Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

40' SALTWATER POOL/ SPA AND AMAZING VIEWS. FREE SNORKEL GEAR!

Owner

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

40' SALTWATER POOL/ SPA AND AMAZING VIEWS. FREE SNORKEL GEAR!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Kohala Estates House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to Kohala Kai! This 3 bedroom 2 and 1/2 bath home features a spectacular panoramic view of the Kohala coast and beyond. At just under 500' elevation the close proximity to the ocean, pleasant tradewind breezes and sweeping views will entrance you throughout your stay. The newly added 40' inground saltwater pool with attached spa and waterfall will make you never want to leave the property!

This home is decorated with a casual island feel and gives you a sense of relaxation the moment you step inside. The fully stocked kitchen features kitchenaid appliances including a stainless steel gas range.

The covered lanai is the perfect spot for an evening cocktail and pupu's as you watch the sun slip away and whales breaching during whale season.

Lounge by the pool in our comfortable cushioned loungers and savor the view. Our 40' inground saltwater pool ranges from 4.5 to 11 feet deep with a quartzite baja step perfect for little ones to play. a waterfall from the hot tub sets the mood for relaxing.

A stainless steel top of the line gas grill sits outside the kitchen to prepare fresh fish from Lau's, the local fish market just 5 minutes away.

Wake up in your master suite to a total ocean view. Enjoy your morning coffee outside your bedroom that opens onto a beautiful grassy lawn overlooking the ocean. Watch the boats and canoes make their way along the Kohala Coast and enjoy the tranquility.

Kohala Kai comes fully stocked with everything you should need. From linens, cooking and entertaining equipment to beach gear, coolers, pool toys, and boogie boards.

Scuba lessons are conducted on site occasionally in the pool through Kohala Divers. On average lessons take place 2-4 days a week for about 2-3 hours mid day. Let us know if you would like to join us for some diving during your stay or just enjoy the amazing views, great swimming and setting.

This house truly is a great value and will make a great home base for your next Big Island vacation.

Keywords: vacation home, home with view, kohala coast rental house, kohala vacation rental, big island vacation rental home with Pool spa

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Owner
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2015

About The Owner

Greg and Rebekah Kaufmann have been big island residence for nearly 20 years. As the owners of Kohala Divers the local dive and snorkel center in Kawaihae they have a unique knowledge and appreciation for the Kohala Coast. This property is managed by the owners and they are available to help you with any special needs or to share local knowledge with you if needed. Welcome to our Hale Kohala Kai.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

Why The Owner chose Kohala Estates

Kohala is the prime location in Hawaii. Clear skies, some of the best beaches in the world under 10 minutes away and the best diving and snorkeling Hawaii has to offer. Whats not to love?

What makes this house unique

Try Scuba diving or snorkeling with Kohala Divers ask us about our dive or snorkel vacation packages. We have options for the first time diver to the seasoned dive enthusiast!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our first trip to the big Island and celebration of our 40th anniversary couldn't have been more enjoyable. We rested,relaxed and recuperated at just the right time and just the right place, as hostess and host you should know we enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Greg and Bob were terrific companions and guides on the sport fishing trip. We enjoyed the mahi mahi we caught and it was cooked to perfection at cafe pesto. We hope to return to your land of paradise and sunshine.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 32 traveler reviews

Write a Review
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
average rating of 4.78125 based on 33 reviews
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
3

Amazing location but low quality

  • 3 of 5
We stayed here in March/ April of 2014. The location is ideal and the pool is great. The winds were very high when we were here. We don't blame that on the owners, obviously on the slopes of Kohala Mountain it can get windy. But the home and furnishings do not look as good in person as they do in the photos. The blinds in the 2nd bedroom were broken when we arrived and my parents were unable to open them all the way (to enjoy the 180 degree view). They called the owners and were told someone would be there to fix them but no one ever came. The whole time we were in the house, the pool furniture blew into the pool and down the hillside, along with towels and slippahs, etc. The house was also not as clean as many homes I have rented on the Big Island (there was a coating of dust on much of the furniture). Also, the dining room table is a joke. Not that you would use it much because you would sit on the lanai but it is very high and there is a very heavy, ornamented light that hangs down and basically renders it useless for anything other than setting books or papers on. We lived with these things, cleaned, and enjoyed ourselves. But what struck us the most was that despite this, and the constant slamming of the cheap, lightweight doors the whole time we were there (we had to put furniture in front of them and keep the rear sliding doors and rear windows (facing the mountain) closed and blinds coming off --also very cheap) was on the last day, Greg, the owner came to "check on things", partly because the night before, the wind blew out a transformer on the road and we didn't have electricity for about 12 hours. He did not introduce himself, and was rather aloof. Here we had dealt with a lot of issues and didn't complain and he could see that the pool was full of leaves from the trees and plants blowing like mad and that the furniture was literally being held down, but he never said, "Hi, I'm Greg, I hope you enjoyed your stay." Or, "hope the winds didn't get to you too much." Rebekah was very nice on the phone, and the Kohala Dive staff were awesome, but that moment at the end made us feel unappreciated as paying guests and certainly lacked the aloha spirit, along with all the issues surrounding the low quality furnishings and details of the place. For that, I would sadly not stay there again. If not for the view and amazing location, I would have given it 2 stars.
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you had some disappointment during your stay, I understand how frustrating the winds in Kohala can be at times and it sounds like you had one of the more severe episodes. They also probably led to the house feeling dirty when the winds kick up like that it does leave a layer quickly.

As far as the blinds in the 2nd bedroom yes, they did fail on your stay and Greg and I were on the mainland visiting family that week so we called our maintenance guy who did come check on them and told us there was nothing he could do to save them, that they were shot. We ordered new doors for both that room and the master bedroom, that have since been installed and they have built in blinds between the glass so it solves that problem but I am sorry that you were one of the last that had to deal with the old ones on their last leg.

The dining room table is a bar top table that comfortably seats 4 for dining so if you have a party of 6 and the winds are up that does make it tough to eat together inside. 95% of the year the winds aren't strong enough that eating on the front table is out of out of the question, I know that is where we prefer to eat because of the spectacular view, but I know you got one of those weeks that was to windy most days and for that and I apologize for not being able to accommodate. We have put getting a 6 seater table indoors on our priority list thanks to your feedback.
Unfortunately Greg was not able to meet you because we were on the mainland during your stay and it was our maintenance man who was cleaning up the pool area, we do like to respect guests privacy in the home and try to keep a low profile when doing needed maintenance or repairs. We greatly enjoy the times we do get to meet and get to know our guests though since sharing the joy of Hawaii is the best part of being here and having a vacation home.
I do sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations and I appreciate your specific comments for things we can and have improved upon for future guests.
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Amazing Views, Great Pool and Hot tub!

  • 5 of 5
We spent a long weekend here for my birthday celebration and it was fantastic! What an amazing deal for all that you get at this home. The owners were accommodating and friendly, they gave us some great restaurant recommendations and instructions with the pool. The house was simple, clean, comfortable and very peaceful. The pool and hot tub is top notch, what a great design, nice landscaping, and well maintained, they have a professional service it, we saw him leaving as we arrived. I love the ease of the large steps for the kids to play too. We spent every night watching a breathtaking sunset. We are going to make this a tradition every year to book Kohala Kai!
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Fabulous stay!

  • 5 of 5
We spent a wonderful week here at the end of July/early August and left with some really great memories! In response to another review, yes, our stay coincided with a boom in the number of mice on the island, but the owners were really great about helping us to deal with it. Two electric traps were provided, and the traps were super easy to bait with peanut butter (and we could simply tip the dead mice out into the garbage without ever touching them). The mouse issue was something that was being talked about everywhere on the island, not just where we were.
The use of the pool for dive lessons didn't disturb us at all because we were often out sightseeing during the day (when they showed up) and on the rare occasions that we were at the house we still felt like we had complete privacy thanks to how the pool is positioned off the end of the house.
The views from this house are simply spectacular! Sitting at the table under the lanai at the front of the house, you have 180 degree views... simply amazing! You can even see the sunsets from the pool (a magical experience), and if you enjoy stargazing, then this is a perfect spot as well (especially if it's a new moon). The house is a bit older but nicely decorated, well maintained, and very clean. The owners and staff at the owner's dive shop were very responsive, helpful, and extremely nice. We were a family of five (my husband, two daughters, and my mother), and we had plenty of space to relax and enjoy the house and pool. We wouldn't hesitate to come back here again!!!
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
SF Bay Area
1

Pool picture is the best part of this house

  • 1 of 5
They promote the nice looking pool but read the fine print you must share with Kohala Divers and they get priority. On our two week trip we had three days of the pool to ourselves. The house needs a complete make over. The house was infested with mice but the view is spectacular. Would not recommend this house to the faint of heart.
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry your experience with the home sounds so different than others who have thoroughly enjoyed the home and appreciated the great value. We try to be very clear about the fact that the home does share its pool with Kohala Divers to do scuba lessons. How often these are changes seasonally from 1-5 days a week and last on average 1 1/2-2 1/2 hours per day. Most renters find this to not interfere with there use of the beautiful pool area which is set to the side of the house with a private entrance to ensure guests privacy while lessons are taking place. Unfortunately our Island had an unusual amount of rain this year which led to a "mouse bloom" on the entire Island. This happens every 5-7 years in our area and there is not a home or hotel not affected by it. Thankfully we have controlled the situation inside the home by using high tech electric traps, and a contract with terminex pest control, also guests are asked to close screens to keep out pests. We feel this home offers a casual, island experience that is clean, relaxing and boasts one of the best views on the Island. I hope future guests have the same experience that the majority of our past guests have, many who are now repeat visitors to the home.
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
Boise, ID
5

Great relaxing home and nice pool

  • 5 of 5
Wife and I stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute. This home is perched up on the hillside overlooking the ocean. It was clean, well equipped and very peaceful especially at night. The divers do train in the pool occasionally, but during our week they were there only about 3 hours total. The location is close to the best beach - Hapuna, great restaurants, and shopping in Mauna Lani or Waimea.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354825vb
-8084434704
Kohala Estates Kohala Coast
5

Best location and house in Kohala

  • 5 of 5
My family stayed here in July 2013 and had a great time. The house is exactly as pictured, clean with great amenities. Scuba lessons were scheduled in the pool for 3 days but we're not a problem for us as we were out exploring during those times. The pool timer does go off in the middle of the night and it is obnoxiously loud and startling.it does give the feeling of an alien invasion. Personally, my husband and I felt that it was a small inconvience considering what this property has to offer. Our family travelled around the Big Island and Oahu for 14 days and this house was by far our favorite.
  • Submitted: May 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Seafood Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mauna Kea Beach Resort
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Hapuna Stae Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Kohala Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
fall
May 1 2015 - Dec 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,575
$6,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,925
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kohala Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) California king bed in master bedroom, Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) pack n play
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Complimentary custom fit high quality snorkel gear for the length of your stay is included compliments of Kohala Divers in Kawaihae. Ask about special dive and snorkel packages!

Other Vacation Properties

$300 per night
4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$429 per night
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote