Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

DOLPHIN HIDEAWAY- NEW STUDIO

Laura Richman

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Laura Richman

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

DOLPHIN HIDEAWAY- NEW STUDIO

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Keaau Studio Rental Photos and Description

House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Our new Ohana studio is sparkling clean & features tropical furnishings with private entrance, private bath & private lanai. Kitchenette includes fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker, toaster, blender and rice cooker. All dishes, silverware, towels & linens are included for your use.

Private bathroom with tub & shower is inside the unit. The lanai is private, great for relaxing, drinking your morning coffee (included) or having cocktails and/or candle lit dinner. View from your lanai is a beautiful fountain, pond, garden and seating area, all for your use.

The studio is fully furnished with comfy queen sized bed, table and chairs, desk, dish TV, DVD player with DVDs, CDs, books and outdoor BBQ with burner. Common carport has washer & dryer for your use. Snorkel gear, boogie board, beach chairs, cooler and towels included for your use.

We are on one acre of land. We have our own separate living area, on the opposite side of the carport. Property is landscaped with many beautiful plants, tiki torches, fountain and pond.

We are 20 minutes south of Hilo, 10-15 minutes from shops, restaurants, grocery store and Olympic sized swimming pool. We are approx 1/2 mile from the ocean cliffs. The hot ponds, parks and beaches are nearby. Volcanoes National Park is a 40 minute drive. Kehena Black Sand Beach (clothing optional), where you can swim with the dolphins, is 20 minutes away. We are 15 minutes from the Kalapana lava flow, where you can watch the new lava flowing into the sea and creating the newest land on earth.

We are centrally located for side trips to all other parts of the Big Island.

Gary is a master furniture maker. He made your table on the lanai and other items in the unit. He also created the entire pond/fountain space for you.

$59/night for 2-6 nights, 7th night is free!

$354 a week/ for 1-2 people. (7th night is free)!

Ask about longer term rates!! All taxes and cleaning included in these prices.

Please call my cell now for reservations or to inquire about availability. 808-987-7523

Please note that 10 a.m. in Hawaii is noon on the West Coast, and 3 p.m. on the east coast or send email with all your information: number of guests in your party, arrival & departure dates, and phone number.

No smoking in the unit, on the lanai or on the property.

Relaxed friendly atmosphere.

We look forward to hearing from you!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Laura Richman (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Laura Richman

I am a Real estate agent with REMAX Properties. I was born here, raised on the east coast and have been back in Hawaii for 24 years.

We enjoy outdoor activities, nature, gardening, snorkeling and the ocean. This is the perfect place to enjoy them all!

A lot of info is not in the travel books. We will be happy to share first hand knowledge & aloha with you.

Laura Richman purchased this studio in 2008

Why Laura Richman chose Keaau

We chose this section of the island because of the sunny weather in this area. We get more sunshine and less rain than Hilo, yet we are only 20 minutes away.

We are only ½ mile from the ocean so you can walk there and also hear the crashing surf most of the time. We have one acre of land and love to garden and grow food. I love it here! Lots of things to see and do.

What makes this studio unique

Our unit is new, clean, comfortable, relaxing, and very well appointed. We enjoy some of the freshest air in the world.

There are many things that are not in the guide books and we are happy to share our first hand knowledge of the area with our guests.

Guestbook comments from the owner

When I arrived I was tired and ready for a bath and a good place to call home after a long day of travel. Laura, the owner , had already arranged things for me so that I could be comfortable and ready to use the studio even at my late hour.



The studio was very clean and nicely arranged, even in the atmosphere and energy that it inspires. I felt relaxing just by stepping in ... then the clean bathroom and tub with as much as the bubble bath available was a genuine welcoming touch.



Laura was always available and interested in making my stay pleasant and worry free. She is a very caring, loving lady and though you perceive the caring presence, she lives next door, you'll feel your privacy and space truly allowed to you. I truly felt cared for, in every sense. I had friends who were staying at nearby vacation studios and homes , but, by far, Laura' studio was the best. I was happy, happy, very happy of my choice and ... I'm planning on coming back if I am in Keaau again.

Thank you Laura, for your hospitality and service.
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
average rating of 4.95 based on 23 reviews
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
5

immaculate

  • 5 of 5
Immaculately kept little hide-a-way. We were comfortable and secure and the price was great. Laura and Garry were excellent hosts, giving us all the information on the area that we needed. The unit is very secluded and private. It rained a fair amount while we were there but the good thing about the Big Island is that it has 14 different climate zones, so if you don't like the one you are in, you don't have to drive far before you find a more suitable one. The unit was a great and affordable place for us to explore the Puna area and Volcano National Park.
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks you for the wonderful review. We are glad you had a great time. Please come again and thank you in advance for referring your friends to us.
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Murphys, CA
5

Great Find

  • 5 of 5
We were very happy to find this jewel in Keaau. The property is just amazing! What Laura and Gary have done to make the gardens so serene and beautiful and that doesn't include the very comfortable guest house. Everything that is mentioned in the description is accurate and more. Laura was very helpful and gave us all the information that we needed. The rental process was very easy. We hope to come back and we would definitely come back to the Dolphin Hideaway.
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Pam for the glowing review. We loved having you and will look forward to seeing you again in the future. Send your friends!
Aloha, Laura & Gary
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
5

Why stay any where else ? This is IT !!!

  • 5 of 5
I stayed at the Dolphin Hideaway for 2 wonderful days and nights, my only wish is that I had found it sooner. I had an extra 2 weeks on the Big Island after my wife had to leave, so I stayed here and there, BUT if I had found the Dolphin sooner, I would have called this place home for the whole time I was here. I own a time share in Kona, but I am ready to get rid of it and use the Dolphin Hideaway for my every other year visit to the BI.
Every thing you need is right here for you to be comfortable, relaxed and well supplied for your days journey of sightseeing and adventure. Clean, neat, friendly, up kept and hospitable are only a few of the words to describe this place. You could not ask for more , the owners have it ALL covered, even fresh eggs for breakfast !
Before I found the Dolphin I paid a lot more money for much lesser a place. I went to the cliffs at the ocean , (1/2 mile away), took a supplied lawn chair, found me a great place on the lava and had a great day listening to the waves and soaking up the sun.
It is a real treat to see this place at night, too. The property is kept so neat and the solar tiki torches and other lighting make this place, with it beautiful landscaping, an evening in Hawaii to remember.
Thanks again for making my stay a great time and a place I will be looking forward to visiting again! Dale Wilbur- Tampa, Fl
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Dale,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We were happy that you were so comfortable and are grateful that you appreciated it the work we have put into it. It is fun to keep it looking beautiful. We enjoyed having you and will look forward to seeing you again in the future. Send your friends!
Aloha, Laura & Gary
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
Indiana
5

AMAZING - Super cute and the perfect location to explore the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
There is so much good I could say about this place and Laura's hospitality that you'd get sick of reading it. SO here is the gist of it...
My husband and I rented a 4WD jeep (which is the perfect way to save money and explore the big island). We logged aprx 100-300 miles per day depending on how adventurous we wanted to be, but it was NEVER a boring drive. Now you don't have to travel far from the Dolphin Hideaway to have a good time, but we figured out it is in the perfect location on the island to travel from. The Volcanoes, black sand beaches, surfing lessons, tide pools, snorkeling areas, amazing waterfalls, coffee farms, the 2 mountains (Mauna Loa, Mauna Kea), farmers markets, etc are all within 20min to an hour or so. Amazing! Or you can just relax at the studio or take a mile hike/drive to the cliffs to watch the sunrise and dolphins.
And the studio is great - very clean - very cute - great touring information provided - movies - books available for free use - TV if you really need - good Wi-fi - peaceful and quiet - decently comfortable bed - no A/c but opening the windows at night did us just fine - rain water feeds the studio ( which is normal in the area and awesome!) and don't worry it gets PLENTY hot if need be. Bring your own water bottles though for drinking purposes.
Laura is great! She was superbly hospitable. She greeted us with a smile and had great equipment for us to use (Snorkeling gear, boogie boards, etc) and one day she gave us some homemade pesto which was awesome. She has chickens and also gave us a dozen eggs! Her place is filled with home grown vegetation and beauty. Super thankful for this place as it saved us a lot of money from staying at a resort or some sketchy cheap hotel. We were able to use the money to create the adventure we always wanted! We hope to be back one day. Thank you Laura!
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad you had a great time and that our central location worked out for you. Please come again and send your friends!

Mahalo & Aloha,
Laura and Gary
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
5

perfect location & price

perfect location & price
  • 5 of 5
we were there to investigate moving to the puna district and as a senior trip for my daughter. centrally located to everything we were there for. it was just us girls and we felt perfectly safe on this absolutely beautiful, idyllic property. laura was there if we needed but non-intrusive and super nice. best price we found and worth every penny and more. there is a perfect book there about the big island that we almost wore out using so much. had great info/reviews/maps,etc. about everything you can find on the island. highly recommend!!
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you liked our central location and thank you for choosing the Dolphin Hideaway Vacation Rental! We loved having you and hope to see you again in the future. Send your friends!!
business
Dolphin Hideaway- New Studio
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p257324vb
-808-987-7523
Keaau Puna District
5

Great Deal!

  • 5 of 5
Very accurate listing and accommodating hostess! Perfect stay for 1-2 people. Clean, cozy, and private. Close to and easy to access town/shops/restaurants/sightseeing...So nice to be able to borrow snorkel gear, coolers, and other amenities. Definitely the best price for the area!
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: When we travel we like to get a good deal so here at Dolphin Hideaway, we like to give a good deal! Pay if forward!

Map

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Hilo Municipal or Nani Loa Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3.5 Miles
Hwy 130
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Thai,Vietnamese, Mexican, Pizza, Fine dining
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Hot Ponds or in Hilo
Car: necessary

Volcano National Park and Lava viewing

Olympic sized swimming pool in Pahoa.

We are approx 1/2 mile from the ocean cliffs.

The hot ponds, parks and beaches are nearby.

Kehena Black Sand Beach (clothing optional), where you can sometimes swim with the dolphins, 20 minutes away. We are centrally located for side trips to all other parts of the Big Island.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $55 Per night

Keaau Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$55
From
$55
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Easier way to view the rates:
-$55.00 a night for 2 to 6 nights (7th night is free)
-7 nights is $330.00 (7th night is free)
-One month is $995.00
All prices include all taxes and cleaning fees.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Keaau Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • full bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Porch Furniture
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote