Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort


Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Contact the Owner


Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights


Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Go to 'Links' section for link to site that can provide you with exact quote for our vacation home!

Welcome to our new 4 BR, 2489 sq ft Big Island home, located at KaMilo, a private resort within the famous Mauna Lani Resort! Our gourmet kitchen is equipped with African Mahogany cabinets, Thermador stainless steel appliances and granite counters. Up to 10 adults can be comfortably accommodated in 2 master bedrooms with California king beds, ensuite bathrooms, and walk-in closets; a 3rd BR with queen bed and 4th BR with 2 double size beds (not twins!) Pocket doors open the great room living space to the upper lanai with Wolf grill. All bedrooms have 32'' HDTVs and DVD players with digital cable. The great room has a 48'' 1081p LED HDTV, Blue Ray DVD player, HD cable box and surround sound stereo system (5.1 Dolby)



Local Amenities: Golf and Tennis are available within the Mauna Lani Resort. Both the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and the Fairmont Orchid Hotels have beautiful spas and are only minutes away. Contact owner about resort golf fees. Write owner for more details on local amenities and activities.

More Photos!:

HI Tax ID: W47374156-01

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2015

About Owner

We love our new vacation home and eventual retirement home and know that you will too!

Owner purchased this townhome in 2010

Why Owner chose Mauna Lani

Ka Milo is a very upscale development at the Mauna Lani Resort with an excellent Recreation Center, beautiful nearby beaches, superb restaurants and exciting water sports activities within walking distance. The Big Island has abundant hiking, road biking, mountain biking, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving and many other out door activities.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
average rating of 3.9230769 based on 13 reviews

Air Conditioning Issues

  • 2 of 5

The Kamilo area is quiet and well maintained. Unfortunately, this home could use some loving care. It had a very worn out look of a rental home not being properly looked after. The dishwasher broke down on day 2 and the owner had it fixed right away which was good. Our biggest issue was the air conditioning which as you will read from other folks is just awful. There were some very hot nights were we laid in bed sweating because every time we turned the air on it would stay on for 10 minutes and then automatically shut down. Save yourself the frustration if air is important to you and rent for someone who has not manipulated the air conditioning system to save money.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The AC system in this home as nearly all vacation homes in Hawaii is regulated. The minimum temp is 71F and the AC will shut off if a door or window is open for more than 60 seconds. This is explained in the owner's manual. Even with these restrictions, my last month electric bill was $800. I ask renters to tell me if they are having any problems and I can investigate it and usually fix it remotely. If you don't ask for help, I can't know that you need help.
Black Creek, B.C. Canada

Want to return

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful two week stay here. Lots of room for all 9 family members. Appreciated the large "great room" which included the living, dining and kitchen rooms as well as the lanai if you opened up all the glass doors which we did every day to let in the tropical breezes. Plenty of sitting room with the 3 sofas, chairs as well as the sofa and chairs on the lanai, also the dining room had 8 chairs as well as 4 bar chairs at the huge kitchen island. Loved being able to barbecue every night. Also we would gather around the large TV and watch video's that our son's took during the day while they were scuba and snorkeling. There were lots of beach towels as well as lots of towels, face cloths, soaps, including for laundry and dishes. Also lots of dishes, glasses and utensils. Enjoyed the heavy duty blender for making drinks. We loved sitting on the lanai and enjoying the view, you got a peek-a-boo view of the ocean as well you could see the observatory on Mauna Kea. We would go to the Beach club each day, beautiful beach, the kids loved it as well, then we would go to the pools in the afternoon, also enjoyed the gym, lots of nice equipment there to work out with, then into the hot tubs. Easy walk around the corner of the place to the garbage hut as well as the recycle bins. We walked to the shops often as well they have a free luau a couple of times a week. The grocery store was handy and had almost everything you could want at fair prices, veggies were more costly but you could drive to Costco not far away about 20 min. There is air conditioner but we preferred the ceiling fans and opening all the windows and doors to get the tropical breezes. Our son loved to jog all the different paths around the resort and other hotels in the area. We loved our holiday in this lovely home and want to return again, the owner was also very helpful and quick to reply to our emails to any concern that we had. It is also a very short drive to a beautiful public beach called Hapuna Beach but preferred the Beach Club as it was closer and we didn't have to pay for parking as you get a key for the place. We really feel that the description of the place on VRBO was very accurate, lovely, want to return. Thank you Tom & Laura! Ken & Hanne

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

. A huge disappointment!

  • 1 of 5

What a disappointment! We were greeted (mahalo) with a series of house rules and "you break it / you buy it"expectations on the renter. Lose a key, card, or flashlight, arrive early, leave late, don't empty the garbage, stain the persian rug, leave towels, etc. results in a deposit reduction.The air conditioning and associated window switches were programmed to NOT work to save the owner on his electric bill. The electronic thermostats constantly clicked to off and were difficult to adjust, --also to save the owner money. Very uncomfortable at night. At arrival, we encountered a large rat trap at the main sliding door, and a disgusting grill and associated lanai wall and floor adjacent to the grill.We spent several hours burning off, scrubbing, washing and vacuuming the area prior to cooking. The washing machine and "clean" towels required mildew treatment prior to use.The garage was occupied by a stack of expensive solar panels, rendering the garage off limits (break it/buy it) even during Hurricane Iselle. We visited during Hurricane Iselle and received NO assistance from management, even when requested.On site management was nonexistent.The owners requested that we save their valuable lanai furniture , but provided no assistance for our (5 grandchildren) safety. We were treated as unwelcome paying clients -- never as guests! Also, there was no garbage pickup. We had to haul garbage 2 blocks to a unlit, unsafe, unsanitary dumpster depot .which was overflowing. Our feedback was delayed because the owner withheld our deposit without notice or response to our emails. Mahalo

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter was very unhappy because he was charged $50 for excess cleaning. He threatened to write an ugly review unless his demand for a full refund was met. His party trashed our house. It was only the 2nd time in more than 4 years of renting that we charged for excess cleaning. My cleaners wanted to charge him $100 for their extra time to clean after his stay. My cleaning crew said that they had never seen such a mess. His group clogged our washing machine from excess sand resulting in a $100 service call. We had to have the carpets professionally cleaned ($350) after his party left a filthy mess. Most landlords would have kept his entire security deposit! He did inquire about how to respond to Hurricane warnings and I said that I would recommend that he follow the advice given on the TV and radio but he wasn't satisfied with that. There is plenty of room in the garage for a full size car, while I am waiting for my solar installer to install the panels. My property manager lives less than 3 miles away. We stayed there over Thanksgiving and the AC worked fine. This guest's review is full of lies and gross exaggerations, all his way of getting even because he thought that he was robbed out of $50.
Sydney Australia

Beautiful home but...

  • 3 of 5

What you see in the pictures for this house is what you get. Gorgeous, spacious and plenty of room to move about for 2 families. The kitchen had quite an assortment of condiments & food etc for use which was appreciated. The "nearby shops and beach" were a bit of a joke though. Because of the heat and humidity neither were within walking distance. The restaurants are super expensive and the only alternative is to drive the 30mins back into Kona for a reasonably priced meal (although beware The Big Island is generally expensive). The US owners idea of a beach and our Aussie idea is totally different. We expected some sand--not just jagged rock which made it totally unusable for our teenage boys. The nearest sandy beach was 3 miles away. I've mentioned to the owner numerous problems with appliances that did not work properly and poor housekeeping (I found a pill of some sort in the drawer in my bedroom and toenail clippings on the floor in the great room YUCK) The doors to the lani were badly smeared and dirty and the lock on that door didn't work. I must agree with a previous reviewer about the air con. It would work, sometimes, then would shut off. We kept all doors and windows closed but absolutely roasted at night when it would just shut down. We never had a problem of needing blankets! All in all the house was beautiful but it is not a place I would return to and would only recommend it to others if you want a place to stay and relax and not go anywhere. The pool and gym is a nice bonus

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very grateful for the detail feedback that this guest gave me. I would like to respond to her comments: All beaches are public in Hawaii. The closest beach is at the Fairmont Orchid, 1/2 mile from my home. She was referring to the public park just north of the Fairmont, which we only use to view sunsets in the summer and not as a swimming beach. The Owner's Beach is at the opposite end of the resort (3 miles away by car). Most guests choose the "resort area" of the Big Island because they want a deluxe vacation. There are many very nice and moderately priced restaurants in the "resort area". Compared to resorts on Maui, Kauai and Honolulu, their prices are very reasonable. The detailed area information that I provide to my guests also describes Happy Hours at some of our nicer restaurants and more economically priced restaurants at the nearby Waikoloa Beach Resort and town of Kawaihae. I also provide information on nearby grocery stores for those who choose to do their own cooking. Prices in the Foodland Deli (< 1 mi) are only slightly more than what we find in Seattle. I notified this guest that newly installed batteries in 4 window/door sensors had suddenly and unexpectedly died prior to her check-in and asked her to notify me immediately if there were any problems with the AC. She wrote me twice and said that there was no problem with the AC. Therefore, I didn't have my handyman replace the batteries until after they departed. The next guest said that the AC is working fine. She reported that the dishwasher was not draining properly 2 days before check out but said that she would wash by hand. My handyman was there in 2 days to fix it. I forwarded her concerns about cleanliness to my cleaners. They usually do an excellent job and the vast majority of my guests are quite pleased with the cleanliness of our home. They apparently missed a few spots prior to this guest's arrival and have promised to be more vigilant.

It is a very nice, large house.

  • 4 of 5

A very large house. It would be perfect for three couples as there are three secluded bedrooms with bathrooms. The fourth bedroom was actually a den with a bed (no bath) and would be great for children staying there. The main floor was very comfortable and we spent a lot of time on the lanai.

It was nice to have a garage. There were coolers and beach chairs to use. The pool was great because no one was there. It is also close to a market. There was a small putting green nearby. The electronic door lock was convenient. We only cooked a few eggs in the morning so I can't really comment on the kitchen supplies. The appliance instructions were documented well.

I actually hate air conditioning, however, there were no trade winds while we were there. It would be nice to be able to run the air a bit cooler than was allowed to cool the house down. My suggestion would be to provide a few floor fans to use especially upstairs. It needed a ceiling fan on the lanai. (Again, if there were trade winds it would have been fine).

All in all, it was a very nice, clean and comfortable house. We would definitely stay again. The owner was responsive to inquiries and return of deposit.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Definitely worth a return trip

  • 5 of 5

We had a luxurious week’s stay in this unit. The layout, décor and amenities were first class. Our group consisted of 2 couples – one stayed in the master bedroom upstairs, and we were in the downstairs master bedroom. We each had our own well-appointed bathrooms with plenty of towels. We appreciated having plenty of hangers in the closets as well as several clothes racks for air drying.

The great room with its large kitchen, dining and living areas was a perfect place to gather. We loved having drinks and pupus on the upstairs lanai with its great view. The new cushions for the lanai really popped with the red color. The place was very clean. We were so comfortable with open windows/doors and running the large ceiling fans - we did not turn on the air conditioner.

The Vacation Home & Resort Info manual spells out everything you need for a pleasant stay in this unit as well as to take advantage of shops, restaurants, golf and beaches of Mauna Lani and adjacent areas. The Owners Beach Club was a quick drive, provided good snorkeling and was less crowded than the beach by Fairmont Orchid. One evening we walked from the beach to the 15th tee box of the South Course to view the sunset. Also on the beach is the restaurant Napua with excellent food and service.

Definitely a wonderful place for a return trip!

Mahalo, Tom & Laura!

Rick & Gloria

  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway


Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tommy Bahamas
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Mauan Lani North & South Courses
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tommy Bahamas, Ruth Chris
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Fairmont Orchid
Car: necessary

Manta Ray Dives, Swim with Dolphins and Sea Turtles, Zipline Canopy Tour, Dinner/ Whale/ Dolphin/ Sunset Cruises, Ironman Competition, Helicopter Tours, Live Volcano Flow Tours, Observatory Tours and Star Gazing, Delicious & Entertaining Luaus, Hula Events/ Festivals/ Classes, Ancient Hawai`ian Temples/ Petroglyphs, Historic Royal Fish Ponds ( 2 Miles), Anchialine Pools, Tropical Botanical Gardens, Akatsuka Orchid Gardens, Kona Coffee Farm Tours, Farmer and Fish Markets, Submarine Rides, International Bill Fish Tournament, Deep Sea/ Sport Fishing, ATV Tours, Motorcycle/ Scooter/ Bicycle Rentals


Rates & Availability

From $259 Per night

Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 1 - May 25
4 night minimum stay
Dec 20 - Jan 2
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Notes 259-469 Vary by season
Discounts: 7-9 days -10%, 10-16 days -15%, 17-23 days -20%, 24-30 days-25%, 31-39 days -30%, ≥40 days -35%
Go to "Links" section for link to site that can provide you with exact quote.
Enter dates to see total


Mauna Lani Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2489 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Lower - toilet , tub , shower
    Master Upper - toilet , shower
    Shared Lower - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upper Guest - toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Lower Level - 1 king , Ensuite Bath, Walkin closet, Nice View
    Master Upper Level - 1 king , Ensuite Bath, Walkin closet
    3rd BR Lower Level - 2 double
    4th BR Lower Level - 1 queen , Nice View
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
The Ka Milo Recreation Center is a 3 minute walk from our door and features a state of the art fitness center with gym and junior Olympic lap pool, two hot tubs, lagoon pool with shallow children’s area, lounge chairs, patio tables and a covered pavilion with seating and outdoor kitchen for group gatherings. Our key to the recreation center is in the home for our guests to use the facility. The Fairmont Orchid Resort and The Shops at Mauna Lani are a 10 min walk away. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Owner’s Beach club are 2-3 mile drives away. Our access card is in the home for guests to access the Owner's Beach. These venues offer numerous restaurants, boutique shopping, a gourmet food market, DVD rental and beach access and activities including whale watching in season. Digital on TV in Great Room, other TVs with basic cable, each with DVD. Propane Wolf Grill with utensils.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote