5 ACRE, TRUE LOW COUNTRY EXPERIENCE (12 MINS FROM DOWNTOWN)

Kevin OMalley

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

5 ACRE, TRUE LOW COUNTRY EXPERIENCE (12 MINS FROM DOWNTOWN)

Beaufort House Rental Photos and Description

Country Living On The Water, 3 Bedroom, 3 Bath, 3800 Sq. Ft. Fire Pit

If you picture yourself sitting on a screened in porch, sipping your favorite beverage, and gazing across the expansive water views, while being cooled by the sea breeze, this is the house for you.

This 5 acre secluded waterfront estate sits on a high bluff with expansive water and marsh views. The gorgeous shingle and glass home features an open and airy floor plan. The massive rooms, featuring 14 ft. ceilings and large windows, allow your eyes to wander out to the natural beauty surrounding the house. The home was previously featured in a magazine for it's architectural beauty and has now been renovated by the current owners, who design part time. Their other home, a NYC loft, is often used for celebrity birthday parties, movie premiere after-parties, numerous photo-shoots, and was the set for the 2014 John Varvatos campaign. The same attention to detail and forward-thinking design is evident throughout this gorgeous home. There are 6 wood burning fireplaces, including one in the master bath, master bedroom, and in the gourmet/commercial kitchen, reclaimed wood floors, crown-moulding and trim, American Clay walls, and designer antique furnishings are just a few of the distinguishing features that set this home apart from the others in this area.

The house boasts 2 screened porches, with floor to ceiling screens, allowing for unobstructed views. One of the screened porches is off of the master bedroom, while the other is an extension of the living room, allowing the porch to also have 14 ft. ceilings. The home enjoys the sought after south eastern exposure, ideal for enjoying the prevailing south eastern sea breeze.

The house is surrounded by palm trees, live oaks, and tropical landscaping, all effortlessly watered by a 6 zone irrigation system, from the property’s well. A private dock allows for breathtaking views of the sunrises and sunsets, and is the perfect place to get closer to the dolphins that sometimes visit to snack on the local shrimp. This 5 acre private paradise is bordered by Heritage Preserve, a sacred 20 acre protected forest, that was once home to the Coosaw Native Americans. Nature and wildlife are abundant in this pristine forest setting that the house is nestled into. You will find yourself peacefully drifting asleep to the sounds of the singing forest.

A brick path from the back door leads to a massive brick fire-pit, which can be enjoyed year round.

There is a great community boat launch / small marina w/ slips under 1 mile from our home.

With only being 9 miles from historic downtown Beaufort, this slice of paradise is stunningly unique and it’s calming effect truly cannot be avoided by anyone who visits.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
Kevin OMalley (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Kevin OMalley

My wife and I moved to Beaufort from Hermosa Beach, California. We love the peace, beauty, and water access of our home. We hope you enjoy our house as much as we do.

Kevin OMalley purchased this house in 2012

Why Kevin OMalley chose Beaufort

We sold our home (also a vrbo home) in California. We left in our Airstream with our 4 dogs and drove around the country in search of our next house. Having never been to South Carolina we were excited to get to Charleston for the weather (it was March). We loved the city but we wanted something smaller with less traffic. We settled in Beaufort. I wanted water and great weather and my wife wanted land in the forest and serenity. We feel very lucky to live where we do.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 21 reviews
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
Southern Pines, NC
5

Best Weekend Ever….

  • 5 of 5
Breath taking home in every way possible. From the moment we stepped into the front door we felt at home. Not only is your home aesthetically beautiful inside and out but it has a certain feel that makes a person immediately at home. The owners are more than hospitable with the amenities and this beautiful home was not only stocked with anything a person could need but also was very environmentally conscious in more than one way. The views both in the front and back are movie worthy and the generosity of the use of your kayaks, grill, dock, etc. was greatly appreciated by our family. Your openness to pets was probably the best part of the stay. We brought our 2 dachshunds and they fully enjoyed running, chasing crabs, lying in the sun and sniffing the many scents of nature. It was nice to relax and get to enjoy having our furr babies be a part of our get away. Thank you to the sweet lady of the house for offering the beautiful oils and creams. You are truly a generous host and hostess and we feel honored and very privileged that you allowed our family to enjoy and stay in your home. I would also like to give a most gracious shout out to Guy, the wonderful and accommodating grounds keeper. My daughter left her cell phone and before I even arrived home Guy was putting it in the mail! Can't thank you all enough! We will absolutely rebook a future stay!
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
Greer, SC
3

Beautiful house & property, but.....

Beautiful house & property, but.....
  • 3 of 5
Good: I'd definitely give this house a 5 for beauty and design - it's amazing - we were in awe upon arrival. Artfully furnished and accessorized with many unique pieces. Pictures are accurate. Gorgeous lot and views. This actually is a very special place. This was our first visit to Beaufort. We enjoyed the area very much and plan to return, just not to this house.
Not so good: There were several basic comforts/conveniences one would expect from a basic house rental that were missing in this expensive luxury rental. When we first arrived, we left our belongings in the foyer and began exploring the house. We opened the door to the back screened porch and walked through - all of us, unfortunately, only to soon find that the door locked behind us and we were trapped. This is one time I was thankful that my teenage daughter is never without her phone! After a few calls, the neighbor came over and got us out. Apparently, this happened to several previous guests also. If the owner didn't want to correct the problem, they could have at least posted a small note on the door. Now, on to the shower situation. Many previous reviews describe the master shower as "eclectic" haha! I'm sure most campgrounds have better facilities. If the other 2 showers were better options, this could be overlooked, but if you use the upstairs hall shower (if you're over 4 ft. tall, I wouldn't recommend it), any water that hits your head ends up on the wood floor. The last option is the 1st floor bedroom shower which has no curtain so, again, you have water on the floor and when you get in/out, you find yourself fully exposed to anyone in the backyard and DR/porch areas by the wall of curtain-free windows. It gets better - there are no hooks for clothing/towels, so when you're done with your shower, you'll find that your clothing and towel slid off the sink onto the wet floor - not a good way to start the day! The outdoor fire pit is lovely, but is apparently for looks only since there are no chairs. The lighting in the upstairs guest bedroom is so dim, you can barely see your hand in front of you. After an unsuccessful search through the house for a lamp with a stronger bulb, we ended up buying a cheap desk lamp for our daughter to use at night. Ditto for the master bath lighting - you'll have to get ready somewhere else.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We especially appreciate the kind words with which you begin.
We have taken some time to reflect on your review and try to understand your perspective. Something that was a bit concerning was that you submitted your review around 3:15 a.m, 10 months after you rented our home. We hope that there were not other variables, out of our control, that prompted the negative aspects of your review.
Below we will address the relevant points in your review for future potential renters, and not to be adversarial in any manner.
First of all we would like to apologize that your stay at our home was not conducive to the vacation you were anticipating. Being “vacation home renters” ourselves, we understand the feelings that go along with exchanging your money for what you hope will be a dream vacation. We have put a tremendous amount of work and resources into our home in hopes to create that for our guests and strive to ensure that our guests’ expectations are exceeded.
Regarding locking yourself out on the patio, we have since put up a sign to make sure people unlock the door before they go out onto the porch. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience.
As for our Upstairs Master Shower , this is one thing that we are unsure how to address. We personally have never seen a campground with marble floors, or a rain shower head. For us it is one of our favorite features of the house; our own personal little spa retreat. We continue to receive compliments on that shower from almost all of our renters. This is the first complaint we have ever heard. It saddens us that it was likened to campgrounds. We are truly sorry you didn’t like it.
Our shower in the 2nd Master, on the 1st floor, does not have a door, as many large, modern, walk-in showers are built without today. We have never experienced a problem with water splashing on the floor.
In order to enjoy the expansive water views from the 1st floor Master, we did choose to use glass doors, without encumbering the view with blinds or shutters. It is unclear how anyone could ever see into the bathroom from the DR or the porch (or from anywhere else in the house). There is a 20 ft. tall, 8 ft. wide Cyprus, which blocks the bathroom windowed doors from the other wing of the house.
We have also since corrected lighting issues, in addition to putting up signs pointing to the hidden light switches for the reading lights on either side of the bed, to which you refer.
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
south carolina
5

AMAZING!

  • 5 of 5
We (boyfriend, myself and our Belgian Malinois) stayed at this property, which is VERY accurately described, for a quick weekend. It was absolutely AMAZING! We felt like we were in an Architectural Digest photo shoot! We loved that it's not like every run-of-the-mill rental. Eclectic. Beautiful. Relaxing. Well-equipped. We can't say enough good about it in a review. Check it out for yourself!
  • Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
Durham, NC
4

Peaceful, Quirky Retreat

  • 4 of 5
We stayed for four nights at this home, which is eclectic and fun. The pictures of the home used in HomeAway listing are accurate and capture the feel of the house. The house is artfully decorated. While each space has a slightly different theme, it all hangs together in a way that brought the word "curated" to mind when we walked into the house; the items that decorate the house, as well as the furniture, reflect purposeful choices, not random ones. This is not your generic rental unit. What my family especially loved about the house were the views of the water, the hammocks off off the master bedroom, the porch swings off of the living room, and the wonderful dining room table which was a elegant setting for dinner. I would happily rent the house again. A few things that we found a little challenging--which my family agreed were minor inconveniences and not deal breakers by any means--included sound issues (noise and conversations carried from the first floor to the rooms above) which caused challenges b/c some family members went to bed and got up earlier than others; privacy issues (the master bath does not have a door, which would not be a problem if a couple rented the home but can be a challenge with a larger group); lighting issues (the smaller "blue" bedroom lights were not bright enough to read by, the master bath had lighting that was more on the romantic end than functional, and the kitchen was a bit dark, although that appeared to be a result of two lights being burned out); and a few maintenance-related things (e.g. two of the light switches in the master bedroom did not have covers, leaving wiring exposed). Again, though, not deal breakers and minor matters in the scheme of things. A few other things to stress that might help your visit as an FYI: There is a Keurig-type coffee machine and two French presses but no coffee maker--so come with your coarse-ground coffee if you like strong coffee--and while hand soap, dish soap, and dishwasher detergent are provided, you will not find soap or shampoo etc. in the bathrooms, or paper towels in the kitchen so come with what you need. If you do need some provisions, the nearby Publix grocery store was very nice and natural care products, organic food options etc.
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
Pittsburgh, PA
5

You'll want to come back!

You'll want to come back!
  • 5 of 5
If you are looking for a beautiful hideaway, this is the place for you. My husband and I and our golden retriever spent 5 nights there. We went on morning runs on the quiet local roads. Our dog was off leash most of the time. It was a short drive to Beaufort for shopping and dinner. Hunting Island is about a half hour away, and worth the trip. The house is as it appears in the pictures and better. I look forward to a return trip!
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hunting Island is one of our favorite places in South Carolina. It is such a magical place, like no other beach we have seen in the United States. Thanks for the kind words about our home.
business
5 Acre, True Low Country Experience (12 mins from downtown)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3558543
+1 3107216257
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Our fabulous stay

  • 5 of 5
Absolutely fantastic, would have loved a hair dryer ,6 chairs at the dining room table and ditto around your amazing outdoor fire pit . Small things as truly your home is a total joy, you have put so much love and thought into it and am amazed you want to share it with others
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your comments. We have since added curling irons& hair dryers to each bathroom and now have 6 new dining chairs. We hope that you come back to stay with us again.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Savannah / Hilton Head International Airport
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Hunting Island
Car: recommended
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Beaufort House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
4 night minimum stay
$450
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$345
From
$395
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $180
Tax Rate 7.0%
Notes A cleaning fee of $160.00 is applied to each rental. It is not refundable. A $300 security deposit is refundable and you will receive it back after your stay assuming that everything is in the same condition as when you arrived. We do not charge hidden fees. Thank you and we hope you enjoy your stay.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Beaufort House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking ...
  • Garage ...
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Pantry Items
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower , Master large claw-foot tub, separate huge rain shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Double Master suites. One is on the main floor and one is upstairs on the second floor.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Books ...
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player ...
Outside:
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Contact Me