A disappointing adventure...
Submitted: July 25, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
The old adage that you get what you pay for certainly applied to this residence. My family and I were elated to find a property with such a low price tag in San Marcos, CA… our joy was short lived as our arrival date drew closer. After we had made our payments to a seemingly very pleasant rental company, the “oh by the ways” started. First it was not sure the oven will be working, then one of the bath rooms, then the air conditioning. Lucky for us the oven and bathroom were repaired (poor family before us!), but the AC and the “replacement” unit was out of commission the whole time we were there (please note they state that unit has air conditioning in their advertisement). This alone was not a huge deterrent I suppose; it was when the steps up to the unit were in disrepair and there were gaping holes in the deck, when the septic tank was open, overflowing, and incredibly pungent, when the exposed rebar was tripped over sticking out of the ground all over the property, and when the rats started running around the fire pit that we really got concerned as consumers. Of course, when any of these concerns were presented to the rental organization, they promptly replied that if we wanted to we could leave and another renter could be found. Other items to note could include that one of the “bedrooms” is an open sitting area that has a bed and a couch in it, half of the double shower does not work, there are holes in the walls and doors, and that the “hot tub” gets up to about 92 degrees. I assume that this place will be a great rental in about two or three years, after they make the needed repairs… that is another thing the management kept saying to us, that they would be continually making repairs as more renters came (as if we should be team players and get over it!). So, I hope that many of the things mentioned above have been resolved if you chose to rent this property (using the hard earned dollars from my family). My family and I were disappointed and would not recommend the property to anyone. But hey… they did offer a few bucks off our next stay as a cancelation prize and told us to try and focus on the good times we had with each other.
Always end on a high note... why it did not get one star:
-It is in San Marcos
-The flowers were lovely
-It was affordable
-The pool fence was nice
-The main living room and dining area were well kept up
-It could be a great property, just want people to know what to expect
Owner's Response: We have corrected the septic system and plumbing. All appliances do work properly. I was not expecting a large party at our home, we only allow 10-12 people at a time. We do not currently have air condition, the home never had it and I plan on putting in Spring of 2013. This home is located in the countryside of San Marcos and there are going to be critters outside like rabbits, birds, and even mice. We have a clean home, bedding and like any home things break down. We are not perfect but strive to fix things when they come up.
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?