1 BLOCK FROM PRIVATE BEACH, SCREEN PORCH, NEW OUTDOOR SHOWER

Debbie

Speaks italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Debbie

Speaks italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

1 BLOCK FROM PRIVATE BEACH, SCREEN PORCH, NEW OUTDOOR SHOWER

Falmouth House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 1.5 bath, sleeps 8

Located in a wonderful family neighborhood just steps away from the private association beach - offering calm,warm inlet waters which makes it great swimming spot for the kids. Or walk your chair down and sit & read a book and watch the boats go by. Popular past time is to Kayak or Canoe to Washburn Island to explore their many trails. There's also deep water access to Nantucket Sound and a public boat launch at the end of the street. Or Take the easy to get to Island Queen Ferry to Martha's Vineyard. You can fish right from the private beach at night or try your luck out in the harbor during the day. Close to shopping & plenty of restaurants to choose from in either Downtown Falmouth or minutes to Mashpee Commons. The neighborhood is a great area to take a walk or ride a bike.

Plenty of room for the whole family. 3 A/C Bedrooms on the 1st level & additional sleeping area on lower level. 1st floor is all hardwood floors. Recently renovated, including updated full bathroom with custom shower. New 2014 - 1/2 Bathroom. Large & New Outdoor Shower with changing area. 2 spacious Living rooms. Kitchen has all the amenities including dishwasher, there's also a washer & dryer room. Large Backyard, fire pit, grill, and I guarantee you'll be living on the NEW screen porch with sectional couch seating and ample dining space! There's also cable TV & Internet.

Falmouth Activities: Yearly Falmouth Activities include:

*Falmouth Road Race

*Barnstable County Fair

*Car Show

*Mashpee Fireworks

*Look at the Falmouth Chamber of Commerce website for specific dates.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Guestbook comments from the owner
You have a beautiful home and we had a great time. Thankyou!
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 3

Debbie

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We choose to purchase this property due to it's location and close proximity to the water and it's activities. We enjoy the evenings walking around downtown falmouth or even better; our neighborhood, getting home made ice-cream at nearby 'Smitty's' is also a personal favorite, and trying out all the different restaurants that are locally offered. We also enjoy lounging around the backyard firepit socializing with our friends & family.

I will have to say, I absolutely love my location which is close to everything you could want to do while on vacation. My screen porch is the key favorite to our home. We spend most of our time on the porch, we are always entertaining and enjoying our lunch & dinner there. I Truly enjoy the porch and I guarantee you will as well.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.8
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
1 Block from private Beach, Screen Porch, New Outdoor shower
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
business
1 Block from private Beach, Screen Porch, New Outdoor shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355514
+1 6179091318
Falmouth Cape Cod
5

Wonderful Place for a Cape Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We were initially cautious about renting a home for a week on the Cape, however we ended up with a fabulous home! We arrived to a clean home with all the amenities it promised and more. Everything was clean and just as described in the ad. The bedrooms and bathrooms worked perfectly for our family and the outdoor shower was a HUGE hit with the little ones! One of our favorite lounge places was the outdoor porch, so cute and comfortable! Plenty of linens, everything imagine able in the kitchen and even a doggie welcome basket! This is an adorable house with tons of space and a great location just a short walk away from the beach. Perfect area for children and biking too! The homeowners were so accommodating with letting us being our boat and extra parking. A wonderful place to spend your vacation!!
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
1 Block from private Beach, Screen Porch, New Outdoor shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355514
+1 6179091318
Falmouth Cape Cod
5

Very happy with this rental house

  • 5 of 5
This house was just as advertised. It was clean, and well maintained. The owner was very responsive to any questions we had. The bathroom is beautiful, and the outdoor shower is large and has a rainshower head. The screened porch is a great place to relax. The location is great for us, so we will be back.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a great time and enjoyed the house.
business
1 Block from private Beach, Screen Porch, New Outdoor shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355514
+1 6179091318
Falmouth Cape Cod
3

Good place for family beach vacation

  • 3 of 5
Good home for family beach vacation. Great location within walking distance of nice private beach and short drive to some beautiful public beaches. Loved the screened porch area where we ate most of our meals and enjoyed many evenings free of bugs. It rained one day and we could still enjoy being outdoors -dry and bug-free! Loved using great the outdoor shower area when we came home from the beach. The big back yard and the BBQ were great too. Enjoyed restaurants in nearby Falmouth as well as an awesome playground for the kids. The owner was great to deal with too!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed my home & the area.
business
1 Block from private Beach, Screen Porch, New Outdoor shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p355514
+1 6179091318
Falmouth Cape Cod
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5
The location of this home is its best asset. The small, nearby private beach is wonderful for families with young children (although adults might prefer the public beach, 1-2 miles away).

The property was in good shape overall, but there were some noteworthy issues. The biggest disappointment was the so-called "screened porch."

We specifically chose to stay in this home because of the porch. What the owner did NOT tell us in advance was that the porch is only screened on three sides. The fourth side of the porch has a retractable screen, and the owner left us a post-it note, saying that the screen had to stay up. The mosquitoes were terrible during our stay, so there was no way we could use the porch without full screens.

What bothered us the most was the very misleading nature of this home's listing online. The porch is advertised as one of the home's best features. It is described as a "screened porch" more than once, and it was photographed with the screen down. Renters are being misled.

The downstairs level of the house has some issues as well. The living room has a very strong musty smell, and more significantly, there are electrical issues in the partially-finished downstairs bathroom (exposed wiring throughout and a non-grounded outlet directly over the sink that someone mislabeled with a GFCI sticker.)

These issues aside, another source of frustration was the owner's expectations regarding cleaning. We certainly intended to leave the home in excellent condition with clean bed linens, towels, etc., but the owner specified that we should vacuum, clean the bathroom, clean appliances, etc. In short, we were expected to clean her entire house or else we would not receive our security deposit back. We felt that this expectation was totally unreasonable.

In short, our experience at this home was disappointing. Your money would be better spent elsewhere.
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Over the past 4 years we’ve been renting we have received some great comments, but I would prefer them to be an honest reflection of their stay. This particular tenants were confronted due to overcrowding & excessive parking above our agreed upon rental contract, and I believe this negative review was based on this confrontation.

The screen porch was completely accessible to them from their 1st day; all screens were in place for their use. We have created a great relaxing environment on our new porch with a wrap around sectional couch seating & ample table space. The retractable screen on 1 side can open during the day to extend the living space out onto the adjoining new deck & in the evenings be closed for further enjoyment. It is a great concept! These tenants had 100% use of the screen system throughout their weeklong stay and their portrayal was inaccurate. The screen porch is the biggest asset of the home and I guarantee you will love it.

As for the musty smell in the downstairs 2nd living room, on high humid days, such as their stay, they had the option of turning on the dehumidifier to remove any stale air, I left instructions in my welcome package on its use and I’m sorry to say it sounds like it was never used.

I allow 2 options for cleaning; you can pay a small portion of your security deposit for a cleaning fee, or you can save some money & clean yourself before you leave, the choice is yours, these tenants elected the option to do their own cleaning.

The home was built in 1979 and is up to electrical code standards. The furnace & combined laundry room area is unfinished space and the ½ bath connects to this area on 1 side, all required GFI’s are working & wired properly. We do have intentions of finishing off this wall space in its entirety shortly.

To be honest, the only part of this review that I see is correct is that the location is the best asset and the nearby private beach is wonderful.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Island Queen to Martha's Vineyard
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Many To choose from
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many To choose from
Car: necessary

Seacoast Shores Community.

Walk to private Association Beach & Boat Launch,

Explore Washburn Island by boat or by land. Great Kayaking area.

4 miles to Island Queen Martha's Vineyard Ferry.

Minutes to Downtown Falmouth & Mashpee Commons

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Falmouth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 7 2014 - Sep 13 2014
7 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$285
$2,000
$8,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Notes $2000 Summer Sat-Sat
Refundable security deposit of $500.

Summer Rentals for 2014 run Saturday to Saturday, unless otherwise agreed or noted on my calendar

*Pets with owners approval only. No cats and 'hypo allergenic dogs under 25 lbs only'.

Please Note: I don't rent to groups under the age of 25. Families only. NO EXCEPTIONS.

Rates are subject to change.

Credit Card & E Check Accepted.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Falmouth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Town ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Adventure
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Garage ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Blender
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Newly Updated
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Outdoor Shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , 2014 NEW 1/2 Bath
  • Please note there is no bathtub, just showers along with a Private Outdoor Shower. 2010 - New Full bath (2010) with custom shower, And just completed - 2014 - New 1/2 Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , sleeps 2
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , sleeps 2
    Pull Out - 1 double , sleeps 2 -Bottom couch
    Futon - 1 double , sleeps 2 -futon
  • 3 Spacious air conditioned Bedrooms sleeps 6, there's a pull out couch in the main living room and the 2nd living room downstairs contains a full size futon and a queen pull out couch.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Games ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 15 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • paddle boating
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • wind-surfing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • pier fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
Email Owner Contact Me