillo town, Carrillo Beach is 3 Km of uninterrupted sand and palm trees in a half moon bay on the Pacific ocean, partially protected by a reef so is safe for swimming and boogie boarding.

The town of Carrillo has grocery stores , lovely restaurants and various tour operators, whether you want bird watching tours, turtle tours, horse back riding, wild life tours or something else. Estrada is the closed town to us it also has grocery stores and lovely restaurants, most of which are run by Local Costa Ricans serving local fare.

The property is surrounded by it's own tropical gardens and sits at the top of a cul de sac overlooking the rest of the subdivion with a great view of the mountains.

The house has 2 spacious Master bedrooms each with their own ensuite. They are seperate by an open plan living area with a North American sytle kitchen with granite countertops , hand crafted cabinets , stainless steel appliances including a blender, coffeemake and toaster.

The living room has large windows and sliding doors that open onto a secluded covered outdoor terrace with a ceiling fan. This ourdoor area sits in the middlle of the lush gardens, and overlooks the backyard and the nearby hills. Enjoy your morning coffee listening to the song birds and watching the butterflys.

Troops of Howler Monkeys are frequent visiters to the subdivision

Loma Verde features 24 hr security and a gorgeous resort size pool with lounging chairs and a large covered ranchero with water, electricity and comfy wicker furniture for those who want to take a break from the sun.

Transportation from Liberia airport can be arranged for a fee.

There are hourly public buses that go past Loma Verde, that stop and pick up at the Carrillo beach, Carrillo town and Samara town they are very inexpensive.

Keywords: house, tropical gardens, wildlife, covered patio, large fully equiped kitchen, air conditioned, gated subdivision

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2015

About The Owner

We are a Canadian couple in our mid fifties

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why The Owner chose Playa Carrillo

We first visited Costa Rica In 2004 and absolutly fell in love with this area and its people. It is so quiet and relaxing and we plan to retire here in a few more years.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Stellar deluxe paradise home... made our trip ... we'll be back

Left on 03/25/2011 for a stay in March 2011





Casa Rosa is a beautifully appointed home that managed 2 adults and 4 teenagers. It allowed our teenagers enough alone time at the pool and house, while still remaining extremely safe. We rented a 4X4 from aalmo through Dennis at Hotel Esperanzo, which was another invaluable find as Dennis was able to pass on local knowledge and the best events for the family. The owners of Casa Rosa suggested we arrange a lift from the airport as we were coming in late, which was wonderful. I would not recommend drinving the roads at night. We then rented the car locally which stopped any of the horror stories you read about on line. The Local restaurants are 3 minutes away in Carillo as well as an amazing safe beach at Carillo. Our favorite restaurant was the Argentinan Steak house in Carrillo and we had excellent rock cod at Leylenda hotel. We went to the turtle reserve where we watched the females lay eggs in the evening, went on amazing horse back rides with Louis, and zip trekking with William. All of these "events" were arranged through Dennis who gave us North american service at Costa Rican prices. But the highligt of the trips was always returning to a paradise home. We had all of our evening meals out... but had great feasts during the day... packing picnics etc. The home is very well appointed for couples or families... boogie boards, pool accruments, and an amazing patio to spend quiet mornings and evenings. The grounds and vegetation make the home very private. Thank you so much for letting us use your amazing tropical paradise home.

The armstrong Family
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury Home in Tropical Gardens Close to Beach and Town
average rating of 4.714286 based on 15 reviews
5

A peaceful retreat close to Carrillo

  • 5 of 5

Four of us (two couples) stayed at Casa Rosa for just under a week, and it was the perfect fit for us. The house had everything we could want, with two bedroom, two bathrooms, a fully outfitted kitchen, including all appliances, a laundry room, living room, and outdoor eating area. We cooked all but two evenings and found that the kitchen had everything we needed including lots of storage containers. We could have used more trays or baking dishes, however.

David from the management company was extremely helpful in showing us the house, answering questions about the area (and my husband had a lot!) and recommending restaurants . Through him we found out about the rodeo in nearby Garza, which we went to on one of the Saturday nights – it was so fun to see the bull riders, cowboys, and amateur rodeo clowns (including my husband and his friend!)

The owner had recommended Dennis from the Esperanza hotel as a contact for booking activities, and we had him book a horseback ride one of the mornings. We totally recommend the trail ride – seeing the beaches from one of the nearby hills is amazing!

We did have water leaking from the water heater one of the mornings, but David had it taken care of while we were out and about that day.

The complex that the house is in is wonderfully quiet and private; the pool, which I found to be the most beautifully laid out and landscaped that I’ve ever had the privilege to swim in, was warm and the hammocks were wonderful.

We all loved our stay at Casa Rosa and would totally recommend it to others. Thank you for the slice of paradise.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Rosa. Melissa and David do a fabulous job looking after our house and clients who stay there, they are a rare find! One of the best things about the area is there are so many adventures to be had and beautiful places close by, you can head in any direction and there is always something fabulous to see or do. Take care and come again! Dave and Leona
5

Maravillosas vacaciones

  • 5 of 5

This was my husband's and my first time staying at Casa Rosa and we were not disappointed! There were 4 of us, two couples, and our friends who had been there before were correct in their description of the villa - it is great! We loved the way the two bedrooms and ensuites were separated on each end of the house, allowing for privacy and quiet times if you wanted. The kitchen, laundry room and living area are central in the home, leading to a beautiful terrace with an outdoor dining area (with a fan!) and manicured yard. We spent just about every evening outside on the terrace playing games, watching the amazing stars and just loving life. The stars were absolutely breathtaking! We prepared gourmet dinners almost every night and found that the kitchen was equipped with just about everything we needed. The local seafood vendors are easy to find towards Samara and we took full advantage of quite a bit of what they had to offer. It was delicious! Of course I have to mention Carrillo beach! Words don't describe it well enough. We went there as often as we could and were always amazed at the beauty and peacefulness of the huge expansive beach. We practically had it to ourselves, the sand, surf and sunsets rival the best I have seen in the world. Staying in Carrillo was easy access to touring the rest of the Nicoya Peninsula or further if we wanted, the sites are too numerous to mention here. We had a lovely time visiting waterfalls, volcanoes, rainforests, and more! We were able to venture out to some of the local restaurants as well and found the food and ambience fantastic. The gated community has a very well kept and clean pool with gazebos and lawn chairs, we spent quite a bit of time there too! The neighbors were very friendly and made us feel welcome in their bit of paradise. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the villa, the amenities, the wildlife, the company, and everything about being in Costa Rica naturally. Lastly, I have to mention the review that was provided by the person earlier who called this beautiful villa a "Dark suburban home in a gated community...". The only thing true in that statement is it is in a gated community. We too own a VRBO vacation rental in Canada and know all too well how hard it is to supply glassware and china with rambunctious vacationers visiting all the time. I will end saying we had a great time and would recommend Dave and Leona's Casa Rosa to all. Thank you for letting us visit!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hola Heather, Thank You for the great review! We are glad you had a good time at our Casa and hope that you will come again soon. Sounds like you got out and did some exploring Costa Rica is a wonderful place for that, so many adventures to be had. Dave and Leona PS We especially appreciate you comment about that other review. lol
Pacific Northwest
1

Dark suburban home in gated community where the gardener douses the property with toxic chemicals

  • 1 of 5

The only things going for this house are: nearness to Carrillo Beach, a large shower in the master suite, a working blender & security. The house is dark & cave-like. The kitchen is poorly suited for cooking: microwave sits on a sharp-angled shelf that juts out over the cooking surface & it is heavily varnished underneath -- great potential for the chemicals to leech into cooking food from the steam. All but one of the vessels for drinking are PLASTIC! except ceramic mugs for coffee. Not a wine glass to be had. Dinnerware is in short supply & cheap. Bedding is worn, cheap & stained. Furniture in living area is uncomfortable & uninviting. The dining table is outdoors. The chairs require that you sit forward & hunch over the (plastic) table to ensure you don't drip food on the way to your mouth.

But it is the owner's treatment of the outdoors that made this place unbearable. They spray for so-called "pests" -- meaning the insects that the local flora & fauna depend on for survival. This idiotic & non-toxic approach to "gardening" is antagonistic to every single thing that draws a considerable percentage of people to Costa Rica: LOVELY, HEALTHY ECOSYSTEMS THROBBING WITH WILDLIFE.

Remember: what you do to the insects with whom we share this planet, we do to ourselves! We kill one another as we kill insects.

STUPID & MISGUIDED.

APPALLING, actually.

There is sufficient scientific evidence that exposes the health hazards of pesticides. Spraying poisons puts the handler at direct risk, then it puts everything, NOT ONLY the targeted species, at risk of harm due to its swift & certain entry into the food chain.

SHAME ON YOU! WAKE UP!

& to make our stay even more unpleasant -- & be warned, potential renters -- this development is under construction. Crews arrived with hammers, saws (for cutting metal roofing!), ladders, & their noisy voices shortly after 6 a.m. six of the seven days we were there. The morning after we complained to the property mgr., they still arrived at 6, to bang on drywall buckets & drop objects from high up on ladders. This passive-agressive behavior, combined with the construction noise that coming from two houses made our stay in the house as far from relaxing as could be.

If we had been successful at finding another place to stay, we would have abandoned this house of horrors. We travel all over the world & can say confidently that this was the worst place we have ever rented.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Bones, I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay Casa Rosa, you are the first in five years. I was not going to grace your comments with a response but rather let the previous 12 5 star ratings speak for themselves, but the more I thought about it I felt I had to refute your statements. The construction noise at such an early hour I can understand, you did not contact Melissa till your second to last day with your concern, I know she contacted the contractor to ask them to start later with the power tools ect but seems that was not successful. Based on your comments about the toxic chemicals I though they must have sprayed while you were there, I can understand why that would be upsetting. I contacted the condo manager and she informed me they have not sprayed since the end of the rainy season in early December so I am kind of puzzled at you comments and lecture about how we were contaminating the food chain. How a house with 14 windows and three ten foot wide double sliders could be described as cave like is quite mystifying. The plates are Corningware and in January when we were there last, there was enough plates, bowls and cutlery for eight place settings, your reservation was for two so how eight place setting was not adequate again is quite puzzling. The plastic glasses are double walled thermal cups that go for about $10 each at Bed Bath and Beyond, glass drinking glasses and ceramic or China plates do not last long in CR with all the granite surfaces and tile floors. Three years ago there were 16 glass glasses and 6 glass wine glasses in the house and that is the only survivor, hence we switched to plastic. There are four plastic wine glasses in the cupboard above the microwave. Varnish once dried has to be heated to 350 degrees Celsius to melt, which would take a blow torch or a fire to achieve that tempature. Our hand crafted locally made wicker furniture is unappealing and uncomfortably, I jokingly tell people all my taste is in my mouth so perhaps you are correct. The plastic dinning table is a powder coated aluminum table with a glass top. Did I miss anything? Your misleading and exaggerated comments make me wonder what you are really after. I contacted the folks who stayed for two weeks ending the day you arrived, they reported none of the concerns that you have and they have agreed to write a review so we will see what they have to say. Regards,
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
5

Casa Rosa

  • 5 of 5

My Husband and I stayed 8 days at Casa Rosa. The pool area is private and wonderful with a very large pool but we went to the beach as much as we could as it was so beautiful and relaxing. The house had everything we needed and it was very enjoyable to have our meals and morning coffee on the patio with the privacy that you would not get in a hotel. We ate lunch at the plaza in Carrillo numerous times as they had wonderful food there and always met interesting people. We also enjoyed dinner a couple of times at the Argentinian Grill which is behind the Esperanza Hotel in Carrillo.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy, Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rosa and hope you will come again. We have never eaten at the Plaza but I do very much enjoy the local restaurants in Carrillo and Estrada, we will have to try it on our next visit. Take care and Merry Christmas! Dave and Leona
5

Casa Rosa

  • 5 of 5

Just returned home to about three feet of snow........guess we should have stayed longer!

Our stay at Casa Rosa was wonderful, accommodation was great. In addition to going to the beach everyday, we swam in the beautiful pool and were lucky enough to meet some of our neighbours. We enjoyed our meals on the patio amid the gardens and watched many sunsets from our table. The kitchen had all the utensils needed to prepare meals. The air conditioning and many fans kept us cool in the 35 degree heat. The only thing we missed was a working barbecue.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Barbara, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you enjoyed your time at Casa Rosa, and hope you will come again. I have asked Melissa look after the barbecue. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. Dave and Leona
Texas
5

Case Rosa

  • 5 of 5

The house and the location were beautiful! Definitely will recommend it to friends and hope that we may be able to stay there on a future trip!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Yolanda, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rosa. Dave and Leona

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Liberia Int
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Leyenda Hotel
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Punta Islita
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Leyenda
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Carrillo Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $800 Per week

Playa Carrillo House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$800
$2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Notes Electric not include in Monthly rentals:
Rates negotiable for 3 months or more
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Playa Carrillo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Modern bathrooms both with large shower stalls
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1) Single matress available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Stereo ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Once a week maid service is included, more frequent maid service can be arranged for an additional fee. Stereo system is an Ipod docker

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$875 - $1,500 per week
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,850 per week
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,498 per week
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote