Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

PRIVATE 2.5 ACRES/SKIING & HIKING NEARBY/HOT TUB

Anne LaVallee

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Anne LaVallee

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRIVATE 2.5 ACRES/SKIING & HIKING NEARBY/HOT TUB

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Mt Hood Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeper sofa, sleeps 6

Located on the historic Barlow Trail and just minutes away from great hiking, biking, skiing, and golfing on beautiful Mt. Hood, this spacious and cozy custom built home sits on 2.5 private acres that make for a perfect mountain getaway. Facing south on a hilltop, the house gets a lot of light yet it is surrounded by a thick cedar and fir forest. The partially covered 500 square foot wraparound deck and huge picture window in the living room offer an amazing view of Hunchback Mountain. On clear evenings you will enjoy gazing at the star-filled sky from our new Tiger River Sumatran hot tub. The hot tub is conveniently located just steps away from the master bedroom but is also easily accessible from the wraparound deck. Both bedrooms have been outfitted with your comfort in mind and the kitchen is fully equipped for gourmet meals. Built with love and with trees milled from the property, this modern home contains so much mountain charm.

Located on the historic Barlow Trail and just minutes away from great hiking, biking, skiing, and golfing on beautiful Mt. Hood, this spacious and cozy custom built home sits on 2.5 private acres that make for a perfect mountain getaway. Facing south on a hilltop, the house gets a lot of light yet it is surrounded by a thick cedar and fir forest. The partially covered 500 square foot wraparound deck and huge picture window in the living room offer an amazing view of Hunchback Mountain. The covered part of the deck has an infrared heater and is great for hanging outside on chillier/wetter days. On clear evenings you will enjoy gazing at the star-filled sky from our new Tiger River Sumatran hot tub. The hot tub is conveniently located just steps away from the master bedroom but is also easily accessible from the wraparound deck.

We have outfitted the house with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each bedroom has luxurious linens and is adjacent to its own full bath. The master bedroom has a Sealy Serta king size bed and is just steps away from the hot tub. The living room couch pulls out into a very comfortable sofa bed. The kitchen is fully stocked for all your gourmet cooking needs. We love to cook ourselves, so we promise to always keep the knives sharpened! There is also a charcoal grill for cooking on the deck or for the more adventurous, the firepit on the west side of the property. The house is heated with a wonderfully efficient wood stove that adds so much to the coziness of the place. We provide a free wireless Internet connection, a landline phone, and an iPod player. We will also provide you with a list of our favorite restaurants in the area as well as suggestions for hiking, biking, and skiing.

Built with love and with trees milled from the property, this modern home contains so much mountain charm. When you are not out playing on the mountain, we hope you will enjoy walking around the property and checking out the natural wonders and the pieces of sculpture that are nestled amongst the ferns and the cedars. We hope you experience all the pleasures of the 'Hilltop Hideaway!'

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Anne LaVallee (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014

About Anne LaVallee

We are a creative couple, inspired by natural beauty. We live in Portland but spend as much time on the mountain as we can. We love to hike, bike, kayak, ski, cook, and entertain friends and family. We love our Hilltop Hideaway for doing all these activities and more!

Anne LaVallee purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Anne LaVallee chose Mt Hood

We have been renting a cabin on Mt. Hood in the winter for cross country skiing for fifteen years. Then, in 2008, we rented a place in the summer and we were hooked. We fully understood how magical Mt. Hood is and how much it has to offer(skiing, hiking, swimming, kayaking, fishing, golfing, biking) in every season. We started looking for a place in 2009 and quickly found the Hilltop Hideaway. We knew almost immediately that it was the place for us. It is secluded and private but close to good restaurants and stores. It has a fantastic view of Hunchback Mountain. The house was lovingly built by the former owners with wood milled from the property. It is well designed and just feels good. We are instantly relaxed the minute we arrive.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The trails, the cabin and (of course) the hot tub were all perfect for our post 30 year old reunion. We will now venture to the city fully satisfied and complete with many a new memory...
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 14

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
average rating of 4.857143 based on 28 reviews
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
Even though this place is less than an hr from my home in Portland, it has the magic and serenity that I always find when I travel to a far off place. I love the layout where each of the two bedrooms are at separate ends of the house giving it supreme privacy. One of the best parts has to be the view in the center of the living room of the mountain range. Tons of hiking trails just out the back door with the sound of the river to put you to sleep. One of my favorite vacation rentals ever!
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
5

Fantastic place with incredible customer service!

  • 5 of 5
First off, the owners were extremely quick to answer any questions I had about the property and were very polite. The property was easy to find, quiet, and was very comfortable. The hot tub was well maintained and clean, the kitchen was well stocked with everything you may need including baking pans, and the beds were comfy.

The only minor problem was the oven's heating element self destructed on our second day, but we were able to bake what we needed in the large toaster oven. I emailed the owners about it and provided the model number so they could get a replacement ordered, and they were extremely concerned about our needs and continued to check in with me. Kudos for that!

We 100% recommend the Hilltop Hideaway and will be back for sure!
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Customer service is one of our highest priorities. The heating element has been fixed and the oven is up and running. Thanks for your understanding and patience. Glad that you enjoyed your stay!
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
Portland
5

Perfect Vacation Spot for the Family

  • 5 of 5
We love the hilltop hideaway ! comfortable and warm. great fireplace,with amazing views of the surrounding forests. After hiking all day , it feels amazing to sit in the hot tub and relax. Quite a few restaurants and cafe's nearby, something for everyone. Kids love the open and safe spaces to run around and play. It’s a perfect spot, highly recommended. you will want to come back after your first stay and will have fond memories of great times spent in the amazing mt. hood recreational areas. the salmon river nearby is an epic hike for the entire family. Ramona falls trailhead is a short drive as well. Couldnt be more perfect.
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
Charlotte, NC
5

Perfect destination for hikers!

  • 5 of 5
For the last several years, two couples have ventured to different locations for a hiking getaway. We picked this cabin due to its proximity to the Gorge and we were not disappointed! The cabin is located close to many ideal hiking destinations. In fact, the owner has a book of hikes that we referred to with much success! After our hikes, the hot tub was a perfect finish to the day. The kitchen is adequately furnished for when we cooked in but there are also good restaurants close by. (Be sure to check out the cobbler at the Zig Zag Mountain Cafe!) The owner was very attentive, provided excellent directions, answered all of our concerns, and made the stay enjoyable. We would highly recommend staying here!
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
Brick, New Jersey
5

A perfect getaway at a beautiful cabin in the Mount Hood Wilderness

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I fell in love with this cabin as soon as we pulled up the driveway. The owners have created the ultimate getaway experience with a beautifully kept home, an incredible view (Hunchback Mountain can be seen right from the deck and front window), a very relaxing hot tub, and a wonderful fire pit to have outdoor fires. Although we did not have to use it because the weather was warm, there is also a glass front wood burning stove available for use in the living room. The cabin is conveniently located to many great Mount Hood hikes, good restaurants and a supermarket. The rental experience was top notch as well. The owners were very quick to respond to availability of the cabin, provided a fast confirmation of payment receipt and sent very detailed driving directions and check in/check out directions for the cabin. The only regret my wife and I had was that we decided to spend our last night in the city of Portland instead of at the Hilltop Hideaway. Next time we find ourselves in the Mount Hood area we will definitely make this cabin our first rental choice
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private 2.5 Acres/Skiing & Hiking Nearby/Hot Tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p359213
+1 -503 784-9654
Mt Hood Mount Hood
Portland,OR
3

Mt Hood Hidaway

  • 3 of 5
Was very disappointed in our stay at the hideaway. The cabin was clean however the road noise covered most of the sound of the Sandy River which was initially a big draw for renting the place. The hot tub had a foul odor that kept us from enjoying it's use even after shocking as directed. The master bedroom mattress was extra firm and not comfortable at all.

We felt the price for the cabin was way beyond what it should have been nightly. There was no cable, no television in the large living room, so we were forced to watch a DVD that we had w us on a laptop size television screen. Additionally we had to pre-clean the cabin for the cleaners or lose our deposit and potentially have more fees added to our bill if it wasn't done correctly which was very stressful. It was unrealistic to have to pay the pricey fee for cleaning and still be enforced to clean over and beyond. We also were instructed to take our trash with us or be fined!

It was only two of us and totally not worth the money and the hassle. Huge disappointment... It was our anniversary celebration in which we had high hopes but we made the best we could of a bad situation.
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very disheartened to receive this review because we take our responsibilities as vacation rental owners very seriously. If we had known about these issues, we would have responded immediately and been able to clear up any misunderstandings.

Our place is located across the street from the Sandy River. Visitors often mistake the sound of the river for highway noise. The river is especially loud this year. We have a record snowpack so the river is very full.

Since we have our hot tub professionally serviced after each group of guests, we were surprised to learn about the odor. If we had known about it, we would have sent someone out immediately. Once we read the review, we sent our hot tub maintenance service out the same day. They found the hot tub in good working order. They did mention that sometimes the hot tub will smell a little musty after being closed up. They suggested opening it and running the jets for 30 minutes to air it out. We will add this suggestion to our list of check in instructions.

We think a comfortable bed is an important part of a vacation rental experience. Our beds have Sealy Serta Pillowtop mattresses that are only 3 years old. We chose them carefully for comfort and quality.

We made a conscious decision not to put a tv in the living room, to leave that space open for other activities. Our master bedroom television has a 28 inch screen and a Netflix Roku box with a large selection of movies to watch. We have been considering larger televisions so we are going to take our guests suggestion and upgrade our televisions.

Our trash removal policy is clearly stated in our rental contract. We also offer to take care of guests trash, for a small fee, if they prefer. We do not ask guests to pre-clean the cabin. We ask that guests put used laundry in the laundry area and start one load, put away dishes, and lock the house up. In our experience, this is very standard for vacation rentals. We will make sure in the future that every guest understands the checkout policies ahead of their stay, so there are not any surprises.

We always appreciate feedback and the opportunity to improve the experience that we provide.

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Portland International Airport
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Resort at the Mountain
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 26
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Rendevous
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Ski Bowl/Timberline
Car: necessary

Nearby hikes include Ramona Falls and the Salmon River Trail. The Barlow Trail and E. Lolo Pass are great for road biking.

Both downhill and cross country ski opportunities await you just 10 miles away near Government Camp. So much to do and then at the end of the day you can enjoy a delicious meal at a gourmet restaurant and relax in the hot tub while taking in the fine mountain surroundings.

Built with love and with trees milled from the property, this modern home contains so much mountain charm. When you are not out playing on the mountain, we hope you will enjoy walking around the property and checking out the natural wonders and the pieces of sculpture that are nestled amongst the ferns and the cedars. We hope you experience all the pleasures of the 'Hilltop Hideaway!'

Other Activities: Shopping, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling, Wildlife Viewing

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $160 Per night

Mt Hood Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,200
 
 
January-March
Jan 5 2015 - Mar 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$190
Fri,Sat
$1,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
April
Apr 1 2015 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$160
$800
 
 
May-September
May 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$190
Fri,Sat
$1,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$160
From
$190
Fri,Sat
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Cleaning $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mt Hood Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • River
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We have outfitted the house with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each bedroom has luxurious linens and is adjacent to its own full bath. The master bedroom has a Sealy Serta king size bed and is just steps away from the hot tub. The living room couch pulls out into a very comfortable sofa bed. The kitchen is fully stocked for all your gourmet cooking needs. We love to cook ourselves, so we promise to always keep the knives sharpened! There is also a charcoal grill for cooking on the deck or for the more adventurous, the firepit on the west side of the property. The house is heated with a wonderfully efficient wood stove that adds so much to the coziness of the place. We provide a free wireless internet connection, a landline phone, and an iPod player. We will also provide you with a list of our favorite restaurants in the area as well as suggestions for hiking, biking, and skiing.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote