Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!

Owner

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Kohala Estates House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to Kohala Kai! This 3 bedroom 2 and 1/2 bath home features a spectacular panoramic view of the Kohala coast and beyond. At just under 500' elevation the close proximity to the ocean, pleasant tradewind breezes and sweeping views will entrance you throughout your stay. The newly added 40' inground saltwater pool with attached spa and waterfall will make you never want to leave the property!

This home is decorated with a casual island feel and gives you a sense of relaxation the moment you step inside. The fully stocked kitchen features kitchenaid appliances including a stainless steel gas range.

The covered lanai is the perfect spot for an evening cocktail and pupu's as you watch the sun slip away and whales breaching during whale season.

Lounge by the pool in our comfortable cushioned loungers and savor the view. Our 40' inground saltwater pool ranges from 4.5 to 11 feet deep with a quartzite baja step perfect for little ones to play. a waterfall from the hot tub sets the mood for relaxing.

A stainless steel top of the line gas grill sits outside the kitchen to prepare fresh fish from Lau's, the local fish market just 5 minutes away.

Wake up in your master suite to a total ocean view. Enjoy your morning coffee outside your bedroom that opens onto a beautiful grassy lawn overlooking the ocean. Watch the boats and canoes make their way along the Kohala Coast and enjoy the tranquility.

Kohala Kai comes fully stocked with everything you should need. From linens, cooking and entertaining equipment to beach gear, coolers, pool toys, and boogie boards.

Scuba lessons are conducted on site occasionally in the pool through Kohala Divers. On average lessons take place 2-4 days a week for about 2-3 hours mid day. Let us know if you would like to join us for some diving during your stay or just enjoy the amazing views, great swimming and setting.

This house truly is a great value and will make a great home base for your next Big Island vacation.

Keywords: vacation home, home with view, kohala coast rental house, kohala vacation rental, big island vacation rental home with Pool spa

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Owner
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2015

About The Owner

Greg and Rebekah Kaufmann have been big island residence for nearly 20 years. As the owners of Kohala Divers the local dive and snorkel center in Kawaihae they have a unique knowledge and appreciation for the Kohala Coast. This property is managed by the owners and they are available to help you with any special needs or to share local knowledge with you if needed. Welcome to our Hale Kohala Kai.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

Why The Owner chose Kohala Estates

Kohala is the prime location in Hawaii. Clear skies, some of the best beaches in the world under 10 minutes away and the best diving and snorkeling Hawaii has to offer. Whats not to love?

What makes this house unique

Try Scuba diving or snorkeling with Kohala Divers ask us about our dive or snorkel vacation packages. We have options for the first time diver to the seasoned dive enthusiast!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our first trip to the big Island and celebration of our 40th anniversary couldn't have been more enjoyable. We rested,relaxed and recuperated at just the right time and just the right place, as hostess and host you should know we enjoyed every minute of our vacation. Greg and Bob were terrific companions and guides on the sport fishing trip. We enjoyed the mahi mahi we caught and it was cooked to perfection at cafe pesto. We hope to return to your land of paradise and sunshine.
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 36 traveler reviews

Write a Review
40' Saltwater Pool/ Spa and Amazing Views. Free Snorkel Gear!
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 37 reviews
5

Great stay at Kohala

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent 11 nights here and had a truly great experience. The pool was great, the local beaches were close, and the diving was amazing. The house was roomy for 6 of us, and the sunset view from the lanai was amazing. The hot tub under the stars was a nice way to end our days out by the pool. The few issues that came up were handled promptly by the owners, who were great to work with. We would recommend this to anyone wanting to stay in the area, and especially to fellow divers.

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
East Bethel, MN
4

Amazing Views

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our time here immensely. The view from morning till dark is completely amazing. We saw tons of whales! Enjoyed significant time in the hot tub and pool as well. The dive lessons only took place once as far as we knew..we were gone during the day most of the time. Great location. Well stocked house. The only concern we had were with the bugs. We realize this is a tropical island so bugs are to be expected. Additional spraying is suggested.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

My Favorite Dive Place

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year here, sleeping, eating and diving out of Kohala Divers.

Good location near Kawaihae.

Great views of the whales!

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Awesome 180 degree view of the ocean

  • 5 of 5

This is an awesome house to stay in. We stayed there from 1/7-1/30/2015 and the whales were awesome. We could see the whales and hear them from the property, it was fun to sit out at night and listen to them while watching the stars. The pool does not really have a shallow end so it may not be very well suited for young kids but we enjoyed using it daily. The pool is used for their dive shop classes but only in the afternoons and not every day, so it is easy to plan around the classes and sometimes fun to watch the classes. The owners were very attentive to any concerns we had and addressed whatever issue in a very timely fashion. It's a well stocked house, providing beach equipment, beach towels, and cooler. We were not lacking for anything! We look forward to staying here again in the future as this was our second stay there in 12 months. A car is a definite need for this house. It is about 40 miles to Kona from the house but only a 15 minute drive to some of the best beaches on the Big Island

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
United States
3

Amazing location but low quality

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here in March/ April of 2014. The location is ideal and the pool is great. The winds were very high when we were here. We don't blame that on the owners, obviously on the slopes of Kohala Mountain it can get windy. But the home and furnishings do not look as good in person as they do in the photos. The blinds in the 2nd bedroom were broken when we arrived and my parents were unable to open them all the way (to enjoy the 180 degree view). They called the owners and were told someone would be there to fix them but no one ever came. The whole time we were in the house, the pool furniture blew into the pool and down the hillside, along with towels and slippahs, etc. The house was also not as clean as many homes I have rented on the Big Island (there was a coating of dust on much of the furniture). Also, the dining room table is a joke. Not that you would use it much because you would sit on the lanai but it is very high and there is a very heavy, ornamented light that hangs down and basically renders it useless for anything other than setting books or papers on. We lived with these things, cleaned, and enjoyed ourselves. But what struck us the most was that despite this, and the constant slamming of the cheap, lightweight doors the whole time we were there (we had to put furniture in front of them and keep the rear sliding doors and rear windows (facing the mountain) closed and blinds coming off --also very cheap) was on the last day, Greg, the owner came to "check on things", partly because the night before, the wind blew out a transformer on the road and we didn't have electricity for about 12 hours. He did not introduce himself, and was rather aloof. Here we had dealt with a lot of issues and didn't complain and he could see that the pool was full of leaves from the trees and plants blowing like mad and that the furniture was literally being held down, but he never said, "Hi, I'm Greg, I hope you enjoyed your stay." Or, "hope the winds didn't get to you too much." Rebekah was very nice on the phone, and the Kohala Dive staff were awesome, but that moment at the end made us feel unappreciated as paying guests and certainly lacked the aloha spirit, along with all the issues surrounding the low quality furnishings and details of the place. For that, I would sadly not stay there again. If not for the view and amazing location, I would have given it 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you had some disappointment during your stay, I understand how frustrating the winds in Kohala can be at times and it sounds like you had one of the more severe episodes. They also probably led to the house feeling dirty when the winds kick up like that it does leave a layer quickly. As far as the blinds in the 2nd bedroom yes, they did fail on your stay and Greg and I were on the mainland visiting family that week so we called our maintenance guy who did come check on them and told us there was nothing he could do to save them, that they were shot. We ordered new doors for both that room and the master bedroom, that have since been installed and they have built in blinds between the glass so it solves that problem but I am sorry that you were one of the last that had to deal with the old ones on their last leg. The dining room table is a bar top table that comfortably seats 4 for dining so if you have a party of 6 and the winds are up that does make it tough to eat together inside. 95% of the year the winds aren't strong enough that eating on the front table is out of out of the question, I know that is where we prefer to eat because of the spectacular view, but I know you got one of those weeks that was to windy most days and for that and I apologize for not being able to accommodate. We have put getting a 6 seater table indoors on our priority list thanks to your feedback. Unfortunately Greg was not able to meet you because we were on the mainland during your stay and it was our maintenance man who was cleaning up the pool area, we do like to respect guests privacy in the home and try to keep a low profile when doing needed maintenance or repairs. We greatly enjoy the times we do get to meet and get to know our guests though since sharing the joy of Hawaii is the best part of being here and having a vacation home. I do sincerely apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations and I appreciate your specific comments for things we can and have improved upon for future guests.
5

Amazing Views, Great Pool and Hot tub!

  • 5 of 5

We spent a long weekend here for my birthday celebration and it was fantastic! What an amazing deal for all that you get at this home. The owners were accommodating and friendly, they gave us some great restaurant recommendations and instructions with the pool. The house was simple, clean, comfortable and very peaceful. The pool and hot tub is top notch, what a great design, nice landscaping, and well maintained, they have a professional service it, we saw him leaving as we arrived. I love the ease of the large steps for the kids to play too. We spent every night watching a breathtaking sunset. We are going to make this a tradition every year to book Kohala Kai!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Seafood Bar
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mauna Kea Beach Resort
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Cafe Pesto
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Hapuna Stae Park
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Kohala Estates House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
fall
May 1 2015 - Dec 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,575
$6,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,925
$7,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kohala Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) California king bed in master bedroom, Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) pack n play
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Complimentary custom fit high quality snorkel gear for the length of your stay is included compliments of Kohala Divers in Kawaihae. Ask about special dive and snorkel packages!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$325 per night
4 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$429 per night
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote