OCEAN VIEW COFFEE FARM HOME

Albert Holt

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

OCEAN VIEW COFFEE FARM HOME

Holualoa Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description

Farmhouse, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Nicely appointed main residence in the heart of the famous Kona Coffee region on the Big Island of Hawaii. For the discerning traveler looking for a true Hawaii experience with space to stretch out and relax. Experience life in the Kona Coffee region, with clear mountain air, panoramic ocean views, country quiet, yet close to everything including airport, beaches, shopping and sightseeing. AL's Kona Coffee, our estate grown 100% Kona Coffee included with every stay.

This is the main residence on the farm, modern yet maintains the charm of the region with mild Japanese influences and unique Kona Coffee region architectural style. Built in 1998 is it a charming house painted red with a green roof which is so typical for homes in this area. Exquisitely landscaped and lighted with hibiscus, bamboo, 9 types of palms and mango, papaya, pineapple, etc. Ocean views from every room and Lanai. 1350 square foot residence and 400 square foot wrap around lanai with teak table for 6 and gas barbecue. Sit back and enjoy after a day of Big Island adventure.

The not so feral chickens provide fresh eggs and the not so wild turkeys provide much aloha. For more pictures see the link a bit down the page under 'Links to More Information'.

Keywords: Coffee,Kona,Farm,Ocean View, Country, Ocean, House, Single Family Home,Single Family, Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
This place already has everything going for it, but it just keeps getting better. Albert, it seems you are constantly upgrading this place. This is our 3rd stay and every time we see new stuff, not the same old stuff getting older every year like most of the VRBO's we frequent. This year new sofa, new larger fridge with icemaker, internet phone and new BBQ outside! Keep it up Albert, you have a real gem here!
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Albert Holt

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Albert and Linda Holt moved to the Big Island after deciding they needed something to do after working in Silicon Valley for the past 30 years. A Kona Coffee farm seemed to be just the ticket. Having had vacation rentals in Lake Tahoe and Las Vegas they were excited about being able to share the Kona Coffee farming experience, and the Big Island Hawaii experience with others, so they built a guest residence just for that purpose. Pictured here with the very first roasted and bagged coffee from our first year (2007) crop.

Albert Holt purchased this farmhouse in 2006

Being away from the resorts and tourist hustle and bustle, yet close enough to everything in order to be able to experience the true Hawaii and Aloha.

Panoramic ocean views, 1400 feet above sea level where the air is clean and cool, wild turkeys and chickens, and the occasional pig wandering the property, night time nature sounds, calm no traffic lifestyle and plenty of property to stretch out in.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
St. Paul, MN USA
5

A great oasis after adventure

  • 5 of 5
My two adult children and I rented this home and loved coming back there after arduous days hiking, swimming/snorkeling, sight seeing. It is GORGEOUS. My only warning is about the steep driveway and entrance to the property. Al and Linda do warn about this, but it was pretty hard to find at night. Once found, we felt very lucky to come home here and wake up here. The balcony and view are even better than the picture. What serenity and the set up really served us well for eating in and making lunch to go. We also enjoyed the water equipment provided for guests.
I don't believe that tourists without a car or those with limited physical ability would enjoy the experience as much. I will remember this experience and the time we had together for as long as I live. Al was very responsive when I called with questions, and in returning my damage deposit. Thanks!
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
4

Peaceful, green, quiet, relaxing

  • 4 of 5
Loved the stay. House and grounds beautiful. Kitchen and pantry closet could use some organization and restocking. We found glasses with pot and pans, seasonings with flatware, etc. Some suggestions: propane ran out and backup tank was empty also. Checking both would be a good idea, on a more regular basis as the water heater and stove depend on it. Folks also staying there put their towels in washer as directed upon departure, but cleaning folks didn't come at all to clean other unit or switch towels to dryer. We did it ourselves to prevent washer mold. Other place remained uncleared even as we left five days later. Also while there, the grounds crew did mowing and cleanup, and also lots of spraying of chemicals in the yard, around coffee plants, etc. We ended up turning away the Terminix folks as we are chemically sensitive. So knowing about all the chemicals used on the property would have been helpful. In addition, clean ups would be easier if liner bags for cans were supplied.
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the tips! We are putting in a large propane tank so we won't have to rely on the manual dual 8 gal tanks to supply the home. We also plan on PV for electricity in the near future, which will reduce our reliance on propane even further. The biggest issue with the propane is guests not following the recommendations in the Home Instructions: ..."Please be sure to notify us you have switched tanks so we can refill asap!". This helps us monitor usage better. Terminex only sprays a perimeter outside the house as we try to keep things as natural as possible without getting invaded with unwanted guests. On the coffee, we do spray a natural fungus used to keep the Coffee Berry Borer in check. The fungus is natural occurring and present everywhere, however, not able to survive during the drier seasons, so it is sprayed on to the trees during those times. This is the recommended and approved procedure by the EPA, USDA, and FDA. We are so pleased you had a great time!
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

Jewell in the heart of the big Island's coffee region

Jewell in the heart of the big Island's coffee region
  • 5 of 5
We loved this place. Having been to the big island several times before, i was looking for a rental in the Holualoa area as it has a small town feel in a rural setting away from the main tourist area of Kona, but with access to the main thoroughfares. Al's place is located on a quiet hillside, amongst an orchard of coffee and fruit trees and with a breathtaking view of the Kona coast. The house is very nicely appointed and set up with all the conveniences of home for cooking and home entertainment, even a small library. We had our breakfast each morning on the deck with that coastal panorama. Couldn't say enough about this place. We will recommend it to our friends who desire to visit the Big Island while being exposed to the serenity of rural Hawaii.
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
Zephyr Cove, NV, USA
5

Ocean View Coffee Farm House

  • 5 of 5
This is a delightful home. The VRBO description is very good and accurate. The house is clean and well maintained. The owner was helpful. We would recommend this home without hesitation.
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
Palm Springs, CA
4

Kool Kona

  • 4 of 5
One is overwhelmed by the view from the property. Day and Night it is the major attraction. It was relatively cool when we stayed so the lanai wasn't used all that much. But we used everything else. The highlight was meeting Albert and getting a chance to talk with him, learn about living in Hawaii, coffee growing, and their experiences on the Big Island.
The house is a bargain for staying in Holualoa. Entertainment system is complex to work at first and rather temperamental at times. Refrigerator is small and seems out of place compared to the rest of the appointments but satisfactory for our stay. It was great to have beach-going equipment which we used extensively.
The main house has a smaller apartment below and gave us a chance to meet fellow travelers and compare experiences and recommendations. Walk from garage to house is not a killer but with luggage or bags of groceries it does provide exercise.
Quiet and peaceful with majestic Mango tree and million dollar views. One of the best values in Hawaii that we've found.
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: New refrigerator purchased in June with icemaker! Seems the HD cable box needs rebooting every once in a while on the Entertainment system, something we really can't control, but bugs us as well!
business
Ocean View Coffee Farm Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370929vb
8312777270
Holualoa Kona Coast
Durham, CA 95942
4

Kona, Coffee House

  • 4 of 5
All tough the stay was pleasent and relaxing, It is now almoust the first of april 4 months later and I have yet to recieve my cleaning deposit?
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Kona
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Holualoa
Car: necessary

Coffee Farming

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Holualoa Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$139
$834
$3,336
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.4%
Notes The online pricing system is rigid so if you have any questions or would like a special request, please contact us! Bookings within 2 weeks of stay can receive a large discount, contact us for details.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Holualoa Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Garage
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Broadband Access ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • Music Library
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Games ...
  • Books
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • shelling
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hunting big game
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • wind-surfing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
In-wall 50' LCD with 5.1 Surround sound, Warm interior with shoji style closet doors and accents in Mahogany, Bamboo, Poplar and Maple, Bamboo floors throughout, open beamed ceilings, ocean view from every room, teak, leather, cherry and wicker furniture.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,225 - $1,925 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,300 - $1,600 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$750 - $1,200 per week
3 - 10 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6