Cute place, just a few issues
The property is very cute and well located with some thoughtful touches. Sadly, the owner seemed very nice at first and then turned out to be less than gracious. The shower in the main house was broken, so we had to go outside into the studio to shower (with six of us staying, this was a bit time consuming!). The fan was also broken in the front bedroom which we didn't think would be a problem, but it turned out to be a VERY hot weekend. Things need to be fixed every now and then, no big deal, but the owner offered no type of compensation for either inconvenience.
Unfortunately, we caused a tiny stain (about the size of a pencil head) on one of the mattress pads during our stay, so she charged us to purchase a new one. Completely understandable given that it was our fault, but after the inconveniences we experienced without complaint, we thought she might prefer to be flexible with us. One of the women in our group owns a vacation rental herself, and when items get stained due to sincere accidents she simply replaces them, as the cost of doing business in the hospitality industry. It seems a little petty to lose the repeated business of six women over $50.
Other than that, our stay was enjoyable. The back patio is a nice place to relax in the afternoon, and State Street is about a six block walk away. Just be sure to check that the repairs have been made before your stay. And don't cause ANY damage during your visit!
Tourists without a Car,
Owner's Response: Sabrina-I am sad and a quite surprised to receive this review since your last communication to me was that your group, "loved the house and could not wait to come back!" and that you were happy to pay for the mattress cover.
Please let me address some of the issues and inaccuracies you mentioned in your less than favorable review. We are not in the "hospitality industry." This is our home. We sometimes rent it out to allow other people to enjoy this beautiful space. We always try our best to make everyone feel welcome and stay on top of all maintenance issues as they arise. (As evidence in the 30+ five star reviews.) Had you informed me of the shower fixture that broke during your stay, I would have been more than happy to have immediately fixed it as opposed to finding out about it after your departure.
In an effort to be environmentally and economically conscience, we always try to repair/launder items rather than replace them and do not charge our guests when we can do so. (We did not charge you for the shower fixture you broke during your stay.) However, when items are clearly damaged/stained by guests beyond repair or laundering (and much larger than the size of a pencil head), they need to be replaced and that is when we charge our guests. As you mentioned, it was a very nominal charge and very reasonable by most standards.
Lastly, our cottage is located on Bath Street which is only 3 blocks from world famous State Street, not 6 blocks--an inaccuracy in your review worth noting since our prime location is important to future guests who are looking for a great, walkable location when considering and planing a visit to Santa Barbara.
I am truly sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay as you had originally stated. However, we wish you and your group only the best in your future travels. Warmest regards-Donna
Helpful votes: 1/2
Did you find this review helpful?