My honest opinion of the house
I'll start with location. It is located downtown on 36th street and close to the Chattanooga Choo Choo. That being said, it's an urban area, working class neighborhood near railroad tracks.
When we first arrived, we pulled around back to the one car garage. We were greeted with the green trash can over-flowing with terrible smelly garbage. Also, the yard was tall and in need of a cut. I walked through the tall grass to get to the front door. After calling the owner on use of the lock box, we entered the house. The house was clean but needed some light bulbs in the overhead light when I turned it on. We then went to get our things from the car. A key to the garage door that faces the house was not provided so we had to tromp through tall grass again to open the overhead garage door to pull car in and empty it of our luggage. Upon opening the overhead garage door, we were greeted with a storage shed full of stuff, a table and chairs with ash trays set up in the middle of the floor and another small trash can full of garbage. We then spent five minutes rearranging the garage to get our car inside.
Unloading our things in the house, we found that the dressing drawers in front bedroom had no nobs on them, making it very difficult to open and close to put close in (we just left them half open).
On our second day, we returned from sightseeing to find the air conditioner not working. I noticed the electronic thermostat was out and tried new batteries in it to no avail. I called the owner and she advised she'd call her maintenance man. We spent that night in a warm house with no air conditioning but fans I bought to circulate air (only one room has a ceiling fan). The next day we left the house again for the day and was in contact with owner who said a/c should be working. We cut our day short to return to house and check and a maintenance man had been there and got air blowing, but the thermostat was still out. At this point, we decided to vacate the premises and find another place to stay for the duration of our vacation.
The owner was very nice and did refund our money for the nights we did not use, including the no a/c night.
If your looking for house close to downtown and doing business or something it may be a good choice. If you are going to Chattanooga for a family vacation with little kids, I'd look elsewhere. Just my opinion and no disrespect to the owner intended
Owner's Response: It is always nice to have constructive criticism but the renter told me he was not happy with the house because of the color of the neighborhood before he ever walked in the front door which were due to his own personal prejudices. All of his problems were addressed but the real problem was with the color of the area, downtown, and no amount of nitpicking would have changed his opinion of the house due to his preconceived notions and his wife's demand "that they get out of this neighborhood"...The grass was cut while he was there and really tromping through the high grass was really about 10 feet of 4-5 inches tall grass and not traversing the back 40! lol I have stayed there many times with my small children and have had a wonderful stay and had no problems whatsoever...In a metropolitan area, there is a diverse population and if this is a problem, I would not recommend my houses and to look elsewhere outside of the downtown area....
Helpful votes: 7/8
Did you find this review helpful?