KASILOF LOG ACCENT BED & BREAKFAST WITH MOUNTAIN VIEW

Rebecca Hinsberger, owner and hostess

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type lodge

Contact the Manager

Rebecca Hinsberger, owner and hostess

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

KASILOF LOG ACCENT BED & BREAKFAST WITH MOUNTAIN VIEW

Kenai Lodge Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-4)

Enjoy a relaxing stay in Kasilof. This bed and breakfast offers a pet friendly environment. After a long day of activities, you can enjoy a relaxing evening by the fire place indoors surrounded by warm wood ceilings log accents, and artistic environment to keep you warm for winter vacation. You can lean back to enjoy a cool summer breeze on the beautifully made custom log furniture on the upper deck in the evening while enjoying a beautiful sunset behind the world famous volcanic Mount Redoubt as you savor the tempting scent of your freshly caught salmon as it sizzles on our barbeque or campfire area.

The rooms have full size bed and a day bed with antique furniture, including closet space and bureau for your convenience. A bathroom is available with a shower/tub. The owner is on-site and offers breakfast. The bed and breakfast is on 17 acres of woods and lawn. Apple trees line the driveway. As you explore this scenic hilltop get-away, enjoy the vegetable and flower gardens, the greenhouse, the hammock, buoy swing, and lover’s swinging bench.

Nearby aquatic recreational activities include swimming for the kids at Centennial and Johnson Lakes (5 min), boating, swimming, and fishing at Johnson Lake (5 min). Boating and fishing in the slack waters of Tustumena Lake (5 min). Fishing at Crooked Creek (5 min), Kasilof River (5 min), and beach combing, fishing, and boating at Kasilof beach (15 min).

Caribou Hills Trail system Trail Head (5 min) offers snow machine in winter and ATV in the summer.

Kasilof air strip- leave to go on guided bear viewing trips or guided hunting trips 5 min away

Dining, airport, museum, art galleries, and clamming can be found in nearby Kenai (35 mi), Soldotna (25 min), Clam Gulch (15 min) and Homer (1 hr).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DIRECTIONS: Turn left off the Sterling highway opposite the fire station onto Johnson Lake Rd. Go 1/3 mile and turn left onto Tustumena Lake rd. Go 1.5 miles and after the slightly up hill s curve, on the left, you will see a large log ranch gate, which is the driveway. Follow the narrow, winding driveway to the top of the hill.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Keywords: Room, Pet friendly, Wi-Fi, Salmon Fishing Beach Access, Rustic Cabin Feel, Fire Place, Mountain View, Breakfast included, Log Accents, Wood Ceilings, Artist Retreat, Garden

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome

Rebecca Hinsberger, owner and hostess

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Came to the Kenai Peninsula in 1975, at 21 years old as a single adventurous artist. She built a log cabin single handedly (referred in Kasilof as 'the girl who built her own log cabin'). Traveled around bush Alaska working for the department of Fish & Game, while logging flight hours on a Cessna 150. She married in 1978. He was an Iditarod dog musher (during winter) and Bristol Bay fisherman (during the summer). Together they mushed, fished, and raised 5 children for over 15 years.

Rebecca has a BFA in Fine Arts and a minor degree in Environmental Science. She has an interesting history as an artist which includes having studied art for a year in Paris at the age of 16. She has won numerous awards, including a medal of honor in an annual National Audubon Art Show. She would love to take you to unique Alaskan places to paint 'plein air' if you like to paint or sketch (materials provided).

Besides painting, Rebecca loves to dedicate her time to gardening, landscaping, and high tunnel agriculture experiments on the property. Other interests include hiking, horseback riding, diving, snorkeling, building things, being an active member of her community, staying involved with her church, and visiting with people to share her great Alaskan experiences!

Rebecca Hinsberger, owner and hostess purchased this lodge in 1986

Although the property was bought in 1986, the construction of the house we have today as the Hungry Moose Bed and Breakfast was started in 1994. This unique piece of land offers privacy, space view of 17 ½ hilly acres with lawns, gardens, and a pond. It has character, fresh garden produce and a view of the Kenai Mountains. There are lots of trees on the property. There is a barbecue, tables and chairs to cook a day's catch. There is a fish cleaning area. And to be completed by mid summer- a log gazebo with a large outdoor deck with inset campfire pit and grill- built to accommodate outdoor gatherings such as weddings, family reunions, performances... or just for you and your group to enjoy an outdoor afternoon or evening around the fire while taking in the sinking sun over the Cook Inlet and the Chigmit Mountain range.

DIRECTIONS:

Turn left off the Sterling highway opposite the fire station onto Johnson Lake Rd. Go 1/3 mile and turn left onto Tustumena Lake rd. Go 1.5 miles and after the slightly up hill s curve, on the left, you will see a large log ranch gate, which is the driveway. Follow the narrow, winding driveway to the top of the hill.

Freedom to roam & explore the property. For direct fishing accessibility, we are in process of making a private trail to the Kasilof River. There is an outdoor deck for guests to use. Has an old time Alaska character. You feel as if you are out in the wilderness in an outdoor setting. Facebook like us! Hungry Moose Bed and Breakfast, Kasilof, AK.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
Eagle River, AK
4

PLEASANT STAY

  • 4 of 5
Becky is a delightful hostess. She has a kind heart and graciously shares her home and beautiful artwork. Annie, the homestead's Corgi, is super sweet.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
San Diego, CA
5

REAL ALASKAN EXPERIENCE! EXCELLENT AMENITIES.

  • 5 of 5
I have traveled to Alaska 8 times in the last 12 years and I have just booked my 3rd consecutive year staying here and Rebecca is an amazing hostess.
  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
Burlington, Vermont, USA
4

OUR SECOND RETURN TO THE HUNGRY MOOSE

  • 4 of 5
This was my second stay at the Hungry Moose. I stayed here with my son and fishing partner on both vacations .The hospitality is great! We fished every day and the times of day varied from very early departures to very late arrivals, some times only a couple of hour’s difference between coming and going. This was never a problem. The breakfast where assume and also included home made pies and pastries. The atmosphere is also very comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed several Bar BBQ's, campfires and also shared several diners with the Hostess. We also liked the ability to process our fish and found ample freezer capacity for out catch. We used the kitchen and porch just like it was out own home. The Hostess was very accommodating . I also love Annie the dog! We saw several moose as well as a Cow with 2 calves on the property, hence the name!
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
5

WEEK OF PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
For the past two salmon seasons we stayed at the hungry moose bb. The accommodations were great and the food was excellent. Becky was very understanding of our late night fish prep and dining. The bb has 2 freezers on site for a week's worth of fishing. Centrally located for salmon and halibut it was a 1st class site for anybody wetting a line. Breakfast was great and if your lucky maybe Becky will make you a rubarb pie. BTW, the stories are priceless. Sit back and enjoy the scenery and wildlife.
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Oh I have lots a great stories, you better watch out! And I love chatting and meeting new folks. I'm glad this is a place for guests to enjoy the full Alaskan experience!
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
Aptos, California
2

A FEW HITCHES

  • 2 of 5
Although our hostess at the Kasilof B&B was quite hospitable once we arrived, for a time we were worried we would not find our lodging at all. When I realized there was no address or map on the confirmation I had printed, I phoned the number provided and left a voice mail. There was no call back,so I phoned VRBO, only to be told that the map had been blocked on the listing and the address was "propietary information" that could not be released. After unsuccessfully trying to get information at the local post office, in desperation we stopped at a restaurat on the main highway and looked through their phone book, but none of the B&B listings sounded familiar. Luckily a helpful local offered to call the number on the confirmation with his phone, and the hostess did answer, so we were able to get directions to the out-of-the-way location. In the hostess's defense, I must say that she warned me at the time I made the reservation that there was a family wedding around the time we were requesting. I thought she said the wedding was the weekend before our arrival, but it turned out to be the day of our departure, so for the five days of our stay, the house was full of family members, including three children under the age of four. While the photos in the listing are probably representative of the house at its best, they do not represent the house as we saw it. The room we stayed in was attractive and clean, with a shared bathroom just outside our door and a small refrigerator for our use. The rest of the house, however, was long overdue for cleaning. We understood that the hostess was over-extended with wedding preparations, 8 to 10 family members staying with her, and two B&B guests. Still, unvacuumed floors and dirty dishes all over the kitchen are not what most B&B guests encounter. On two of our five nights, we waited more than half an hour for access to the bathroom, and on the morning of our departure there was no water in the bathroom at all. Granted, we had been shown how to turn on the pump in the laundry room, but that room was occupied by at least one sleeping family member at the time, and we did not want to disturb him as we made an early departure. There was a wait for hot water each morning, since the hot water switch also turned on the radiant heating system, which was turned off at night. The hostess is an interesting and helpful person, knowledgable about the area, but be aware that staying here will not be a typical B&B experience.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. Since your stay we have made a few changes. The directions have been listed on the VRBO website and the confirmation page each guest receives.

We are looking to place Hungry Moose Bed and Breakfast listing in the local phone book as well as getting involved with the town to have an official sign placed on the main road.

Finally, we have fixed the problem we were having with the water issues, no more turning on pumps from the wall circuit breakers!

As for the wedding, there are once in a life-time events to which we cannot change. With weddings come family, chaos, and last minute preparations. We do not foresee any family weddings taking place any time in the immediate future!

Once again thank you for your review this will help us improve for this summer.
business
Kasilof Log Accent Bed & Breakfast with Mountain View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p374680vb
907-252-9253
Kenai Alaska
San Diego, CA
5

GREAT EXPERIENCE!

  • 5 of 5
Couldn't have been better! Stayed here with my son and 2 brothers and felt like we were staying with a relative. Accommodations were comfortable and breakfasts were huge and delicious. Very peaceful setting. Many amenities for our use and made for an excellent fishing vacation. Exceptional value and will definitely stay here again!
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
Email Manager Email

Map

× This manager has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the manager.

DIRECTIONS: Turn left off the Sterling highway opposite the fire station onto Johnson Lake Rd. Go 1/3 mile and turn left onto Tustumena Lake rd. Go 1.5 miles and after the slightly up hill's curve, on the left, you will see a large log ranch gate, which is the driveway. Follow the narrow, winding driveway to the top of the hill.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kenai Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Apr 30 2014 - Sep 1 2014
1 night minimum stay
$105
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Sep 2 2014 - Apr 29 2015
1 night minimum stay
$95
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$105
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Notes We currently have two rooms available for rent at the bed and breakfast. If more than two people decide to stay, it is an additional $20 per person in your party.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Kenai Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Shared Kitchen
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep sofa (1)
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Books
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Bicycles
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • live theater
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • sledding
  • sight seeing
  • antiquing
  • shelling
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • golf
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • hunting small game
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • cycling
  • tennis
  • mountain biking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • hunting
  • fishing
  • snowboarding
  • basketball court
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • cross country skiing
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Breakfast provided
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$249 - $349 per night
2 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$500 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$900 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10