Submitted: January 14, 2012
Stayed: January 2012
We stayed here for 5 days. Very nice unit, if you don't mind climbing lots of stairs that is. 46 from the car park to the master bedroom. Unit was clean, although the carpets were stained in many places. Several issues. Hot and cold water is reversed in many places. You could esily burn yourself because of this. En-suite toilet is actually plumbed with hot water, LOL. We were disappointed that we had to purchase absolutely everything we would need to cook and clean the dishes. No dishwasher detergent. No extra toilet paper. Useless dollar store dish soap. No sponges or cloths to do the dishes with. No placemats to eat at the dining room table (we didn't want to put hot dishes directly onto the wood surface in case it damaged the table). Nothing to remove hot items from the over with. No salt, pepper, etc. Thermostat kept resetting itself to randow temperatures, making the place either extremely hot or cold at random requiring constant supervision. Water filter in the fridge needed replacement so we couldn't use that. Our unit faced a construction site that woke us up bright and early at 7am every morning to the wonderful sound of saws and hammers.
So although the unit was large, modern, and well located, we wouldn't recommend it based on the fact that it was extremely bare bones for what appears to be a luxury rental. I don't think it's asking too much to provide dishwasher detergent, laundry soap, proper dish soap, extra toilet paper, place mats, oven mitts, and the basic amenities like salt and pepper for a rental of this calibre. We expected to have to buy our own food, but we didn't think we'd be forced to buy our own toilet paper.
Owner's Response: As you will know the homes at Damai are only a few months old and therefore we do expect to have a few teething issues. The work is already in hand to have the plumbing switched, as you were the first guest to have mentioned it.
In our welcome pack we do state that we only provide starter soaps, shampoo and detergents, as well as toilet paper, tissues and kitchen towels, which is normal for this type of rental, all of which should have been provided.
With regards to salt and pepper, the homes are cleared of all food stuffs after each guest so that there is no chance of you, the new guest, having any contaminated items.
The thermostat controller can easily be overridden by guests but unfortunately some guests change the underlying programs, sometimes not fully appreciating what they are changing. This problem along with the water filter and any other minor maintenance issues could have been easily rectified during your stay had you called out our management company, who’s details are clearly given in the guest directory.
We welcome all feedback, both positive and negative as we believe that is the best way we can improve our service for the next guest and hope that these issues did not stop you from enjoying your stay at Damai.
Helpful votes: 4/6
Did you find this review helpful?