Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Hidden Gem in the Jungle across from Tulum Beach, Tulum, Mexico

Joanne Fanny Barry

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Joanne Fanny Barry

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Hidden Gem in the Jungle across from Tulum Beach, Tulum, Mexico

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


Tulum Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Attached Unit, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Consider renting my casita for your tropical escape. The free standing 2 story palapa (thatched roof) structure has 2 bedrooms below the open ceiling and 1 bath and the house is just across the street from the marvelous Tulum beach. There is a full kitchen with solar fridge and gas stove. The upstairs and downstairs both have decks and there are plenty of spaces to find yourself in a hammock or under a shady palm tree.

The house is on a shared lot with plenty of palms and garden space between the other two units on the property. The other two units belong to the same owner and are also available for rent in case you need more space. The other two free standing structures have one king sized bed and private baths and kitchens. It is a perfect set up for a large family or just a few friends who need some space but want to be together.

Up and down the road are cenotes Salvaje and Encantado and we are 3 km to the world renowned Sian Kann biosphere, where the ‘earth meets the sky’. Too we are a short (20 minute drive) to Tulum Pueblo. There are restaurants, bars and some new shops a short walk away.

Yoga classes close by or arrange for private instruction with owner. Opportunity for tours in the biosphere or in the adjacent areas of Muyil, Ek Balam or Valladoloid. Let us host you here in Tulum for an unforgettable holiday.

Keywords: Free standing palapa house

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
Joanne Fanny Barry (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2015

About Joanne Fanny Barry

I am a native of Boston, Massachusetts who moved to Tulum to rediscover life and teach yoga. I built the house you may rent while I lived there before I had lights, neighbors and a paved road out front. I lived there for 3 years before moving to the other units and starting to rent this one. I love sharing the hidden treasures of Tulum and look forward to helping you find something special in your vacation.

Joanne Fanny Barry purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Joanne Fanny Barry chose Tulum

Tulum is easy to love.

What makes this cottage unique

Across the street from the beach is more private, the energy calmer, and the prices more realistic and these properties are more authentically Tulum.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Hidden Gem in the Jungle across from Tulum Beach, Tulum, Mexico
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
St. Paul, Minnesota

An amazing week

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this wonderful jungle home. The beach, which is right across the street is easily accessible through the nearby campground. We had our choice of sun or shade at the beach and spent our time mesmerized by the beautiful waves, sand and blue sky. We did experience some torrential rains which were unusual for the time of year but also just part of the fun!

We did most of our cooking there although we ate at some great restaurants in Tulum.

Joanne is a wonderful host, very helpful and knowledgable. We couldn't have been in better hands.

If you want to have a travel experience that you will remember, go here! Joanne, thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Stockholm, Sweden.

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this Hidden Gem for four weeks and loved every minute of it. It´s perfectly located in Tulum, on the south end of the beach, close to restaurants, yoga places etc. The house itself is the the best of two worlds, it sits in the calm jungle but only 3-4 minutes to walk to the beach. At night you fall asleep to the sound of winds in the palmtrees and the waves of the ocean.

The hostess is very helpful without being intrusive. She´s helped me find my way around Tulum in the greatest way, for instance showing me where I could get the best coffee! Or have my laundry done... Since she´s a yogini she also knows all the best yoga-places as well as other great info of Tulum.

The house is very clean and supercosy! With two big beds upstairs and a comfortable livingroom/kitchen downstairs I stayed alot in the house, cooking, reading and hanging out. And the internet works really good.

And the best thing of all, sometimes you get a fresh coconut delivered to your doorstep from the Gardener! I also like the idea that the house is self-sufficient, with solar power and it´s own well-system. It makes you feel you´re really living in close touch with nature.

I really recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Eugene, Oregon

Relaxing, Inviting, Budget Friendly

  • 5 of 5

My family has stayed at Zen Hideaway several times when going to Tulum. We always have a great stay there. We appreciate the lower prices than we would have to pay if we were staying right on the beach. We also appreciate the fact that there's a kitchen, further saving us money on our trip. The owner, Joanne, is always a gracious host as well as helpful regarding navigating Mexican culture and language. The house is always clean and the gardens well kept.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Amazing sanctuary step from the Beach!

  • 5 of 5

As you open the large wooden gate, a stunning home lies hidden in the thick palms....a path leads you to a lovely home, complete with art objects, sculptures and a hammocks. Powered entirely by the sun, the casa is an ideal and very comfortable place that can comfortably sleep 4-6 people. The spacious kitchen is a delight to spend time in and the front porch dining table is ideal for morning coffees and breakfast. You are literally 300 feet from the ocean and can hear the crashing waves at night.

The host is a lovely woman who makes you feel completely at home and is a wealth of information! I cannot wait to return to this very special place - a good value for a destination that has become increasingly pricey over the last few years.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Minneapolis, MN

Not Our Cup of Tea

  • 2 of 5

The property itself was fair. The pictures and location are accurate, minus the beach picture. The house is across from the beach but you have to walk through other resorts or a campground in order to access it, which was disappointing. The house was clean. I found that I had to rewash the dishes and we had no hot water, one burner on a six stove burner worked. The beds and pillows were comfy. This is a solar home so Joanne, the owner will remind you several times to turn out the lights if she sees one on. We traveled with two kids to the location and found that everything was very spaced out. Nothing was in walking or biking distance (we were told differently), you need to rent a car or be prepared to use a taxi. This would be a fair home for a week or less. We had some adventures, a storm, sleeping with a porcupine, and a friendly scorpion. The bugs are bad, the owner did tell us this, and to bring a lot of bug spray, we did. Head to the grocery store, the restaurants are not very good.

We had intended to stay for three and a half weeks but after 6 days we decided to make a change. During our stay we had agreed to switch into a small apartment for 6 days because the main house was rented. After viewing the apartment and outdoor kitchen and the very close proximity to the house, the lack of easy transport and things to do, we had to move. We did ask for a partial refund, but we were denied. We travel a lot and have lived in Mexico so our expectations are not high. With that being said this property and location did little to nothing for our family. Good for a couple, or short stay with a family.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are across the street from the beach. It says so in my listing. I put a photo of the beach on the listing because it is why people come here and you can access it and hear it. Yes, you have to go through another property or beach club but that is why the rates for my house are less than on the beach. Some beach hotels charge for a night what Ann paid for a week. A couple of corrections, Ann and her family arrived at 6 pm the night of a Category 1 hurricane and then asked me to take them off the beach for safety reasons at 8 pm. If you leave the beach in a story you cannot get back. However, I loaded them and 3 dogs in the car and helped them find a hotel in a very over booked little town. Then I went to find a place for myself. After the hurricane, the road to the beach opened at 2 pm. The pilot on the hot water heater had gone out, probably with rain and wind. When Ann told me, I re lit it and the hot water was on again, one day after they arrived. I think Ann meant to say that one burner did not work on the 6 burner stove. Five burners worked for their stay. After a hurricane, things can get dusty. I did my best to clean the land and house after we returned from the hurricane but I did not re-wash the dishes or silverware. The animals that came in probably came for shelter from the storm. We are in the tropical jungle off a great Caribbean beach but there are lots of animals that live here. The alechran, not a scorpion, was friendly because it was dead. But they are not poisonous. I have found people who absolutely use a bike or walk everywhere here. I use my bike to get around and walk my dogs to the beach or to many of the restaurants. But if you want everything in front of you, you may prefer a car. Too me, things seem close. I drove the family to the grocery storethe day after the hurricane. We painted palm fronds that I had my worker cut using my paints and brushes. I drove them to a lecture on the night sky in the Biosphere and we served them coconuts the days they were here. The family came to a hotel where I work and used the boogey boards and volleyball net. They finished going to Playa del Carmen which they knew and decided they would be happier there. My house is not an all inclusive, which is what made this family happy the night of the hurricane. It is for people who want to get away and chill. And yes, I remind people when they leave the lights on because they want fans and lights at night.
New York, NY - USA

For adventure seekers only / Not recommended for those in search of comfort

  • 1 of 5

My wife and I booked this place for the final 6 days of our honeymoon. It looked nice from the pictures, however, there was some important info that the renter didn't include in her ad. This missing information negatively impacted our stay and caused us to leave this place after staying for 3 days only.

When we told her we were leaving, the owner refused to give us a refund for the 3 nights we PAID FOR but DID NOT STAY at her place. This is greedy service in my opinion. I would have been happy with a partial refund, but she was unwilling to even consider the idea. So, she kept our money for a service we didn't receive. So, if you are to rent this place, I would recommend not paying the full fee in advance until you have arrived and checked if this place suits your needs and to also be aware of the no-refund policy in case something goes wrong.

Now, here is some info that she didn't include in her ad:

1) This palapa house sits across the main road from the Tulum beach was built on marshland, which is a breeding ground for mosquitos. The owner provides mosquito nets on the beds, which are absolutely essential, however, for every other moment you stay at this house, you need to douse yourself with repellent or you will become bug food.

2) The position of the house also means that the place doesn't get the direct sea breeze beach front properties get and so, the AC-less bedroom will be sweltering hot when you lay down to sleep. We used the owners two wimpy fans to try to combat the heat and even though they helped a bit, they weren't enough for a comfortable night's sleep.

3) The house and garden are incredibly badly lit. There are no bedside lamps for you to read at night. The downstairs kitchen area is dark and gloomy. The overall effect is a dark and uninviting atmosphere during nighttime.

4) This house’s electricity is produced by solar panels; the fresh water is pulled up from a well on the ground. B/c of this, there's a very big push at this house to be frugal with resources. And the water you will shower with is very brackish. It smells and tastes really badly since it has a very high degree of salt in it. This means that after a day spent on the beach, you come home and still won’t be able to get the salt off of you.

After 3 days of dealing with the above, we decided to move on to another place in Tulum Pueblo which was absolutely wonderful and much more comfortable a place to come back home to after exploring the riches of Tulum.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

proximity to cenotes and Mayan archeological sites as well as one of the best beaches in the world.


Rates & Availability

From $125 Per night

Tulum Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $89
Refundable damage deposit $200
Notes Deposit of 50% to hold reservation is non-refundable. Final payment due two weeks prior to arrival by electronic transfer.
Enter dates to see total
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Tulum Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Hot and cold water, shower, sink and toilet.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King sized bed (1) Queen size Bed (1), Sofa that can be made into a bed (1) and we can put an extra Queen size upstairs if needed.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • limited accessibility ...
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Solar power means conserving. The fridge, internet, lights and our water depend on the sun and the 4 batteries where we store it as energy. So, each time you plug in, you are using part of your energy budget. So, please be considerate of our power and use as little as you can to be comfortable. The plumbing is very sensitive. If you put toilet paper in the toilet it blocks the system and we will have some big problems that you don’t want to deal with on your vacation. So, please, put the toilet paper in the bin next to the toilet. There is purified drinking water on the counter. I will replace it when it is empty. The last thing you need is a stomache bug on vacation. I like to wash lettuce and other veggies that you don’t peel or cook with that water. There are some blue drops by the sink that are disinfectant drops and if you put those in the water where you wash the lettuce or apples, they make them perfectly clean and safe for eating raw.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$480 - $594 per week
3 - 6 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
$150 - $175 per night
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$512 per week
3 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote