MAKE OUR BEAUTIFUL LAKEFRONT PROPERTY YOUR MAGICAL HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!

Andy Burns

Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Andy Burns

Advertiser since 2011
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MAKE OUR BEAUTIFUL LAKEFRONT PROPERTY YOUR MAGICAL HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Emerald Lakes Cabin Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 11

Located in the heart of the beautiful Pocono Mountains. The property is situated on a peaceful lake with access to many attractions for both the thrill seeker and the relaxer alike. The home comes complete with 4 full bedrooms, accommodating up to 11 guests, a L shaped sofa, 42' Plasma TV, along with a Wood Burning Fire Place. The property is a short, five minute drive to the popular Pocono Raceway and is located an easy fifteen minute drive from Camelback Ski Resort, which becomes an exciting water park in the summer months. Somewhere in between you will find Mount Airy Casino if you find yourself feeling lucky ... That's if you ever want to leave the house your entire stay. There is plenty to keep you busy at the lake house from paddle boats to the popular hammocks or try your hand at cooking on the gas grill over looking the picturesque lake. There is also a communal pool located on the development if you don't fancy the lake. This property really has something for everyone!!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Andy Burns (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house was one of the first to be built on Emerald Lake and was affectionately called 'Big Red'. From the water, with its redwood stain, it does look like quite a house. It isn't a huge house, but it has a great feel and layout. The bedrooms are spaced on the left and right side of the main living area which is a kind of sunken living area with a wall of glass overlooking the lake. The lake is fun to swim in right from the homes own dock, we had tire tubes which we launched mid-afternoon. We had a special tube for the cooler ;-) and we lazily spent the summer day taking the rays till the sunset. Then to the fire pit where we kept warm. Believe me when I say that even in the summer the evenings are quite cool and delightful...no air conditioning required here, even in July
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 30 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 32 reviews
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
4

Pleasant Home

  • 4 of 5
The owner of the home was flexible in working with my schedule which was a great help. The home was clean and as described. The view out the windows was great and the acceptance of our dog really made the vacation like home. I deducted a star as the house does have a slight musty odor that is not overly unpleasant but strong enough to notice. Couple people in the house were more concerned with the smell than I was. It is a great location in that you are about 45 minute drive from most attractions in the Poconos. Recommend the house to anyone looking.
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and letting me know. The humidity can be quite bad in the Pocono's that can affect the scent and being on the lake often doesn't help. We will look to put a second dehumidifier in the Grand Room and that should help.
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
Philadelphia
4

Hated to leave!

  • 4 of 5
I have rented from several places via Home Away and other sites. I have always been successful in finding nice clean places with very friendly owners. However, I am almost always ready to return to my own home once my time is over. In Andy's home however, I had a very difficult time leaving. The property is so gorgeous, the lake so quiet, and the view so perfect, We all were very sad to leave.
I vacationed with my retired parents and our dogs; they have one, I have one. The deck has a gate so we didn't have to worry about our dogs getting loose. It was so nice having our dogs lazing around with us. I took mine out in my kayak (although there are kayaks provided I brought my own since I take my dog in it) and we did great hiking at Camelback.
The house itself is very cozy. While there is room to spread out if needed, it also has a feeling of a cabin where everyone is nearby. Hard to explain, but we loved that about the house. The kitchen is a galley kitchen so it's a bit small, but it was clean as were the bathrooms and bedrooms. I tend to be highly uncomfortable in bathrooms of rentals but I felt fine in this house.
The owner is attentive, kind, easy to contact & quick to respond. My mother is insanely picky about cleanliness and while she had her own initial concerns/worries, she surprised herself with how much she fell in love with this home.
I do not have much more to add by way of house specifics - I was looking for dog friendly that didn't smell like dog or have dog poo all around like some places, I was looking for clean, I was looking for comfortable, I was looking for beautiful views and tranquility. I found them all. Plus a huge gorgeous sky. Just a perfect place I would highly recommend. I hope to go back again asap!
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Ingrid! I never want to leave the house either, it has a certain draw to it. I hope to welcome you and your family back one day.

Best wishes,
Andy
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
5

Loved our vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We had a fabulous time at the lake house! There were 9 adults, 1 baby, and our dog, Remi. We fit very comfortably and didn't feel cramped at all. The lake was gorgeous. We used the boats everyday! The fire pit was well used too. We didn't all got at the dining room table but just opened the sliding door and overflowed onto the picnic table on the deck. The house had a very cute layout, and was decorated nicely just like a lake house should be. Andy was very helpful in the weeks prior answering all my questions(I had lots of them!). Our dog, who is used to being on a leash everywhere, loved running around in the back yard! He had a great vacation too! We saw deer daily, and one even came up close to my mother-in-law and licked her hand! The area was beautiful and woodsy. We enjoyed different activities around the area such as Jim Thorpe, Lehigh Gorge railway and Bushkill Falls. I would definitely recommend this house as a great getaway for anyone!
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive review! Adults, dogs and babies all seem to enjoy it and cant help but relax at the Lake House!

A new space efficient table that can fit 10 is on the shopping list for the Fall. Hope you get to return.

Thanks again,
Andy
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
4

Relaxing way to end our summer!

  • 4 of 5
Before even booking this vacation Andy, the owner answered my email within 24 hours, while other inquiries took longer or did not reply. After boooking I sent a lot of additional emails to which Andy replyed quickly and with patience (I sent a lot!)

When we arrived at the house the 5 children jumped in the lake, fished and boated all week. The house has everything needed for a comfortable stay and we look forward to staying at "Camp Bearfoot" again. I really enjoyed the hammock!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
Philadelphia, PA
5

Awesome July 4th Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time staying at Andy's place in the Poconos. The wraparound deck was a perfect place to view the fireworks on the fourth. The kids loved jumping off the dock and we even got to try our hand at fishing. The place was roomy and comfortable and we love making our own s'mores in the fire pit in our private little beach. Andy was really responsive with any questions we had, even though he was traveling out of the country (thanks, Andy!). The view was beautiful and it was serene and quiet and relaxing. We also loved how close the house was to all the major attractions. We would definitely come again!
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Liimu. Hopefully you and your family can return to the Lake House!
business
Make our beautiful lakefront property your magical home away from home!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p370651
+44 -7866112581
Emerald Lakes Poconos
3

Outside Fantastic, Inside Not So Much

  • 3 of 5
Let me start by saying that I really, really wanted to be able to give this house a 5 star review. But, as we are currently staying here and are reminded of the house's downfalls every time we look around, I felt compelled to write a review now. The outside of this house is great...the lake is peaceful and the boats and dock make this a great place to spend the day outdoors. But the charm truly ends there. We arrived to all of the screen doors being torn and off the tracks. The upstairs toilet wouldn't flush. The dryer hose was broken. Luckily, my husband was able to fix these things, but why should we have to? We needed to replace the upstairs shower liner as it was covered in black mold. There are cobwebs in the big windows, the huge curtains are covered in dirt, and the carpet is stained throughout the house. Lastly, this house smells.....really bad. I've tried lighting candles, but nothing will get rid of the musty/dead animal smell that protrudes throughout the house. I am incredibly disappointed in the house's appearance and feel that the photos shown on the website inaccurately portray this home. We will not be returning, but really wish we could, if the house was properly updated and/or maintained well.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Erin,

I am sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing but I am equally disappointed that you didn't allow us the opportunity to fix the problems when we had the chance to positively affect your stay. You had told me about the broken chain but I was under the impression it had been rectified. Had I known it had not, I would have arranged a plumber to go there immediately. I agree with you in that you shouldn't have had to fix any of the concerns that you found; we rent the house with a good support network of tradesmen in the area, but we do ask renters to pass any issues on so that we can address them immediately in order that they don’t become problems that guests have to deal or put up with.

I hope this is reflected in the other reviews of the house, that we as owners do always aim to go the extra step to ensure guests have a positive stay. I really don’t like the fact that you had a negative stay, but feel that the way in which this has been directed in unproductive because this is the first I am hearing about most of these concerns so there wasn't an opportunity to fix them for you and your family at the time. The musty smell you refer to is difficult for a homeowner to hear in the way in which you have detailed it. The house is a lake front wooden house, and with houses of that age in the location there is going to be a scent that is going to be dissimilar to that of a modern house, but we as many believe the ambiance of the house is part of its charm too. I will aim to deal with all the issues that you have highlighted, but I do wish that you had given us the opportunity to rectify them when you were there.

The shower curtain and curtain being as described is totally unsatisfactory and that I do apologise for. We will replace them immediately. The house got checked before the summer rentals started and that wasn't observed then, but that does not represent the house we hope to provide guests with. I continually strive to maintain an open communication with all renters from the start of the process, throughout their stay and help in any way I can so that they can plan and enjoy the house and the area as much as we do.

Best wishes,
Andy
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
38.2 Miles
Scranton Airport/ Allentown/ Newark
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Van Gilders Jubilee Restaurant/ Bar
Nearest Ferry
78.9 Miles
New York
Nearest Golf
4.4 Miles
Wild Pines Golf Course
Nearest Train
49.4 Miles
Hacketstown
Nearest Motorway
3.6 Miles
Interstate 380
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Van Gilders Jubilee Restaurant/ Bar
Nearest Ski
7.8 Miles
Camelback Ski
Car: recommended
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Emerald Lakes Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Peak
Oct 1 2014 - Nov 26 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
From
$425
Fri,Sat
$1,250
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,495
Flat fee
 
 
Off Peak
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 21 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
From
$425
Fri,Sat
$1,250
 
 
Christmas Week
Dec 22 2014 - Dec 26 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,395
Flat fee
 
 
Off peak
Dec 26 2014 - Dec 28 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$425
 
 
New Years Eve
Dec 29 2014 - Jan 2 2015
5 night minimum stay
$1,495
Flat fee
 
 
Off Peak
Jan 2 2015 - May 21 2015
Changeover Day: Friday
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$425
Fri,Sat
$1,250
 
 
Memorial Day 2015
May 22 2015 - May 25 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,395
Flat fee
 
 
June prices
Jun 6 2015 - Jun 26 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,650
 
 
Peak
Jun 27 2015 - Aug 22 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,950
 
 
Last week of August 6 nights
Aug 22 2015 - Aug 27 2015
6 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Labour Day 2015
Aug 28 2015 - Aug 31 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,495
Flat fee
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Refundable damage deposit $250
Notes Additional night = $100
Dog fee = $50
Included: cleaning, credit card fees and Property Damages Protection or PDP (www.propertydamagesprotection.com).

Refundable deposit required of $250 for any damages not covered by PDP, e.g. lost or damaged boats or oars; non removal of trash; outside area or grill left in an unreasonable condition. This will be refunded within 5 days of departu

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Emerald Lakes Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telescope
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon Sleeps 1
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Gated Community
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Pedal Boat
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Raft
  • Sailboat
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
WIfI availabe
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote