AFFORDABLE PARADISE! PRIME WEST MAUI DIRECT OCEANFRONT GROUND FLR! 30' TO OCEAN

Wanda Lo / Bernie Honey

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Manager

Wanda Lo / Bernie Honey

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AFFORDABLE PARADISE! PRIME WEST MAUI DIRECT OCEANFRONT GROUND FLR! 30' TO OCEAN

Kahana Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

WEST MAUI HIDDEN GEM! Kahana Reef grounds cover 2 acres of prime oceanfront real estate in desirable West Maui. We are located just 5 minutes north of the Kaanapali Beach area, and approximately 10-15 minutes north of Lahaina Town. Each unit directly faces the Pacific Ocean, offering tremendous and unobstructed views of Maui's spectacular and ever-changing sunsets, rainbows, green sea turtles, and the calm waters of the Auau Channel between Maui and the islands of Lanai and Molokai (where humpback whales come to stay and breed during winter months).

Beautifully landscaped and very meticulously maintained, the Kahana Reef complex grounds are an excellent place for sunbathing, whale watching (in season), swimming in the pool, BBQing your meals, or just relaxing on your lanai or on the chaise loungers on the grass oceanfront. You will not be disappointed!

Our ground floor condo is a well-appointed end unit that has been renovated and furnished in a clean, modern style, and offers more square footage than most of the other units in this complex. End units are 661 sq ft; making it 3 ft. wider, and 50 sq. ft. total larger. Our unit is situated directly oceanfront and only about 30 feet to the ocean’s edge! (a seawall fronts the complex property) This is the perfect place for couples, a honeymoon, anniversary, family vacation or just for a purely peaceful and relaxing getaway! Our complex is made up of a nice mix of owner-occupied units and both long and short-term renters. The atmosphere is friendly, laid-back, and very quiet.

Look out every day onto the ocean and enjoy the ever changing waves, sea turtles, spinner dolphins, surfers, kayakers, and the tremendous show of whales breaching during winter migration season (Nov-April) from the comfort and tranquility of your private patio! The view is spectacular and the climate calm all year round due to its prime West Maui location. It is largely protected from direct strong trade winds that usually whip up in the afternoons on other parts of the island. Yet you will still benefit from the cooling cross trade- wind breezes that make air conditioning not a necessity.

Being on the ground floor has many advantages and conveniences! Our unit is close to one of the 2 BBQ grills on the complex, yet due to the well-planted landscaping, you will still enjoy being able to dine and relax on your lanai with a sense of privacy. Being farther from the complex pool, you will enjoy less noise and foot traffic, and it is also extremely convenient being just a few steps to the common laundry and to the parking lot. Ground floor units are very convenient and popular with couples that prefer not to have to deal with stairs or elevators, families with children, or anyone who just enjoys being able to open up their doors and immediately going out onto the beautiful complex grounds. Relax and sunbathe on the grassy lawn or stroll over to the neighboring uncrowded sandy beach to the north, which is easily accessible by a few steps adjoining the properties (no need to drive!). There are also folding portable beach chairs in our unit for your use throughout your stay. Our complex has outdoor showers for when you come back in from your sea adventures and want to rinse off.

The sleeping arrangements in our unit: Cal-King bed in roomy bedroom with comfy Sealy PosturePedic mattress set and Hawaiian themed bedding (newly replaced fall 2012). Queen size pull-out sofa bed in living-room. Ceiling fans in the bedroom and living room to cool you, ample closet space, mirrors throughout, and lots of storage space for all your belongings. Cool white tile floors throughout. There are 32 inch flat screen TVs in the living room & bedroom, with expanded cable satellite TV. Phone/answering machine with free local calls on Maui. Also, we provide FREE WiFi internet access in our unit so guests can stay connected!

Linens, towels, starter toiletries and kitchen necessities are all provided at the beginning of your stay. There is no daily maid service so please consider and treat this as you would a 'home away from home'.

The complex has a common laundry facility with updated front-loading machines which is just steps from our front door ($1.50 per load). There is an iron and ironing board available in the laundry facility, as well as a small community library with books you can borrow.

Our kitchen is very well equipped: toaster, blender, coffeemaker, silverware, utensils, microwave, dishware, glassware, pots and pans, bakeware. We feature a SubZero refrigerator in our unit, and electric cooktop and microwave. You will have everything you need or want for your stay!

Throughout our unit, the custom finishes and fixtures are unique and have character and elegance. The bathroom has Shoji style pocket doors, black granite with gold detailing, tons of storage space, a separate vanity area, and a glassed-in shower stall with a deep Kohler half-tub.

Being in the middle stack of buildings, and on the north end, we offer a desirable location being a corner end ground unit. Kahana Reef is a hidden gem in West Maui because few complexes are zoned as close to the water as ours, and can promise as well as deliver a truly direct oceanfront location. Million dollar views at an affordable price!

Please feel free to email me with any questions, to inquire as to availability, and special discounts for last minute and extended stays.

Mahalo for your interest, and we hope you will fall in love with Maui as we have, and will want to return year after year!

Note: New legislation in 2012 pertaining to vacation rentals in Hawaii requires that we inform our guests of compliance in that our condo is managed locally for us by Chase 'N Rainbows, a vacation rental and real estate company located on-island in Lahaina, HI. Our owner's Hawaii Tax ID # is W07753997-01.

Keywords: Direct Oceanfront, ocean front, condominium, Kahana, Kahana Reef, Ground floor, Affordable, West Maui

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Wanda Lo / Bernie Honey

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We have been fortunate to have traveled to many places all over the world, and experienced and appreciated many other cultures and people, but Hawaii holds a truly special place in our hearts. We were married on Maui in 1999, and it just feels like a renewal of spirit, and a warm embrace every time we go back. The dream of owning a piece of paradise was something we never thought was possible. We're now happy to be able to offer and share this special place with others, and hope that all our guests will enjoy it as much as we do!

Wanda Lo / Bernie Honey purchased this condo in 2010

West Maui is a premier location with cool trade winds throughout the year, spectacular sunsets, and unsurpassed ocean views that will amaze you every day! Kahana Reef is one of the few complexes in West Maui left that is legally zoned so close to the water's edge. That affords the units the best possible direct unobstructed view of the magnificent Pacific ocean channel between Maui and the outer islands of Molokai and Lanai. Every dawn holds the promise of another beautiful day spent in paradise. Every sunset is gorgeous and different; you will not want to miss any one of them during your stay! We love the prime West Maui area for its spectacular views and drier climate, and cooling trade winds. As guests, we have stayed in a number of other complexes and locations over the years. What we know now is that you cannot get any better than this location! It is very friendly, small in size, well managed, and like a 'home away from home', only with unbelievable views and tropical weather! You can make as many friends as you want, or have as much privacy as you wish.

Spectacular whale watching from your lanai in season from Nov-April when you can see them breaching again and again! It is an amazing and an incomparable show that will leave you with incredible memories of Maui, and hopefully bring you back year after year! Year round, you will be drawn to the every-changing and mesmerizing ocean views, and will want to spend a great deal of time on your private lanai enjoying the view and appreciating every incredible sunset throughout your stay.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
5

Fantastic condo with a beautiful view and turtles galore!

  • 5 of 5
We are wrapping up our honeymoon and wanted to stop by to say this place is amazing. The condo is very well kept and the view from the patio is stunning. It's a first story unit so you can just walk right out the back door onto the patio or continue to water's edge. Within 10 minutes of arriving, we saw our first sea turtles. The owners are very nice and definitely represented their property accurately. My only small complaint was that the pictures make the bathtub look bigger than it is and it's basically impossible to take a bath because there's only a shower head and no faucet. All was well though because everything else was perfect. I also really liked staying in Kahana because it's close to everything in west Maui without being right in the action. You have a nice beach just a few hundred feet to the north that we definitely spent some time on. Again being on the sea wall was actually amazing because we saw sea turtles every single day we were here. Just this morning we decided to take a break from packing up and peak down in to the water and there was a giant turtle just munching on the seaweed that grows on the wall. We had a fabulous stay and will definitely keep this place in mind when we plan our next trip to Maui. Thanks again for allowing us the opportunity to stay in your beautiful condo!
  • Submitted: May 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Jess, we want to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive review, and for sharing your experience and feedback with us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon vacation and your stay in our condo! The turtles are a frequent and delightful sighting given that the seawall fronting the complex is composed of rocks which attract them to feed on algae. If you return, you should try to plan when the humpback whales are in season in Maui because that is an awesome sight to behold (and hear) since they stay in numbers within the calm Au'au channel between Maui and Lanai. We want to thank you again for being a wonderful guest. You were always so easy-going and a pleasure to communicate with and book. Hope we'll see you again in the future. Mahalo again for choosing our condo and our best wishes to you both! - Wanda & Bernie
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
5

Wanted to extend our stay.

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed our stay at Kahana Reef the week of 2/10/14. The setting and views were perfect for our type of relaxing vacation. This was our first experience renting from a condo owner and we were pleasantly surprised as to the ease and cooperative efforts in answering all our questions. Our previous stays in Maui were first at hotels and then at time shares. The Kahana Reef Complex offered quiet and comfortable surroundings…..very relaxing, with great restaurants both north and south. This condo was just as pictured and was clean and inviting. There was ample room for the 2 of us and so much better than a time share studio or 1 bedroom (more kitchen and living room space). The complex had friendly neighbors, both owners and short-term renters. We have already decided on a return visit.
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Gary,
Many thanks for your considerate and thoughtful positive review of your recent stay. We're always appreciative when we hear back from our guests that they enjoyed the condo as well as the complex surroundings and atmosphere. Aside from the great views and location, another of our condo's best features is how quiet it is and how you don't feel like you're in a big resort. We're so glad you enjoyed your first experience staying in a condo this time around on your vacation, and very gratified that you decided to choose ours. We thank you for being our guests, and look forward to welcoming you again. Much mahalo! Wanda & Bernie
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
2

Our stay

  • 2 of 5
When we arrived at the condo we were very happy with having the ocean so close, the sounds and sunsets were so beautiful. The bar-b-q was very convenient and always clean. The grounds were very well kept.
The only disappoint were the roaches (lots of them) in the kitchen and bath. We have visited Hawaii more then 20 times and this was the first time we had this problem. We kept all our food (even cereal) in the fridge and took garbage out each day. The management Co came out and set traps after we called them, but we still killed bugs everyday after that. We weren't able to eat in the unit cause of this. Since we paid with check and not credit card we were not able to cancel and stay else where. We hope this problem can be resolved cause this is a nice unit.
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Judy,
We welcome receiving feedback from our guests, and are glad to know that you liked our unit, the views, and the grounds overall. However, to address the reported roach problem, we had just undergone a scheduled routine pest control service performed in our unit 2 weeks prior to your arrival, and we've always maintained at least a quarterly preventative pest control service. We've had many other guests who have enjoyed their stays and not reported significant pest issues. I am truly sorry for what you experienced. When I contacted the Maintenance Dept immediately after receiving your message, they said there has been a spike in reported roach problems this year on the island. Unfortunately, due to the holiday period, we could not schedule a more aggressive and thorough fumigation treatment until your departure after New Year's. Our homeowner's association does routinely spray the outside grounds, but owners are responsible for maintaining routine pest control service in their individual units, and we have done so with due diligence.
I want to sincerely apologize once again for the problem you reported; we understand this was a very unwelcome and unpleasant thing to encounter and have to deal with. We will be definitely increasing the frequency of our pest control abatement program to every two months as we want all our guests to be comfortable and enjoy their stay. Mahalo and best regards, Wanda
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
Vancouver, Washingont
5

Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
This place was everything the pictures show. One of the owners, Wanda, was alway quick to get back to me and answer my questions.

Thank you for making our honeymoon wonderful!

We will be coming back in approx. 2 years....! :-)
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Rebecca! Much mahalo for your very nice review and kind words. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon and stay in our condo. We look forward to having you and Ben return in the future! Take care and mahalo for being our guests, Wanda & Bernie
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
Sidney
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5
Lovely view out from the lanai. Loved the small beach next to the condos. Everything I wanted for a time away
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Susanna, we really appreciate your review and comments. The view is definitely one of the best features of our complex, and like you, our guests have frequently stated how much they enjoyed the peace and tranquility. We're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and vacation. Mahalo! Wanda and Bernie
business
AFFORDABLE PARADISE! Prime West Maui Direct Oceanfront Ground Flr! 30' to ocean
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p356789vb
415-260-1103
Kahana Maui
Tucson, AZ
5

The definition of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
The minute we opened the door upon our arrival, the place radiated "welcome home". We immediately opened the sliding glass door to the lanai to let the outside in. The condo is furnished with just everything you need. You couldn't ask for a more well stocked kitchen for your cooking pleasure. We wandered out the door to the lanai 30 feet to the ocean and sat staring at the beauty. Oh and yes the turtles were great to watch out there swimming on the reef. We saw 5 whales frollicking out in the ocean one morning for a long while. The pool is great and the grounds immaculate. We had a great time! It was nice to have conversation with the other renters that were there vacationing. Three of us even shared the grill one. We spent a lot of time in Lahaina Town on Front Street. We have a favorite restaurant which is Aloha Mixed Grill. It sits behind the Cannery which also houses Safeway, Longs Drug and includes a cute little mall. This rental lived up to everything that the owner advertised. The only thing that I would have liked to have in the bathroom is a soap dish by the sink. Sorry, Wanda, I don't mean to be petty. Since returning home, I am bragging about this place to everyone and we are coming back if Wanda and Bernie will have us.
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha Kathy! Thank you so much for being an awesome guest and one of the most pleasant I've had the privilege to book to date. I enjoyed speaking with you over the phone initially last year. I was happy when you contacted me again this year with your interest to book and the dates and plans all worked out. We appreciate all the positive comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed everything and got to see the whales. I will note the soap dish recommendation for next time we're there and agree it's a good idea. A previous guest wished for an ice cream scoop and potholders so I made sure we got those items for the unit. Aloha Mixed Plate restaurant is also one of our favorites; they have a great happy hour and mai tais. Thanks again for staying with us and we'd absolutely love to have you back! Much mahalo from Wanda & Bernie
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
Honoapiilani Hwy 30
Car: recommended
Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kahana Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value Season
Aug 16 - Dec 15
5 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Peak Season - $179/nt
Dec 16 - Feb 29
7 night minimum stay
$1,253
 
 
Regular Season
Mar 1 - Apr 15
5 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
Value Season
Apr 16 - Jun 15
5 night minimum stay
$129
 
 
Regular Season
Jun 16 - Aug 15
5 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$129
 

Additional information about rental rates

End-of-stay cleaning fee $100
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Owners HI Tax ID #W07753997-01
4 nights' deposit is required to secure reservation within 5 days of receipt of signed rental agreement. Balance on reservation is due 30 days prior to arrival date. All confirmations will be sent via email. Checks and money orders sent by mail are accepted if adequate mailing time allows for receipt before arrival date. 3-4% added for credit card payment option via Pay Pal.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Kahana Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 661 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Elevator
  • Telephone ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Comfy Sealy PosturePedic Cal King set, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sofa bed in living room offers pull-out additional bedding
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shelling
  • boating
  • shopping
  • horseback riding
  • beachcombing
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • parasailing
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • fishing
  • wind-surfing
  • jet skiing
  • deepsea fishing
  • snorkeling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$130 - $205 per night
1 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$145 - $250 per night
1 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,100 - $1,673 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4