Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Perfect Location and Comfort

Lisa or Terrie

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Lisa or Terrie

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Perfect Location and Comfort

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Punaluu Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Studio Bedroom,1 Bathroom Sleeps 4

This beach cottage is one of a kind. It is so calming to just sit there and watch the ocean which is only steps away.

All amenities are there in the cottage and on the property.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lisa or Terrie (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015

About Lisa or Terrie

Being Raised on Oahu and now living in Oklahoma, this cottage will bring me home. It is like stepping back in time to be there watching the turtles and whales through the window in my living room. I come to relax and float in the clear, glass like, ocean which is just steps away. One must see to believe and experience to know.

Lisa or Terrie purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Lisa or Terrie chose Punaluu

Perfect to get away from the hussle an bustle of Waikiki. Once you visit Waikiki it is perfect to drive back to Old Hawaii.

What makes this cottage unique

You get a well stocked, better view, equipped beach cottage equal to any hotel but as a lesser cost.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Perfect Location and Comfort
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews
4

Amazing beachfront getaway

  • 4 of 5

First off let me say that we would stay here again in a heartbeat! It's an amazing location for the kids and I counted only 15 steps from the bottom of the stairs to the sand. The views from the room were great and unobstructed of the entire shoreline. For the nine days we spent here, at most there were 10 people on the beach at anytime as far as the eye could see. There is a longs drug store only 5 minutes north of the location so essentials were close at all times. It was basically an hour drive to anywhere on the south side of the island but that's similar to a commute to work and didn't bug us much, plus it is beautiful country and we enjoyed the drive in our top down jeep everyday.

The only reason we did not give this location 5 stars was for the sub-par mattress. It was very stiff and gave us both sore backs everyday we woke up. We even went to Target in Honolulu and purchased a foam mattress pad which we left for everybody to hopefully enjoy but still to no avail. I'm usually forgiving of these things but I've camped on the ground with just a sleeping bag in the woods and woke up in better shape.

Don't let that shy you away because this place is amazing and will give you a true Hawaiian experience!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay in our beach cottage. We update and replace the mattress every year . We are replacing this current mattress with a new softer one this month. Thank you for letting us know, so we can make every effort to keep our guests happy.
5

Absolutely wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I were looking for a place where we could let our kids run free and play in the ocean without much supervision. We found that this place did exactly that and more. The beach is only a few steps from the condo and the big windows open to give a great view of the water. The ocean was very calm because of the reef that’s about 200 to 300 yards off shore and many times during our stay we had the whole beach to ourselves. We spent a lot of time snorkeling during our stay and found plenty to see right from the beach. The place was very clean and comfortable with all the necessities including washer and dryer plus there was a local guy that rents kayaks at a good price. The drive from the airport was very scenic with mountain views and a drive along the coast. The condo is on the east side of the island with an easy drive to places like supermarkets, Polynesian cultural center, zip line, the bigger waves of the north Shore, fruit stands, shrimp wagons like Giovanni’s shrimp truck which is very popular, and more. . I can’t say enough good things about this place; I certainly wanted to stay longer.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our beach cottage and found the charm and magic of Punaluu.
5

A slice of paradise right on the ocean

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is exactly as pictured and for me that was perfect! It is super cute and cozy and the ocean views can't be beat! Take a walk in the beach and enjoy the sunrise.

From the cottage, it is a pretty easy drive to the North Shore and also to beaches, hikes and shops in Kailua and Lanikai.

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage and I will absolutely be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you so much. You are welcome back anytime.
Owatonnan, MN 55060
3

Location, location, location

  • 3 of 5

You can't stay closer to the water unless you are camping on the beach. If being lulled to sleep each night by the waves crashing on the shore sounds great to you, you will very much enjoy this property! The unit is small, but it was clean upon our arrival. The bed was firm, but comfortable and everything we could have wanted for the kitchen was provided. There is an area where it appears that there might be some water damage in the ceiling and some of the wood siding close to the ceiling inside the unit is "flaking"…that was a little gross because it is near the end of the kitchen counter where we noticed it.

I read all the reviews before booking and was well aware that the property "shows it age". What I didn't expect was the condemned looking part of the building where it appears there might have once been a restaurant. It is a shame that this building which I am sure was once a gem is now currently in a sad state of ruins. My husband and I enjoyed staying outside of the city limits and having peace and quiet every night, however don't consider this as your vacation spot if you are looking for any night life…there is nothing going on here.

We were driving a convertible car as our rental so we safely stowed the parking pass in the glove box so it didn't blow out and one night forgot to put our parking pass back up on the mirror, we had warning ticket from the security officer letting us know if it happened again we would be fined $25.

There also were previous reviews that mentioned the sewer smell…and yes it is very much there. One night sitting on the futon watching television with the windows open the smell came into the unit, and you can smell it every single time you take out your recycling and trash.

My review is not meant to focus on anything negative. I think that you really have to be educated about what you are renting so you don't end up disappointed. My husband and I who travel frequently weren't disappointed because we researched and knew what we were going to be getting. By reading the reviews I was definitely well informed about the property. We enjoyed snorkeling right out in front of the unit and we saw a lot of great fish and a HUGE sea turtle. The sunrises here are unbelievable! Another great plus…I received my security deposit the very next day after my stay, so that is great management and when I did have questions prior to renting my emails and phone calls were answered quickly.

Thanks for renting us this property.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your all the positive comments. We are glad that the positive far outweighs the negative points. In defense of the water damage, we were just notified that this was due to recent storms in our vicinity. We were not aware of this problem until after you checked out of the cottage. Evaluation and repairs will be accomplished in a quick and timely fashion. The older restaurant is not near our cottage. It is an adjacent property that is currently for sale. Unfortunately we have no control over that. The sewer is also a distance away from the cottage, and once again heavy rains can sometimes affect some odor, but not normally to reach the beach cottages. Unfortunately odors from the trash and refuse can be intensified when you approach this area to dispose of your trash. Concerning your recieving a warning citation from the security guard on property. Securtiy is supposed to verify that the only cars parked on this property belong to the guests. The only way for them to verify this by the use and display of the parking passes. But at least we know they are doing their job for all of us.
Boise, ID
5

A Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

It is the coziest place my wife and I have ever stayed. My wife and I spent a lot of time in the step down area watching the sun rise and listening to the waves. The decor is wonderful and the snorkeling and swimming is great right outside the door. The location is also amazing. The windward side of the Island has a laid back feel that not even the North Shore can match, but it still close enough that good food and sight seeing are nearby. The condo made for a wonderful getaway.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. That is exactly how we feel about our little beach cottage. We hope to see you on your next vacation in Hawaii.
5

An amazing stay!!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was adorable and a lot more spacious than we had originally thought! It had all the amenities we needed and was on the beach! It was perfect and they provided goggles, towels and everything else you'd need! The location is great too because it's away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, but close enough to get there without a problem. We had to call once about Parking and everyone was readily available and very kind! There's also a great local market, coffee cart, tacos and the shrimp shack! near by! Go stay here!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. You and your family are always welcome to return to our little slice of paradise.

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Turtle Bay
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Papaole's (Good)

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $139 Per night

Punaluu Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$139
From
$139
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$942
$3,764
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 13.25%
Notes Rate increases $10 for any person after 2 adults. $100 cleaning charge, refundable security $200. The rate for winter is $155.00 per night for 2people

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Punaluu Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Dressing room separate
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed studio 2 futons
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Like old Hawaii with a beautiful, private beach.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote