BEAUTIFUL HOME, FULLY RENOVATED/UPDATED 2009, STEPS TO BEACH, 1 ACRE

Michelle

Speaks english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Contact the Manager

Michelle

Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL HOME, FULLY RENOVATED/UPDATED 2009, STEPS TO BEACH, 1 ACRE

Hauula House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9-16)

Beautiful, historic home completely restored and modernized in 2009, with 2500 square foot of living area, 100' feet of private, beach front access on a pristine, white sandy beach on Oahu's gorgeous North shore for you and your ohana's (family) pleasure.

Inside you'll find everything from stainless steel appliances, W/D, granite counters, hardwood floors, glass/marble bathrooms and fully furnished kitchen, DVD and book library, karaoke machine, flat screen TV/DVD/stereo system, fireplace, toys including plenty of water toys for the big and small. King, 2 queens, 1 full futon, 6 twin/daybeds, and 2 sectional couches w/ hide-a-bed so there's plenty of capacity for the whole family, including two dining room areas and a breakfast bar.

Outside you'll walk onto one of the most beautiful, remote and pristine white sandy beaches on Oahu with amazing views of the mountains and a quick walk/paddle over to Kahana Bay. Amazing snorkeling/kayaking on what will frequently be your own private beach (aside from the sea turtles who like to sleep here at night). World class surfing right up the street. Ten minute drive to Kualoa Ranch and Polynesian Cultural Center.

Additional photos available upon request.

Keywords: Gorgeous, luxury, beach front, white sandy beach, 1 acre property, North shore, near PCC, Kahana Bay, Kualoa ranch, family friendly, Turtle Bay, surf, snorkel, large

More Details
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
Guestbook comments from the manager
This place was fantastic, steps to a pristine white sand beach that was virtually all to ourselves. Plenty of toys/books/games for young and all, fantastic inside and out. We'll come again
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 7

Michelle

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english

This property genuinely gives you the feel of outer islands, while still being on the island of Oahu. This allows you to see all the amazing sites Oahu has to ovver, while at the same time affording you a haven of your own to retreat to.

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
United States
5

PARADISE FOUND!

  • 5 of 5
Perfect place for our family reunion! We had 18 people ranging from ages 75 to 2 months. This house was perfect for everyone. Walk out the back door to a shady lawn met by a white sandy beach. Enjoy views of the ocean on one side and lush mountains on the other. The sunrises are unbelievable! Awesome location! The neighboring houses sit farther back from the beach. Feels like you are alone in a secluded paradise! Caretaker house is on the property but he was very helpful and friendly. The teenagers loved the huge rope swing, the kayak, surf boards, paddle board and boogie boards that were all provided. The beach is protected by a reef so big waves don't come in, making it a fun place for children to swim. Because the beach is out the back door, we didn't waste our whole vacation driving to and from the beach. Polynesian Cultural Center is 10 min away. Love, love, loved it! Can't wait to return someday! (We threw flowers in the ocean! Hope the legend is true!)
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo and we can't wait to have you back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
Honolulu, HI
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
We live in Hawaii, but it is always a treat to be able to stay here at this amazing property. It doesn't feel like you're still "at home" because you get lost in the beauty of this place. There are so many beautiful beaches that are on Oahu, but none like this! The beach, which is just steps away from the porch is absolutely beautiful, pristine and private!! Except for the sea turtles and monk seals that come to visit!! Absolutely a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and comes with all the comforts of a home! Without the hassle of hotel and resort fees! We can't wait to visit again!
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
Honolulu, Hawaii
4

THE PERFECT FAMILY GETAWAY!

  • 4 of 5
DOA:5.31.14
My in laws moved to Hawaii & wanted to experience the Hawaii beaches, (their only request, was for a local area, with no tourist.) We searched and searched - but because it was a last minute search- we were out of luck. Luckily, I emailed the owner for this property, requesting information and if it was available (I was even willing to pay extra for the last minute booking). I expressed my needs about wanting a nice convenient beach house, yard, and the beach -- the owner responded within minutes of my email (it was a great feeling, because I didn't have to wait or search again), and said, we could get the place :)

The place is true to its description! HAWAII Beach house! Yard is amazing! It fit all 15 family members ---and MORE space for the kids to play soccer, and volley ball. There are swings and of course, the BEACH! Because it was last minute, we of course did shopping, but no one wanted to cook - so we ordered from a local restaurant right across the street. We had a big dinner outside on the yard (3 picnic tables) -we put them together to form one huge sitting place for everyone :) We all ate, and laughed and talked! It was truly amazing! How often can you enjoy dinner on right across from the beach with FAMILY with privacy? My inlaws had soo much fun, even the family friends we invited. The children used the beach toys provided by the owner (its on the property), that was a plus plus for us! The house is big. Lots of beds, and two SPACIOUS restrooms. Although we spent only a day there, it was AMAZING! We left the property around 10p.m. and may I add we had atleast 4 vehicles there? 3 SUVS and 1 small SUV! (parking was a plus for us as well!!). We never at any point encountered any problems. I am glad I found this place and am certainly looking forward to booking it again soon :) It was by far the BEST choice.

Now, I will admit - before I emailed the owner, I read the reviews and I had my doubts. But, I have to say, I am GLAD and RELIEVED I emailed the owner, went to the property and saw first hand that it was just absolutely amazing! The house, the view, the LOCATION... it is just simply AMAZING. Well worth it!!! (I think the problem with visitors are, they have this expectation of an Hollywood beach house --- this is an HAWAII Beach House!) You can't experience Hawaii having a Hollywood mentality!

Thank you again, I know this was last minute, but you made our family last minute get together really awesome! We appreciate it!
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So stoked you had awesome time n enjoyed our little slice of paradise, hopefully we will b available when in laws return, as they always do, aloha and mahalo!
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
1

WHAT A DISASTER!

  • 1 of 5
This house is not what the photos and advertisements outline. The house was not in a clean condition which, presents a question about the use of the cleaning fee. The house had several broken window panes. The house had two (2) canisters of Decon Rat Poison on the kitchen counter upon our arrival. The house has 2 bedrooms with closets full of children's toys and the closet doors do not function. The house has 2 rooms with no hinged doors that have beds on box springs with mattress lying on floor with no bed frame. The house has 4TV's ("flat screen TV/DVD/stereo system") but, NO Cable TV as indicated only upon our arrival in an email. Could not make use of TV's through out our 9 day stay. The laminated flooring advertised as hard wood flooring, has numerous boards missing which, makes walking in the house unsafe. The living room couches have built in recliners that are broken and inoperable. The guest bath towels were old, stained, and some even had holes. The 2 bathrooms combined had a total of one (1) wash cloth for a house that sleeps (16?). There were 4 of 8 lawn chairs broken and repaired with Duct Tape but, still unstable for sitting in. The lawn was not mowed for the first week of our stay. The ocean equipment listed, kayaks, paddle boards, etc. as listed with the house advertisement actually belong to another person who lives on the grounds (caretaker) who stated all of the listed equipment belonged to him personally and are not available to visitors renting this vacation house. The grounds were strewn with sand covered water shoes, snorkel, goggles, swim fins, Coca Cola cans. The yard just outside of the beach side door an open zip lock bag was found with shrimp that wafted of a smell indicating it had been there for several days. Our family took well over 30 photos of the house and grounds upon arrival and would love for this owner to provide us an album to post our photos of the house in. Finally, the owner of this property offered a written refund to compromise for the unacceptable condition of the house with a guarantee we would receive this refund within 24 hours...after 20 days of attempting to reach this owner without success, we continue to see NO refund.
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm truly sorry your group did not enjoy your time at my (hale) home. Some of my ohana’s (family) greatest memories were made here: swimming with turtles, visits from monk seals, & snorkeling. As you know, the outgoing guests checked out late & thus the cleaning crew was rushed. As soon as I was notified, I sent them back immediately & it was my understanding that you were happy with the house after the extra cleaning--if that's not the case, my apologies.
It’s been my experience that most guests prefer to enjoying the natural environment of the North Shore: sunrise/sets, beach walks, & swimming, rather than the TV. However, since everyone occasionally wants to catch a movie, the TV has both Netflick & Hulu, as well free WIFI being available. Our VRBO page specifically states that there is no cable & you are the first guest who has been upset. Nevertheless, I apologize that you were under the impression that there was cable. I also am sorry that you weren’t able to locate the linen closet, which is in master bedroom & is packed with extra towels, washcloths & linens.
I am unsure about your comment re: the beds & doorways because they are all exactly as pictured in the extensive album on our Facebook site. Concerning kayak/canoe availability, I think you must not have looked at the details as the listing states that these are offered by way of local vendor. Punalu’u is located in the midst of a beautiful tropical forest in what is colloquially referred to as "the country", creating a fertile environment for flora and fauna. Manicured, golf course style lawns simply are not feasible, nor desirable. Hawai’i lawns quickly turn to mud pits if the grass is not allowed to properly grow. Our landscaper’s recommendation (which we follow) is bimonthly mowing to avoid this. In addition to the beautiful white sand beach located steps from the house, the property has fauna galore, including Coconut, Papaya, Palm & Plumeria trees & Naupakapaka flowers. We have done our best in our advertisement and photos to communicate that this country vacation experience is markedly different than a Waikiki resort-type vacation, which most guests relish.
In an effort to accommodate you, I DID pay the partial refund which you agreed was fair. Again, I'm sorry you did not enjoy yourself. It's unfortunate, as it is the collective opinion the vast majority of all who have enjoyed this property, that it is one of the most unique & amazing places on Earth.
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
Iowa,USA
5

FAMILY FUN

  • 5 of 5
We had a spectacular stay and are really missing this getaway! The beach was beautiful and calm! Our first morning, we were up before daybreak to discover sea turtles on the beach. It was thrilling for all of us--aged 10 to 55! We snorkeled right from the back yard, beginning our day and ending it. Our 15 year old has been blessed to do some traveling in his young years and has said many times, this was his favorite vacation. It was incredible to open the windows and doors at night, letting the ocean breeze keep us cool while sleeping like babies! This home was close to so many tourist sights, as well. We were able to circle the island, realizing how lucky we were to find this place in reference to the gorgeous landscape and location. The home was cozy and comfortable, offering everything we needed without feeling uptight in our surroundings. Such close proximity to the beach, as well--making you feel as though your neighbors were close at all!
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your feedback, we do so love sharing our beach with these amazing turtles.
business
Beautiful Home, Fully Renovated/Updated 2009, Steps to Beach, 1 Acre
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p360013vb
Hauula North Shore Oahu
California
5

FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
We traveled with 13 of us.. This house accomadated all of us comfortably. Right on your own private beach, Turtles in the morning before complete sunrise, Beautiful Sunrises. Plenty of seating outside. The open air style provided much needed breeze through out the home. Good snorkeling. You can walk to the break water. Water can be a bit choppy due to the breeze, but its still amazing. We swam every chance we could. A restaurant across the street was pretty good as well. Private house but conveinent to other places. 15 from Kualoa Ranch and 15 mins to Polynesian Center (maybe less with less traffic) The manager was very helpful and instrumental in our stay. Pictures of the home do not do the home any justice. The home was well stocked, we only needed to add groceries. Quiet neighborhood. Plenty of entertainment inside the home. We will be back! I almost did not want to write a review, we did not want to give away our secret in paradise! With that being said, we knew we needed to write and show our appreciation. Mahalo...
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo nui for your great review, you were wonderful guests and welcome back anytime!!!! A hui ho!
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
24 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Motorway
Kamehameha Hwy.
Nearest Beach
Front Yard
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Crouching Lion Inn
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Turtle Bay Resort
Nearest Restaurant
Keneke's Grill
Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hauula House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Non-Peak
Sep 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
6 night minimum stay
$495
$3,200
$12,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.96%
Notes Rates vary depending on a variety of factors including length of stay and time of year. Cleaning fee of $375 and taxes of 13.96% (GET & TAT) also required. Email us for total pricing for your vacation.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Hauula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Parking Off Street
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 3 twin/ single , One of twins is trundle which could be used for infant.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 murphy bed , Full size futon, 2 twins in bay & murphy in living area.
    Bedroom 3 - 3 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4/Library - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (5), Full Size Futon (1), Bay Window Twin Size Beds (2), plus extensive couches, Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Stereo ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Games
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Deck / Patio
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Events Allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • horseshoes
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • sight seeing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • surfing
  • golf
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • tennis
  • mountain biking
  • jet skiing
  • rock climbing
  • ice skating
  • freshwater fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
  • sailing
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • water skiing
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,800 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 13
$165 - $200 per night
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$425 - $575 per night
0 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12