Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

FANTASTIC OCEAN VIEWS AND SUNSETS WITH FREE SECURE WIFI

Owner

Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, swedish, norwegian
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2004
Speaks: english, swedish, norwegian
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FANTASTIC OCEAN VIEWS AND SUNSETS WITH FREE SECURE WIFI

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Fully equipped condo - King Bed - queen sofa sleeper - Pool, Spa -Sleeps 2-4

Kona Makai is a beautiful ocean front garden complex with beautifully maintained gardens right on the Ocean with dolphin, whale watching. Very quiet complex with private tennis court, pool, spa, exercise rooms, BBQ and covered parking (great for keeping the car cool). WIFI, even down by the ocean. On the Iron Man Triathalon path. Best Rate - from 77 per night. Ground Floor unit for easy access - but elevated lanai for views. Newly redone kitchen with new full size dishwasher, washer dryer.

Well stocked with new furniture, towels, kitchenware, ice chest, snorkels, beach items.

Tile floors, fans and AC keep it cool. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board are provided.

Beautiful snorkeling reefs right at the property with access (except in high surf). Watch dolphins,sunsets and whales from the property.Two lanai's, one with ocean view with outside dining. Quiet concrete building doesn't transfer noise from other units. Great pool area on the ocean with spa and barbecues. Relax and barbecue your fish down by the ocean.

Very convenient ~ 1 mile walk or 2 minute drive to town and well known restaurants like Bubba Gumps. Five minutes from famous snorkeling beach with sea wall, lifeguard and sea turtles. Enjoy shopping in town and the open market. The harbor for buying fresh fish is only a 12 minute drive.

Keywords: Condominium, condo, lanai, ocean view, ocean front, hawaii, kona, kailua-kona, beach, spa, dolphin, whale, pool, close to town, snorkel, swim, fish, king, tennis

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since: 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, swedish, norwegian

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great time. The condo is very nice and is in a great location. Josh loved walking around on the lava off the pool deck. We enjoyed our breakfast out on the lanai every morning. We saw some dolphins swimming by the first morning we were there!

Thank you again. We really had a fun vacation.
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
average rating of 4.076923 based on 14 reviews
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Los Angeles, CA, USA
5

Best location! Exactly as described! Awesome host!

  • 5 of 5
I normally do not write reviews but couldn't pass this up. Had a wonderful time at this property! The owner/host was very accomodating and responsive and let us stay past the check out! Best location (less than 5 minutes drive or 15-20 minutes walk to restaurants/shops). The unit is just as described. We also loved how the unit is conveniently close to the parking lot. The property is very quiet and peaceful. Swimming pool/bbq area is very clean, ocean front, and amazing view of the sunset. Property is also very clean. Highly recommend and would stay here again!!
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

A well-equipped, comfortable condo in an ideal location

  • 5 of 5
With such a wide choice of condos on offer in Kona, how to pick the one just right for you?

We recommend the Kona Makai complex in general and this condo in particular very highly. Kona Makai is in an ideal location, only a mile or so from the centre of Kona with its bars, restaurants, farmers market and shops. And yet it is far enough away to be quiet, peaceful and secluded. The gardens are very well tended and... well, just beautiful. The pool/barbecue area is a great attraction. You can just sit there relaxing, and enjoy one of the famous Kona sunsets with the spinner dolphins close to shore (we saw them on three occasions during our visit).

The condo itself is very well equipped with anything you'd wish to have with you for a vacation in Hawaii, from plenty of towels and linen, to snorkelling gear and assorted beach toys! The king size bed is very comfortable and the kitchen is also well stocked. The availability of WiFi and a telephone in the condo was very useful to us (although others may wish to get away from it all for a few days!)

All in all, we had a great vacation and are happy to recommend this particular condo, particularly if there are just two of you. We'll definitely return!
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Evergreen, CO USA
5

A special place

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed here numerous times and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves each time. The condo has not been remodeled, however, everything is clean, comfortable and in working condition. The pull out couch and king bed are new as is the patio furniture. We love the atmosphere and the beautiful grounds opening up to the ocean. This is one of the best priced units available and is in a good location and with first floor access. We look forward to staying here for many years to come!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
San Diego
1

In Need of Upgrades

  • 1 of 5
We just stayed in August 2014. We liked that the condo was close to town and has very well kept grounds. The pool was satisfactory to cool off after a day at the beach.
The condo is in need of some upgrades. New shower towels (that are all matching), new beach towels (that are not paper thin), new shower curtain (one that does not look worn and dated), and new area rugs throughout the condo (that do not look dirty and worn). The beds were incredibly uncomfortable. Both the pull out and the main bed in the bedroom were so uncomfortable that my husband and I would wake up sore most mornings. Even our 8 year old complained about the bed! The washer had an mildew smell that would spread throughout the condo when washing. The lighting was very poor throughout the condo. The blinds were broken making it a privacy issue in the bedroom. To top it off, we ran out of toilet paper and found no replacements under the sink.
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you had a bad experience. My property manager has been notified and has remedied any issues. The Kona Makai is a great place to stay. Most of the clients have been repeat customers for years. My policy has always been to make it the best well kept and clean condo at a very reasonable price.
I have been renting it out for the last 17 years and in that time I have had two bad complaints compared to thousands of positive thank you’s for a pleasant very reasonable vacation. I don’t bother people to have them put a positive review in. There is both a full time cleaner and property manager’s phone posted and in the unit and in the rental agreement to immediately take care of any issues. They need to be called or I need to be emailed, what I don’t know about, I can’t fix.
Once I was made aware your review/issue, I immediately had the property manager investigate and resolve all issues. The cleaner was filling in for the normal one on vacation and has been told to be proactive and let me know if there are any issues or I will move on to one that does. I routinely have always had the linens, rugs, pillows, shower liners, towels, etc. replaced several times a year. It is well stocked with newer items and when I am notified of a missing item I make sure it’s restocked. Costco is so close, it’s not worth a bad review having older items.
The sofa bed is new, best quality with the nice 5 inch mattress, but is a sofa sleeper. The bed is less than two years old, very good quality and this is the first complaint out of over 50 stays with many positive comments on how comfortable. Personal preference I suppose, it’s medium firm, was fine for us, not to soft, not too hard.
Our goal is that everyone has a pleasant vacation and any known issue is addressed immediately. We are constantly updating a little at a time when needed rather than a complete remodel which would double the rental rates to be consistent with the other remodeled units. Just this year we’ve put in new full size dishwasher, new kitchen counter, hot water heater, new sink, new faucet, new kitchen supplies, new lamp, towels, bedding, rugs, blinds, shower curtains. Be assured that you can't find a more reasonable price for a clean, well maintained, conveniently located condo with newer island furnishings.
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
New Mexico
5

Relaxing and affordable place to stay

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed in this unit five previous times and have another stay booked for June. After staying in two other places in Kona, we found this place and have stayed here exclusively the last five times in Kona. The unit is beautiful as are the grounds and the ocean view. Grills are located on the ocean front. Sunsets are amazing with the occasional "green flash." Walk to town, beaches, church, restaurants, stores, etc. It is beautiful, relaxing and refreshing place to stay. We have highly recommend it to family and friends.
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fantastic Ocean Views and Sunsets with Free Secure WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p36065vb
-(303) 674-9384 (Colorado, USA)
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
WA state
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I have stayed at this unit several times and always found it satisfactory. This year 2013 we were pleasantly surprised to find it like new--furniture,bed,stove, dishwasher, linens, dishes, cooking utensils--everything was re-done. It is very clean and convenient to everything.
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $95 Per night

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$105
$700
$2,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 1 2015 - Dec 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$105
$700
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season
Dec 15 2015 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$95
$600
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning if less than wk $100
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Only ~ 1 mile to town, very convenient
5 min to beach with sea wall and lifeguard
15 min to airport
12 min to Costco
Cancelation - $100 fee before 30 days prior to arrival, after that only refund the amount I can rerent - $100 fee
50% due when booking and rest 30 days prior to arrival
Can book at reservation page
https://ssl4.westserver.net/kona-makai-condo.com/reservations/reservations.html
or call
303-674-9384
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 690 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen Sofa sleeper
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Washer & Dryer, AC, exercise facility, tennis court, BBQ, covered parking, fully furnished kitchen, convenient and close to everything

Other Vacation Properties

$665 - $840 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$665 - $840 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$665 - $945 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote