CHARMING BRICK COTTAGE IN DOWNTOWN JACKSONVILLE

Jessica Correll

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Jessica Correll

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING BRICK COTTAGE IN DOWNTOWN JACKSONVILLE

Sneads Ferry Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Our beautifully renovated 1940's cottage is conveniently located just minutes from Camp Lejeune, Camp Johnson and New River Air Station. While here, you will enjoy one of Jacksonville's nicest waterfront neighborhoods. To relax, you can take a stroll over to one of the three wonderful waterfront parks which are in walking distance and watch the sunset over the New RIver.

Bring your boat and dock it down the street at one of three local marinas or cross the road and kayak down the river. You could also hop in your car and be on the beach within 30 minutes.

The cottage provides all the comforts of home like a full kitchen with dishwasher, WiFi and digital cable TV. Each of the 2 bedrooms feature comfy beds (one queen, one full), new ceiling fans and excellent recessed lighting with dimmers. There is one large bathroom with jetted jacuzzi tub. You and your party will have a spacious formal dining room to enjoy, and also an elegant living room complete with bar and flat screen TV.

LARGE GROUPS (10-12): WE HAVE TWO PROPERTIES WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE, RENT BOTH AND RECEIVE 10% OFF REGULAR RATES (VRBO# 366443 & 447276)

DON'T SEE YOUR DATES AVAILABLE? CHECK OUT OUR FAMILY'S PROPERTY NEAR THE BACK GATE OF CAMP LEJEUNE- VRBO#408491

Keywords: Private, Waterfront, Near Parks, Near Marina,Public Boat access, Camp Lejeune, Camp Johnson, New River Air Station, Emerald Isle, Topsail, Atlantic Beaches

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Jessica Correll

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
1

July 4th, 2014 Stay

  • 1 of 5
We arrived a day late because of delays in our long drive and the approaching hurricane. When we finally found the house (GPS did not work in that area), we were concerned about the neighborhood being so run down. We could not identify the cottage since it was so over grown with "plants" and the house next door looked like it had been abandoned for several months. We finally deduced the address by the other houses in the area. There was no car port, the trees along the driveway made it difficult to even navigate up to the side door since they hung over the drive, and it was raining heavily (the hurricane was a few hours away). We took a tour of the house and immediately noticed that it smelled like mold and mildew (like grandma's house}. The place was dark and very old. There was no shower in the bathroom, the floors were uneven, and the rooms felt crowed with furniture that did not belong. The most concerning thing we discovered was that the back door was wide open and the storm door was unlocked. We were a day late and we had no idea how long it had been like that. We had no idea it someone was or had been in the house so we found the keys and locked the back door and left. We spend our vacation in Jacksonville in a very nice hotel near restaurants and shops and really enjoyed our stay. This is our first bad experience with VRBO, and we will be more careful in selecting our next property. We would not recommend this property to anyone. The smell implied that it was not clean, the neighborhood did not feel safe, and the exterior of the property was not well maintained.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very surprised at the above comments and I would have loved the opportunity to fix any problems the guest had; including a full refund if necessary. Unfortunately I did not have any idea there was a problem until this review was posted; I left a voicemail for the guest after they arrived to make sure they were enjoying their stay, and I received no response.

I am amazed at the inaccurate description of my property especially since the guest was personally emailed the link to a detailed video of the cottage (posted on VRBO); the video was taken on April 15, 2014. Everything in the home is as described on the website; including the handheld shower attached to the jacuzzi tub, the great off street parking, landscaped yard and awesome neighborhood with tons of amenities just a short walk away. I have never had anyone make complaints like these or falsely describe my property and neighborhood in this manner before.

I can only speculate that the impending hurricane must have affected their perspective on the trip for their description to be so false. In fact, our homes' 24-hour video surveillance did not record any problem with the back door at all.

Our home has provided sanctuary and rest to hundreds of military from all over the world without incident; we have direct and clear policies, people and instruments in place that help us to maintain our home as a comfortable haven for our guests. It is unfair to judge our property on such an inaccurate description; clearly the responses of our other guests will give a better and more accurate picture.
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
5

As Cozy as Grandma's House

As Cozy as Grandma's House
  • 5 of 5
When we walked into this cozy 1940's cottage, the architectural style and antique furnishings took me back to childhood visits with Grandma. The nostalgia, combined with an appreciation of the modern updates (wi-fi, TV, microwave, washer/dryer, coffee maker) helped make this a thoroughly enjoyable visit. My husband and I have discovered the joy, convenience, and delightful privacy of staying in a house or condo on vacation rather than a hotel, and this little cottage certainly continued our love affair with personal vacation rentals. The kitchen was well furnished and I was able to do a little bit of pre-Thanksgiving cooking to take some of the strain off of my daughter, who we were visiting. We could also do a little shopping and have cereal and sandwiches available, as well as snacks (what's a day without ice cream?) I really liked the original artwork; it reminded me a fun place we stayed in Austin. My only issue was the lack of a heating vent in the bathroom. For a Gulf Coast gal, the 20 degree weather (which is unusual for Jacksonville) called for a little space heater. It would probably not be an issue for people accustomed to weather below 60 degrees. The bedroom was delightfully warm, with a comfy bed, nice pillows (I have a bad neck, and usually carry my own pillow, but didn't want to have to bring a big suitcase) and warm covers with extra quilts.
We also received a nice Thank You note from the owners when they sent back our deposit. I would definitely recommend the cottage to a friend, and would stay again if we revisit Jacksonville.
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
Columbus, Ohio
5

Wonderful place to spend our vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We just left this morning and wanted to say this place really is a home away from home. Every time I needed something for cooking I found it right where I thought it should be. Convenient location near MCAS New River and Camp Lejeune; we got to the beach every day in less than 30 min, even with traffic. The house was exceptionally clean and well maintained and was so much more comfortable than staying in a hotel or suite. Kids enjoyed it too and we donated some sand toys and boogie boards to the stuff already at the house for future guests to enjoy.
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
Texarkana, Texas
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed our stay. It was in a perfect location. We were able to cook meals, hang out, and sleep in. The park that was in walking distance was beautiful, and well kept. Oh, and the paintings around the house were wonderful. We will recommend to friends and family.
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
5

Adorable Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
I loved this adorable little cottage! It was very clean and beautifully decorated. The furniture was very comfortable, including the bed, and we had everything we needed for a wonderful little get-away. If you are a "bath" person, there is a wonderful deep jacuzzi tub in the bathroom that you will love. However, if you are a "shower" person like me, there is not a traditional shower in the bathroom. It's more of a pull out sprayer, like what you would have on your kitchen sink. That made showering a kind of interesting experience.
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Brick Cottage in Downtown Jacksonville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p366443vb
910-548-3948
Sneads Ferry Coastal North Carolina
5

Great for deployment prep

  • 5 of 5
A great home to spend family time and get deployment prep. Close to parks and a game of pictionary is a great way to relax. The jacuzzi tub is perfect and the teepee is great for the young 'uns. Everyone is so kind and the original artwork makes me want to come back again and again.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sneads Ferry Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$850
 

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sneads Ferry Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom features a whirlpool jacuzzi tub with hand shower attached.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books
  • Toys
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • cycling
Notes:
portable crib, bicycles, life jackets, toys, outdoor toys, stroller
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$595 - $795 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6