Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Waterfront studio with large balcony and great bay view

Gaby Castro

Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type villa

Contact the Manager

Gaby Castro

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Waterfront studio with large balcony and great bay view

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type villa

Overview

Culebra Villa Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

Hi friends: Thank you for your interest in Seastar. Seastar is a simple screened air conditioned beach-style studio villa with private bathroom overlooking beautiful Ensenada Honda Bay. It is between town (a 10 minute walk) and beautiful, secluded, safe Soldado Beach. Sitting on its’ balcony for meals, reading, talking and watching the sailboats and colorful fisherman boats come in and out of the bay is unique. Maybe if you get lucky you may watch the occasional pirate ship or yacht. It sleeps 2 people. Price/night is $99 +7% tax and $25 cleaning fee most of the year. I have great prices for longer stays.

The kitchen is fully equipped, making for great savings, with regular size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffeemaker, toaster, and blender. It has pots, pans, plates, glasses, etc. The access to the villa is through multiple irregular stair steps. Seastar also comes with beach chairs and a beach cooler. And FREE Internet.

Seastar has access to 2 nearby private loading docks. You may go swimming, fishing or sun tanning by the water.

Gaby

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gaby Castro (Property Manager)
Member since: 2010
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.6
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Waterfront studio with large balcony and great bay view
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 7 reviews
Pittsburgh, PA USA
3

Great location and views, with some issues

  • 3 of 5

I was wavering between three and four stars for this review--so maybe call it three and a half?

I am a connoisseur of budget island lodging, and this place has some things that are absolutely unique at this price point: a seriously amazing, absolutely world-class view, and a huge balcony to enjoy it. In fact, the balcony may be larger than the apartment.

There are some issues:

1. It's a frame structure with no insulation, so sound carries in some odd ways. It was fully occupied throughout our stay and there were times when it sounded as if our neighbors were actually in our bedroom talking. At 2:00 a.m.

2. It would take a pallet of caulk to seal it up tight. There were a lot of mosquitoes and other bugs even though it was clean and screened.

3. There wasn't much clothes storage, so our stuff was all over the place.

That being said, this apartment has a lot going for it, and it might be a good choice for you if you really want the astounding view that mesmerized us for a whole week: sailboats, dinghies, jumping fish, sea turtles surfacing for air, and airplanes leaving.

Gaby and Alberto, his on-island property manager, were both a pleasure to deal with. There are newer floors in the kitchen and dining area and the bathroom, while tiny, has very nice new tiles throughout. The shower had tons of hot water and the pressure was amazing. The bed was comfortable and we didn't need the air conditioner during our March stay.

The location is fantastic...very convenient to head into town and to all the beaches. You definitely don't need a Jeep while staying here, so you can have fun, save money, and park more easily by driving a golf cart.

Culebra itself is a really special place and the apartment has a very nice island feel, with a rooster coming up onto the porch most mornings to wander around and geckos hanging out. Despite the issues with the apartment, I would keep it on the short list for a future stay...so 3.5 stars it is!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Palos verses estates
1

You should think twice.

  • 1 of 5

Running on the reviews that were on here. I decided to try this place out. We originally wanted to rented the sea star which is what is only showed in the pictures. We were told a smaller unit was only available. We ran with it. Should have thought twice. Once we arrived we noticed a gap the size of two thumbs that stretch across the bottom to middle of the door hinge. There were some screens that were broke( open accessability) I thought was no big deal until night came. It was serious mosquito heaven in there. We couldn't sleep the night. Had to wrap a towel around my head hoping not to get sting let along sting from a crazy mosquito going around the carribean(Google it) it ruined our culebra expirence. Didn't stay the second night. Slept in the car. I have stayed in Puerto Rico.... Culebra... Vieques for many years (also have fam on main island) but that was the first bad exp staying anywhere. I'm sure once they deal the place. Give it some tlc it will be in shape to recieve such reviews that sea shell supposedly gets on here. Watch out for the green villa until then. Wear a chemical body suit when sleeping to avoid the Mosquitos

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comment, My apologies about this. The problem had never been reported by housekeeping or a guest before. For 350 days we do not have a mosquito problem. In Culebra we have a mosquito problem for a few days 3-4 times a year after severe rain days. The handyman is on its way right now to repair the screens and reduce the gap in the door. Thank you, Gaby
5

Cute, equipped, good location, reasonably priced

  • 5 of 5

This place is great for the price! Spacious, well equipped studio with kitchen. Loved the ocean view balcony. Not the fanciest place on the island but clean and well equipped for the money- i don't think you will find better for the price! The AC in the bedroom worked great on a hotter night and the screens on the windows kept the mosquitos out. I loved this properties location. Within walking distance to great bars and restaurants and one of the two grocery stores on the island. I would for sure recommend friends staying here. Check-in was also easy and hassle free.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
1

Nice place, Needs Help

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I stayed here on Feb. 3rd and 4th. We were supposed to stay a full week but had to leave due to a mice problem. The unit had a great view and was in a good location. Too bad it was infested with mice! We did notify the owner and received a refund. He said he was going to remedy the situation.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had 15 happy guests stay in Seastar since January 2014. Unfortunately we did have a mice go into one of our 11 villas in February. We are surrounded by nature. We have had 5 happy guests stay there since then. The guest reported it and apologies and a full refund was made to their account immediately. The exterminator was there that same day and the problem got solved immediately. Thank you, Gaby
5

Amazing place

  • 5 of 5

Excellent apartment that has everything you need! Gaby was very accesible. Great for a couple getway, or anyone that is just looking to relax. Easy way of finding transportation, and all your town needs such as supermarket, restaurants, ect. are within a 10 min walk. Would recomend it to anyone! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Great time, Great place....

  • 5 of 5

Excellent place. The apartment was very comfortable and in excellent condition. Very good price and I recommend it to everyone. Great for vacactions! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, we really try for our guests to have a great experience. I think we are the "best buy" in Old San Juan

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Culebra
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $99 Per night

Culebra Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
1 night minimum stay
$99
 
Discounts: 2 nights or more: $129 Nightly
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Culebra Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Air conditioned screened bedroom with queen bed. You may sleep with the windows open or with the A/C. Bed has side tables with reading lights. Opens into large balcony overlooking the waters of Ensenada Honda Bay. Connects to its' private bathroom.
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote