Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Apartment Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.

Lyn or Giacomo

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Lyn or Giacomo

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Apartment Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

Sydney CBD Apartment Rental Photos and Description

1 Bed Apartment Studio, (Queen bed sleeps 2) 1 x shower/basin/WC

SUMMARY:

Self contained one bedroom water view apartment. Common entrance shared with house.

IF YOU COULD WALK ON WATER IT IS 1 KM TO THE CITY. IT IS RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE STUDIO. If, like us, you can't walk on water the following will help.

• Bus stop on corner. 10-15 min to City

• Ferry: 12 minutes to city centre which takes you under the SHB & past the Opera House. WOW.

• 10 minute peaceful walk to ferry.

• TAXI's always close by

• Quiet and tranquil. you would never know you were so close to the City.

•AIRPORT 20 min by Taxi

• Easy parking - no traffic problems

• Sydney Harbour views to City Skyline, Darling Harbour and Anzac Bridge.

• Direct east facing, sunny, balcony onto views, east and south.

•Located on a corner with no other houses to the right. Just garden and more Inner Habour views.

• Equipped with all necessities for modern studio kitchen

• Shower / toilet mosaic tiled white. Note that the WC/shower has frosted glass walls and is partially open so not to restrict your view. Please review the photos and if you have 'modesty or privacy' issues you may want to reconsider.

• Area: 30m^2 (interior) + 4 m^2 balcony. Spacious.

• Fast free internet

• Experience Sydney and Sydney Harbour at its best.

• Floor to ceiling sun block roller blinds.

NO EVENT PARTIES

FULL DETAILS.

Just 15 km or 20 mins by taxi from Airport. Transport is virtually at your doorstep; to take you anyway you wish, fast and easily by Taxi, Ferry, Water Taxi, Bus, or an easy bike ride. Buses run every 15 mins. Ferries run every 20 mins to Darling Harbour & City (Circular Quay/Opera House, & North Sydney. Water taxi service also available. Close attractions include: Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Casino, Aquarium, Chinatown, Fish Markets, Barangaroo, Cruise Terminal, Balmain Village atmosphere. A brisk walk to the Ferry Wharf would take you just 9 minutes, while a walk to the nearest bus stop would take 2 minutes.

A 12 minute direct ferry ride to the City takes you past two of Australia’s and the World's most recognized icons. Under The Sydney Harbor Bridge and right past The Opera House. From the Opera House you can take a spectacularly scenic walk along Sydney Harbour or through The Royal Botanic Gardens.

The studio faces due East allowing you to enjoy the morning sun and a folding arm awning to control the sun on those hot summer days. Are you ready?

The apartment is 30m square. Free WI-FI and phone.

Converted from garage to studio just recently with polished concrete floor it is completely self-contained, with washing machine, 2 induction cooktops, fridge size to suit the apartment , crockery and cutlery. It sleeps two comfortably in a new fold away memory foam queen sized bed. You choose if you prefer it left out or fold it back to the wall during your stay. It is always in the down position for your arrival, ready and made in case you wish to sleep. (Everyone leaves it down). Lots of room either way. Quality white cotton linens (flannel for winter) and towels are hotel standard and it is so comfortable with great City and Harbour views from the bed or from the patio bifold doors. The doors have reflective film on them, just like City High Rise offices, so that during the day no one can see in but you can see out. At night though, if you wish to maintain privacy we advise clients to draw the blinds when the lights are switched on. Two large custom made cupboards allow ample space for you to unpack your things and stow your bags out of sight and out of the way behind the floor to ceiling curtains. The open WC, hand basin and shower are all high quality fittings mounted on classic white Italian mosaics.

Set in one of the world’s most beautiful cities we are located very close to The Sydney Opera House, The Harbour Bridge, TheAnzac Bridge, Darling Harbour, and Sydney’s CBD. All in fact visible from the house. Balmain has an enviable lifestyle due to its location on Sydney Harbour.

Formally a waterfront working man’s suburb with traditional Victorian Terrace houses and cottages and proximity to the City. It also boasts some of Sydney’s finest views.

This architecturally designed and decorated one bed studio apartment sits at the back of a fabulous Victorian Terrace house and though often rented to clients who rent the house itself, it is also sometimes available on a stand alone basis with common entry and garden. It is set up similarly to places I have enjoyed in other parts of the world such as France and Italy and is clearly inspired by those experiences.

Restaurants, cafes, providores and bars, elegant architecture, boutique fashion and home wares abound in this suburb all within very easy walking distance so popular with visitors and celebrities alike.

Keywords: Apartment, Studio, Unit, Granny flat,

Self-contained,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lyn or Giacomo (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Giacomo & Lyn



i'm so sorry i did not come & say goodbye & thank you both for the

wonderful hospitality you both gave during our stay it was a little

hectic trying to get 9 women organised for an earlier pick as they had

changed our flights at the last minute



you both went beyond our expectations especially Lyn helping us trying

to get our booking sorted for our bus trip we were very stressed trying

to find our booking & Lyn came to our rescue and came up with a solution

for us only to turn around and find the original booking



your house is beautiful & we will be recommending our friends to stay

when they visit Sydney. We loved the Studio too. Thanks for the extra bed.



i do hope the younger members of our group did not keep you awake too

much over the weekend



again thank you for providing such wonderful place & the service was

impeccable



ps i will stop looking for the key



Caroline & Barb
May 2015
  • 1 of 4

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Apartment Studio.Minutes 2 City. Spectacular Views.Travel by Ferry. Bus or Car.
average rating of 4.810811 based on 41 reviews
Sydney, NSW, Australia
5

What a great Find, What a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Wow what a great location and what a great garage conversion. This place should be on ‘Grand Designs’ of a smaller scale. The use of space is fantastic with great views towards the City Skyline. Especially spectacular at night. This studio has space to burn for your clothing with two built-in wardrobes and space to store your luggage behind the curtain and out of sight. Clean as a whistle throughout, great shower and such a comfy bed. Made me feel younger everyday. Ideal for one or two people. The facilities are everything one needs for a short or longer stay with shops and transport very close by. So easy to get to the City even with the nearest ferry wharf temporarily out of service due to upgrading and maintenance. I was on a business trip on my own but I did travel on the other ferry line just for the experience of going under the SHB and past the OH even though it was on a reduced schedule. Just brilliant. Peak hour bus took 20 minutes off peak 10 minutes to the City.

Though I did not get to meet the owners, Communications with them via email was so easy and very professional. Better still the self check-in instructions. Clearly the owners are experienced travellers as everything I needed was covered in the information sent to me and by following the instructions, including the taxi driver instructions from the airport, was VERY helpful in getting my bearings.

Wifi is fast, the area is quiet yet ‘in the City’. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Balmain is a GREAT location without being right in the centre of the City, just minutes away. If I had vacation time I would have had no hesitation in spending it here.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, the neighbourhood and our facilities. G
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We spent almost a week here in February in one of the studio apartments. The owners were very accommodating as we attempted to firm up our dates. The apartment was more than adequate and had a beautiful view across the harbor to the city of Sydney. The walk to the ferry took only about 10 minutes and the ferry itself was a 12 minute ride to the heart of Sydney. Would highly recommend this stay

  • Submitted: May 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Patricia. L & G
1

Make no mistake. This is a GARAGE!

  • 1 of 5

The bed was very comfortable with good quality linens and the local area was quite nice but the positives stop there. The concrete floor was splattered with stains, four mismatched area rugs were worn and dirty, the smoke alarm was hanging down, the old portable heater didn't do much and with no smoke alarm, we were reluctant to use it too often. (The owner was off surfing so no one to ask for repairs.) The curtains at the back hide an uninsulated metal garage door. The owners use the apartment for storage - a surfboard, a massage table. Many things in the kitchen were grimy or dirty, and most were on their 2nd or 3rd life. Notes posted everywhere told how to make up for the inadeqaucies - open the window for bathroom exhaust, roll the blinds up and open the doors just so, etc. Too much information to compensate for the badly built and cheaply bought. There is no view to the opera house, ferries off peak run once an hour, and the convenient bus to the CBD takes 20 minutes at best. We've stayed in apartment rentals all over the world and this was our worst experience. As a final note, watch for the owner's money exchanges, confusing and not always accurate.

  • Submitted: May 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anyone reading any of the previous 35 reviews, all excellent, would realize that there is something ‘untoward’ about yours. Not to mention the 60 reviews of our other two properties next door #360715 & # 618362. I was on the premises for three days of your stay and at no stage did you raise any of your concerns with me. Despite my short absence from the property, you were provided with the preferred channels of communication if anything was not to your satisfaction, regardless whether I am ‘off surfing’, interstate or overseas. All clients are provided with our phone numbers and email via the app and it’s also in the information folder as a backup. You chose not to utilize any of them. We have professionals assisting us where warranted if we are physically unavailable. Foreign Currency is controlled by the Financial Institution handling the transaction not by us. Our Rates are quoted in USD and clients have a choice of 4 different methods by which to pay. It is your choice not ours. We attach a ‘screen print’ of the FX transaction to all clients who choose a Credit Card payment option at the exact time this occurs. Date, Time and Conversion Rate are all clearly identifiable by the Financial Institution in question. Likewise, when I in turn wish to move a PayPal payment made in USD to my AU account, I have no alternative but to accept the PayPal rate of exchange. “Converted from garage to studio …’ is clearly described on the website. Nowhere on the website do we say you have a view to the Opera House. That is available from the Park Hyatt. We have City views in a great location at an affordable rental. We always check the work our cleaners do. We were on the premises the day it was cleaned, the day of your arrival, and it was as it should have been. Clean and well presented, Behind the curtain is space enough for your luggage. Also for use of clients is an Iron and Ironing board, laundry bag, portable folding clothes line, broom and dust pan, massage table and a vacuum cleaner…’.just in case’ Similarly in one wardrobe, we provide extra blankets and towels. ‘just in case’. Surely these items can only be good for our guests. A previous client noticed the fire alarm was over sensitive to steam, from the water jug and it is to be relocated. With hard wire disconnection and the back-up battery removed it will ’beep’ all day long if the cover is ‘closed. It is a built-in safety feature. That’s why the cover has to remain ‘open’.
Fishers, IN
5

Wonderful location in Balmain

  • 5 of 5

We spent 8 wonderful days in the cozy studio guest house. We enjoyed the view of the Sydney skyline each morning and evening. The shops and restaurants on nearby Darling St are great. We took the very convenient ferry from Balmain to Circular Key every day. From there it was easy to catch a bus or train or even another ferry to wherever we wanted to go. We also brought the ferry home each night. It was always a thrill going under the Harbor Bridge and seeing the Opera House from the water. I enjoyed the two figs that ripened in the garden while we were there. Any couple would enjoy the location, the views and the solitude that this apartment offers. Hope to return!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the apt and the figs Tom. If you do come and stay again fig season is from late January....we get at least 6 a day. So good. Best Regards
Seattle, WA
5

Excellent little studio, wonderful location, fabulous hosts.

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying in this lovely studio guest house. The location was great for us, we quite enjoyed the ferry rides to get to downtown Sydney. We usually took the bus back. Very easy. Gorgeous, quiet location. Giacomo and Lynn are the best hosts EVER! So friendly and helpful. Lynn drove us to the ferry dock the first morning (the one closest to them is closed for repairs right now) so we could get an idea of the layout of Balmain (and bc she is just that helpful and lovely).

We loved staying in Balmain and actually a few nights ended up returning from long walking and exploring days in and around Sydney to have dinner at a few of the fun outdoor restaurants on Darling Street. What a great area to walk around.

Giacomo has designed the studio to have everything one needs. Very cute and lots of attention to detail. We told him that the bed was quite comfortable and he says he hears that a lot. I’d say it was the most comfortable bed we stayed on in 6 weeks of travel Down Under! We loved the great opening windowed doors with view of downtown Sydney. They invited us to use the front deck on top of the main house as no one was staying there at the time. Gorgeous.

I can’t recommend this rental enough, it was just perfect. I am so glad we didn’t stay in Sydney downtown. I love to have fresh air and open windows and views and quiet nights. We got Opal cards so could just walk onto the ferry and the buses without thinking about fares (and it saves money). The ferry is a great way to see the harbor and you can’t beat that view of the Opera House when coming into Circular Quay (where it docks downtown Sydney).

I have rented homes throughout the U.S. as well as Europe. This rental and these hosts are the epitome of the VRBO/home rental experience. I would go back to Sydney just to stay there again. I would like to find some friends and rent out the front house as well as the studio as people do, and hopefully still be able to have Giacomo and Lynn around next door. Wine all around!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lucky we were to be here and meet you and recognize you were adventurous travellers and subsequently we have noted some of your excursions in our tips for others to follow in your footsteps. It was a pleasure G & L
5

Great location in Balmain

  • 5 of 5

We rented the 3 bedroom terrace as well as the studio apartment.....this a great combo for a group of 8. Beautiful walled garden out the back and a lovely front terrace with an amazing view over Sydney. Giacomo was very warm & welcoming, no request was too much trouble. Balmain East ferry terminal is only a few minutes walk so getting to the city is a breeze. Highly recommend both of these properties.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Sydney Kingsford Smith (SKS)
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Darling St Wharf
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
City or Central
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Western Distributor
Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Bondi
Car: not necessary

The property is well located to take advantage of the many city tourist facilities with bus, ferry, bicycle and taxi transportation within easy reach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $160 Per night

Sydney CBD Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas & New Year
Dec 21 2015 - Jan 4 2016
6 night minimum stay
$270
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Summer (High Season) length of stay negotiable if OUTSIDE DATES Dec 19 to January 6th. WITHIN these dates though minimum stay is 6 nights.
EASTER minimum stay is 4 nights.
PER NIGHT RATES as published
Pay by VISA or MC CC (+3.5%), Direct Deposit, or PayPal. (+3.5%)
Client Pays all or any T/F fees.
Booking confirmed on receipt of 25% Deposit.
All rates INCLUDE all fees and taxes, cleaning, TV, unlimited internet and a local phone. In addition there is no bond
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Sydney CBD Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 30 m²
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is semi open so as not to interrupt the line of view to the City. The shower is frame less frosted glass. See pics.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Bed (1) The mattress is made of memory foam, an invention by NASA, & is really comfortable. Sheets provided are regular hotel quality white cotton .
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Communal garden. Buses run every 15 mins. Ferries run every 20 mins to Darling Harbour & City (Circular Quay/Opera House, Manly, North Sydney& Parramatta. Water taxi service also available. Close attractions include: Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Casino, Aquarium, Chinatown, Fish Markets, Botanic Gardens, Theater, Cinemas, Balmain Village atmosphere. Sydney's hippest cafes, bars, boutiques and galleries in Darling Street . walk , bus or Ferry to everywhere!

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote