Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Oceanfront Oasis with Infinity Pool and Spa 'The Cove at Milolii'

Melanie and Craig

Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Melanie and Craig

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 17, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Oceanfront Oasis with Infinity Pool and Spa 'The Cove at Milolii'

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights


Milolii House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 4 Baths, pool, spa and garden (Sleeps 10 )

Our two-story oceanfront home has views from every room and tropical breeze flowing from roof top cupola through every window and door. The main living area is upstairs with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. There are two master suites one with a queen bed and one with a king. The third bedroom has a king bed and the fourth three twin beds. There is a large open kitchen, living and dinning area with an open deck area for dinning and lounging. The downstairs has an outside living and dinning area poolside with a barbecue. There is also a 16x16 poolside room with an adjacent bathroom, that is a relaxing place to read or rest and can be used as an additional sleeping area. (Futons are available at the house.) The house sits on the cliffs overlooking the ocean and affords beautiful views of the humpback whale migration in the winter, occasional hawaiian monk seals and year round dolphins and turtles. The infinity edge pool and spa bring the Pacific Ocean right into our yard.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Kona Coast, Pool, two master suites, Private,

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Melanie and Craig (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 17, 2015

About Melanie and Craig

We've lived in South Kona for almost 40 years and had the opportunity to purchase this property from a fishing friend after he moved to the mainland. The house was built in a slow process over 6 years with the help of a lot of great local talent. We completed the house in 2011 and spend many weekends sharing and enjoying our Milolii home.

Melanie and Craig purchased this house in 2002

Why Melanie and Craig chose Milolii

We live on a farm in the subtropical ohia forest up mountain from Milolii and have spent many weekends and summer days swimming fishing and enjoying the ocean at Milolii. We are very gratified to be able to have a home on the ocean where we can continue to enjoy the all the activities and beauty the ocean has to offer.

What makes this house unique

Milolii is far from the crowds and noise of city life. We enjoy peaceful walks and the pleasure of time with family and friends. Waking up to the sunrise over the mountain with a cup of organic Kona coffee is a pleasure we look forward to whenever we can get away to Milolii.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow what a great place. Beautiful peaceful place to vacation. I recommend it to anyone wanting vacation by the ocean.
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 24 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanfront Oasis with Infinity Pool and Spa 'The Cove at Milolii'
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 25 reviews
Laramie, Wyoming

This spot was super

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this house. We were a party of 5. We came to the big island to dive and have a break. We rented this house for the last days of our stay after renting another in town for the first portion. This house was by far the better of the two. It was spacious and VERY well appointed. There was enough of everything. Space, supplies, linens, cooking implements, etc. There were coolers. Shopping bags. Thermos. There were books and board games. There were cleaning supplies, laundry detergent, dish detergent, first aid bits. This place was decked out. It was clear that the owners must spend a lot of time here themselves. However, despite that, they were not restrictive or unnecessarily prohibitive about our activities and use of their lovely home. We felt very welcome and at ease here. There was even shampoo and body wash in each shower. These folks totally get it when it comes to making their space inviting for the renter! We saw whales and dolphin right off the lanai. We cooked in the fabulous kitchen and on the grill by the pool. The pool and hot tub were well used by our party. The house was out of the way and we liked that. The place was quiet and away from the hustle of town. We had a wonderful stay and would absolutely return or recommend this spot to friends. It was perfect.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Rene, We are always so happy to know guests have enjoyed our vacation house as much as we do. Thank you for your review. Milolii is out of the way and perfect spot to enjoy the beautiful Kona coast and waters. We love getting in the ocean whenever we can for swimming and diving so we like to keep the house stocked for our use and our guests. The rocky coast line in South Kona offers some spectacular diving and snorkeling both during the day and night. Hope to see you again next time you are in Kona. Me ke aloha pumehana, Melanie and Craig
Hooper, Utah


  • 5 of 5

My family stayed 2 weeks and it was not enough time! The house was absolutely wonderful with everything you need and then some. The view from the back of the home is indescribable. I never wanted to leave. Craig and Melanie, thank you for everything!!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Lisa, We are so glad you came to Kona and stayed with us in Milolii. We built the house with family gatherings in mind so love to hear it our planning has worked out. We are hoping to put an outside kitchen in next year to make it easier to spend more time down by the pool. Hope to see you on your next trip to Hawaii, Melanie and Craig
Glendale, AZ

Beautiful Beach House

  • 5 of 5

This home is as beautiful as the pictures. You can tell that the owners really put thought and care into building this home. They have everything there that you would need to make your stay enjoyable. Unfortunately we were only there for 4 days! The views are breath taking. If you are adventurous, you can climb down the lava cliff an get into the ocean. The snorkeling there was some of the best that we have seen. The only drawback is the drive down the hill. There are a lot of switchbacks and curves as you come down. If you plan on eating in Kona, you need to plan about 1 hour travel time. Other than that I cannot say one bad thing. Craig and Melanie were great to work with and the reservation process was easy. I would not hesitate to stay at The Cove at Milolii again.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks you Pat for writing a review. You are not the first to comment on the windy road down to Milolii. The highway is at 1500 foot elevation and we drive 4 miles to descend to sea level. Its one of the reasons there are so many great vista on the Big Island, the steep mountain slopes. Glad the house and vacation were worth the trip. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Kona, A hui hou, Melanie and Craig

Exceeded our expectations!!

  • 5 of 5

In a word..."Perfect"! The Cove was all we had hoped it would be and more! I am not sure I can add much to the previous excellent reviews other than to say that if you are looking for the most relaxing way to enjoy Hawaii then this is the place.

The Cove is exactly what is portrayed in the VRBO ad. It truly is a wonderful home on the edge of the cliffs with spectacular views and all the amenities you could ask for. The kitchen is the most well stocked of any home I have ever rented. We cooked almost all of our meals and ate all of them on the Lanai overlooking the ocean and enjoying the sound of the waves in the cove below. The pool and spa were enjoyed daily and we played ping pong for hours on end. We loved snorkeling in our own private cove and diving off the rocks!

As others have pointed out, the drive in to Kona does take some time but it is beautiful and enjoyable....after all, you are in Hawaii!! There are several day excursions to be enjoyed but my family primarily wanted to stay at the house and enjoy the peace and quiet. I will say that the trip to the black sand beach is not to be missed! The short hike is not difficult and we enjoyed a completely private morning swimming, playing and snorkeling.

I cannot think of anything that would have made our week more enjoyable. The owners were so professional and easy to work with from the first contact to the day we left. (We arrived late in the evening our first day to find the house well lit with Hawaiian music playing....we felt at home immediately). They were available to us throughout the week and responsive to any request.

Thank you Craig and Melanie for allowing us to enjoy your slice of paradise for all to brief a time!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jim, We are so glad you choose to vacation at The Cove. It's always nice to have guests enjoy our place in paradise as much as we do. Sitting on the upper balcony for meals or poolside for sunset is one of our favorite things to do when we are not in the ocean swimming with the fish. Hawaii island has so many sites to see and things to do but coming home to Milolii after a day out is always a pleasure for us. We hope you'll come back and visit again. Me ke aloha pumehana, Melanie and Craig
Burlington, VT

Clarifications on the Cove

  • 3 of 5

The home is very very lovely. We loved your kitchen and the back deck, where we ate most of our meals. We had a great time in your backyard as well, including the pool which was a bit chilly but still enjoyable.

A few thoughts on ways to improve the overall experience. I think some written instructions on: hot tub operations, TV/cable instructions (three of us tried and had no luck), garbage/recycling.

As far as the house itself, the two master suites with entrances to the wrap around deck are lovely. The third bedroom (the non bunk bed room) was fairly awful to be honest. It is a very large (and curiously low) bed placed in far too small a space. Also, the windows open to the street, which can be very loud at times. We were awoken to activity across the street in the late hours of the night on at least a couple of nights. Also, we washed all the bedding in intensely hot water in the middle of our stay because we were being bitten by bugs in the bed.

Finally, the VRBO descriptions lists both ocean front/beach front and ocean view. While it is ocean view, it is neither beach front nor ocean front. Milolii is not a particularly quaint village--it is more a subdivision, without any amenities. The grand and fantastic draw of the ocean exists but is curiously muted by those staying in a non-ocean view bedroom and by everyone's general inability to actually access the water.

The terrain of the whole neighborhood where the house sits is comprised almost exclusively of lava rock and devoid of lush/green and much scenic beauty. I would recommend use of a four wheel drive vehicle to make that rather treacherous drive from the main highway on a regular basis. The description should also clarify that this house is intended for folks desiring a very remote experience well off the beaten track. Running out to quickly fetch something from a local store (or dining at a local eatery) is simply not an option.

Overall, again, a very lovely house but there are many aspects that left us desiring more from our time on the island.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Devika, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your family's 4day vacation stay at our house in Milolii. We are so pleased three generations of your family came together and spent time relaxing and visiting away from life's hectic pace. Many guests choose Milolii for just that reason. It is not in the hub of activity but an hour out of town. I'm sorry you were not aware of the location and it seems we did not meet your expectations. Our VRBO listing has both pictures and a video of the house sitting on the cliffs over the ocean. We are in fact the minimum 30ft setback from the waters edge. Our first response letter to inquires we receive, lists web sites and a book that we recommend for visitors to learn about our islands and our Milolii village on the Kona Coast as the house is in a rural location and we want our guests informed when they arrive. We have made some changes to our guest book as a result of your experience and do refer guests to the Dish TV manual which we keep by the TV and have additionally referred guests to Channel 101 on the TV which is the instructional channel. We are also having labels made for the spa. We spoke with you many times on the phone and in person, as we do with most of our guests during their stay and so we're sorry to be hearing your concerns for the first time in your review. We work very hard to make our home a place where guests and families can enjoy the beauty and peace of our Hawaii. We have a team of 4 professionals that spend hours cleaning and utilize two large capacity washers with sterilization cycles to wash all bedding and towels in between every visitors stay and we will continue to make every effort to provide a clean and relaxing home away from home to our guests. We continue to wish you and all travelers the best of Hawaiian Vacations.
Newfoundland, Canada


  • 5 of 5

Our two family group (5 children and 4 adults) enjoyed a wonderful stay during the Christmas holidays in December 2013. We have rented numerous vacation homes in Europe and North America. Hands down this was the best equipped – the unit (especially the kitchen) had everything we could have ever needed. As an example, we cooked a full Christmas dinner (including turkey and dessert) with the equipment on hand. The owners even had shampoo and conditioner in each bathroom – something we have never seen during our other vacation rental stays. The unit is exactly as described – and even nicer than the photos show. The owners (Melanie and Craig) were great with pre, during, and post stay questions and communications. They even had a Christmas tree and decorations available for the kids to decorate. The location made day trips to Kona, the volcano park, the observatory, etc. very doable. You can even snorkel (with gear available in the unit) a very short walk from the unit. While we loved the remote location, and the rural drive from the highway to the rental, it may be too remote for some. For example, there are no grocery stores close by. For us, it was great to get away from it all and get a taste of ‘true hawaii’. We would definitely stay again. Overall, we highly recommend the rental and hope to rent it again in the future.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and Thank You for your kind review. We are so very happy to share our vacation home with you and your family. It was especially nice knowing you were leaving the snow in Newfoundland to enjoy our warm weather and Kona waters. The Christmas tree for quests was a first for us and is was a treat to set up the house knowing it was your family holiday. We use the house often ourselves so we like to have as many of the essentials handy as we can to save on packing them to and from home. Many of our guests comment on how convenient it is to have such a well stocked house. We look forward to your return visit. Me ke aloha Pumehana, Melanie and Craig


Nearest Airport
46 Miles
Kailua Kona (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Mamalahoa Hwy
Car: necessary

Hiking the oceanfront Kings Trail


Rates & Availability

From $350 Per night

Milolii House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Dec 20 2015 - Jan 17 2016
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
Standard pricing
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $175.00 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Tax Rate 13.4%
Notes Groups of over 6 guests require a minimum stay of 7 nights. Please call us (808) 328-9947 for up to date discounts and rates for stays greater than 7 nights.
25% deposit to reserve your dates with the balance due 60 days prior to arrival. We also collect a $500 security deposit at check-in.
Enter dates to see total


Milolii House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Solar Hot Water
  • Solar Panels
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , hall bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , downstairs access to pool area
  • 4 bathrooms. 3 upstairs and one down by the pool area
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , en suite bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , en suite bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , additional floor futons at the house
  • King size beds (2) 2 king beds, Queen size Beds (1) 1 queen bed, Double Beds (1) convertable futon sofa, in the downstairs sunroom.Twin or Single Beds (3) Three twin beds, Baby Cribs (1) Portable crib and high chair.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote