RELAXATION IN PARADISE - OPEN WATER CANAL

Nancy Dean

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 - 30 nights

Contact the Owner

Nancy Dean

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RELAXATION IN PARADISE - OPEN WATER CANAL

Ramrod Key House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Relaxing in the beautiful Florida Keys, it does not get any better than this! Swimming and snorkeling in the crystal clear open water canal, docking your boat to go to world renowned Looe Key Marine Sanctuary, or heading down to Key West for all the night life and fine dining that it has to offer. This 3 bedroom has all the comforts of home in this tropical paradise island setting.

The master bedroom is furnished with a new king-size memory foam mattress, sleeping on this is a dream. This room has its own bath. One of the guest rooms is upstairs with a new queen-size bed and a twin bed, with a second bath in the hall area. The other guest room is separate, downstairs by itself, with two twin beds which can be converted to a queen. This room requires the use of an outside staircase to come up to the rest of the house. This room is perfect for sleeping in late, very private and peaceful.

There is free wi-fi and cable television in the living room and all bedrooms.

There is a beautiful balcony patio upstairs which overlooks the blue water canal. It is a great place for your morning coffee, lunch, or afternoon cocktails. There is also a downstairs patio area with a gas barbeque grill and sunbathing area.

The house is on an open canal which has access to the Atlantic and Gulf waters. The water is crystal clear and great for snorkeling and swimming. If you don't have a boat, there are great marinas and dive trips within blocks to get you out to some of the most beautiful diving and fishing in the world.

This home is a 3 block walk to 5 Brothers Two Grocery which has the best Cuban coffee and sandwiches in the Keys. It is only 1 more block to Boondocks Bar and Grill, a great place to eat and listen to live music most nights in the large tiki open air restaurant. You definitely get the island atmosphere, and they also have a great miniature golf course. There is also a large grocery store on Big Pine Key, just minutes away by car.

Of course, one of the best things about this home is its close proximity to Key West. This quaint, historical southernmost city is always entertaining and has some of the finest dining establishments anywhere. It is hard to choose, there are so many to pick from. There are also many activities to enjoy, from sunset cruises to snorkeling adventures, with everything in between.

This is a very welcoming home and it is the perfect place to explore all of the adventures that this paradise we call the Florida Keys has to offer.

Keywords: Keys Conch House, Keys Cottage, Tropical Home, Florida Keys Stilt Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Nancy Dean

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We love to travel and the Keys have always been one of our favorite places.

Nancy Dean purchased this house in 1986

We have been visiting the Florida Keys for many years and love the beauty of the Lower Keys. The diving and tropical waters of this area are unsurpassed. Key West ,with its architecture, history and wonderful eclectic mix of people, has always been one of our favorite places in the world to visit.

Many people who have stayed in this home through the years have told me that there is a peace and serenity about it that draws them back. I know it is the beauty of the setting and the laid back feeling you get here that makes you want to stay. It is one of our favorite places to relax and unwind.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 - 30 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
5

SNOWBIRDS RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
A great month (March 2013) spent out of the cold Canadian winter. The weather couldn't have been better. Loved your house at Ramrod Key. It was so nice to have our boat in the canal, handy for those unexpected runs to the open water. The house worked out very well, and our company that joined us were impressed too. All the comforts of home with comfy beds to boot. I would recommend your property without a problem.
Thanks Nancy

Kathy & Jamie, Orillia, Ontario
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to have you as guests. It is one of the joys of owning a house in the Keys, to get to talk with my visitors. I hope to have you stay again in the future.
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Newbury Park, CA
5

CUTE HOUSE, NICELY DECORATED

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this rental house for one week and love it. The rooms are nice and cozy and well decorated. The kitchen is fully equipped. We like this rental also because it is close to Key West (about 26 miles). Bahia Honda is a great state park for those who like to snorkel. It is about 7 miles to the house. There was good communication with Nancy. She was very informative and made our stay very comfortable. We highly recommend this rental to everyone.
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Sebring, Fl
5

LISA

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time in the Keys and caught many lobsters. We were all happy with the house and the neighborhood. The dock and canal worked great for our 24 ft boat. The house was comfortable and we had everything we needed. It was great to have the washer and dryer upstairs with us so that we didn't have to go up and down. Key West was close as well as Marathon. Nancy was so easy to work with and we really appreciated that. In all we had a great experience! thanks Nancy!!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive feedback! I am glad the lobster population cooperated with you, the water is so beautiful and clear it is hard for them to hide. The close proximity to Key West is one of the things I love about the lower Keys. Hope to work with you and your group again in the future.
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
St. Augustine , Fl
5

PERFECT FOR US!

  • 5 of 5
This home was perfect for our vacation. It comes fully equipt with linens, paper products, necessary appiances and a super location. The home was exactly as described and very comfortable. The beds are very comfortable ( 2 main bedrooms in home). The linens were fresh & clean as was the entire house. Great location. We hope to rent again. Thank you Nancy!
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I would love to have you visit anytime. The Florida Keys are definitely one of the places most of use love to go back to again and again. Thank you so much for your kind words about the house, it is one of my favorite places to escape to.
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Peoria, IL
5

JUST LIKE HOME, ONLY WARMER IN DECEMBER!

  • 5 of 5
Three generations (six people) had a wonderful time in The Keys with Nancy's house as home base. With a toddler, we sure appreciated the in-house laundry facilities, and the little guy was able to sleep away from the parents' room. The only thing we needed to be careful of was the porch as the bars were just a little too far apart to let go of him.
Nancy had great suggestions for us: Bahia Honda, No Name Pub, Deer Reserve, places to eat and get groceries, AND, she was available via phone when we had questions! A great, caring landlady.

The photos were perfect - we recognized the house immediately and knew the rooms. Easy to find at mile marker 27. It was in great shape when we moved in, no problems. We snorkled from Bahia Honda, ate at Islamorada Fish restaurant (BEST key lime pie, great food), Turtle Hospital has good tour, Key West (Hemingway House, Truman Whitehouse, Ft. Zachary Taylor Beach and tour of Fort, Butterfly exhibit, Mallory Square at sunset, Croissants de France, Pepe Mason Cuban restaurant...)

Comfortable house, fully equipped with dishes, utensils, cookware and several spices, linens, towels, etc. Room for family dinners and places upstairs and down, inside and out, to get away from the others for awhile. The neighbors were very quiet and not inquisitive. It was very helpful the first few days to have the driveway and under the house lighted at night so we could find our way "home". Tourist books, coupons, and WIFI were helpful and appreciated as well. Great place to stay that is easy to find, away from the action of Key West while being just a short drive away, close to a small grocery/sandwich shop (5 Brothers 2) and a terrific open-air restaurant (Boondocks), both within walking distance on Route 1.(You don't have to walk on route 1; use the side street) Mile marker 27 is a very nice place to spend vacation. We'd really recommend it.
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so happy you enjoyed your vacation, it is a beautiful time of the year to spend in the Keys. I hope you and your family can visit us again in the future.
business
Relaxation in Paradise - Open Water Canal
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p361719vb
772-713-6657
Ramrod Key Lower Florida Keys
Denver, co
3

FELL SHORT OF OUR EXPECTATIONS.......

  • 3 of 5
The booking process was flawless and very comfortable, so I had great expectations prior to arrival, but was disappointed for many reasons (as were the other guests that stayed).
First, the 3rd bedroom was located outside under the home and only accessible by stairs located outside. The guest staying in this room happened to be my 65 yr old father who needs to use the bathroom several times per night. Needless to say, this was highly inconvenient for him and would have been important to know in advance. Additionally, there was not a mirror in that room.
Second, we went to use the boat ramp a few houses down, that was described in the listing, only to find it was fenced off and no longer public but private......so we had to put our boat in at a location far from the home. The location of the boat ramp was a significant feature that caused us to book this property.
The refrigerator seems a bit in need of replacement or repair. It took over 24 hrs to get it to a temperature that was safe for food storage.
The dryer in the laundry room makes a terrible squeaking sound during each rotation.
This was highly agitating......especially since the laundry area is so close to the living room where people watch tv.
The bathrooms were supplied with partly used old hotel sized shampoo, conditioner and bar soaps.
I am all for concerning, but as a guest, I would have expected a fresh bar soap since it is such a minimal expense and liter size refillable shampoo/conditioner is really inexpensive and much more sanitary.
It was definitely far below expectations and I would not recommend unless changes were made to the description and emmnities.
Unless the owners reconsidered the rental price.
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, I am extremely sorry that your vacation was ruined by Mother Nature, with some of the worst rain experienced in the Keys in years. I know you were trapped inside the house for 4 to 5 days of non-stop rain. I wish that you had called and asked for a refund, rather than taking out your frustrations at a ruined vacation by complaining about my home. I am sorry that you did not understand that the third bedroom was downstairs and separate from the house. It is described as separate and private, I will clarify that further in my listing. The boat ramp was a huge problem for everyone in the neighborhood, since it has been available for 40 years plus. I apologize that you were not notified, it has been a very recent occurrence and a surprise for all of us. The refrigerator works perfectly, someone had turned the temperature down mistakenly. I was there a few days ago, and it was exactly the right temperature. I have had a dryer repairman out to the house and he will be called again. If the squeak cannot be fixed, it will be replaced. I am sorry you did not like the convenience soaps and shampoos, the last guests loved them and called to tell me how nice they were. My home is exactly as shown on my listing, and I have had guests that love it so much they have stayed every year, and book it in advance. Also, the price I charge is far below other homes in the area, and it is a great value compared to hotel rooms which would have been $300 to $450 per night for 5 people. Once again, I wish you had called me with your complaints, I could have called the dryer repairman again. I am always available for my guests, the last voicemail from you said you would call if you had any problems after changing the refrigerator temperature dial. I did not hear from you, and you did not call with any further complaints. Once again, I am sorry your vacation was ruined by the flooding rain which went on for days, but that was out of my control.
Email Owner Email

Map

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ramrod Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July Mini-Lobster
Jul 1 2014 - Jul 31 2014
31 night minimum stay
$3,000
Flat fee
 
 
August Lobster
Aug 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
31 night minimum stay
$3,000
Flat fee
 
 
Winter Season
Jan 1 2015 - Apr 30 2015
28 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
$2,520
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Ramrod Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • miniature golf
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • snorkeling/diving
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
Notes:
Boat Dock, crystal clear swimming/snorkeling canal.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,700 - $1,900 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,300 - $2,300 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8