Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

2-BEDROOM PENTHOUSE-ARTS DISTRICT

Sebastian Humbert

Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Sebastian Humbert

Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

2-BEDROOM PENTHOUSE-ARTS DISTRICT

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

Overview

San Juan Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Mountain (El Yunque) View W/ Balcony, Full Kitchen And Close To The Beach

One of two spacious penthouse apartments at 1664 Ponce De Leon with a balcony facing El Yunque, the mountains of central Puerto Rico and San Juan bay.

The private apartment is centrally located half-a-mile from the beach, at the corner of Ponce de Leon Ave and Eduardo Conde Ave in Santurce, San Juan. The apartment location encourages a blend between vacation in a cool, artsy neighborhood and the perfect beach getaway.

With your reservation you will be welcome to use the facilities at the most exclusive rooftop club in Condado, with an amazing pool, bar, food and amazing views of the Condado Lagoon--a unique opportunity.

The building is right in front of a bus stop for the main bus line of the city (the M3), a block away from several churches, two blocks away from the largest art museum and many smaller galleries, in immediate proximity to quaint coffee shops and cool restaurants and bars and important sights (Like: Old San Juan, Condado, cruise ship piers, convention center, parks, hospitals, historical churches and Plaza las Americas).

There are two rooms (one master and one guest room,) one bathroom, one kitchen, a spacious living room and the balcony.

There are two flights of stairs before you reach the front door of your apartment—the building does not have an elevator.

The apartment has WiFi, air conditioning, a TV with cable, Netflix, Hulu Plus and a DVD player, good books, and a fully equipped kitchen.

The master bedroom has a queen-size bed, and everything else that makes it a normal room. The guest room has a full sized bed.

The bathroom has a shower—towels, soap and shampoo included—and everything else that makes it a normal bathroom.

The kitchen has a small refrigerator, a microwave, stove top, conventional oven, distilled water cooler and a coffee maker—coffee included. Cups, plates, forks, knives, and spoons are also supplied.

The living room has a dinning table that seats six, a couch, a plush leather chair and a coffee table. There is a TV with cable, a DVD Player and a Roku to watch Netflix and Hulhu Plus and a bookshelf with a bunch of good books and DVD's.

The sofa pulls out to a queen sized bed.

There are a couple of chairs on the balcony to watch the sun set over the bay on.

The neighborhood is quiet, fun and authentic. It's not the touristy side of town; the apartment is not next to a big casino or a five-star hotel.

You'll find cool coffee shops, bars, restaurants, and music venues where the locals hang out. (In front of the building is a coffee shop that has live jazz every Friday night, for example.) Three blocks down is the largest art museum in San Juan, and close by are other great museums and art galleries to visit. There are a handful of theaters nearby, with all kinds of productions (improve, drama, classics, and varied temporary shows). It's a friendly neighborhood, so if your not into anything that's going on, you can always stick around and play dominoes with the older locals at the bar down the street. (For a list of what's happening this week in the neighborhood: (website hidden) .)

Because the location is so centric, it's easy to venture to Old San Juan or the beach from here.

Taxis from the airport to the apartment cost about $20. Public transportation out of the airport is possible but difficult, and impossible after 9 p.m. If you're not into the taxi situation, and I'm not working, I can pick you up for half the cost.

If you need anything during your stay, I'm just a call or text away. I live in the building next to this one, and work one block down the road.

Please contact me if you have any questions or would like more information.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sebastian Humbert (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish

About Sebastian Humbert

I'm a journalist covering sports in PR for an international news-gathering organization. I was born in Puerto Rico and just moved back to the island after living in Boston. I love windsurfing, spending time on the beach and getting to know new places.

Sebastian Humbert purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Sebastian Humbert chose San Juan

It's close to everything! It's in an island city setting, so there are cafes, restraunts, bars, music venues, supermarkets, gyms, and, of course, the beach right at your doorstep!

What makes this apartment unique

This is right on one of the most important avenues (Ave Ponce de Leon) in Puerto Rico, so all of the main bus lines are right there and very frequent (every 4-5 minutes during the day). The balcony is also pretty awesome. It's great to sit out with a cold drink after a day at the beach and watch the sunset!

Guestbook comments from the owner

The apartment was clean, spacious and quite lovely. The view from the balcony - STUNNING, grab a cup of coffee in the morning . . . a great way to start the day. While it's true that it's no where near the tourist areas, it was central to everything. The best part of the apartment for us, however, would be Sebastian. He's super helpful, there when you need him, super accessible and an all around friendly guy. We arrived, dropped off our bags and he took us across the street, bought us coffee at abracadabra and then proceeded to drive us around to get us oriented to the neighborhood. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay off the beaten path but close to the action.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 7 reviews
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
4

Apartment was neat and well kept.

  • 4 of 5
The apartment was neat and well kept. The location was very conveniently located. Sebastian was the best landlord we could have asked for. He was very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend to my friends.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
5

Great experience on a great island!

  • 5 of 5
Sebastian's apartment was spacious, clean, and had everything you'd need. Both beds were really comfortable. It is a really neighborhoody location away from the touristy areas, yet central to everywhere you'd want to go. If you have a rental car, there's ample parking spaces on the street. Sebastian is a great host, extremely accessible, helpful and pleasant. For us, he was the best part of staying in his apartment. The day we arrived, I had trouble with direction on the way from the airport. After locating us, Sebastian came finding us right away. Then he took us to the little cafe across the street after we settled in the apartment. During our stay, I bombarded him with questions and we were impressed with how knowledgeable and friendly he always was. Overall, we enjoyed our vacation in PR and would definitely stay with him again.
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
5

Amazing room for an amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5
This is a very clean and very spacious apartment overlooking the artistic neighborhood of Santurce. I stayed here with some friends from college and we had an absolute blast. The location of this apartment makes it very convenient to go anywhere on the island. The air-conditioning is very strong and refreshing and all the amenities of a hotel are provided. Sebastian was extremely helpful in giving us ideas for things to check out around the island. The neighborhood felt very safe even when walking to the nearby Pueblo grocery at 2 in the morning. Overall I rate our experience with this location a 5/5 and I encourage anyone who wants a true taste of Puerto Rico to stay at this apartment in Santurce.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
5

Beautiful Stay

  • 5 of 5
I would definitely recommend this rental property to anyone that is going to Puerto Rico. The art distinct is a very ideal area for visitors, since you get to stay in a part of San Juan that has culture and soul to it. It's also less than 6 min away from the beach and conveniently there's a grocery store that stays open 24/7 near by. There's a highly rated restaurant directly access the street, that we had delicious brunch at. The apartment was exactly as it was described, very spacious and had nice fixtures around the house. The balcony has a beautiful view, so it's nice to grab a drink and hangout on it as well. It is a up to date apartment with wifi and even ruku to watch Netflix and whatever else you enjoy. Sebastian the owner, couldn't be more helpful, any questions you have he'll answer them and he's very knowledgeable about the city. Just a 10/10 experience staying here, and I highly recommend it.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! Thank you! I' glad you guys enjoyed your stay and super I'm glad you appreciated the soul of the neighborhood. It's the reason I moved there in the first place. It has life, and it's the real life of locals who live and work on the island. It's full of culture, real culture. I'm also glad you mentioned the balcony! I have so many good memories of watching the sun set with friends up there after a long day. I'm really glad you guys had a good time and of course you guys are always welcome back! Thanks again!
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
Melbourne, Australia
2

Living with the locals

  • 2 of 5
If you want to live like a genuine Peurto Rico citizen , then this place is for you. I cannot recommend this flat for anyone else. When we arrived, our host had not arranged anything for our arrival so we had to ask a nice local to borrow her phone to ring him. For some reason our host was surprised that we had arrived (after booking it months previously), so instead of collapsing into a nice bed to recover from a very long trip from Hong Kong that day we waited at the local Subway for about two hours before we could meet our host to be let into the flat. Then, a cleaner had to arranged, so that it was another two hours before we could finally get a rest. The next day we thought that something was wrong with the apartment as it didn't look like the photos on VRBO so we questioned our host who kindly offered us the opportunity to move into the correct unit for the remaining 5 nights. Again, we had to wait around while the cleaner did her thing. The proper apartment was about 50% bigger than the first one, so our host agreed to refund US$75 into our PayPal account to compensate us for the mistake - but, over three months has passed since and I still have not received a refund. Good things about the flat's location were: running track along the river just a short distance away, easy walk to a big new supermarket, bus directly outside to old San Juan.
To get to the second flat (and the first one actually) we had to climb up several flights of very grotty stairs with our suitcases. After cleaning, the flats were clean enough but did not match at all well with the description on the VRBO site. Differences are listed here: the flat is 1500m from the nearest beach, not 0.5 miles (800m) as claimed, with no easy way to get to except to walk through a not particularly pleasant neighbourhood - the apartment is actually 2.9km (1.8 miles) from the main beach at Condado; the neighbourhood is described as cosy and artsy - I would describe it as dirty and slightly scarey; it is described as a "perfect beach getaway" - this is plainly not true; it is described as having a "fully equipped kitchen" - no oven or toaster and no tea towel was provided; the master bedroom definitely did not have a queen bed - it was a double; there was no operating water cooler as listed; the sofa did not pull out to a Queen size as claimed; the neighbourhood is not quiet as claimed; no concierge; a few DVDs but nothing to play on; no washing machine/drier; AC not effective; no bike.
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As a "local" PUErto Rican citizen, your comments about the island are kind of condescending. I'm sorry you did not find PUErto Rico to be as nice as wherever you came from. Perhaps our island is not up to the standards of that place. However, I love it here, and many other people enjoy it as well. You chose to stay in the arts district, which is where many artists live and work and hang out. Maybe the neighborhood was too hip for you guys. I imagine some parts of other artistic neighborhoods in other cities would not be a good fit for you either. Or Maybe island life is not for you. After meeting you, I'd recommend a pleasant stay at an airport Holiday Inn, perhaps at a quiet beach resort in Florida, or a five-day mid-sized cruise ship during the low-season. I do remember your case though. It might have been the long flight you were on, but you never gave me your arrival information, so I had no idea when you were going to arrive. You provided no phone number to reach you at and had stopped responding to emails. I like the apartment to always be fresh for guests, so I don't clean it and leave it like that days before your arrival--it is always cleaned the morning you are set to arrive, and then I arrive early to check in to inspect it and greet you. I'm sorry that the incident was a rut in your trip. I sent you back the $75 that same day via pay pal immediately from my cell phone.
The apartment is accurately described in the description. We have a toaster oven, but not a toaster. Pictures of the kitchen are provided, so I'm not sure where the confusion came from. I'm not sure if a tea towel is a real thing, but normal towels are of course provided. The AC is a 12kBTU beast and cools the room just fine. The beach is a 10 minute walk (12 minutes if you are slow,) the building has a washer dryer unit in a room off of the main entrance, the sofa bed is a sofa bed, with the Roku and the available netflix and hulu plus I'm not sure why you tried to use DVD's. More importantly, though, I would have been happy to fix any of these issues if you had told me about them during your stay. The apartment is not the Ritz Carlton, but I maintain it as nice and as up-to-date as it can be. It's a very nice apartment with a great view, in a super-central location, and for a great price--I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay due to a couple of isolated events that have not happened to anyone else.
business
2-Bedroom Penthouse-Arts District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3517057
San Juan Puerto Rico
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
Perfect! All!:)
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
SJU- Luis Munoz Marin International Airport
Nearest Barpub
Abracadabra Counter Cafe
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Hato Rey to Old San Juan/Hato Rey to Catano
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
San juan Driving Range
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Sagrado Corazon station
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
PR 1
Nearest Restaurant
Abracadabra Counter Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Ocean Park
Car: recommended

The neighborhood is quiet, fun and authentic. It's not the touristy side of town; the apartment is not next to a big casino or a five-star hotel.

You'll find cool coffee shops, bars, restaurants, and music venues where the locals hang out. (In front of the building is a coffee shop that has live jazz every Friday night, for example.) Three blocks down is the largest art museum in San Juan, and close by are other great museums and art galleries to visit. There are a handful of theaters nearby, with all kinds of productions (improve, drama, classics, and varied temporary shows). It's a friendly neighborhood, so if your not into anything that's going on, you can always stick around and play dominoes with the older locals at the bar down the street. (For a list of what's happening this week in the neighborhood: (website hidden) .)

Because the location is so centric, it's easy to venture to Old San Juan or the beach from here.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $75 Per night

San Juan Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Rates
Dec 1 2014 - Apr 1 2015
4 night minimum stay
$120
$525
$1,975
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$75
$525
$1,980
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $20
Notes Tax is included in the price.
Check in hours are between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

San Juan Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote