READ THE REVIEWS, SUPER COOL PLACE. ON 1ST BLOCK, DECKS, TOYS VERY CLEAN

Marty Heim

Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Marty Heim

Advertiser since 2011
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

READ THE REVIEWS, SUPER COOL PLACE. ON 1ST BLOCK, DECKS, TOYS VERY CLEAN

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Catalina Island Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

If you want to be in the heart of town and walk anywhere this is it. It is on the first block, steps to the sand and steps to any restaurant or bar. Right next door to the Catalina Island Conservancy so easy if you want a tour or event. Two nice decks, you can have a drink and enjoy the views or people watch. All newly redone, nice everything. Sound throughout along with flatscreen bluray and mp3 dock. It technically is a one bedroom but it is 1100 sq ft with two euroloungers that fold out and all bedding/towels included. This is a fun place to go and you will love it, we do.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach casita, condo, apartment, centrally located, walking distance, downtown

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Marty Heim (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why Marty Heim chose Catalina Island

Always loved the Island, the best memories are here.

Did a total remodel very recent. Everything is in great shape, read the reviews. Everybody loves this place.

What makes this villa unique

Includes Kayak, 2 SUPs, 4 Bikes,umbrella, cart to carry stuff to beach or market and 4 beach chairs.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 69 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
average rating of 4.884058 based on 69 reviews
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Ventura ca
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
The location of the house is great. See the ocean from the balconies. Relax and people watch. The owner was available for questions. I will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
1

Ruined Anniversary

  • 1 of 5
For our 25th wedding anniversary, I wanted to do something special. I saw this property on VRBO, and prepaid a 6 night stay, at considerable expense. We looked forward to a nice romantic stay. When we checked in, the stove was beeping loudly, like a piercing smoke alarm. I called the owner, and he said he would call a handyman to fix it.

We walked around, had lunch, and returned. No handyman, still beeping. I called the owner again, and the handyman showed up late afternoon. I was willing to help, so we worked together to find a solution. The electric stove could not be unplugged. It had a 240 volt hardwired line inside metal conduit. We went into the alley to find the stove breaker. The wiring was in poor condition and shoddy-looking. I had been told that another unit in the same building was having power problems. No wonder.

We discovered the only way to stop the relentless beeping was to shut off power to the entire building, since there was no dedicated breaker for the range, in violation of electrical code. A short in the stove could start a fire. We reset the breakers. The handyman said he felt sorry for us, and left. The piercing beeping continued.

My wife and I spent a sleepless night on the floor out on the porch,in a vain attempt to escape the beeping. Hardly the romantic, relaxing vacation we had paid so much for. It was a disaster. I kept thinking about the shoddy illegal wiring, and the danger it posed. It was a serious situation, to rest the place in this condition to trusting VRBO customers.

When the sun came up, we realized that we could not endure these conditions any longer. I called the owner, who told me he was trying to get a repairman. This was no consolation, considering the hazards we were concerned about, not to mention we feared losing our sanity from the piercing beeping. We had lost one vacation day, endured a sleepless night on the floor, and wanted to spend our remaining vacation in a better place. I told the owner so, and we left.

Days later I sent the owner an email explaining our thoughts and actions, and requesting a refund. His reply was mocking and disrespectful. I have been trying to work with the VRBO Trust and Security Department to secure a refund. We have enjoyed many wonderful VRBO stays at other places, but this has been a terrible experience. I would suggest VRBO travelers consider alternatives to this place. Beware.
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay because the oven was beeping. I called a handyman as soon as you called me but when he got there you guys were gone so he couldn't get in. He came back later when you were back but was unable to figure it out in the time he had. It's an island with limited resources, there is no appliance guy ready to serve at a moments notice. I did have it fixed the next day, the same day you left. It's a shame because you missed five of the most beautiful days of the entire year. I did everything in my power to get it handled. I have even bought a new stove just to be sure it wouldn't happen again.

In these reviews you are able to say things that are untrue and the only recourse for me is to write a reply. Your statement said "poor condition and shoddy looking, dangerous, illegal " are untrue. The building was rebuilt in 2007 to code with all permits on file at Avalon City Hall. There is NO danger, furthermore it's got fire sprinklers throughout. The building is in phenomenal condition.

You threatened me with a bad review, verbally and by email. I have almost 70 five star reviews and over 20 five star reviews on my other VRBO 476838. You are my first and only bad review EVER. My goal is to make sure I do everything I can to make sure people have great times. If you read the reviews there is a recurring theme mentioning how easy I was to work with etc. etc. etc. I pride myself in taking care of my vacationers, it's well documented. If you just bail out and threaten me with a bad review then there's not much I can do.

As far as your claim that I was "mocking or disrespectful", I don't know where you get that. I have even asked other people to read my reply and they don't see that claim either. Your last comment is "beware". I think people will beware of the 1 bad review out of 90 five star reviews.

I am sorry you are unhappy, Marty
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Lobster Dive Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Loved the location! Tried something new for our annual lobster dive trip. Very pleased. The unit was very clean with updated bathrooms and kitchen with nice appliances! Enjoyed use of kayak, paddle boards and bikes. Two nights was not enough time! Very grateful that we were able to store our luggage in storage space after check out. Awesome weekend!
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Totally awesome stay in Catalina!

  • 5 of 5
This is the first time my partner and I have used a VRBO type stay anywhere. Typically, we get the usual hotel somewhere. This time we thought we would do something different and try to get some kind of vacation home to rent. To say the experience was a positive is an understatement! The home was perfect in every way and so much bigger than a hotel room it was ridiculous! 2 stories with 2 bedrooms and 2 decks, with kitchen - off the hook! All this for the same, if not less, than a hotel! Plus Marty was great in dealing with answering all of our questions promptly and easy to get along with. I WOULD NEVER STAY ANY PLACE ELSE on a trip to Catalina Island!
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Orange County
5

memories to last a lifetime

  • 5 of 5
Dear Marty,

Three years ago I left an abusive marriage. I have spent the past three years starting life over again with my 3 boys. I never would have imagined that I would be able to take my boys on a nice vacation.

Because of everything that you offer at your house I was able to give them the most memorable vacation. There is no way I could have been able to afford to rent a kayak, paddle boards and bicycles in addition to feeding them and doing all of the other things they wanted to do.

We celebrated my middle son's birthday while on our trip. He was able to parasail for free on his birthday and because of that and the fact that I didn't have to pay for all of the other things you provided, his brothers got to go too.

Thank you so much for providing me the opportunity to give my boys such a wonderful vacation memory. We hope to make this a yearly visit.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Orange County, CA
5

Best place EVER!

  • 5 of 5
We have been going to Catalina for many, many years and are so thrilled to have found our home away from home! This is our third stay in Marty's rental and I swear we enjoy it more every year. There is not a single negative thing about it. Awesome location, very clean and updated, comfortable bed, quiet nights, and everything you need to make your stay incredible (and save you $$$) - beach chairs, umbrella, bikes, kayak, stand up paddle boards, etc. Marty is great to work with, and has thought of everything. Like a reverse osmosis set up so you don't have to buy water, and having a storage locker for your luggage before and after check in/check out ! Thanks again, we had a great stay as usual and are already looking forward to next year :-)
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Included with the rental is a tandem Kayak, 4 bikes and two stand up paddleboards. You have to carry them to the beach which is less than a block. You have to be responsible to know how to use them, I am not offering any instruction. There are life vests but no helmets. Nice new stuff, and also includes beach chairs and an umbrella, two sets of golf clubs.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Catalina Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 15 - Sep 30
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Starting 2014 I am asking you to pay the City bed tax.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Catalina Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Super comfortable
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
This property is located on the first block in Avalon, you can walk anywhere. The 4th of July parade goes right in front of the place. There are two nice decks with views of the harbor and the ocean and look directly across to the Wrigley Mansion. City lights at night and a short walk to your favorite Bars and Restaurants. This place was recently totally remodeled and has not been rented until now. We are right next door to the Catalina Island Conservancy so very convenient for tours.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,350 - $2,100 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$140 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,827 - $1,953 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote