FANTASTIC OCEAN VIEWS AND SUNSETS WITH FREE WIFI

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FANTASTIC OCEAN VIEWS AND SUNSETS WITH FREE WIFI

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Fully equiped condo with King Bed with queen sofa sleeper, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Kona Makai is a beautiful ocean front garden complex with beautifully maintained gardens. Very quiet complex with tennis court, pool, spa, exercise rooms and covered parking (great for keeping the car cool). WIFI, even down by the ocean. On the Iron Man Triathalon path. Best Rate - from 77 per night. Ground Floor unit for easy access - but elevated lanai for views. Newly redone kitchen with new dishwasher, washer dryer.

Brand new King bed in 2012 along with new chairs and sofa, towels, pots, glassware and dishes. Tile floors, fans and AC keep it cool. Beach towels, snorkels, fins,boogie boards, ice chest, beach chairs, hair dryer, iron and board are provided.

Beautiful snorkeling reefs right at the property with access (except in high surf). Watch dolphins,sunsets and whales from the property.Two lanai's, one with ocean view with outside dining. Quiet concrete building doesn't transfer noise from other units. Great pool area on the ocean with spa and barbecues. Relax and barbecue your fish down by the ocean.

Very convenient one and a half mile walk or drive to town and well known restaurants like Bubba Gumps. Five minutes from famous snorkeling beach with sea wall, lifeguard and sea turtles. Enjoy shopping in town and the open market. The harbor for buying fresh fish is only a 12 minute drive.

Keywords: Condominium, condo, lanai, ocean view, ocean front, hawaii, kona, kailua-kona, beach, pool, close to town, snorkel, swim, fish, king, tennis

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Owner
Advertiser since 2004
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time. The condo is very nice and is in a great location. Josh loved walking around on the lava off the pool deck. We enjoyed our breakfast out on the lanai every morning. We saw some dolphins swimming by the first morning we were there!

Thank you again. We really had a fun vacation.
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Evergreen, CO USA
5

A special place

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed here numerous times and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time. The condo has not been remodeled, however, everything is clean, comfortable and in working condition. The pull out couch and king bed are new as is the patio furniture. We love the atmosphere and the beautiful grounds opening up to the ocean. This is one of the best priced units available and is in a good location and with first floor access. We look forward to staying here for many years to come!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego
1

In Need of Upgrades

  • 1 of 5
We just stayed in August 2014. We liked that the condo was close to town and has very well kept grounds. The pool was satisfactory to cool off after a day at the beach.
The condo is in need of some upgrades. New shower towels (that are all matching), new beach towels (that are not paper thin), new shower curtain (one that does not look worn and dated), and new area rugs throughout the condo (that do not look dirty and worn). The beds were incredibly uncomfortable. Both the pull out and the main bed in the bedroom were so uncomfortable that my husband and I would wake up sore most mornings. Even our 8 year old complained about the bed! The washer had an mildew smell that would spread throughout the condo when washing. The lighting was very poor throughout the condo. The blinds were broken making it a privacy issue in the bedroom. To top it off, we ran out of toilet paper and found no replacements under the sink.
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you had a bad experience. My property manager has been notified and has remedied any issues. The Kona Makai is a great place to stay. Most of the clients have been repeat customers for years. My policy has always been to make it the best well kept and clean condo at a very reasonable price.
I have been renting it out for the last 17 years and in that time I have had two bad complaints compared to thousands of positive thank you’s for a pleasant very reasonable vacation. I don’t bother people to have them put a positive review in. There is both a full time cleaner and property manager’s phone posted and in the unit and in the rental agreement to immediately take care of any issues. They need to be called or I need to be emailed, what I don’t know about, I can’t fix.
Once I was made aware your review/issue, I immediately had the property manager investigate and resolve all issues. The cleaner was filling in for the normal one on vacation and has been told to be proactive and let me know if there are any issues or I will move on to one that does. I routinely have always had the linens, rugs, pillows, shower liners, towels, etc. replaced several times a year. It is well stocked with newer items and when I am notified of a missing item I make sure it’s restocked. Costco is so close, it’s not worth a bad review having older items.
The sofa bed is new, best quality with the nice 5 inch mattress, but is a sofa sleeper. The bed is less than two years old, very good quality and this is the first complaint out of over 50 stays with many positive comments on how comfortable. Personal preference I suppose, it’s medium firm, was fine for us, not to soft, not too hard.
Our goal is that everyone has a pleasant vacation and any known issue is addressed immediately. We are constantly updating a little at a time when needed rather than a complete remodel which would double the rental rates to be consistent with the other remodeled units. Just this year we’ve put in new full size dishwasher, new kitchen counter, hot water heater, new sink, new faucet, new kitchen supplies, new lamp, towels, bedding, rugs, blinds, shower curtains. Be assured that you can't find a more reasonable price for a clean, well maintained, conveniently located condo with newer island furnishings.
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
New Mexico
5

Relaxing and affordable place to stay

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed in this unit five previous times and have another stay booked for June. After staying in two other places in Kona, we found this place and have stayed here exclusively the last five times in Kona. The unit is beautiful as are the grounds and the ocean view. Grills are located on the ocean front. Sunsets are amazing with the occasional "green flash." Walk to town, beaches, church, restaurants, stores, etc. It is beautiful, relaxing and refreshing place to stay. We have highly recommend it to family and friends.
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
WA state
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I have stayed at this unit several times and always found it satisfactory. This year 2013 we were pleasantly surprised to find it like new--furniture,bed,stove, dishwasher, linens, dishes, cooking utensils--everything was re-done. It is very clean and convenient to everything.
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
-
4

Nice Complex, Comfortable Condo at a Great Price

  • 4 of 5
We stayed in this unit for 9 nights with my elderly mother-in-law. The ground-floor entry was ideal for her and also for us when carrying bags of groceries, luggage and beach equipment into the unit. The Kona Makai complex is conveniently located with well-cared-for landscaping, beautiful flowers, a very nice pool/hot tub patio and as a lovely oceanfront location with lounge chairs for viewing the sunset. When the surf was not too rough we snorkelled right off the rocks in front of the complex.

The unit was clean, comfortable and well-equipped with dishes, towels, etc. Many older units do not have in-suite laundry but this one does, which we appreciated. The kitchen and especially the bathroom are showing their age but I understand renovations will happen soon. My mother-in-law said the sofa bed was much better than others she has slept on, and the king-size bed in the bedroom was also comfortable. A cooler and some beach equipment were provided although umbrella and folding chair and were in need of replacement. WiFi was inconsistent -- very occasionally we could check our email from the lanai but it always worked perfectly in the barbecue area and at the traffic turnaround a short distance from the unit.

The owner was responsive to inquiries and provided good information for access. The rate provided was very reasonable and less than most other units at Kona Makai. We would rent here again.
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
1

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

  • 1 of 5
Good.The Kona Makai complex is very nice, with lovely and meticulously maintained landscaping, a nice pool and hot tub, and a patio with tables, grills, and lounge chairs looking out on the ocean. This unit is “garden level”, so the entrance is only a couple of steps up from the sidewalk. The living room has new furniture. There is a new king-size bed which we found very comfortable. The main lanai has a small table and two wicker chairs. The kitchen has most everything you need—a small microwave, an older range, a dishwasher, a blender, utensils, dishes, etc. There are plenty of towels although we had to ask the cleaner for washcloths. The two air conditioners worked well, a good thing because the unit heated up pretty quickly during the day. Bad—the bathroom hasn’t been updated (although the toilet and sink faucet look newer), with old tile, a worn sink and cabinet, and corroded fixtures. The light over the sink went out whenever we took a shower or left it on for awhile. It wouldn’t take much to make it nicer—replace the corroded fixtures, paint the cabinet, replace the light.The kitchen really needs some work. The sinks are stained, the faucet leaks badly. One cabinet door is falling off and needs repair. The stove and refrigerator are fine but the dishwasher racks were terribly rusted. The top rack fell off its supports the first time we used it. We notified the owner and local property manager but it hadn’t been fixed when we left. The small washer/dryer combo in the kitchen worked fine although the area that the lint trap fits into was FULL of lint. We cleaned it out as best we could but it really needed vacuuming. The main lanai was very private. Read “no view of the shore”. The screen of vegetation prevented seeing much of anything but was inadequate to shade you from the morning sun. Too hot to breakfast there. It was fine in the late afternoon and evening. A broom would be nice—there was no way to sweep up crumbs, etc. Another (we think) essential item that was missing was a drying rack. There was no place to hang wet pool/beach towels and swimsuits.
The Ugly. The kitchen. The dishwasher. The hideous brown rugs in the bath. Please, please, please replace them!
In summary, we won’t be staying in this unit again unless some serious upgrading is done.
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Everything is now fixed and supplies replenished. The HOA office manager is always quick to respond to trim the foliage allowing for the view again. This was a last minute reservation for only the weekend. They booked the day before because they couldn’t stay any longer in the unit they were in and would move to this one for just the weekend before they went back home. Friday they emailed that everything was fine, then Saturday emailed that the light bulb went out so I had someone go over to fix it. They said it was fine once the light bulb was switched but regardless, it now has a brand new light. On Sunday they emailed about the rack on the dishwasher and notified maintenance. Considering the dishwasher could still be used, they replaced it the next day with a new one so as not to inconvenience them with installation the day before they were to leave.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Mid Season
Sep 1 - Dec 14
3 night minimum stay
$95
From
$95
Fri,Sat,Sun
$665
$2,747
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 - May 31
3 night minimum stay
$110
From
$110
Fri,Sat,Sun
$770
$3,030
 
 
Low Season
Jun 1 - Aug 31
3 night minimum stay
$85
From
$85
Fri,Sat,Sun
$575
$2,370
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$85
From
$85
Fri,Sat,Sun
$575
$2,370
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning if less than wk $100
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Only ~ 1 mile to town, very convenient
5 min to beach with sea wall and lifeguard
15 min to airport
12 min to Costco
Cancelation - $100 fee before 30 days prior to arrival, after that only refund the amount I can rerent - $100 fee
50% due when booking and rest 30 days prior to arrival
Can book at reservation page
https://ssl4.westserver.net/kona-makai-condo.com/reservations/reservations.html
or call
303-674-9384
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 690 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Telephone
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sofa sleeper
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television
  • Game Room
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
  • surfing
  • golf
  • parasailing
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
Notes:
Washer & Dryer, AC, exercise facility, tennis court, BBQ, covered parking, fully furnished kitchen, convenient and close to everything
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$665 - $840 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$665 - $770 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,142 - $1,397 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2