KULA KOTTAGE: CHARMING, ECO-FRIENDLY, BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND B&B PERMIT

Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Debra P.

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

KULA KOTTAGE: CHARMING, ECO-FRIENDLY, BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND B&B PERMIT

Kula Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Two bedrooms, One bathroom. Sleeps 6

Kula Kottage is an eco-friendly vacation cottage located Kula, Maui's premier bedroom community. Constructed from beautiful red and yellow cedars, cherry hardwood floors. 180 degree view of central Maui, including North and South shore.

Twenty minutes to the beach and twenty minutes to Haleakala National Park. 15-20 minutes to Kula and Makawao forest reserves.

Beds are natural latex, linens and towels are also natural fabrics. Furnishings are from re-cycled teak.

Visit our web site for more info and downloadable forms. www.kulakottage.com

Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment

Debra P.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

22 Reviews Write a Review
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 22 reviews
business
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375932
+1 808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Moscow, ID
5

Perfect for our first trip to Maui

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I rented this Kula Cottage for 4 nights on our recent, first trip to Maui. We found the cottage to be very clean and contain everything we needed. It could easily accommodate another couple of guests as there was one bedroom that we did not use. The views were spectacular and it was a great base to all the activities that we chose to do including visiting the volcano twice (trying to find the perfect weather to hike across it) and kayaking at Makawena Landing. If you like to be away from the "maddening crowds", as we do, Kula Cottage will work very well for you.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375932
+1 808-283-7370
Kula Maui
4

Stay on Maui

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
All went well until the last day, when we somehow inadvertently put in the wrong date of departure. We don't know whose mistake this was, as our flight out was booked on the proper day. The owner was downright rude, and intimated that we were trying to pull something, and offered no help in our quandary, except for an expensive extra night option with double cleaning fees. In fact, it seemed he couldn't wait to get rid of us. We spent that night in a very expensive hotel.

Other than that, the house was fine except the beds were too small for two people. I would have highly recommended this place except for this misunderstanding which we feel was very poorly handled.

Any one who rents this property should deal with Jeremy and steer clear of Ben.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: First let me apologies for any miscommunication. The records indicate that you intended to checkout on the 2nd and didn't until 4pm, we had others checking in a that time. The checkout time was 11:00 am. because people checking in we're friends, the offered to spend their 1st nite in the main house, so you could stay an extra nite. My offer to you was to pay the rate for the extra nite, but you would have to pay a 2nd cleaning fee. Keep in mind the maid had already started cleaning before your return and we paid her three hours overtime. Again I am sorry for the miscommunication. Aloha Ben
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375932
+1 808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Oahu, Hawaii
5

Perfect getaway weekend in Up Country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a great location and could nt ask for a better value with the quality of this rental. Had a small issue with WiFi that I only mention because of how quickly someone arrived to resolve the issue. The cottage had a stale almost smoke like smell upon arrival(could be from all the wood), not sure if it was just from being closed up with no air circulation prior to our stay. We opened the windows and by day 2 it had improved but still noticeable. It would not be a reason that I would not return or recommend this great property though. Looking forward to returning for another peaceful weekend retreat in the future!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375932
+1 808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Millwood, N.Y.
3

nice looking place with issues

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Nice looking home outside and inside. Good location for seeing all of Maui. Unfortunately the outdoor grill didn't work, no roasting pans provided so we had to bake in a pot. Only two bath towels provided for three people, we found a couple more hidden in a bag in a closet but they were old and stained. There were three roach sightings in the kitchen despite us keeping it clean, after seeing them we didn't use the kitchen anymore. When it gets dark swarms of waterbugs hang out outside the home. The only soaps provided are liquid hand soap and a little dishwashing soap. If you plan to cook keep in mind nothing is provided in terms of salt, spices etc. Expect the house and not much more in terms of amenities though there was a beach umbrella and chairs. Also the Wi-Fi is unpredictable.

Haleakala is nearby.
Owner's Response: So sorry for your experience, could debate your comments, but that won't change your conclusions. There baking dishes are in the cabinet and the cabinet in bath had 4 sets of towels. We do not spray with chemicals, so keeping it clean is very important. County health rules will not allow us to furnish any foodstuff such as spices. Having a negative review like this is extremly dissappointing and we hope others will consider all the other positive reviews
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Kula Kottage: Charming, Eco-friendly, Beautiful view and B&B Permit
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p375932
+1 808-283-7370
Kula Maui
Alamo CA
5

Away from the crowds!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really wanted to get away from the crowds and the Kula Cottage was great for having a real Maui experience. It was cleaned and well maintained and I would totally recommend it to a friend or family.
The cottage had all the amenities we needed to make us feel at home. It was quiet, with the exception of the neighbors poor little goat who was tied up in the sun with no water. The goat was bleating and it was not a normal goat bleat, it was more like a scream. I was stressed out about this for two hot days, so I politely went and talked to the neighbor about the goat and they moved the goat into the shade, gave it some water and it stopped bleating.

Other than that small issue we had not one "bad" thing to note about the cottage. The location is great, the nearby towns are awesome, and the crater is close by. Just make sure you keep it clean because the bugs in Hawaii are busy and big!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Upcountry Maui is Maui's premier bedroom community. It overlooks the isthmus of the island with views of both north and south shores. Upcountry consists of the communities of Makawao, Kula, Keokea, and Pukalani. Above Makawao, we have the forest reserve and to the west, we have Kula forest reserve. Our temperture is moderate. Hiking, and biking in the forest or Haleakala National Park. And much more.

Other Activities: Zip lines

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Kula Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Winter
Feb 6 - Mar 31
$239
4 nights
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125.00 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49.00
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes 1-2 people 3-4 people
$199.00 per night $249.00 per night

$125.00 Cleaning Fee
$49.00 Property Damage Proction

Call for last min deals!
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Kula Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Romantic
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main Bath - toilet , shower
  • Our bathroom sports a very large walk-in shower. It has hand held shower plus multiple jets for an wonderful experience.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Main - 1 double
    Guest - 1 double
    Living Room Sleeper - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Our bedrooms are furnished with recycled teak and Natural Latex beds from the Organic Mattress Company. Cool quiet luxury. The bed linens and towels are all natural fabrics.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Small Cooler
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Bicycles ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Low Allergen Environment
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • arboretum
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • volcano
  • winery tours
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • luaus
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • surfing
  • hunting
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • snorkeling
  • mountain climbing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Email