Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TROPICAL RETREAT- Upscale Home w/ Private Pool & BBQ Grill 1/2 Block To Duval

Key West Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Key West Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TROPICAL RETREAT- Upscale Home w/ Private Pool & BBQ Grill 1/2 Block To Duval

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

Key West House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 8

Tropical Retreat, at 519 Catherine Street, is on a quiet lane half a block off the upscale Upper end of Duval St. where there are many sophisticated restaurants, high-end art galleries and shops. Downtown Duval St. is within easy walking distance from Tropical Retreat to enjoy the exciting nightlife, music, bars and fun Key West has to offer. The Southernmost Point and the sandy beaches of the Atlantic are a short 4-block, 7 minute walk away.

Built in the 1920's, this incredibly spacious bungalow-style home has 12 foot high ceilings and large, sunny rooms. The main house includes a living room with queen sleeper sofa, dining room with a very large table to seat your group, a fully-equipped kitchen with high end features and fixtures and powder room. The 2 bedrooms feature a queen bed in one, the other with two twins which can be converted to a king bed. Each bedroom has an ensuite tiled bath. The third bedroom with king bed includes a private bath and efficiency kitchen and is in the stand-alone cottage adjacent to the pool at the rear of the property. The sunny 13' x 25' heated pool and deck sit in a totally secluded, private area surrounded by tropical and lush bougainvillea, hibiscus and palms.

Tropical Retreat also has the added bonus of off street private parking which makes it a rare gem in Old Town!

Minimum Stay:

Please contact Key West Vacation Rentals regarding minimum stays and special rates. Minimum stay requirements apply on weekends (at least 3 nights), Winter/Spring season (January 2nd - April 30th - 5 night minimum), holidays and special events( Fantasy Fest & Christmas/New Year - 7 night minimum).

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Key West Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
TROPICAL RETREAT- Upscale Home w/ Private Pool & BBQ Grill 1/2 Block To Duval
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews
4

tropical retreat

  • 4 of 5

Pool was awesome. House was very nice. Location great the third bedroom is in a converted garage. It had a strong odor. Very private.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Very Impressive!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my family rented this house for a week and we had a full 8 guests and all fit with plenty of space. Here are the highlights we had:

First working with Thomas and his entire staff really put us at ease. We ended up having to book Tropical retreat last minute because we were scammed on the house we originally booked. Even after getting scammed (always make sure you call the owners before sending $ to avoid scams) we talked to Thomas about Tropical Retreat and really went above and beyond for us and reassured me that there are nice, kind, helpful people still out there. While we were there the pool heat did go out. I always say things happen that are out of peoples control and it's how they get responded to that matters. In this case we called the office and informed them and the sent over a gentleman named Keith who was there rapidly and fixed the problem and checked back later to make sure the pool was in full working condition.

The house itself is very clean and well up kept. I almost don't think the photos do it enough justice. It is in the perfect location!!! I can not stress this enough! Duvall can get very loud and busy and this is as close as you want to get if you want to sleep ever. One person's review I read stated that this is on the "quiet" end of Duvall if there even is such a thing. To get to the bars or the loud end of Duvall it is only a 10-15 minute walk (roughly a mile) our you can rent a bike for the week, or grab one of the many pedicabs, cabs, or trolleys that are going up and down duval. The house is a stones throw away from the southernmost part of the USA. There is a lovely beach there to enjoy.

As for things to do we rented a couple bikes right across the street and used them and had a blast, we got a tandem to make things interesting. There is a place called Banana Cafe that is a block away and they have an amazing little rooftop to sit and have breakfast/lunch at. There is also a place called Blue Heaven; we found this place on our last day there so we only had a chance to have breakfast there but they do lunch and dinner as well and they have a sweet bar with a stage so I assume they have live music later on. Blue Heaven is a must do! We booked a power adventure tour though Sebago watersports that the whole family did together and it was a great time. You get to snorkel, jet ski, parasal, paddle board, kayak, water trampoline, banana boat ride, breakfast and lunch, and booze.

All together Tropical Retreat is the best!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Memorable!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay!! House is much larger than appears in the listing photos and much more charming in person. The decor is comfortable and inviting. Rooms were spotless and the beds were deliciously cozy and comfortable. It's location is perfect. 1/2 block to Duval Street and walking distance to beaches and attractions. The main house has a great central AC, but the guest house could use a new wall unit especially since we were woken up in the middle of the night to the plastic AC cover falling on us! Good thing we had visited Sloppy Joes earlier that evening! No worries - it was light weight and no harm done! I would most defenitely recommend this home to anyone and we are greatful to have had the opportunity to stay at Tropical Retreat!

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Chardon, OH
4

Tropical Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Was fantastic! It was a perfect location for us and a great 1st time experience for those who came! Only downside was seeing cockroaches and roosters calling next to bedroom windows at 3am.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Lake Worth, Fl
5

ULTRA FANTASTIC!!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was the 2nd year we rented Tropical Retreat. We love the house, we love the location. Three steps from Duval St couldn't be any better. The only change we were not happy about was the owner went from central air conditioning to window units. Window units are VERY loud & the kitchen was VERY hot because there was no unit in there. I hope the property owner will replace or repair the central air conditioning. Otherwise, we were very satisfied with the house.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments and being a return guest. We just wanted to make sure that you knew that the window units were only temporary while we were waiting for a special order part for the central A/C. It is being fixed as I am writing this so it will be ready for your next visit! Thanks again and see you soon in paradise!
5

Great property! Even better than the pictures!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect! Very clean and the staff was so friendly. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $418 Per night

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no check-in)
Unavailable

Amenities

Key West House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1453 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
. Ceiling Fans . In-room safe . Alarm clocks . Daily maid service

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote