Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

READ THE REVIEWS, SUPER COOL PLACE. ON 1ST BLOCK, DECKS, TOYS VERY CLEAN

Marty Heim

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Marty Heim

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

READ THE REVIEWS, SUPER COOL PLACE. ON 1ST BLOCK, DECKS, TOYS VERY CLEAN

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Catalina Island Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

If you want to be in the heart of town and walk anywhere this is it. It is on the first block, steps to the sand and steps to any restaurant or bar. Right next door to the Catalina Island Conservancy so easy if you want a tour or event. Two nice decks, you can have a drink and enjoy the views or people watch. All newly redone, nice everything. Sound throughout along with flatscreen bluray and mp3 dock. It technically is a one bedroom but it is 1100 sq ft with two euroloungers that fold out and all bedding/towels included. This is a fun place to go and you will love it, we do.

Keywords: Beach House, Beach casita, condo, apartment, centrally located, walking distance, downtown

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Marty Heim (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why Marty Heim chose Catalina Island

Always loved the Island, the best memories are here.

Did a total remodel very recent. Everything is in great shape, read the reviews. Everybody loves this place.

What makes this villa unique

Includes Kayak, 2 SUPs, 4 Bikes,umbrella, cart to carry stuff to beach or market and 4 beach chairs.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 73 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
average rating of 4.890411 based on 73 reviews
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Catalina living!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time and staying at this awesome place made it even better!! Our boat arrived early and Marty allowed us to check in early... It was such a relief to know we could instantly relax upon arrival. The bikes were a great bonus; they make exploring around the island fun. Marty gave the freedom to feel like the place was ours...it was a cute safe upstairs downstairs unit with... Nice decks and big windows
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
La Crescenta, CA
5

Fabulous rental - so much so that I hate to share because I am afraid we might not get it next time!

  • 5 of 5
My review title sums it up. Fabulous vacation rental but I don't want to get the word out for fear it will become too busy and we cannot get it again! :/ We had a great stay (2 adults; 2 kids - 10 & 8 yrs). Perfect location. Great amount of space for a lovely weekend away. Everything was in excellent condition (tv got a little tricky when the kids wanted to watch it as they fell asleep). We will definitely be back! Thank you.
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
San Francisco
5

Love the YELLOW HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5
Excellent location - close (steps) to everything, but private enough not to hear all the noise from the main street.
Beautiful, well-appointed, comfortable, casual interior - lovely stone floors and baths, new kitchen, and an awesome bed.
Toys!! - several very good bikes, two paddle boards that were easy to carry to the water, basketball, kayak, golf clubs, movies...
Exceptional Owner - He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed to know to have a fabulous weekend. When I had a question, he responded immediately. Owner is cool and laid back, and takes pride in making his home a fun, chic, clean, place to spend time on Catalina Island.
I highly recommend the Yellow House!
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
5

Awesome place right near everything!

  • 5 of 5
This place is awesome! Great location, less than a block from the beach. You can practically walk everywhere in Catalina regardless, but this place made it so much easier. Stores, restaurants, pier, water, boat dock. Everything is super close. The cost was better than other comparable places we had found, however...
...this place provides adult bikes, 2 SUP's (Stand up paddleboards), a 2 person kayak (heavy, but 2 grownups can walk it down to beach), and other beach amenities. Most other places dont have this, and if you want to have any fun on the water, youll need to rent all this at ridiculously overpriced fees.
The house was clean, neatly appointed, and has a brand new stove!
Marty (the owner) was super easy to work with. He was in constant contact with me from the beginning (which was important because I actually inquired about 2015 by mistake!), simple things were very easily taken care of. We didnt have a broom, but we had a messy kid, he had the housecleaners deliver a broom within the hour.
We traveled as a family of four, with a 7 year old, and a 4 year old. I wouldnt say the house is "kid friendly", as there are 2 flights of tiled stairs. however, there is a cool storage chest on both floors which holds the bedding for the convertible beds. We just picked those up and moved them a few feet in front of the stairwell at night, so we didnt worry about the kids falling down if they had to find the bathroom in the middle of the night.
My only "gripe", is the noise on the street. I am not sure how noisy it is on other parts of the island, but being close to the waterfront means you have the trash trucks coming by early in the am, delivery trucks for restaurants, and then the normal hustle and bustle of the Catalina with all of its visitors constantly wandering around. Closing all the balcony doors remedied that, but it would have been nice to have the fresh air blowing in at night.
Perhaps add a rolling cart for the kayak to make it easier?
I feel like I am looking for things to complain about.
Ill definitley be in touch the next time we go back. it really was a great place. Thanks Marty!
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
Ventura ca
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
The location of the house is great. See the ocean from the balconies. Relax and people watch. The owner was available for questions. I will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Read the reviews, Super Cool Place. On 1st Block, decks, toys very clean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366869vb
-949-842-5559
Catalina Island Los Angeles County
1

Ruined Anniversary

  • 1 of 5
For our 25th wedding anniversary, I wanted to do something special. I saw this property on VRBO, and prepaid a 6 night stay, at considerable expense. We looked forward to a nice romantic stay. When we checked in, the stove was beeping loudly, like a piercing smoke alarm. I called the owner, and he said he would call a handyman to fix it.

We walked around, had lunch, and returned. No handyman, still beeping. I called the owner again, and the handyman showed up late afternoon. I was willing to help, so we worked together to find a solution. The electric stove could not be unplugged. It had a 240 volt hardwired line inside metal conduit. We went into the alley to find the stove breaker. The wiring was in poor condition and shoddy-looking. I had been told that another unit in the same building was having power problems. No wonder.

We discovered the only way to stop the relentless beeping was to shut off power to the entire building, since there was no dedicated breaker for the range, in violation of electrical code. A short in the stove could start a fire. We reset the breakers. The handyman said he felt sorry for us, and left. The piercing beeping continued.

My wife and I spent a sleepless night on the floor out on the porch,in a vain attempt to escape the beeping. Hardly the romantic, relaxing vacation we had paid so much for. It was a disaster. I kept thinking about the shoddy illegal wiring, and the danger it posed. It was a serious situation, to rest the place in this condition to trusting VRBO customers.

When the sun came up, we realized that we could not endure these conditions any longer. I called the owner, who told me he was trying to get a repairman. This was no consolation, considering the hazards we were concerned about, not to mention we feared losing our sanity from the piercing beeping. We had lost one vacation day, endured a sleepless night on the floor, and wanted to spend our remaining vacation in a better place. I told the owner so, and we left.

Days later I sent the owner an email explaining our thoughts and actions, and requesting a refund. His reply was mocking and disrespectful. I have been trying to work with the VRBO Trust and Security Department to secure a refund. We have enjoyed many wonderful VRBO stays at other places, but this has been a terrible experience. I would suggest VRBO travelers consider alternatives to this place. Beware.
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay because the oven was beeping. I called a handyman as soon as you called me but when he got there you guys were gone so he couldn't get in. He came back later when you were back but was unable to figure it out in the time he had. It's an island with limited resources, there is no appliance guy ready to serve at a moments notice. I did have it fixed the next day, the same day you left. It's a shame because you missed five of the most beautiful days of the entire year. I did everything in my power to get it handled. I have even bought a new stove just to be sure it wouldn't happen again.

In these reviews you are able to say things that are untrue and the only recourse for me is to write a reply. Your statement said "poor condition and shoddy looking, dangerous, illegal " are untrue. The building was rebuilt in 2007 to code with all permits on file at Avalon City Hall. There is NO danger, furthermore it's got fire sprinklers throughout. The building is in phenomenal condition.

You threatened me with a bad review, verbally and by email. I have almost 70 five star reviews and over 20 five star reviews on my other VRBO 476838. You are my first and only bad review EVER. My goal is to make sure I do everything I can to make sure people have great times. If you read the reviews there is a recurring theme mentioning how easy I was to work with etc. etc. etc. I pride myself in taking care of my vacationers, it's well documented. If you just bail out and threaten me with a bad review then there's not much I can do.

As far as your claim that I was "mocking or disrespectful", I don't know where you get that. I have even asked other people to read my reply and they don't see that claim either. Your last comment is "beware". I think people will beware of the 1 bad review out of 90 five star reviews.

I am sorry you are unhappy, Marty

Map

Map

Included with the rental is a tandem Kayak, 4 bikes and two stand up paddleboards. You have to carry them to the beach which is less than a block. You have to be responsible to know how to use them, I am not offering any instruction. There are life vests but no helmets. Nice new stuff, and also includes beach chairs and an umbrella, two sets of golf clubs.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

Catalina Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 15 - Sep 30
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$325
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$225
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes I am negotiable on the payment structure but if you don't ask I'll request 1/2 then the other 1/2 whenever VRBO sends out the request which is probably 30 days prior to travel. If its a month or less then just one payment. Please use the eCheck option or let me know so I can ad 3% for the credit card choice.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Catalina Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Super comfortable
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
This property is located on the first block in Avalon, you can walk anywhere. The 4th of July parade goes right in front of the place. There are two nice decks with views of the harbor and the ocean and look directly across to the Wrigley Mansion. City lights at night and a short walk to your favorite Bars and Restaurants. This place was recently totally remodeled and has not been rented until now. We are right next door to the Catalina Island Conservancy so very convenient for tours.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,350 - $2,100 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$140 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote