HomeAway is the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We're committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
Initially, we were so excited at the location of the house and the great front porch. The first floor was spacious and on first glance, everything was in place. Turns out, there is absolutely no cleaning service provided by the owners. The house was filled with more sand and dust piles than I care to recall. The upstairs was dark, old and strongly smelled of urine. The shower was literally four trickles of water, and was still filled with the sand from the previous tenants. Not to mention the dried toothpaste stuck to the sink. We used our flip flops when showering and walking around the house. The smell of the upstairs forced us to utilize air mattresses, so thankfully, the downstairs was an open concept! The gas grill looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years, and didn't have any gas anyway. The television was actually broken once you turned it on...that's fun with children on the rainy days! The bureau's in two of the bedrooms looked like they were stored in a garage for a decade, and were so dirty - we kept our things in the suitcases. Upon returning, we sent a note to the owners indicating that these were issues they should address for the future. The response was arrogant, extremely rude and oddly enough, accusatory of how WE left the house. Believe me, that place was cleaner when we left, than when we arrived. I've rented in Hampton for years, this is my first experience with actual filth and to have the message responded to in that fashion is ridiculous.
Steer clear of Donna, her nasty attitude and her dirt.
Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
Stayed: Aug 2014
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback but we have been renting this townhouse for years and have always had great feedback. The home is inspected by a cleaning person every Saturday before check in and her notes show that it was clean and in great condition when you checked in, unfortunately not so when you left. There was beach sand everywhere, trash left in the house and dirty children's underwear under the bed. We are glad you won't requesting a reservation for next year because based on the condition you left the home in we would not accept you as a tenant.
The house is in a great location and is spacious inside which was nice. The kitchen is fully stocked only thing we had to bring was a blender. Great front porch to sit on and people watch and off street parking was a plus. 1 minute walk to the beach. A few suggestions to make it more comfortable is that the shower was a "trickle" absolutely no pressure and the TV wasn't working while we were there which wasn't a big deal. Overall this was a great house to spend the week at the beach :)
Super location, quiet, few minutes from beach.Loved our stay! The townhouse actually is a dublex (you have a nice and helpful neighbour next to you) 1st floor living room , dining room and kitchen no separation (cooking utilities are there) , douwnstairs has been renovated, no balcony in the back but large porch in the front wich you share with your neighbour. Second floor has master bethroom (double bed) second and third room smaller with double beds as well.Bathroom upstairs only with shower. Air conditioning only downstairs and master bedroom but air fans all over the house.I suggest you leave windows open upstairs in the day time, not renovated and smells humid! It's the only observation we had! Basically a nice place to stay if you are looking for a close beach location and quiet stay.Neighbours helpfull and friendly! Will be back! Thank you Celine for everything!
Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
Stayed: Jul 2012
VRBO, from HomeAway
Tourists without a Car,
Families with Young Children
house smelled musty, one bathroom very small, shower was like a closet ,bathroom door as well as one bedroom door did not close all the way, air conditioning only down stairs, fans upstairs, ocean view was from left corner of pouch, no deck, share pouch with neighbor, who is nice. if you can't stand cigeritte smoke than don't go to hampton beach, people smoke at the beach, in the street, and cig. butts everywhere. lot of drunk young adults at night, lots of police, felt safe. fireworks every wed. night on the beach we good, lots of food and shops on the boardwalk, bring lots of money