Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Empire-Modern lodging-Walk to Lake Michigan-Sleeps 7

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Manager

Visit Up North Vacation Rentals

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Empire-Modern lodging-Walk to Lake Michigan-Sleeps 7

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Empire Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cool modern home in Empire walk to Lake Michigan. In wooded setting. Main house + separate bedroom from main living area. Pet ok.

This is one very cool home for the guest that is looking for an experience not to be forgotten. Empire's Edge is of modern design, with stone walls, wood floors, walls that open to the outdoors and so much more. On a quiet side street, tucked in the trees, this 2 bedroom (plus small loft), 1 bathroom cottage faces North. Sleeps up to 7.

2 Queens, 1 Full and a futon. There is no TV at this location but WIFI is included so bring your laptop. Full kitchen (no dishwasher). Washer and dryer.

Enjoy showering under the stars in the great outdoor shower. The deck was made for kicking back with a good book. Charcoal grill for dining outdoors.

The highlight of this cottage is the great location! Walk just over a half a mile to a beautiful Lake Michigan beach. The same distance in the other directions takes you to the Empire Bluffs Trail which is known for its amazing views. The Sleeping Bear Dunes climb is just 6 miles north. Empire offers dining and quaint shops, and make sure to stop at Tiffany's for an ice cream cone.

No air conditioning. Linens are provided. Your well-mannered pet is welcome. No smoking.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Visit Up North Vacation Rentals (Property Manager)
Member since: 2004
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Empire-Modern lodging-Walk to Lake Michigan-Sleeps 7
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Cherry Hill, NJ
5

Hideaway in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house looks small from the outside, but opens up to a beautiful living space. You can't beat the location. It feels like a cozy woodland retreat, but it is close to the center of Empire and the beach. After our excursions to the dune walk, scenic drive, and beach we enjoyed coming back to this quiet retreat. The property is clean and well maintained. The description is accurate. The layout is a little odd with one bedroom and loft inside and another large and beautiful bedroom across the deck, but worked well for our family of 2 adults, 2 kids and 2 adventurous grandparents. The bathroom is actually bigger than the picture shows and has a full tub and shower (although the outside shower is nice too). Everyone at Up North Rentals was friendly and helpful and the were easy to get contact. We would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this house, along with Up North Rentals to a friend.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Visit Up North Vacation Rentals
4

Cute Cottage

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was more than happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This is a very cute, clean little place. The loft bedroom would not be appropriate for children or older adults. Second bedroom is outside the main living area.

Beds were so-so comfort-wise.

Internet is very fast; we watched the news on our iPad because there is no tv.

We would consider renting again only if they put a television in. For the price, it should be up to the guest if they would like to watch tv.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Visit Up North Vacation Rentals
4

empire edge

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

The property manager was more than helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Excellent location, very nice cottage, good layout, but some small issues:

Fridge not cleaned, BBQ pit not cleaned

Couch only convertable to bed with major difficulties

Internet required password in misalignment with instructions

Manager responded on 8/23/2014:

We were notified there was a drip in the refrigerator. We sent someone out to clean within 24 hours. The BBQ pit is actually the fire pit. We do not typically empty these. We are sorry about the pass word difficulty. That should have not happened.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Visit Up North Vacation Rentals
4

Cute cottage

  • 4 of 5

Very cute cottage, seems bigger than 900 or so sq. ft. Bright, airy and very clean. Very fast internet, nice private location

We really missed having a tv; owner's might consider adding one for guests. The steep stairs for loft bedroom would not be appropriate for small children or older adults. Second bedroom is outside the main house. It would be great if it had a king bed v.s. a queen. Beds are not real comfortable, or at least that is what we thought.

Nice that they allow small pets as we did include our dog on our visit.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Empire's Edge

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was spotless.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A lovely property set in the south end of Empire. Located within a short walk of the village's beach, the house is a great jumping out point for visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes and the surrounds. There were some minor things that needed to be fixed (a door to the deck and the ceiling fan in one of the bedrooms were busted), but these didn't really cause any real problem. Would happily stay again.

Manager responded on 7/6/2014:

Thank you for the feedback. We will get the items you mentioned repaired. Hope you'll come back again!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: Visit Up North Vacation Rentals
Girard, PA
5

A very cool cabin in a location that could not ...

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

I was very happy with the location.

The vacation rental was very clean.

The property manager was very helpful.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

A very cool cabin in a location that could not have been better.

A short run up to Empire bluffs. A short walk to Empire beach or town. A short drive to all other beautiful locations. A very well designed and built cabin. This is no shack in the woods. The outdoor shower is awsome. Could use a few more options for a traveler to hang/store clothing in some rooms. 7 guests would be a little crowded, 5 would be a better limit. The seperate outside bedroom was a really cool touch. Could use a window covering option in that room for the less adventurous.

If we are able to get back to this area again we will look to stay here. Anything else now would feel disappointing.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: Visit Up North Vacation Rentals

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $145 Per night

Empire Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Seasonal Rate
Mar 16 2015 - May 25 2015
2 night minimum stay
$145
From
$145
$850
 
 
Seasonal Rate
May 26 2015 - Jun 19 2015
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$165
$1,000
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Jun 20 2015 - Aug 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$285
$1,800
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Aug 31 2015 - Oct 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
$185
From
$185
$1,000
 
 
Seasonal Rate
Oct 19 2015 - Dec 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$150
$900
$3,900
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Empire Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote