ISLAND BEACH RETREAT- BEACH FRONT HOME ON SARGENT BEACH, TX

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ISLAND BEACH RETREAT- BEACH FRONT HOME ON SARGENT BEACH, TX

Freeport House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath

Spacious beach home with open floor plan. Located beach front on Sargent Island, no paved streets or boardwalks to cross just walk through the front yard and you are on the beach!(about 120 feet)! Remember to bring your fishing poles! Not only is there a public boat launch available down the road, the surf fishing is incredible. Right on your doorstep is fishing, shelling, bird watching, crabbing or just enjoy the surf! Come put your feet up on the beach front deck with your favorite beverage and watch the sunrise while enjoying an unobstructed view of the Gulf of Mexico and Sargent Beach. We want to provide you with the vacation home of your dreams, where you can relax and enjoy your getaway.

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PICTURES, AND RENTAL AGREEMENTS CLICK ON THE LINK AT BOTTOM OF PAGE(SEE LINKS FOR MORE INFORMATION)

Discover unspoiled Sargent Island where the fishing is great, sunrises are spectacular, and the crowds are elsewhere!!

In Sargent you will find excellent restaurants, churches, fire and ambulance services. Good places to fish and lots of bait!A fishing license is needed and will include crabbing. If you are only going to fish/crab one day designate the date. Licenses are available at most Texas Wal-Marts & Academy sporting goods in Lake Jackson.(information subject to change please check with your local Texas fish & wildlife offices).

Island Beach Retreat offers 3 bedrooms: 1 queen/1 double/1 king (linens provided)

1 bath (bath towels/hand towels/wash cloths for in house use only)

Large living room overlooking the beautiful Gulf of Mexico

Fully equipped kitchen (dishwasher, microwave, range/oven, refrigerator with ice-maker, coffee pot, 4-slice toaster, blender, fryer, crock pot, pots, pans, utensils, dishes/coffee mugs/glasses, flatware, kitchen linens)

Wide deck with porch furniture.

AMENITIES

Satellite TV (local channels included) STARZ/XM Radio

*LCD TV and DVD/VCR player in living room with Satellite receiver

*LCD TV/DVD player in king bedroom with Satellite receiver

*LCD TV/DVD player in queen bedroom with Satellite receiver

Washer/Dryer

Heated electric fireplace in living room

Telephone-Free local/long distance in the Continental United States (see rental agreement)

Stereo

Fish cleaning table with water outside in breezeway

Shower outside in breezeway

7 cubic ft. chest freezer in garage

Children’s beach toys in garage

Keywords: beach front, sun, fishing, boating, swimming,

shelling, bird watching, nature preserve, seafood, barbeque, hunting, drive on the beach

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Owner
Advertiser since 2011
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at Island Beach Retreat in May 2013 & had an absolute blast!The accomodations were comfortable for the 4 adults and 2 children in our family group. We loved how there was something to do for everybody. We flew our kites, took walks down the roads and beaches, fished in the surf(I emailed the picures of my 42" redfish)fished from our kyaks in the canals and built sand castles. Thank You! We plan to return soon!
May 2013
  • 1 of 2
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 25 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
average rating of 4.56 based on 25 reviews
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
Needville, TX
5

Great beach house!

  • 5 of 5
Upon arrival, we found the house better than described in the listing, and we felt right at home.
The view from the front room was fantastic; the pictures on the site didn’t do it much justice. We especially enjoyed watching the sunrise while sitting on the deck, overlooking the gulf (though the kids were more interested in seeing what the barges were carrying on the ICW across the street).
And the washer, dryer, and freezer in the garage were a plus!
It was an extremely enjoyable stay, and we can’t wait to book our reunion for the fall.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
Abilene, Texas
4

Relaxing getaway!

  • 4 of 5
We loved staying here, great location right on the beach. We played in the ocean, walked the beach, collected shells, fished, flew kites, and just enjoyed much needed family time. The house is spacious and stocked with everything you could possibly need. Only negative was the seaweed which is on all Texas beaches right now. We would definitely go back.
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes family time is so important! We too have had built so many memories with our family & friends at the house enjoying being together, cooking meals ahead in the crockpot or just grilling(although we do enjoy evenings out at the local restaurants),crabbing(another reason for the on site trap!) fishing(hubby insists we keep the PVC rod holders for those that enjoy surf fishing) & beachcombing/birding! I enjoy seeing the shells guests leave with messages on them a tradition one of our first guests started. Hopefully Mother Nature will be kinder to the coast of Texas next year & we won't have so much seaweed. Thank you Tim for the nice review & let me know when you are ready to book your next getaway!
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
Katy, Texas
4

It has been a tough year for Texas beaches, but I still love being close to nature

  • 4 of 5
This was my third year to rent the house, but the first year to run into a problem with seaweed. From TV news accounts to my kids' horror stories from a Galveston visit, it appears that the Texas coast, from Crystal Beach as far south as Port A, has taken a hard hit. I know it will clear up, hopefully soon! It reminds me that Mother Nature is in charge and we humans are not. This year I came with a group of women and we had a great time. We bbq'd on the grill, and went out to eat at Sting Raes and The Crab Trap. We sunbathed on the nice green lawn, with no one around to bother us. We had the blender and the radio going non-stop. We drove our Mule around the island, something you can't do on other beaches. One day, we drove over to Matagorda and shopped and ate and shopped some more! We checked out the beach at Matagorda and we were still sitting in piles of seaweed. It was worse in a way, because the place was packed and the traffic on the beach road was non-stop and about 15 feet from where we were. I had to position my car so no one would accidentally run over us. I was glad to get back to the peace and quiet of the little house on Sargent Island. The house was very clean, as always, and looks just like the pictures. I have never seen a snake here, but I already knew that they live in the sand dunes. My girlfriends are from rattlesnake country in Central Texas, but they had no idea that Texas beaches are home to snakes, so the reminder to watch out for them was appreciated. I have always given a 5 star review, but this year it will be 4 stars, due to the epic seaweed. As far as the house and locale, it still rates a 5, in my book. The house was locked when we arrived, but I couldn't make it lock when we left, so we wrote a note to your folks about it. I guess we broke it, so sorry! Thank you, Carleen, for being so easy to work with!
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jana! Glad you & the ladies had fun! and yes that front door is temperamental. Gene checked it per your note and made sure it did lock...we are fortunate to have local property managers they would have been happy to come out! So glad the house was clean as usual Gwen really does a great job & June takes pride in keeping that lawn mowed & looking good! I would apologize for the seaweed but like you said beyond our control. It is so much fun to ride the mule or a 4 wheel drive on the beach one of the things that adds to the appeal of our "retreat" along with as you said the peace and quiet! Let me know when you are ready to book your annual family trip!
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
Austin, TX
5

Exactly as described!!

  • 5 of 5
If you like beautiful sunsets, walks on the beach delicious sea food at local hang-outs, comfortable surroundings, and everything you could need including the kitchen sink, then this is the place for you! The owner is a delight to work with, and she never tires of answering questions, or making helpful suggestions. We will be back!
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
1

RENTERS BEWARE!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5
The photos in this ad must have been taken a VERY long time ago and in no way depict the current condition of this property. We rented the house for seven days and did not stay a single night. Upon arrival, we immediately noticed signs everywhere warning of a huge rattlesnake problem on the island. The house itself is in very poor condition with exterior doors that do not lock, vertical blinds that fall apart when you try to open them, doors that fall off when you open them, sagging poorly patched and severely water stained ceilings, lounge furniture that should be thrown away, and window units that are completely rusted out. Then there was the "beach". Actually, there was NO BEACH!! There is a large patch of grass leading to a huge pile of seaweed that is covered in garbage and hundreds of dead, rotting fish. Even if the seaweed were not present (I realize there is a problem along all of the coastlines this year), there is still no beach. The tide comes in almost all the way to the dirt road that separates the yard from the coastline. Without the seaweed, you might have 5 feet of actual beach depending upon the time of day. The outdoor sink is an old steel sink set in plywood with no faucet. We were extremely disappointed and immediately phoned the owners who were less than accommodating and insisted the property us beautiful, but they are in Florida and refused to answer when I asked if they have ever actually been to the house. They have refused to give us even a partial refund and are now ignoring our emails. I would not recommend this rental to anyone!!!! We have rented several properties in several different cities and have never encountered a situation where the actual property is so drastically different than the description and photos in the ad. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY - THERE IS A REASON THEY ONLY ACCEPT CHECKS.......BY THE TIME YOU REALIZE YOU HAVE RENTED A DUMP, THEY ALREADY HAVE YOUR MONEY AND REFUSE TO GIVE YOU A REFUND! Our annual family vacation this year was completely ruined by this false advertising.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you chose not to stay. DIFFERENT PEOPLE HAVE DIFFERENT EXPECTATIONS.we take PRIDE in our home since we have begun sharing it with friends relatives&guests&have NEVER had a complaint about the cleanliness OR condition of the house. prior reviews most recent being May&June 2014.In our opinion the seaweed on the beach had a lot to do with the criticism of our home.Per rental agreement there are no refunds for weather related reasons;communication was made as Bill spoke to Robert the evening you arrived &offered a stay AT A LATER DATE to show goodwill.Our property manager was so upset that the CLEANLINESS AND CONDITION OF THE HOUSE WAS ATTACKED& NITPICKED apart she went the next day and could not even find a cobweb;the doors do lock along with having bars at the bottom.We have never claimed our comfortable unpretentious beach home to be a high end property.An unfair statement is regarding the pictures.The pictures of the beach ARE accurate& depend on tides&if someone is not familiar with beachfront property the beach size does fluctuate depending on the moons&tides.YES there is a LAWN on the beach side then an access road and the beach begins.One of the reasons we fell in love with this house was there are not any bridges, swampy areas or dunes to cross over to get to the gulf. Please refer to numerous comments on the fun others have had enjoying the beach AND the house.The window air conditioners may be rusty on the outside but they sure blow cold &the sink at the fish cleaning table may be rusty but functions&the salt air does tend to take its toll ON EVERYTHING.We choose not to have a faucet as the garden hose adjacent for water proves much more efficient.It is after all a fish station& most on the island are just wood.Yes there are snakes on the island along with other parts of Texas.It was NEVER insinuated there is a “huge problem”.We feel it is important for our guests to be made aware.That is why our property is meticulously mowed.FYI the signs at the house reads“attention snakes are out please watch where you walk”. I find it hard to believe the porch furniture should be “thrown out”. It isn’t deluxe however we have found the PVC style holds up best in salt air&other than color are accurately depicted on the website.The blinds are NOT falling down.Unfortunatley you can't please everyone.Yes we are in FL so we know about how beaches change&have many great memories of our home in TX &we take all criticisms to heart. Enough said...
business
Island Beach Retreat- Beach Front Home on Sargent Beach, Tx
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p365888vb
239-765-7000 ext# 6
Freeport Texas Gulf Coast
Alvarado, Tx
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
We had an amazing time! House had everything we needed. It was our first vacation there but defiantly not our last. The pics dont do the living area justice. Its large and it has updated furniture. Other than the back screen door not opening without falling off ( theres another thats fine) the house was perfect for us. Its very secluded: ) Thanks so much for the time of our lives!
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you all had such a good time! and the peaceful, secluded location is one of the things that sold us on Sargent Beach! thank you for letting me know about the screen Gene got that fixed immediately and checked the others! It is wonderful to have local property managers that can respond quickly to address any issues!Do come stay again now that you have "sand in your shoes" :)

Map

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Island Beach Retreat

San Bernard National Wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary, Marinas, bait camps, charter fishing,watch the tugboats across the street on the Intracoastal Waterway

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Freeport House Rental Rates

Notes

  • From $175 to $325/nt
  • US Dollars
  • 2 Night minimum/3 night minimum on Holidays/Monthly rates upon request
  • OFF SEASON: $250.00 night Fri-Sat/$175.00 night Sun-Thurs/$1000.00 week
  • MEMORIAL DAY-LABOR DAY:$325.00 night Fri-Sat/$250.00 night Sun-Thurs/$1250.00 week
  • **$250.00 security deposit/$500.00 security deposit for monthly rentals
  • *Pets allowed with approval of owner $50.00nonrefundable fee with signed agreement
  • ***HOLIDAY RATES MAY BE HIGHER***
  • No Credit cards. We accept cash/check/money order.
  • To avoid a cleaning fee please leave the home as you found it!

Amenities

Amenities

Freeport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Covered Parking
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • shopping
  • horseshoes
  • antiquing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • kayaking
  • jet skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • snorkeling/diving
Notes:
Fish cleaning table,7 cubic ft freezer in garage, free boat ramp on the island, electric fire place in house

Other Vacation Properties

$1,375 - $1,675 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 11
$350 - $500 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 24