Our trip was wonderful. The location is supreme. Oceanfront! The sand and surf was just down the steps off the all too small deck. The central area of the house was very comfortable......but every drawer, cabinet in the kitchen, pantry area was so cluttered with junk and trash, that using the utensils and housewares was yucky. The master bath was in need of an electric outlet; however the absence of one, was not earth shaking. The property was described as "2" bedrooms. IT IS NOT! It has 1 bedroom in the house......and sleeping quarters with a bath above the garage. You have to access the upstair sleeping quarters by going outside and around the house (no outside lights were working) . The upstair sleeping quarters could ONLY be secured from the inside. So if you actually used the upstairs as a bedroom, when you would leave to go sightseeing, or to a restaurant, your luggage and belongings would be accessible to whoever wanted in. When the a/c cycled on, it sounded as if someone was coming in....so needless to say after spending one night upstairs with no sleep, I was relegated to the couch in the main house, with 1 bathroom. Oh, I forgot, the "3rd" bathroom is at the back of the garage.The garage is FILTHY, roach infested and cluttered with construction supplies and junk. No one wanted to go through the garage for anything. The grill is broken, filthy and basically unusable and stored in the garage. The bedding was not clean. We had to wash the bedding before we went to bed.
Owner's Response: We appreciate your review, it is important to us that we know if you enjoyed your stay. However, we are very surprised that you felt you were mislead in anyway. We advertise two bedrooms because we have two bedrooms. We always make sure the potential renters are aware that one of the bedrooms is located in separate sleeping quarters with its own private entry because it is located upstairs and may not be app ealing to potential renters with children. Since, it is a separate sleeping quarter, there is a door with a lock and key to secure the room when leave. We never disclosed in our website that we have a spacious or large deck to the beach, although the upstairs has a large deck with a spectacular view of the coast that is delightful. The home does in fact have a 3rd bathroom that is for beach access so that renters can wash off the sand from the beach before entering our home. That bathroom can be accessed from the garage, but most use it to rinse off then come into the house through the main entrance. Yes, our garage does contain storage items, paint buckets, brushes and other items normally found in garages for regular maintenance, however we have never had renters concerned about those items, we are sorry you had concern about them. We do stock light bulbs in the kitchen pantry so that when bulbs go out they are readily available for your convenience. Palmetto bugs unfortunately do get in garages from the outside in Florida, that is not an uncommon event but because we have a pest control service, occasionally they may be found here and there belly up. Being that we have owned the house for many years, we have collected a lot of kitchen items, most renters are glad to have a large varity of utensils to use. We appreciate your feedback, being that we pay for a professional cleaning service, we would have preferred, that we were contacted about the unacceptable bedding. if we had known, we would have contacted our cleaning service to resolve it immediately, but unfortunately we were not notified. The renter had our phone number and email contact. We communicated several times any never a word of displeasure was mentioned.
Helpful votes: 11/13
Did you find this review helpful?