So looking forward but so disappointed
Submitted: September 23, 2012
Stayed: September 2012
Pictures on the internet look good although not so in real life. Cleaning fee and security deposit returned to us by owner/manager but they refused to give us a full refund. They were very dismissive of our complaints which were, in our opinion very important as we were paying guests. Carpets were stained and grubby , barbeque not cleaned, fridge not emptied, left with half eaten food/containers, dirty food and kitchen cupboards that were very scuffed, bath with large portions of enamel missing, old broken outdoor furniture, just general dis-repair. We couldn't stay here. We had three hotel moves which a big portion of our spending money had to provide. The comments from manager was "How could any of the above had an effect on our holiday" , well it did i'm afraid. He also stated " that the carpets did have a few stains, however not to state they are too dirty to bear." and he stated he knows the kitchen needs a complete overhaul. I was informed that he thought my standards were too high. We were due to have family members from the UK and Canada visit but I couldn't take them there. However the owner and manager think its all acceptable and that the house will continue to rent. I would not recommend this property.
Owner's Response: Margaret notified us of her dissatisfaction by email two full days after their check-in. She did not call or mention anything to our manager at any point until after they left even though he lives half a block away. She stated in her correspondence with us that her party booked and stayed at 3 other homes which were also unacceptable for them, possibly requesting a full refund in each case. While we do not understand how or why so many residences were booked than vacated, we are sorry that we were involved with this party.
Margaret’s statements of the home being “ run down, dirty and scruffy” are completely false. There is no validity to these statements whatsoever! I am offended at these comments . We have had this home open nearly 6 months and have received very warm & positive reviews from our very happy guests, several of whom, have said they would return. The home has been booked solid since we’ve opened our doors to guests which speaks volumes about the condition and appearance of our home. All our beds and linens are new, there is new furniture in the home, new kitchen dishes and appliances, we advertise our home as being, warm, comfortable, and “sparkling clean” which, it is. Our property manager lives within a half a mile and he is meticulous in inspecting the home after each cleaning. Our property manager was at the home when Margaret & Graham arrived and welcomed them in and showed the home. They said nothing to the contrary except they were happy to have arrived. Our home is far from being “dirty and run-down” as suggested.
Our photographs correctly depict the appearance of our home. We have had many satisfied guest during the past 6 months. I’m unsure they were expecting upon arrival; however, this review is completely out of line, false, and unacceptable.
Helpful votes: 3/5
Did you find this review helpful?