RELAXING, KID-FRIENDLY, STYLISH, CONVENIENT - HISTORICAL HOME IN CAMBRIDGE

Hillary Jarvis

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RELAXING, KID-FRIENDLY, STYLISH, CONVENIENT - HISTORICAL HOME IN CAMBRIDGE

Cambridge Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Relaxing

Uncork your complimentary bottle of wine and kick back in our Victorian cottage in historic Cambridge's West End District. Enjoy views of the Choptank River from the enormous, wrap-around front porch's rocking chairs. Make dinner on the gas grill and dine out in the back yard. Or just hang out and watch a movie from the AmazonPrime library.

Kid-Friendly

Our house includes a number of 'kid friendly' features such as outlet covers (in public spaces and kids’ room), safety gates, a booster seat, a high chair, and portable crib. Our Radio Flyer wagon makes trips to the parks or shopping a breeze. The fenced backyard and huge, open park across the street have plenty of space to run off steam. Your little ones can enjoy their own rockers on the front porch to view the sailboats.

Stylish

Our house is nearly 100 years old (built in 1918), but it has been recently updated throughout with a gourmet kitchen, tile baths and fresh paint in all rooms. The designer furnishings mix vintage finds with newly-upholstered pieces and beautiful artwork. It has a casually elegant atmosphere.

Fun-Filled

Walk 1 block from our house to the Choptank River. Enjoy the trees and open spaces of Long Wharf Park, climb the Choptank River Lighthouse, and check out the boats docked in the City Marina. Shop or enjoy award-winning dining in Cambridge's historical downtown.

When you're ready to venture out, Cambridge is a great 'home base' to explore the Eastern Shore. More shops and dining are only 20 minutes away in Easton. The charming towns of Oxford (20 minutes) and St. Michaels (30 minutes) make a lovely day trip. Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge offers amazing wildlife viewing opportunities. The Atlantic Ocean beaches are a little more than an hour away. Visit the outlets in nearby Queenstown, MD or enjoy Delaware's tax-free shopping.

Spacious

Our 4 bedroom, 3.5 bath house sleeps 10 people.

The first floor includes a living room with flat-screen HDTV and Blu-Ray player (with AmazonPrime access); oversized dining room that seats 8; eat-in, island kitchen with stainless steel appliances (double oven, 5-burner gas range, dishwasher, side-by-side refrigerator and two sinks); mudroom with washer and dryer; and powder room.

The second floor features a master bedroom with king-sized iron bed, attached bath featuring oversized steam shower, and an enormous closet; a kids' bunk room with two twin beds, two trundle beds and an attached bathroom with tub; and an office with free WiFi available for guests' use (can double as a nursery).

The third floor offers two bedrooms with queen beds (one with a flat-screen HDTV/DVD) and a shared hall bathroom with shower.

Convenient

Just bring your clothes! Linens are included in the rental price. We also include a “starter pack” of paper products, provide hand soap in all the baths, and keep d/w detergent on hand.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed

Hillary Jarvis

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

PERFECT LOCATION FOR EAGLEMAN

  • 5 of 5
The house was beautiful and must have been the nicest one on the street. We could see the Choptank from the rocking chairs on the porch. There was plenty of room for the 9 of us that stayed there. The only issue was ants in the kitchen that came in through the back window. While this was incredibly annoying, the owners made every effort to have someone come spray during our stay and after that we didn't have any problems. As much as I hate to give this property 5 stars and make it THAT MUCH MORE desirable for athletes doing Eagleman in 2015 (and take this home before I can!), this really was a great place to stay. One thing I would suggest is having 2-3 more chairs in the dining room. The house sleeps 10 but there were not enough chairs to go around for 9 adults.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Washingtoj DC
3

PROPERTY NICE, WAITING FOR DEPOSIT REFUND 3 WEEKS LATER!

  • 3 of 5
The house was nice and as described, lots of space for us, our daughter and grandparents visiting from the UK. I would have recommended it based on our stay there, but 3 weeks after leaving the property we have still to get our deposit refunded, and just keep being told by the owner that the check is in the mail. This has left a really bad taste in our mouths. The radio flyer wagon and sand and water table were also not evident, which was a shame as our daughter would have liked to play with them. The owner did leave stair gates and a booster seat for eating for her to use, as described.

Cambridge itself is a small place but a good base for days trips to St Michael's, Chincateague and so on. The street where the property is has a mix of more dilapidated looking houses and then really nicely presented properties, which are obviously being done up as weekend homes by out of towners. The property next door was being renovated when we visited. There was a disused launderette a couple of blocks up from the house that seemed to be a hang out for local vagrants in an evening.

What was odd about this property compared with other VRBO rentals we have done is that we had to mail back our key rather than leave it in the property. We were asked to do this promptly and duly mailed the key, only to receive an email from the owner saying that the envelope had arrived but no key. So - if we do ever get our deposit back, they'll be taking $25 out of it to make a new key. Last time I got a key cut, it was less than $3!

If you'd asked us what we thought of the property the day we left (after we'd stripped the beds, again as requested after we'd signed the contract, not easy with a 10am check out, a toddler and being heavily pregnant), we'd have only had good things to say. However, given the debacle with the deposit refund, the fact we felt we kept our side of the bargain, left the house immaculate and so on, sadly we wouldn't recommend it.
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: As owners of this house, we hope that our guests find everything about renting it to be as we describe it in our listing and in the lease signed by all parties, and also that it to be to their satisfaction. We regret any time this does not occur, and seek to the best of our ability to prevent it happening in the future.

We would never knowingly describe an amenity of our property and then fail to provide it. The wagon and outdoor play tables are stored in the mechanical room attached to the back of the house. We recently had a long-term tenant vacate the property, and it is possible those items were moved elsewhere. If that is indeed the case, we are extremely sorry they were unavailable for use by these renters and will make certain they are available for all future guests.

We do not use a management company; we manage the house ourselves. This allows us to rent at competitive rates and minimize expenses, but it also means that there is no local option to handle access to the house. We do not keep keys onsite for security reasons. For all our prior rentals, key returns via the mail have gone smoothly. It is unfortunate that did not occur in this case. As per our lease, an unreturned house key incurs a $50 replacement charge. These renters' envelope, which presumably at one point included our key, returned empty and with a hole in it. Since the key was lost by accident, we halved the replacement charge as a courtesy. The replacement charge is not intended simply to cover the physical cost and time required to replace the key, but to act as an incentive to ensure keys are not treated carelessly and are promptly returned.

Our lease also states we have 30 days from the end of the rental period to return a security deposit, less any amount withheld for damage or lost items. As these renters indicate, that time period had not elapsed before they wrote their review. In fact, as these renters have since acknowledged, their security deposit has been returned. At no point did we make any false promise about when the deposit would be returned. We informed these renters that we intended to mail their deposit during Labor Day weekend. We put the check in the mail on Labor Day, and it arrived (at the latest) by Friday. We try to ensure security deposits are returned as promptly as feasible under normal circumstances. For a variety of reasons, in this case that did not apply. However, the deposit was returned well within the terms of their lease.
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Rockville, MD
5

GREAT HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5
We spent a four day weekend in this house with three generations of family ranging from age 2 to 65, including 6 adults and 1 toddler. Everybody had an absolutely wonderful time, and the house was big enough that we were all able to have our own space. The house has a lot of baby friendly features to it - my son especially loved the child-sized rocking chairs on the front porch and had a great time sitting out there with the rest of the family watching the boats go by (fyi, the trees were all in full bloom and we had no problems with our view of the water being blocked). All of the furniture and decorations in the house were amazing in both their style and comfort - in my experience rental properties usually choose cheap-o options for their furnishings but that's not the case here. They have memory foam mattresses on the beds, gliders in the family room, and decor that just makes you feel relaxed the moment you walk in.

While we were there we drove through blackwater park (lovely but VERY buggy, beware if you're thinking of riding a bike through it at this time of year!) and continued down to Hooper's Island where we had an AMAZING dinner at Old Salty's, we took a day trip to Rehoboth (~1.5 hour each way, totally worth it), we kayaked out of the nearby Hyatt (as with much of the lower Chesapeake, swimming in the Choptank is NOT an option due to enormous numbers of jellyfish), and we did some bikeriding around town. Basically, we were able to do a little bit of everything and always come back to a beautiful house as our home base.

If you're looking for a low-key spot to explore the eastern shore, I'd highly recommend this place! We would definitely return!!
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Dumfries, VA
5

RJ

  • 5 of 5
The interior of this home was clean and beautiful. The owners are very friendly and easy to work with. They provide very clear detailed instructions on everything a renter needs to know to stay in their home. next time I need to travel to this area I will be checking to see if this home is available first.
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
North Carolina
5

SPRINGTIME ON MARYLAND'S EASTERN SHORE

Springtime on Maryland's Eastern Shore
  • 5 of 5
Rented this home with our son and his wife for a long weekend. So there were two other bedrooms in the home that we didn't use. If you have children or several couples wanted to go in together, this could be your place.

The home itself has been beautifully restored with very nice amenities including wood and tile floors, kitchen with great appliances and granite countertops. Wraparound porch on front and one side provides a nice place to sit in the morning or evening to talk or enjoy a cup of coffee. Beds were comfortable and towels and other linens luxurious and plentiful. Bar seating in the kitchen could use another stool. Everything in the home was sparkling clean.

Water views may be stretching it just a little bit, especially once trees will have fully leafed out. However, the home is within a block of the waterfront where you can visit the Long Wharf Park and take a picnic, watch the sailboats coming and going and see the Choptank River Bridge in the distance. The waterfront end of the street (Choptank Ave) is an area that looks like it is undergoing regentrification. The other end, i.e. the town end, hasn't yet experienced a renaissance.

House book has lots of excellent information about Dorchester and Talbot Counties--what to see and do. Cambridge is a great central location for visiting Oxford, St Michaels, Easton, Blackwater Wildlife Refuge, Tilghman's Island, Hooper's Island (*by all means you should drive or bicycle to the extreme southern end of Hooper's Island*) and even for making a day trip to Chincoteague Island if you're inclined to travel a little farther. Restaurant guides for Cambridge are helpful, too.

If you're into bicycling, this would be an excellent place to have as a base of operations. Roads heading in most directions are well marked and many have shoulders marked as bike lanes. Lots of quaint shops and interesting little and not so little museums in the historic towns on the Eastern Shore. So there is something to do even if it's raining. If you're looking for rip-roaring night life, you probably wouldn't be coming to the Eastern Shore anyway.

All in all, a great place at good value. We would certainly recommend this home as a vacation rental to friends.
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We always appreciate hearing from those who have rented our house! As this reviewer notes, our house is not waterfront. The streets in the historic district of downtown Cambridge run almost perpendicular to the Choptank River. So, you can see the river from the front porch (and the front yard), but you are not directly on the river. We do have a year-round view of the river from our front porch, though. No worries about the trees obstructing the view; we enjoy sitting in the rockers and watching the boats throughout the year. And the views are even better from the waterfront park!
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Woods Hole, MA
5

QUIET, RELAXING, BEAUTIFUL HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
We used this house during a week-long science trip to Blackwater NWR. The location was great: walking distance to downtown, very quiet neighborhood right next to the Choptank River. The house was spotless, nicely remodeled, and very comfortable with memory-foam beds. The patio and grill were excellent for group meals, and the kitchen has all the needed supplies for cooking large meals. I would highly recommend this property for anyone looking for a relaxing atmosphere. Good nearby restaurants are the High Spot, Leaky Pete's, and Jimmie & Sooks.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Playgrounds, Short-term Boat Slip Rental within Walking Distance, Historic Properties, Scenic Drives

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cambridge Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$205
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee < 6 nts $90
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Cambridge Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • shelling
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • beachcombing
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • freshwater fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • cycling
Notes:
wrap-around porch, gourmet stainless kitchen with island, double oven, 5-burner gas stove, master bath steam shower, two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, two TVs with DVD players, DVD and book libraries, eat-in kitchen, 8-person dining room, free WiFi, booster seat and high chair, safety gates, Radio Flyer wagon, board games
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 17
$2,522 - $4,635 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,700 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12