IF YOU WANT QUIET AND RELAXATION DO NOT COME HERE!
We checked in on a Monday afternoon exhausted from a full day of travel only to be informed that they would be sending someone into the unit at 9:30 a.m. the following morning to replace some curtains. At first I said absolutely not - who wants to be roused the first day of vacation at that hour?! - but then I saw the dirty stained curtains and changed my mind!! (however they only replaced the ones in the master bedroom). The carpet was also in bad shape. There was nothing quiet nor relaxing about our stay here. My family was AMAZED at the noise coming from the unit above us - we could hear every chair moved, door opened/closed, and steps taken!! (When I brought this up with the owner upon our return home she agreed with me!!!! She stated they have wood floors and that the sound transfer is just awful. Funny that was not disclosed beforehand!) The ground floor unit next to us had 4 small children in their party and they would pull their patio table off of their lanai and place on the grass directly in front of our unit for hours on end while they ate, drank and raced around with the kids. We would be forced to leave and go somewhere else to find some quiet, only to return with nowhere to park as guests with more than 1 car would continually park in our spot leaving us with nowhere to park and the burden of now having to track down after hours management. In spite of this happening more than once they did not tow the offender even though it was the same person and they knew who it was!! Now on to the cockroaches in the kitchen - and I don't mean 1 or 2!! (The owner did later credit us $150.00 for the cockroach inconvenience, but since we had paid for an extra day that we did not stay I do not see that to be much of a concession.) The beds were uncomfortable and towels and linens poor quality. We did not unpack for 2 days as I refused to believe we would be stuck there for 9 days. I am trying to think of something good to say and I guess it would be that the grounds were well maintained, the pool was heated and the view was great! The owner claims that if I had contacted her while I was there things would have been different. I do not see how. She promised to look into things and call me back the following day, which 3 days later she still has not done.
Owner's Response: Aloha Cindy,
We want to first thank you for your stay with us at the Polynesian Shores
The new drapes were to be installed.Monday morning before you arrived on property, however the drapery company re-scheduled. They replaced the master bedroom curtains only because the rest of the drapes were on back order. Due to a fire hydrant flood, the carpet was damaged prior to your arrival. I am happy to say the carpet arrived on island and was replaced.
The noise issue was addressed immediately by our onsite manager when you went to the office. She informed you that she talked to the guest staying in the condo above you regarding the loud noise which sounded like one of the children throwing things on the floor.We believed the issue was resolved since we did not hear anything else from you. The guest staying next to you only had 2 people staying in the condo. However , when the onsite manager talked to them about your concerns they informed her that their grandchildren stopped to visit. The onsite manager asked you to call her if they set up tables again in front of your lanai. She informed you she would have been happy to ensure they did not obscure your view.
We do have assigned parking stalls for each condo and tow for violations. The on ite manager addressed the situation of another guest momentarily utilizing your assigned stall.
Polynesian Shores contracts with a pest control company to spray the inside and outside of the condos as preventative maintenance. We wish you would have told us sooner than the day that you checked out that you saw a cockroach. The pest control company came in after you checked-out and they reported no infestation of cockroaches. Hawaii is a tropical enviroment,which inlucdes geckos and unfortunately, sometimes bugs.
When I spoke with you on the phone you expressed your disappointment with not being able to smoke on the lanai of the condo. Howaiin State Law strictly prohibits smoking with in 20 feet of another condo.
I ensured you were refunded over $200 dollars in the "Aloha Spirit." We are very glad that you enjoyed the grounds and pool area and want to thank you very much for choosing to stay as my family's guest..
Helpful votes: 1/3
Did you find this review helpful?