Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

HISTORIC HOME WALKING DISTANCE TO DOWNTOWN, CITY PARK, 17TH ST, UPTOWN, LODO

Erica Veil

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Erica Veil

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

HISTORIC HOME WALKING DISTANCE TO DOWNTOWN, CITY PARK, 17TH ST, UPTOWN, LODO

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Denver House Rental Photos and Description

Victorian farmhouse, 4 Bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, sleeps 7

Between the airport and the ski resorts, come experience the fun and liveliness of downtown Denver.

Built in 1890, this renovated Victorian farmhouse has many original features including built-in cabinetry, 2 staircases to the 2nd floor and original hardwood flooring throughout, while also offering all the modern conveniences including a huge updated kitchen. Centrally located in City Park West, midway between downtown Denver and City Park. Close to all the shops and restaurants and bars on 17th Street and downtown Denver. Less than a 1-hour drive from the majestic Rocky Mountains and some of the best skiing in the world. 30 minutes to Boulder. Lightrail station and library blocks away. Grocery store within walking distance. Museums, zoo, golf course, botanical gardens, shopping, 16th Street Pedestrian Mall, Cherry Creek Mall, theatres, cinemas.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Erica Veil (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014

Why Erica Veil chose Denver

We loved living in this area of Denver, which is great for walking and bike riding. On a bike ride one weekend, we stumbled across this beautiful Victorian home and fell in love. We had been in a loft in a nearby neighborhood. When we moved to this home, it felt like the best of both worlds, urban living close to everything going on, yet with more property to feel more private and separated from the neighbors. The home's brick walls are close to 1 foot thick, so there is a lot of separation from inside living and the neighborhood.

What makes this house unique

Stay in an area filled with 1800s homes, close enough to enjoy every bit of excitement Denver has to offer, yet still with a neighborhoody feel. Unlike some neighborhoods that are this close to downtown, parking is never an issue.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
4

We loved our stay!!

  • 4 of 5
Beautiful home, quiet neighborhood, close to many attractions!
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
2

Renter BEWARE

  • 2 of 5
Although the house was nice enough for an old house, the owner is is not honest. A half hour before we arrived for our 4 day stay, the housekeeper called to inform us that the shower door in the master bath was broken off its hinge and a repair man would come the next day. When we arrived and did our walk through, I found the shower door hanging by one hinge, out into the room. When I touched it while passing by to the toilet, it shattered into a million pieces. Turns out this is typical of tempered glass when its under a torque stress - a touch triggers shattering. Shower doors are renowned for this liability. I was cut superficially, had glass in my arms, hair, clothes, everywhere. My husband rushed to the room, got me out of there and spent the next half hour cleaning it up. I called the housekeeper who came by to help, but my husband was largely finished. We never got to use the shower since it would take too long to get a replacement. We had to go to the first floor each day to use the bathroom since the single other bathroom on the floor was being used by people in the 3 remaining bedrooms. What did the owner do? Did she reimburse or compensate us in anyway? No. She actually took half of the large security deposit, stating that she could have charged us more and that we were at fault! Unbelievable!! In fact the cleaning crew broke the door prior to our arrival, put us in danger of serious injury. Shower doors shatter if they are chipped or stressed. This is a well established fact. A simple Google search shows that 1000s have experienced this. As previous reviewers have noted, she's done this before. Basically, this woman is renting an old house, and every time something breaks down, she charges whoever is staying there at the time for the repair. There were a number of other minor old house issues - the 2cd floor toilet overflowed twice from nothing but a simple flush. There was no closet rod for hanging clothes in 2 bedrooms and the 3rd bedroom has a rod half way up, so no place for dresses. The ottoman in the master bedroom had a broken leg (notified the housekeeper upon arrival - said she would have it fixed - never did). Most annoying, however, are the printed instructions for departure - you must strip the beds, put the sheets plus bath towels in the washer and run load of wash. This, despite paying additional for housecleaning at the end of your stay. Renter beware. Not worth the hassle.
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our property manager (not housekeeper) contacted the guest prior to check in to inform them of the broken shower door and to request to please not use that bathroom until the next morning, and that my handyman would be over at the first time in the morning convenient for them to fix it. And until then, from 4pm one day to the morning of the next, to please use either of the other two full bathrooms. Instead, this guest chose to go against our request to not use the bathroom, "touched" the door so it shattered, and chose to clean up the mess themselves. So, instead of a simple fix of a hinge, this now became a full replacement of frameless glass shower door (~$700).

In all our communications with guests, we stress if there's anything wrong with the property to please contact our property manager, and the appropriate person from the team that takes care of the property will be dispatched at the earliest possible time. As a stand-alone unique property, I had the choice to proceed with allowing the guest to check in and assume they would be smart enough to heed our instructions, or cancel the reservation altogether and potentially strand them with no place to stay. Being that there is 3100 square feet of living space and three full bathrooms (two completely functional and accessible for the first night of this guest's stay), I had no inkling that this would be a challenge for them. Because I would hate to be stranded myself with no place to stay, I still stand by my decision to allow them to check in. Instead of holding the entire security deposit, I refunded half of it out of good will, which still doesn't cover the cost of the new door.
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
5

Charming and cozy, interesting, an wonderful home.

  • 5 of 5
Our experience was terrific, the home is in a great and super neighborhood for a for walk every morning, close to city park. Home had great charm, wonderful spaces, wood floors, huge showers, claw foot tub, very neat & clean. Very comfortable for 7 of our family members. Loved the location for downtown and all the hot spots of Denver. Innkeeper was easily reached when needed anything. And that front porch was well used. Erika allowed us to bring our 80 lb, 8 year old therapy dog Boxer, and this made our trip feel like we where a family enjoying our own home....just what we where wanting! Thank you Erika it was super.
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
5

Lovely Victorian Close to Downtown Denver

  • 5 of 5
This wonderful Victorian home was very accurately pictured and described in the listing description. The furnishings were lovely and the dining and living areas accomodated our family gatherings very nicely. The kitchen was fully equipped making it easy to cook in the home and serve our guests. It was very convenient to downtown Denver and local attractions, very easy to get around. I would highly recommend the property for families, or several couples who would like to visit Denver and have the convenience of staying in a home versus a hotel. Three out of the four bedrooms were larger and nicer than what you would get if you stayed in a hotel, and you couldn't duplicate the gathering areas and kitchen for the ambiance, relaxed conversation and dining. So if you were to consider what 3 or 4 hotel rooms would cost downtown Denver, you are way ahead staying here. Plus there is plenty of on street parking, and the owner was very easy to deal with.
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
5

The Victorian Was Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at this lovely Victorian Home in/near downtown Denver. The home was beautiful, clean, spacious, and perfectly located with a charming historic feel. We were visiting friends for the Labor Day weekend and the house served as a perfect meeting place to relax before dinner etc. There is a great outdoor space with a grill that we used for a little cookout. Both Erica and her property manager are extremely professional and courteous. I highly recommend this property to anyone staying in Denver.
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Historic home Walking distance to downtown, City Park, 17th St, Uptown, LoDo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369399
Denver Denver Area
2

Flawed Charm

  • 2 of 5
I'm writing just over one month after my departure from this house, and I have finally received the security deposit returned to me. There's just one problem: It's for $90 less than what was put down. The owner claims the house required extra cleaning, but also noted that the woman hired to clean the house had her hip replaced the following week (which is why it took so long, I'm told, to get my money back). I wonder which theory is more plausible: That her cleaning lady with a hip needing replacing required extra time to clean the house, or that five young PhDs attending an academic conference who were not home most of the time we were in Denver dirtied the house to the point of requiring extra cleaning? She alleges we didn't follow the proper check-out procedures. I rent houses from VRBO, HomeAway, and AirBnB all over the world, all the time. I've never had a problem with the security deposit. We did what we need to do, yet we were penalized.

This wouldn't have been so upsetting if the house was stellar, but there are problems here. Most notably the fact that the air conditioning was not operational during our entire stay. It was hot. And I mean HOT in Denver. The property manager said she'd fix it. Every day we called. She said she was on it. Each day, we kept waiting for relief from the heat at night. We never got it. It was miserable trying to sleep at night, and the tiny fins placed in each room did little to help.

The house is in a dodgy neighborhood, and was a bit of a pain to get to from downtown where our conference was located. We figured it out in the end, but it was occasionally a headache that required cab rides or long walks to bus stops when the closer bus lines weren't in service.

In the end, I cannot in good conscience recommend this house. It has some wonderful qualities -- most notably the beautiful Victorian architecture -- but the owner is a bad manager and I wouldn't willingly go into business with her again.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest chose to run the air conditioning overnight even though the outside temperature was far too cool to require it, and thus the unit froze. We communicated with this guest thoroughly during the first two days of his stay until the air conditioning was fixed. I paid $300 for an emergency fix so they would be comfortable the rest of their stay, and this charge was not taken out of their security deposit.
We also communicated thoroughly after their stay to itemize the way the house was left, which required extra hours of cleaning. Never once did this guest deny they left such a mess.
We also fully explained that the housekeeping invoice needed to be received to fully understand the honest deduction from the security deposit. This guest accuses the extra cleaning time on a hip replacement, when in fact it is the owner of the housekeeping company who invoices me who had the surgery, not the actual housekeeper.
This neighborhood is one mile from downtown Denver, thus it is considered inner city - there are people of all colors and races in the neighborhood. It is a safe and vibrant neighborhood, with a lot of opportunities close at hand, but if you are and are uncomfortable in a setting different from monochrome suburbs, perhaps this is not the home for your stay.

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Denver International Airport (DEN)
Nearest Barpub
0.6 Miles
All along 17th Avenue and in Uptown
Nearest Golf
0.9 Miles
City Park Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.6 Miles
RTD Lightrail Station
Nearest Motorway
2.2 Miles
I-25
Nearest Restaurant
0.6 Miles
All along 17th Avenue and in Uptown
Nearest Ski
34 Miles
Rocky Mountains
Car: not necessary

A neighborhood filled with Victorian homes, blocks from Denver's largest park, City Park, and just one mile from the excitement of downtown. Very near 17th Street and Uptown, which offer a wide array of restaurants, coffee shops, bars, wine bars, salons and shops.

Grocery store and liquor store within walking distance. Light rail station within a few blocks.

Golf: City Park, a few blocks from the home, has a golf course.

Ski: Heading to or from the mountains? Wishing to have a nice time in Denver before or after your ski trip? Don't come to Colorado and miss out on everything Denver has to offer. We're located in the heart of one of the coolest parts of town, nice walk or quick drive to Downtown and all it has to offer, City Park's natural beauty, 17th Street's long line of restaurants, bars, and shops, Uptown's cool, and Cherry Creek. Only 30 minutes to Boulder. Only 30 minutes to Denver International Airport.

RTD connects Denver International Airport to town, and SOON there will be a light rail going all the way to the airport!

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $264 Per night

Denver House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2014 - Dec 27 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years
Dec 28 2014 - Jan 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 5 2015 - Apr 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
From
$330
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,850
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest
 
Special Event
Apr 13 2015 - Apr 27 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,250
$6,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $49 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $39 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Damage Protection Fee $89 + Tax
Cleaning $160 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.88%
Notes All rates are for up to 7 guests.
Additional cleaning fee is $10 for each additional guest.
NOTE :: If your browser shows a nightly rate, please know we do not offer nightly rates
Payment via bank check is free.
Payment via PayPal or Wire Transfer has associated fees.
$1000 and Rental Agreement ensures your dates are reserved, Balance due 30 days prior to check-in.
Damage protection is non-refundable.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Denver House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , huge walk-in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , historic claw foot tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Hair dryer in each bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
  • High-thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets. Alarm clocks. 2 additional beds and bedding can be supplied, for accommodating up to 9 guests, for $39/guest/night. All rates mentioned in this listing are for up to 7 guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • tennis
Notes:
Nice collection of cookbooks, and an array of Colorado maps and tourism guides. My housekeeper is willing to fill the refrigerator prior to your stay, based on your specific requests. This requires advance notification. My property manager is very active in the area and can be a great resource for helping you plan your stay based on your interests.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote