Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Quaint beach Suite ...on beachfront property.

Bruce Carter

Member since: 2003
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Contact the Manager

Bruce Carter

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 2, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Quaint beach Suite ...on beachfront property.

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights


Indian Shores Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Large one bedroom apt. Full kitchen and living rm w sleeper sofa

features Travertine floors and marble urns by the bedroom fireplace. It is located on the first floor of the carriage house 100’ back from the beach on the courtyard. The living room looks down the walk to the Gulf. Kitchen and bedroom look out at Boca Ciega Bay across the street. Our older guests appreciate the ground floor and no steps. Enjoy, relax the beach is just steps away. Sit under the gazebo and watch the sun melt into the blue Gulf waters.

Free wifi and free on site parking

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bruce Carter (Property Manager)
Member since: 2003
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 2, 2015

About Bruce Carter

I'm Curtis Westphal. My wife and I reside in Golden just outside of Denver. I am a city planner and trained as an architect. She is a part time school teacher. Her dad was a home builder in Michigan that brought the family down to Sarasota for a new start. My dad was a pilot in the Air Force that got transferred to the air base in Tampa. We met in college at the University of Florida. Both of us had relatives in Denver so after we graduated we took a road trip, liked Colorado and this has been our home for 30 years. We love the beach and the sun and the water. My grandparents that owned this place were very special people. It is always a good feeling when we make that last leg of our trip down there, cross the bridge onto the island and take in the smell of salt air and sight of the Gulf of Mexico.

Bruce Carter purchased this cottage in 1996

Why Bruce Carter chose Indian Shores

Its been in the family since 1966. Good memories of days on the beach with our 2 boys when my grandparents owned the place. Too nice to let it go. 3rd generation owner.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Quaint beach Suite ...on beachfront property.
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

Right on the beach

  • 5 of 5

I have been coming to this resort for the last five years. It is great place for the family. We can't wait to come back next year!!!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Josh, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It's always a pleasure seeing you and your family. We look forward to seeing all of you on the beach again soon. Your friends at Beachfront Rentals 727-595-3611


  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Unit 1 for 2 weeks and enjoyed all the amenities -- beach toys, beach towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas were all provided as well as being just steps from the beach, which was quiet and away from the crowded large condo complexes. We appreciate having the use of a kitchen as well as being within walking distance of restaurants. The traffic was noisy during St Patrick's Day and Spring Break but guess that was to be expected. Easy traveling time to spring major league baseball training games, sightseeing, shopping. Have already booked again for next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
St. Petersburg

Love this place

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were so tired of staying in hotels...same ol same, That is why we decided to stay at a unique place. We stayed in a beach house apartment at Sun n Fun and were not disapointed. It was charming and had characture. Locattion was amazing, Gulf in front of you and the intercoastal waterway behind you. We also enjoyed that the management was not hovering around you like other places we have been. They we more then helpful and prompt when we needed something or just wanted directions or their favorite restaunts. If we return to this area we will be staying again at Sun n Fun Beachfront Rentals.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Sun n Fun. We have heard from other guests similar comments about appreciating the feel of a beach house over a hotel. Thank You , We hope to see you again on the beach ! Bruce
St. Paul. MN

Customers and property treated shabbily!

  • 1 of 5

The good: The beach and the overall location = 5 stars. Many excellent restaurants, easy drive other popular beaches. Couldn’t have been happier- unless the weather was warmer and sunnier.

The bad: Bruce (the manager) completely fouled up our reservation and apparently double booked the week with another party- even though he accepted our deposit and confirmed! He offered to put us into unit 6- and double booked that later in the week as well -WHILE WE WERE THERE! In trying to fix the problem he managed to make it worse- by being rude to my wife and eventually advising us that he could refund the second part of our stay so that we could find another place on our own- although even he said we’d be unlikely to find anywhere else on the beach at that point. We ended up having to stay in unit 5- a shabby studio for the rest of our stay. After this experience, I wouldn’t advise ANYONE to stay at this rental property and I’d advise the owners of the property to get rid of Bruce.

The property itself, being described variously as “romantic” or “quaint” are apparently code words meaning “out of date” and “badly in need of maintenance”. We appreciate the “romance” and “nostalgia” of the units- but there are some serious updates and general maintenance that need to take place. In both of the units we stayed in, there were issues with old windows that either wouldn’t operate correctly or were broken. I’m guessing that the plumbing and electrical systems have not been upgraded in decades. There were broken floor tiles- which is typically the case with floors that are so uneven and sloping. It’s also time to replace the vinyl mini blinds- they are not meant to last a lifetime and are showing their age. Also, the window A/C units need attention, as the duct tape used to seal the edges and keep the bugs/weather out is peeling away and falling off. In general, a full makeover and a full-time maintenance person (hopefully not Bruce) are required. I’m certain that there is enough money coming in with all the rentals and (double bookings) to spruce things up very nicely. I’m no expert- but I can see that very little of the income from these properties is going back into them.

On another positive note, we should say that the housekeeping seems to be a bright spot, though. Despite the lack of maintenance, the units were both as clean as one could expect considering that they are falling apart. I don’t think you’re likely paying that poor woman enough.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We received your comments and we want to assure you we are and will continue to make improvements to this historic beach house from 1925. I also want to apologize for any miscommunication on my part. Fred, when we spoke, before your arrival we had a pleasant conversation. I offered you an upgrade to our largest beachfront suite for 4 nights and then move to our beachfront studio OR if you wanted me to see if another arrival would be interested and you stay in the suite you originally booked. You said you needed to speak with you wife and that you would let me know. Your wife called back and said she preferred the upgraded unit for the same rate of $129 per night. I told her yes, the rate would not change to the $369. Per night. Fred, I believe the miscommunication was when I said to you that I would do my best to keep you in this beach suite for your entire stay. I am not sure your wife was aware of that. When we spoke on the 3rd day of your stay you said you were both having a great time. When we spoke again about changing to the beachfront studio I was surprised at how upset you both were. We did try to keep you in this apt for the last few nights. My staff and I tried to make a smooth seamless move by offering to help you move to the beach apt in the same beach house, or move later in the day, and only after your wife said that was unacceptable, I finally gave the option of refunding her money and that I would look for another beach apt for the same amount, but it would be difficult to find during this season. I apologize if she took that last option as me being rude. We were all just doing our best to please you both. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the beach units. My apologies again. We do not want a situation like this to happen again, so we have changed our reservation policy by having the guest sign any agreed amended confirmation. We take pride in our ability to make our guests enjoy a relaxing stress-free beach experience, I’m sorry you did not have that experience. Please feel free to call me Bruce
NY State

Great location,rustic,but charming family spot

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed a very pleasant week at Sun N Fun while in Florida for a family wedding.Though the place is old, it is clean and quiet.The location and views of the gulf & intracoastal waterway are the best.The manager,Bruce is attentive and helpful..There are several good restaurants nearby;great donuts & bagels at Lighthouse Donuts a short walk up the boulevard;a place to rent kayaks across the's a great family spot.We recommend it.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful having you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a view we do appreciate it. We hope you are able to revisit sun n fun beachfront rentals in the near future. Bruce


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Tampa International airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Largo Golf
Nearest Beach
We are on the beach. 12 steps away
Car: recommended

Location, Location , Location...You will be vacationing on the closest beach to Tampa airport while also secluded from the vacation crowds. We are located in 'The Narrows', so named by the local settlers of the 1920's because the barrier island is so skinny here that there is only room for a single row of homes. The emerald green waters of the Gulf are out your front door and and yachts cruising the channel are out your back door. Water surrounds you like no where else with fantastic tropical views and a true island feeling. Our many repeat guests tell us that this is the most coveted spot on the 12 miles of world class beaches between Clearwater and St Petersburg.

Dolphin Tale

The Clearwater Marine Aquarium, home of Winter the Dolphin – just minutes from the Sun n Fun Beachfront vacation rentals.

Winter the Dolphin has captured the world with her story of survival and determination.


Rates & Availability

From $129 Per night

Indian Shores Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Apr 11 2015 - Oct 31 2015
4 night minimum stay
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 22 2015
4 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2015 - May 1 2016
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $55
Tax Rate 12.0%
Enter dates to see total


Indian Shores Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 640 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Note: water views even from the bathroom
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Comfy queen with views from your bed of the Intracoastal waterways.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 20 garden chairs
  • 15 beach chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Clearwater and its island beaches are fortunate to offer something for everybody. Our attractions include arts and museums, the natural environment, historical buildings, special events and more traditional 'attractions' such as theme parks, whatever your preference. The sampling of attractions below offers a little bit of everything. Adventure Island 4500 Bougainvillea, Tampa (813) 987-5660. Tampa Bay's only outdoor water theme park. Busch Gardens Tampa Bay 3000 East Busch Blvd., Tampa (813) 987-5082. An extraordinary atmosphere filled with naturalistic animal habitats and shows, hair-raising roller coasters, Rhino Rally and more, dazzling live entertainment. Clearwater Marine Aquarium Home of Winter the Dolfin 249 Windward Passage, Clearwater (727) 447-0980.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote