Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEAUTIFUL FOUR-BEDROOM, TWO FULL BATH, TWO STORY HOME ON LAKE HURON.

Janelle

Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Janelle

Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL FOUR-BEDROOM, TWO FULL BATH, TWO STORY HOME ON LAKE HURON.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Oscoda Cottage Rental Photos and Description

This lovely and spacious 2,000 sq. ft. home three miles south of Oscoda, Mi, is located on one of the most pristine sugar sand beaches of Lake Huron.

If you seek quiet and peace, then this is the place for you! Very tastefully decorated, fully furnished, and decorated with original art work, you will find everything that you need for a restful vacation. The downstairs has a t.v. room and a music room with a keyboard, in addition to the living room, sun room, and a large and open kitchen, full bath, and laundry room. There is WiFi on the premises. On the second floor, you will find a large master bedroom with incredible views of the lake, another full bath, and three additional guest bedrooms.

Just 11 miles north of historic East Tawas, the house is within walking distance of restaurants and a couple of miles from the Au Sable River, and the Oscoda Pier.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Janelle (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2014

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
Fenton, I
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
This home was much larger than we had expected. There were 6 of us and there was plenty of room to spread out. The home was spotless and the kitchen was a delight. Refrigerator, stove and dishwasher are relatively new. Lots of kitchen accessories which I did not expect. I love to cook and found everything I needed to make my favorite dishes.

Beds were comfortable with wonderful newer crisp sheets. Great to have two bathrooms with 6 adults.

Beach is beyond awesome. We watched two sunrises that cannot be described! Yellow, orange, red, salmon color - with the pop as the run rose over the horizon. We walked on the beach and it is pristine. Beach chairs were there for us to enjoy the sun. Beach towels too.

We visited the Shipwreck Museum and enjoyed the glass bottom boat that hovers over local shipwrecks. The Museum was a complete surprise. Very interesting for those who love to learn about shipwrecks. We loved it!

Cannot recommend this home enough. The owner was totally available for questions and a delight. I would recommend this property to my friends and family without question!

Oscoda has places to rent canoes or kayaks if you wish. We enjoyed the restaurants and bars. :)
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
5

A WONDERFUL AND VERY RELAXING VACATION

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here last year and this year while visiting friends in Michigan. We are making plans to rent it again next year too.
The house was very roomy, well-set up and beautifully decorated with lots of interesting art. It was tidy and exactly as described on the website. The beach is the back yard and even has a private sand dune where we watched the sun rise. A great stay!!
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
5

HUGE house and great place for walks on the beach!

  • 5 of 5
Very spacious home with a great kitchen and dining area that overlooks
Lake Huron. We saw an eagle several times on the beach!! Enjoyed how close it is to Lumberman's Monument, a charming theatre in Oscoda, walking 5 minutes to the hotel/restaurant with a karaoke bar, and especially being right on the private, clean, sandy beach. Also close enough to Tawas to enjoy the "big city" for more dining, shopping, antiques and another theater. Would recommend this vacation spot
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
2

Needed a good cleaning

  • 2 of 5
My family loved the location and beach but were so disappointed in the condition of the home. It was dirty and we spent the first 2 days of our vacation cleaning. This is a list of some of the cleaning we did after we arrived:
Cleaned both bathroom floors which had visible dirt, sand and hair from previous guests
Cleaned upstairs toilet which still had visible residue from previous guests (beyond gross)
Cleaned bathtubs/sinks which were not properly cleaned, upstairs had toothpaste stains in sink
Wiped down kitchen cabinets, inside and out and counters which had visible food from previous guests
Wiped off all kitchen knobs which were sticky and unclean
Washed pots that had visible residue from cleanser and the frying pans still had grease in them
Vacuumed the entire house including the stairs which had visible dirt of at least 1/4 deep at the seams (buildup from quite awhile)
Vacuumed all the bugs out of corners, etc. which were everywhere, most noticeably in the back porch area including the screens which had quite a build up of dead bugs
Washed all the sheets because of visible hair left from previous guests
Washed down all switch plates and switches due to visible dirt from previous guests
Cleaned ceiling fan in kitchen which had dust coming off the edges
Shook rugs on back porch and deck which hadn't been cleaned
Washed bathroom rugs which hadn't been cleaned
Wiped off walls/doors of visible fingerprints/dirt
Placed charcoal/candles around cottage to try and remove the smell of mothballs. We were lucky we had no small kids in our group.The mothballs were out in the open and this could be toxic is ingested.
The people that arrived after us were lucky that the place was thoroughly cleaned.
The location is convenient to Oscoda. Someone had stated that you can walk to restaurants, but there are no longer any within walking distance, you will have to drive everywhere. If you want any sand toys you will need to bring as none supplied. The home is a nice size and enough space for larger families. There is only one tv which was an issue with our family as we had adults and teens who like watching different shows.
The owner was responsive to our complaint of cleanliness and gave us some money off of our cleaning payment. The beach was sandy and we loved being able to walk out on the beach for walks. Great location to enjoy Lake Huron.
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do feel the need to refute this review. Although we were not at the house the day the renter arrived, we were there the previous week and the conditions of "bugs, dirt on stairs, open mothballs: and filth in general did not exist. We have had the same reliable cleaning people from the time we started renting out the house two years ago and this is confirmed in all of our previous reviews.
We were out of state on the day Sue arrived and offered to come up shortly after upon our return, (I wanted to see the house for myself) yet she asked us not to.
I believe that this review is for the most part a response from her because we had to keep a portion of her damage deposit (the first time we've ever had to) due to breakages incurred to the home during her stay.
After brand new 6-foot blinds were found broken off and hanging, she stated to me that I should have been able to replace them for under $4.00! A two-month old bed was also damaged from her group.
The rental is located on a highway and there were trucks in front working on widening the road during her stay. Consequently there was extra dust "on top of the ceiling fan" which upset her (Those fans had been cleaned on top thoroughly the previous month.) which was probably affected by the road work.
When she contacted me after her arrival and said it should "be like a hotel" I offered to have cleaning staff come in again and do another cleaning yet she refused this too. I also offered to have a worker come and pick up the key and that I would reimburse her but she said no.
This renter booked in March and never once asked about how many t.v.s there were yet complained several days before her arrival that there was only one, when I had back-to-back renters which would have made the installation impossible. (I will have a second in the spring.)
Sue was told that there was ONE restaurant that is a five-minute walk from the house and yes, it is still there.
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
5

Amazing!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
We rented this more than adequate beach oasis for 3 nights while attending a family reunion in the area. There were 6 adults but we also accommodated 2 children (5&6) and a senior with mobility issues for breakfasts and dinners. Everyone found the property spacious and accommodating. The children could play in the sand at the back of the house while we enjoyed coffee or desert in the eat in sun room. There is so much room in this place!!!! The sand, water, deck and open concept in the kitchen and family room make conversation and contentment very easy to attain. We actually did not use the living room or music room as we were drawn to the outdoors the whole time we were there.
The property was spotless when we arrived and we found everything as per instruction from the owner or the manager next door who left us a note. There was ample linen and the two full bathrooms were a bonus when we were all trying to get ready to leave. I am the cook in the family and we had tons of storage space as well as all the utensils and dishes I needed to get a meal on the table. This place is a rental dream come true!!!!
The owner was super helpful from the first time I contacted her. She answered all my questions promptly and gave helpful information when I asked about grocery shopping and directions. I am Canadian and she paid special attention to banking requirements and postal considerations that are involved in a cross border rental. I could not have felt more accommodated or cared about in dealing with the owner.
I have rented from VRBO in Canada, the United States and Europe. This property is up there with my most enjoyable rental experiences. If you have a chance to travel to this very special part of Michigan, PLEASE take advantage of this rental!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful four-bedroom, two full bath, two story home on Lake Huron.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3543492
+1 -8102666240
Oscoda Northern Michigan
Monroe, MI
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
This was a wonderful house for our vacation. We stayed here with another family for a total of 4 adults and 4 children. The house is big enough that you don't feel like you are right on top of each other. The kids loved the neat layout of the house and everyone had a blast. The owner was so helpful in making sure we knew all about the cool things to do in the area. The owner did an awesome job with keeping in touch and really made us feel like she truly cares about you having a great vacation. I recommend this house for anyone's next vacation in this area. Enjoy.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Car: necessary

There are beautiful state parks, scenic outlooks, canoe liveries, and the Oscoda River Queen paddle boat.

Oscoda is an old-town gem of Northern Michigan resorts.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $175 Per night

Oscoda Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Spring 2015
May 1 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend 2015
May 22 2015 - May 25 2015
3 night minimum stay
$295
 
 
Spring 2015
May 26 2015 - Jun 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Summer
Jun 20 2015 - Jul 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
$295
$1,950
 
 
4th of July weekend
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Peak Summer
Jul 6 2015 - Sep 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
$295
$1,950
 
 
Labor Day 2015
Sep 3 2015 - Sep 6 2015
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Fall 2015
Sep 7 2015 - Oct 24 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$225
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Payment in cash, money order, or personal check.
$400 refundable damage deposit, no cleaning fee
50% down to reserve, balance and damage deposit due three weeks prior to check-in.
check in 4pm, check out 11 am
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Oscoda Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , bunk beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote