Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

"Charlie Chaplin's Old House"

Contact Owner by Email

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Contact Owner by Email

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 15, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

"Charlie Chaplin's Old House"

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

Venice Beach Townhome Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom, 1 bath, California Craftsman duplex, sleeps 4

WATCH THE VIDEO. "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is one of the best vacation rentals in Venice. LOCATION? Probably the best in Venice. 30 seconds to the heart of the ABBOT KINNEY DISTRICT (the trendiest section on the Westside). AMBIANCE? "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is the lower unit of a classic, 1913 California Craftsman that is one of the most recognizable icons in Venice. AMENITIES? "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" is original outside, totally remodeled inside including 'Keyless' personal code entry (easy access, safe stay), hardwood floors, 55' flat screen TVs in living room and bedrooms, fully functional kitchen, stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, king size bed (main bedroom), 2 twin beds (second bedroom), overhead mounted TV's for 'bed friendly' viewing in both bedrooms, travertine bath with dual rain head showers and remote control skylight, washer/dryer (inside), large private patio with pond, palms and tropical foliage, outdoor dining and sitting areas, fenced yard, onsite, secure parking, linens, blankets, bathroom and kitchen supplies. Everything you need, just bring your computer and cell phone.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Contact Owner by Email (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
May 15, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks, Don. What a great place! The inside was immaculate and cozy and I loved the kitchen. The patio and pond made me feel like I was on a tropical island and then I walked out the gate and I was on Abbot Kinney Boulevard. It was amazing and everything was perfect. I can't wait to come back. Evelyn, Ontario, Canada
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 6 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 36 traveler reviews

Write a Review
"Charlie Chaplin's Old House"
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 37 reviews
5

Fantastic Experience

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location, central and within easy walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Having my own garaged parking spot was a big plus too!

Comfortable, charming home with lovely outdoor space. It was clean and very well maintained.

The host was wonderful and exceeded all expectations. I will be back, without a doubt and will of course recommend this property to my friends and family. It was perfect.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Great Place for Family!!!

  • 4 of 5

Dear Don, our family really enjoyed the stay! Thank you!

We stayed in this little house for 6 nights and had a great time. We are not very picky; and needed to stay in a place close to the beach, and have comfortable beds to sleep, kitchen to cook. We did not spend much time in the house; however, we were glad that we rented the house instead of the 4-star hotel.

Good things are: the owner responded very quickly when we had trouble opening the door; the linens were very clean, and beds comfortable to sleep; the outdoor area is small but very clean and cozy for the morning coffee or evening tea; kitchen has most of the utensils to cook own meals-----very thankful for having all the main necessary things like sugar, salt, dish soap and laundry detergement; lots of towels in the bathroom.

Things that needs improvement are: taking care of spider webs, kitchen area :); dusting (lots of dust, ?close to the ocean); needs new dishes; would be nice to have shampoo in the bathroom; was only the soap. The house is located in the corner of two busy streets--the noise is very loud starting from 7am (cars, pedestrians) --not a place if someone came to relax :) however, it fitted fine for our family. The garage is small, even small size vehicle could not fit into it; we always parked on the street and it was convienent to have own parking space. Another important part is this house looked to me as duplex, not a stand alone house as I thought originally and the tenants from other part of the house were loud at times (their patio was located above our kitchen). I thought we will be having own little house without upstairs noise.

Even though, I mentioned some areas to improve, I still would recommend this property who would like to have active vacation, not relaxing. The relaxing part is going to Venice beach and relax on the sand. This place was very close to everything I needed: airport, LA Convention Center, Santa Monica, and etc.

The fun activities were: walking on the beach, at Venice Canals, Santa Monica Pier and "Bubba Gump and Shrimp Co " restaurant at the Pier.

The price was very reasonable compare what hotels would have cost me!

Because of the price, having two bedroom little own place with clean beds and full kitchen, nice location that is close to everything---I would rent this place again!

Thank You, Don! Overall, we really enjoyed our place :) we had everything we needed, and you are great at communicating with us!

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Irina for a thoroughly comprehensive review. I would like vacationers to know exactly what to expect and you've provided much of that information in your guest review. Thank you for taking the time to write and submit it. Don
5

PERFECT home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you SO much for all you did to make our home away from home perfect! We loved being there!! Our daughter loved the room with all the windows and said she wanted to move in there! EVERYTHING from start to finish was made SIMPLE and EASY for us, including a list of things in the area.

Property and home were immaculate! Don was amazing to work with! Hustle and bustle of city during the day, but by 9 pm it was quiet. Easy to walk to many locations; the beach, shops, restaurants and the canals. Quick 5 minute drive to the supermarket. Security deposit refunded within 24 hours.

Our daughter lives in West Hollywood but we wanted to be closer to the beach. Even though it was a little drive, it was never terrible. If you didn't want to use the freeways, you could avoid them most of the time.

I would definitely recommend this property (or any that Don owns) and might find myself there when I return to visit!

Thanks Don!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, what a delightful review. Thank you for pointing out the cleaning. It's the hardest part of the vacation rental business. Please come back and please take advantage of the "repeat offender" discount. I look forward to a return visit. Thanks, Don
5

First Rate Experience!!

  • 5 of 5

I could not have enjoyed my stay any better as this is a charming place which Don keeps in immaculate condition. As others have mentioned, it feels funny to single out the parking as a prime attribute, but having a designated spot and garage makes life incredibly easy on crowded beach weekends. The location is just perfect with access to the best that Venice has to offer. THANKS DON!!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bill, for a terrific review. I also have to thank you for the additional compliments you emailed me during your stay at "Charlie Chaplin's Old House." I always wonder if vacationers appreciate the accommodations, the location, et cetera. I know for sure that you do and hope you return soon, Don
5

Amazing First Rate Experience!

  • 5 of 5

I could not have enjoyed my stay any better as this is a charming place which Don keeps in immaculate condition. As others have mentioned, it feels funny to single out the parking as a prime attribute, but having a designated spot and garage makes life incredibly easy on crowded beach weekends. The location is just perfect with access to the best that Venice has to offer. THANKS DON!!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Can't say enough good things about this property..

  • 5 of 5

This place is a gem. I looked at several places for an extended stay and this had so much to offer compared to the others. And the owner Don was prompt in getting back to me and answering any questions. To be in such a vibrant area with everything close by was amazing.

The home is fantastic but it's also about the outdoor space which is a little oasis - pick your spot for your morning coffee - on the porch in a big comfy chair, by the pond (with little fish) in another big comfy chair or at the outdoor table with an umbrella. There are so many nooks that if several people are staying here, everyone will have their own space. Another huge plus was having a dedicated street parking spot as well as a spot in the garage. This is so valuable in this neighbourhood!

You can rent some places that feel like a rental and you can rent something like this that feels like a home. Would return here in a heartbeat and would highly recommend to others!

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Liis, for the sterling review.. Having you stay at "Charlie Chaplin's Old House" for 77 days was a dream. Thanks for the extended stay and thanks for mentioning the outdoor space and the two parking spaces. I've gotten many reviews, but you're the first to emphasize the outdoor space and two parking spaces. To me, outdoor space is important and parking is essential. I think your comment that you would return "in a heartbeat" says it all. And I hope you do return some day. Don

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $125 Per night

Venice Beach Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mar, Apr, May
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
 
June
Jun 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
6 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
July
Jul 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
August
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
 
September
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
6 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
October
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
Nov/Dec
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
 
Jan/Feb
Jan 1 2016 - Feb 29 2016
6 night minimum stay
$125
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Pet Fee $175.00
Cleaning $175.00
Tax Rate 14.0%
Notes 6 night minimum unless fewer nights are available.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Venice Beach Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Overhead TV
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Overhead TV
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote