This review is based on my opinion and my experience with this rental/owner and is soley for the benefit of future travelors.
We arrived at 5pm and begun to unpack our car. Upon entering this rental we were overtaken by the strong odor of past cigarette smoke masked by oil scented plug-ins and running ceiling fans. We are non-smokers and this rental is advertised as a non-smoking rental but it was clearly saturated with past cigarette smoke. By 2:30am we were ill from the smell and I was alarmed feeling I had put my family in a harmful situation. By 8am the car was re-packed for we had to leave this situation. Several attempts were made to contact the owner and I left messages for help on owner's voice mail the night before (3x) starting at 8pm and once prior to leaving to notify owner of our issues. The owner was unreachable and did not return calls for help until after 9am when we were heading home. Owner's response was that of denial of a cigarette odor yet he said he would have come by to get rid of it. If you know the damaging effects of cigarette smoke in a home you know you can't just spray it away or mask it with room scents. I knew this issue couldn't be taken care of in a short time frame and I requested a full refund from the owner.
This week we rented was to celebrate my daughter's 13th birthday, now being home I had to scramble to make other plans with less funds and only four days. I contacted the owner again with detail as to what we experienced with this rental and again requested a full refund to rectify this situation. The owner replyed by offering another rental two weeks later. This was the week we needed and I could not rent at another time nor did I want to do business with this owner any further so again I requested a full refund. Owner said they would refund only the refundable deposit but they were keeping the entire weeks payment.
My loss in many ways. I understand business but the lack of professionalism and common courtesy I experienced with this owner was unfortunate and unexpected.
I do not recommend this rental, especially to non-smokers concerned for their health and the health of their family.
Owner's Response: Ms. Kathleen O. had left a message late Saturday evening concerning her inability to lock the door, and there was no mention of a smoke smell or any other problem. Since there was only one message, I assumed she figured out the lock (electronic) which locks by pressing the button with a lock icon, so I felt no need to bother my guests. The next morning (Sunday), she left another message while I was outside getting the paper. When I saw she had called (about 5 minutes later), I immediately called her back. She then had a story about cigarette smoke making her sick, and she was on her way home. I told her that I would put her in another unit until I checked her complaint, but she refused and demanded a full refund. I told her that I would have to verify her complaints before I could take any action, at which point she became extremely rude, threatening legal actions, bad reviews, etc. Her father called me about an hour later and apologized for his daughters actions. It was then he told me the real story. His granddaughter was celebrating her 13th birthday, and was supposed to bring 3 other friends with her to the beach, but none came. She did not want to spend a week alone with her mother, so she started acting up to the point where she had to leave. Even knowing this, I offered to give her another week at a later date free of charge, but she refused and insisted on a refund. After inspecting the condo later that same day, there was no evidence of any cigarette smoke smell inside. Being an ex-smoker, it would have been very obvious to me. All of my guests are made aware of my strict non-smoking policy, and in over 6 years, I have never had any violations. I am sorry Ms. Kathleen allowed her daughter to spoil their vacation, but I cannot be held responsible for someone else's unruly child. The offer of a free week still stands should she be willing to accept it, and her security deposit was returned in full. My guest book at the condo has over 35 reviews from previous guests who ALL had no complaints about ANYTHING (even the weather!), and there are about a dozen that have returned more than once. I want to thank all of you for staying with us and look forward to many more years of making vacations an enjoyable experience. Corey and Jonnie
Helpful votes: 4/7
Did you find this review helpful?