RELAXING, KID-FRIENDLY, STYLISH, CONVENIENT - HISTORICAL HOME IN CAMBRIDGE

Hillary Jarvis

Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Hillary Jarvis

Advertiser since 2011
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

RELAXING, KID-FRIENDLY, STYLISH, CONVENIENT - HISTORICAL HOME IN CAMBRIDGE

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Cambridge Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Relaxing

Uncork your complimentary bottle of wine and kick back in our Victorian cottage in historic Cambridge's West End District. Enjoy views of the Choptank River from the enormous, wrap-around front porch's rocking chairs. Make dinner on the gas grill and dine out in the back yard. Or just hang out and watch a movie from the AmazonPrime library.

Kid-Friendly

Our house includes a number of 'kid friendly' features such as outlet covers (in public spaces and kids’ room), safety gates, a booster seat, a high chair, and portable crib. Our Radio Flyer wagon makes trips to the parks or shopping a breeze. The fenced backyard and huge, open park across the street have plenty of space to run off steam. Your little ones can enjoy their own rockers on the front porch to view the sailboats.

Stylish

Our house is nearly 100 years old (built in 1918), but it has been recently updated throughout with a gourmet kitchen, tile baths and fresh paint in all rooms. The designer furnishings mix vintage finds with newly-upholstered pieces and beautiful artwork. It has a casually elegant atmosphere.

Fun-Filled

Walk 1 block from our house to the Choptank River. Enjoy the trees and open spaces of Long Wharf Park, climb the Choptank River Lighthouse, and check out the boats docked in the City Marina. Shop or enjoy award-winning dining in Cambridge's historical downtown.

When you're ready to venture out, Cambridge is a great 'home base' to explore the Eastern Shore. More shops and dining are only 20 minutes away in Easton. The charming towns of Oxford (20 minutes) and St. Michaels (30 minutes) make a lovely day trip. Blackwater National Wildlife Refuge offers amazing wildlife viewing opportunities. The Atlantic Ocean beaches are a little more than an hour away. Visit the outlets in nearby Queenstown, MD or enjoy Delaware's tax-free shopping.

Spacious

Our 4 bedroom, 3.5 bath house sleeps 10 people.

The first floor includes a living room with flat-screen HDTV and Blu-Ray player (with AmazonPrime access); oversized dining room that seats 8; eat-in, island kitchen with stainless steel appliances (double oven, 5-burner gas range, dishwasher, side-by-side refrigerator and two sinks); mudroom with washer and dryer; and powder room.

The second floor features a master bedroom with king-sized iron bed, attached bath featuring oversized steam shower, and an enormous closet; a kids' bunk room with two twin beds, two trundle beds and an attached bathroom with tub; and an office with free WiFi available for guests' use (can double as a nursery).

The third floor offers two bedrooms with queen beds (one with a flat-screen HDTV/DVD) and a shared hall bathroom with shower.

Convenient

Just bring your clothes! Linens are included in the rental price. We also include a “starter pack” of paper products, provide hand soap in all the baths, and keep d/w detergent on hand.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Hillary Jarvis (Owner)
Advertiser since 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
New Brunswick, Canada
5

Great getaway vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
We were 4 couples who came to vacation and participate in the Ironman Maryland competition. House was perfectly located for the race. Easy walking distance to the start and finish locations. Also within walking distance of the historic downtown and restaurants. House is nicely finished in nice area close to the water. We also drove to visit Washington and back on 2 of the days we were there.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

Fabulous House*****

  • 5 of 5
Rented this house on a trip to the 14U girls softball world series in Salisbury. We had plenty of space and our girls enjoyed the "girls room". We spent time on the road traveling to Salisbury, but when we were at the house we had a fabulous time and thoroughly enjoyed the updated amenities that this house has to offer. I would recommend that you shop after you get there because we brought way too much. The kitchen was literally fully stocked! I would not recommend the 3rd floor rooms to anyone who might have trouble climbing stairs because the staircase is steep and narrow. Plenty of on street parking and the neighborhood was peaceful.
The house is clean/neat, furnishings are tasteful, and linens/towels are high end- something you generally don't see in any hotel! We enjoyed the all foam mattress in the king suite- so much so that I need one now! If you're allergic, you'll love the clean hard wood floors.
2 MINOR inconveniences: Don't count on the wi-fi, we all at different times attempted to log onto the WiFi (even the kids) but were unsuccessful. The link showed up on our devices, but the password was not accepted. Also, the information provided in the coffee table book said garbage came at 8a on Thur, so we didn't put the garbage out the night before because we figured 8a was plenty of time. Our mistake,We woke on Thur and heard the truck on the street at 6a & by the time we got down they were gone.

I would highly recommend this house rental and would stay again if and when the need arises. You'll enjoy it as much as we did! We want to visit again because we really didn't get to check out the area.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're glad this family enjoyed their trip. We take great pride in keeping our home in excellent condition, so it's good to hear that others enjoy it. We've updated our house book to reflect that the garbage guys have begun to arrive earlier. That's good information for us and future guests. We do wish these guests had reached out for help with regard to the wifi while they were staying. It simply needed to be rebooted! (Unfortunately, the only high speed option in Cambridge is Comcast, and the service goes out occasionally - requiring a reboot.). We've also updated our house book with reboot intel for future guests. As these guests note, our third floor steps are narrow. The house is 100 years old, and originally the attic was not finished. We enjoy the view from up there, but those rooms may not be for older guests.
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

Great place for family!

  • 5 of 5
We stayed in this house as overflow for our family reunion - we already visit Cambridge regularly and love Great Marsh Park, the Choptank and all the great restaurants downtown (Richard Craniums East - try the crab nachos!).

House was clean and organized and made it very easy for us to enjoy our weekend. We will definitely stay again!
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
5

Perfect Location for Eagleman

  • 5 of 5
The house was beautiful and must have been the nicest one on the street. We could see the Choptank from the rocking chairs on the porch. There was plenty of room for the 9 of us that stayed there. The only issue was ants in the kitchen that came in through the back window. While this was incredibly annoying, the owners made every effort to have someone come spray during our stay and after that we didn't have any problems. As much as I hate to give this property 5 stars and make it THAT MUCH MORE desirable for athletes doing Eagleman in 2015 (and take this home before I can!), this really was a great place to stay. One thing I would suggest is having 2-3 more chairs in the dining room. The house sleeps 10 but there were not enough chairs to go around for 9 adults.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Washingtoj DC
3

Property nice, waiting for deposit refund 3 weeks later!

  • 3 of 5
The house was nice and as described, lots of space for us, our daughter and grandparents visiting from the UK. I would have recommended it based on our stay there, but 3 weeks after leaving the property we have still to get our deposit refunded, and just keep being told by the owner that the check is in the mail. This has left a really bad taste in our mouths. The radio flyer wagon and sand and water table were also not evident, which was a shame as our daughter would have liked to play with them. The owner did leave stair gates and a booster seat for eating for her to use, as described.

Cambridge itself is a small place but a good base for days trips to St Michael's, Chincateague and so on. The street where the property is has a mix of more dilapidated looking houses and then really nicely presented properties, which are obviously being done up as weekend homes by out of towners. The property next door was being renovated when we visited. There was a disused launderette a couple of blocks up from the house that seemed to be a hang out for local vagrants in an evening.

What was odd about this property compared with other VRBO rentals we have done is that we had to mail back our key rather than leave it in the property. We were asked to do this promptly and duly mailed the key, only to receive an email from the owner saying that the envelope had arrived but no key. So - if we do ever get our deposit back, they'll be taking $25 out of it to make a new key. Last time I got a key cut, it was less than $3!

If you'd asked us what we thought of the property the day we left (after we'd stripped the beds, again as requested after we'd signed the contract, not easy with a 10am check out, a toddler and being heavily pregnant), we'd have only had good things to say. However, given the debacle with the deposit refund, the fact we felt we kept our side of the bargain, left the house immaculate and so on, sadly we wouldn't recommend it.
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: As owners of this house, we hope that our guests find everything about renting it to be as we describe it in our listing and in the lease signed by all parties, and also that it to be to their satisfaction. We regret any time this does not occur, and seek to the best of our ability to prevent it happening in the future.

We would never knowingly describe an amenity of our property and then fail to provide it. The wagon and outdoor play tables are stored in the mechanical room attached to the back of the house. We recently had a long-term tenant vacate the property, and it is possible those items were moved elsewhere. If that is indeed the case, we are extremely sorry they were unavailable for use by these renters and will make certain they are available for all future guests.

We do not use a management company; we manage the house ourselves. This allows us to rent at competitive rates and minimize expenses, but it also means that there is no local option to handle access to the house. We do not keep keys onsite for security reasons. For all our prior rentals, key returns via the mail have gone smoothly. It is unfortunate that did not occur in this case. As per our lease, an unreturned house key incurs a $50 replacement charge. These renters' envelope, which presumably at one point included our key, returned empty and with a hole in it. Since the key was lost by accident, we halved the replacement charge as a courtesy. The replacement charge is not intended simply to cover the physical cost and time required to replace the key, but to act as an incentive to ensure keys are not treated carelessly and are promptly returned.

Our lease also states we have 30 days from the end of the rental period to return a security deposit, less any amount withheld for damage or lost items. As these renters indicate, that time period had not elapsed before they wrote their review. In fact, as these renters have since acknowledged, their security deposit has been returned. At no point did we make any false promise about when the deposit would be returned. We informed these renters that we intended to mail their deposit during Labor Day weekend. We put the check in the mail on Labor Day, and it arrived (at the latest) by Friday. We try to ensure security deposits are returned as promptly as feasible under normal circumstances. For a variety of reasons, in this case that did not apply. However, the deposit was returned well within the terms of their lease.
business
Relaxing, Kid-Friendly, Stylish, Convenient - Historical Home in Cambridge
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p354433vb
-7032176610
Cambridge Chesapeake Bay
Rockville, MD
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
We spent a four day weekend in this house with three generations of family ranging from age 2 to 65, including 6 adults and 1 toddler. Everybody had an absolutely wonderful time, and the house was big enough that we were all able to have our own space. The house has a lot of baby friendly features to it - my son especially loved the child-sized rocking chairs on the front porch and had a great time sitting out there with the rest of the family watching the boats go by (fyi, the trees were all in full bloom and we had no problems with our view of the water being blocked). All of the furniture and decorations in the house were amazing in both their style and comfort - in my experience rental properties usually choose cheap-o options for their furnishings but that's not the case here. They have memory foam mattresses on the beds, gliders in the family room, and decor that just makes you feel relaxed the moment you walk in.

While we were there we drove through blackwater park (lovely but VERY buggy, beware if you're thinking of riding a bike through it at this time of year!) and continued down to Hooper's Island where we had an AMAZING dinner at Old Salty's, we took a day trip to Rehoboth (~1.5 hour each way, totally worth it), we kayaked out of the nearby Hyatt (as with much of the lower Chesapeake, swimming in the Choptank is NOT an option due to enormous numbers of jellyfish), and we did some bikeriding around town. Basically, we were able to do a little bit of everything and always come back to a beautiful house as our home base.

If you're looking for a low-key spot to explore the eastern shore, I'd highly recommend this place! We would definitely return!!
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Playgrounds, Short-term Boat Slip Rental within Walking Distance, Historic Properties, Scenic Drives

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cambridge Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$205
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee < 6 nts $90
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Cambridge Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
wrap-around porch, gourmet stainless kitchen with island, double oven, 5-burner gas stove, master bath steam shower, two bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, two TVs with DVD players, DVD and book libraries, eat-in kitchen, 8-person dining room, free WiFi, booster seat and high chair, safety gates, Radio Flyer wagon, board games
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 17
$2,700 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$500 - $800 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 16

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote