Beautiful House, but Customer Service Issues
Submitted: July 14, 2011
Stayed: July 2011
The house is gorgeous. It looks even more amazing in person than in the pictures and the environment is relaxing with all of the amenities that we could have ever wanted. The pool is comfortable and hot tub a nice touch and the deck plus grill provided our group of 12 with a perfect place to eat meals and just hang. All of the beds were very comfortable, the decor was tasteful and it is very clear that the owner has taken great care to make the house enjoyable. If I was reviewing the house alone, I would give it 5 Stars.
However in terms of customer service - I was contacted a few times by the rental company to up sell my stay (by coming early or adding another day) which was a bit annoying. The most frustrating thing about this house is the 11am checkout. Most other houses offer a 4 or 5pm checkout but being out by 11am means that you need to be up by 9. The owner was gracious enough to extend my checkout till 2 which I was thankful for and we left at 2:45pm bc we wanted to clean up as much as we can. Yet my deposit was docked $100 bc of A/C, heat usage (I have no clue why the heat was increased), hot tub water being dirty (which is just not true bc we went out of the way to cover it at all times and not eating or drinking near the hot tub) and 45 min late checkout. When we arrived, the owner gave us a 40 min lecture on the house rules and we all went out of our way to abide by them, including some people being afraid to go into the white living room in fear of dirtying it and cleaning up extensively before we left and yet we were still docked $100. If they told me the $100 was for the extra time in the house, I would have paid it happily.
I would recommend this house because of how comfortable and beautiful it is, but be prepared to not get your full deposit back even if you try as hard as we did.
Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Additional thought
We offered the later checkout because there were no bookings behind you
Although we did gratis the later checkout we simply offered it to you because it was available
And in the end you wanted the later checkout and took it
It might have been easier and more graceful to not have been so stressed to accept our proposal
Thank you again for the high grade and we are sorry this disturbance has occurred
These are the facts and we regret we had to do this
Helpful votes: 4/5
Did you find this review helpful?