Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

GREAT DISCOUNTS! NEW DELUXE KAMILO HOME AT MAUNA LANI RESORT

Owner

Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Advertiser since: 2010
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT DISCOUNTS! NEW DELUXE KAMILO HOME AT MAUNA LANI RESORT

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Go to 'Links' section for link to site that can provide you with exact quote for our vacation home!

Welcome to our new 4 BR, 2489 sq ft Big Island home, located at KaMilo, a private resort within the famous Mauna Lani Resort! Our gourmet kitchen is equipped with African Mahogany cabinets, Thermador stainless steel appliances and granite counters. Up to 10 adults can be comfortably accommodated in 2 master bedrooms with California king beds, ensuite bathrooms, and walk-in closets; a 3rd BR with queen bed and 4th BR with 2 double size beds (not twins!) Pocket doors open the great room living space to the upper lanai with Wolf grill. All bedrooms have 32'' HDTVs and DVD players with digital cable. The great room has a 48'' 1081p LED HDTV, Blue Ray DVD player, HD cable box and surround sound stereo system (5.1 Dolby)

PASTE LINK BELOW INTO BROWSER FOR VIRTUAL TOUR!

http://hometour360network.com/provider/RTHawaii/TM220/TW_KaMilo.html

PASTE, BROWSE LINK BELOW, FOR QUOTES!

http://www.bookerville.com/CalendarDisplay?property=138

Local Amenities: Golf and Tennis are available within the Mauna Lani Resort. Both the Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and the Fairmont Orchid Hotels have beautiful spas and are only minutes away. Contact owner about resort golf fees. Write owner for more details on local amenities and activities.

More Photos!: http://hometour360network.com/provider/RTHawaii/TM220/TW_KaMilo.html

HI Tax ID: W47374156-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Owner

We love our new vacation home and eventual retirement home and know that you will too!

Owner purchased this townhome in 2010

Why Owner chose Mauna Lani

Ka Milo is a very upscale development at the Mauna Lani Resort with an excellent Recreation Center, beautiful nearby beaches, superb restaurants and exciting water sports activities within walking distance. The Big Island has abundant hiking, road biking, mountain biking, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving and many other out door activities.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
average rating of 4.0833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Black Creek, B.C. Canada
5

Want to return

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful two week stay here. Lots of room for all 9 family members. Appreciated the large "great room" which included the living, dining and kitchen rooms as well as the lanai if you opened up all the glass doors which we did every day to let in the tropical breezes. Plenty of sitting room with the 3 sofas, chairs as well as the sofa and chairs on the lanai, also the dining room had 8 chairs as well as 4 bar chairs at the huge kitchen island. Loved being able to barbecue every night. Also we would gather around the large TV and watch video's that our son's took during the day while they were scuba and snorkeling. There were lots of beach towels as well as lots of towels, face cloths, soaps, including for laundry and dishes. Also lots of dishes, glasses and utensils. Enjoyed the heavy duty blender for making drinks. We loved sitting on the lanai and enjoying the view, you got a peek-a-boo view of the ocean as well you could see the observatory on Mauna Kea. We would go to the Beach club each day, beautiful beach, the kids loved it as well, then we would go to the pools in the afternoon, also enjoyed the gym, lots of nice equipment there to work out with, then into the hot tubs. Easy walk around the corner of the place to the garbage hut as well as the recycle bins. We walked to the shops often as well they have a free luau a couple of times a week. The grocery store was handy and had almost everything you could want at fair prices, veggies were more costly but you could drive to Costco not far away about 20 min. There is air conditioner but we preferred the ceiling fans and opening all the windows and doors to get the tropical breezes. Our son loved to jog all the different paths around the resort and other hotels in the area. We loved our holiday in this lovely home and want to return again, the owner was also very helpful and quick to reply to our emails to any concern that we had. It is also a very short drive to a beautiful public beach called Hapuna Beach but preferred the Beach Club as it was closer and we didn't have to pay for parking as you get a key for the place. We really feel that the description of the place on VRBO was very accurate, lovely, want to return. Thank you Tom & Laura! Ken & Hanne
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
1

. A huge disappointment!

  • 1 of 5
What a disappointment! We were greeted (mahalo) with a series of house rules and "you break it / you buy it"expectations on the renter. Lose a key, card, or flashlight, arrive early, leave late, don't empty the garbage, stain the persian rug, leave towels, etc. results in a deposit reduction.The air conditioning and associated window switches were programmed to NOT work to save the owner on his electric bill. The electronic thermostats constantly clicked to off and were difficult to adjust, --also to save the owner money. Very uncomfortable at night. At arrival, we encountered a large rat trap at the main sliding door, and a disgusting grill and associated lanai wall and floor adjacent to the grill.We spent several hours burning off, scrubbing, washing and vacuuming the area prior to cooking. The washing machine and "clean" towels required mildew treatment prior to use.The garage was occupied by a stack of expensive solar panels, rendering the garage off limits (break it/buy it) even during Hurricane Iselle. We visited during Hurricane Iselle and received NO assistance from management, even when requested.On site management was nonexistent.The owners requested that we save their valuable lanai furniture , but provided no assistance for our (5 grandchildren) safety. We were treated as unwelcome paying clients -- never as guests! Also, there was no garbage pickup. We had to haul garbage 2 blocks to a unlit, unsafe, unsanitary dumpster depot .which was overflowing. Our feedback was delayed because the owner withheld our deposit without notice or response to our emails. Mahalo
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter was very unhappy because he was charged $50 for excess cleaning. He threatened to write an ugly review unless his demand for a full refund was met. His party trashed our house. It was only the 2nd time in more than 4 years of renting that we charged for excess cleaning. My cleaners wanted to charge him $100 for their extra time to clean after his stay. My cleaning crew said that they had never seen such a mess. His group clogged our washing machine from excess sand resulting in a $100 service call. We had to have the carpets professionally cleaned ($350) after his party left a filthy mess. Most landlords would have kept his entire security deposit! He did inquire about how to respond to Hurricane warnings and I said that I would recommend that he follow the advice given on the TV and radio but he wasn't satisfied with that. There is plenty of room in the garage for a full size car, while I am waiting for my solar installer to install the panels. My property manager lives less than 3 miles away. We stayed there over Thanksgiving and the AC worked fine. This guest's review is full of lies and gross exaggerations, all his way of getting even because he thought that he was robbed out of $50.
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Sydney Australia
3

Beautiful home but...

  • 3 of 5
What you see in the pictures for this house is what you get. Gorgeous, spacious and plenty of room to move about for 2 families. The kitchen had quite an assortment of condiments & food etc for use which was appreciated. The "nearby shops and beach" were a bit of a joke though. Because of the heat and humidity neither were within walking distance. The restaurants are super expensive and the only alternative is to drive the 30mins back into Kona for a reasonably priced meal (although beware The Big Island is generally expensive). The US owners idea of a beach and our Aussie idea is totally different. We expected some sand--not just jagged rock which made it totally unusable for our teenage boys. The nearest sandy beach was 3 miles away. I've mentioned to the owner numerous problems with appliances that did not work properly and poor housekeeping (I found a pill of some sort in the drawer in my bedroom and toenail clippings on the floor in the great room YUCK) The doors to the lani were badly smeared and dirty and the lock on that door didn't work. I must agree with a previous reviewer about the air con. It would work, sometimes, then would shut off. We kept all doors and windows closed but absolutely roasted at night when it would just shut down. We never had a problem of needing blankets! All in all the house was beautiful but it is not a place I would return to and would only recommend it to others if you want a place to stay and relax and not go anywhere. The pool and gym is a nice bonus
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very grateful for the detail feedback that this guest gave me. I would like to respond to her comments:
All beaches are public in Hawaii. The closest beach is at the Fairmont Orchid, 1/2 mile from my home. She was referring to the public park just north of the Fairmont, which we only use to view sunsets in the summer and not as a swimming beach. The Owner's Beach is at the opposite end of the resort (3 miles away by car).
Most guests choose the "resort area" of the Big Island because they want a deluxe vacation. There are many very nice and moderately priced restaurants in the "resort area". Compared to resorts on Maui, Kauai and Honolulu, their prices are very reasonable. The detailed area information that I provide to my guests also describes Happy Hours at some of our nicer restaurants and more economically priced restaurants at the nearby Waikoloa Beach Resort and town of Kawaihae. I also provide information on nearby grocery stores for those who choose to do their own cooking. Prices in the Foodland Deli (< 1 mi) are only slightly more than what we find in Seattle.
I notified this guest that newly installed batteries in 4 window/door sensors had suddenly and unexpectedly died prior to her check-in and asked her to notify me immediately if there were any problems with the AC. She wrote me twice and said that there was no problem with the AC. Therefore, I didn't have my handyman replace the batteries until after they departed. The next guest said that the AC is working fine.
She reported that the dishwasher was not draining properly 2 days before check out but said that she would wash by hand. My handyman was there in 2 days to fix it.
I forwarded her concerns about cleanliness to my cleaners. They usually do an excellent job and the vast majority of my guests are quite pleased with the cleanliness of our home. They apparently missed a few spots prior to this guest's arrival and have promised to be more vigilant.
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
4

It is a very nice, large house.

  • 4 of 5
A very large house. It would be perfect for three couples as there are three secluded bedrooms with bathrooms. The fourth bedroom was actually a den with a bed (no bath) and would be great for children staying there. The main floor was very comfortable and we spent a lot of time on the lanai.

It was nice to have a garage. There were coolers and beach chairs to use. The pool was great because no one was there. It is also close to a market. There was a small putting green nearby. The electronic door lock was convenient. We only cooked a few eggs in the morning so I can't really comment on the kitchen supplies. The appliance instructions were documented well.

I actually hate air conditioning, however, there were no trade winds while we were there. It would be nice to be able to run the air a bit cooler than was allowed to cool the house down. My suggestion would be to provide a few floor fans to use especially upstairs. It needed a ceiling fan on the lanai. (Again, if there were trade winds it would have been fine).

All in all, it was a very nice, clean and comfortable house. We would definitely stay again. The owner was responsive to inquiries and return of deposit.
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
5

Definitely worth a return trip

  • 5 of 5
We had a luxurious week’s stay in this unit. The layout, décor and amenities were first class. Our group consisted of 2 couples – one stayed in the master bedroom upstairs, and we were in the downstairs master bedroom. We each had our own well-appointed bathrooms with plenty of towels. We appreciated having plenty of hangers in the closets as well as several clothes racks for air drying.

The great room with its large kitchen, dining and living areas was a perfect place to gather. We loved having drinks and pupus on the upstairs lanai with its great view. The new cushions for the lanai really popped with the red color. The place was very clean. We were so comfortable with open windows/doors and running the large ceiling fans - we did not turn on the air conditioner.

The Vacation Home & Resort Info manual spells out everything you need for a pleasant stay in this unit as well as to take advantage of shops, restaurants, golf and beaches of Mauna Lani and adjacent areas. The Owners Beach Club was a quick drive, provided good snorkeling and was less crowded than the beach by Fairmont Orchid. One evening we walked from the beach to the 15th tee box of the South Course to view the sunset. Also on the beach is the restaurant Napua with excellent food and service.

Definitely a wonderful place for a return trip!

Mahalo, Tom & Laura!

Rick & Gloria
  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Great Discounts! New Deluxe KaMilo Home at Mauna Lani Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351574
-(206) 409-9493
Mauna Lani Kohala Coast
Redmond, WA
2

Our experience was not up to expectations

  • 2 of 5
I have stayed in Mauna Lani area in different units multiple times and continue to recommend the area. The resort offers true paradise, a fantastic beach club, world-class snorkel and golf. Ka Milo is very nice overall with the best pool and facilities and I will certainly return to the area again, but will not rent this particular unit.

The pros: The unit has a great view to the mountains with a peek-a-boo view of the ocean. The kitchen is outfitted well and even the knives were sharp. There is an excellent “how to work everything” manual that makes using the unit easy. The furniture is nice and the beds were comfortable. The floor plan worked great for my 3 generation family of 8.

The cons: The unit was not very clean when we arrived, especially the kitchen which was only lightly cleaned. I informed the owner who told me would “discuss it with our cleaning staff. “ However, the major issue we faced was the control of the AC. It was HOT and we could not sleep at night and were sweating throughout the trip. After the first night, I contacted the owner to inform him that it was too hot and asked if the temp could be turned down a few degrees and he declined our request, telling us that previous renters had run the AC with the doors open and left him with huge electric bills. Because of this, he installed a control system he monitors remotely which shuts down the AC if any doors or windows are open and allows him to prevent anything lower that “74” degrees on the thermostat. It felt much hotter than 74 in my humble opinion, especially downstairs. We understand that wasting energy is bad and agree that it is a good idea that doors and windows must be closed for the AC to be on, but it is set TOO HOT for comfort. At night, it does cool down and you can leave the windows open to cool down the unit somewhat, but it is often very windy here and you cannot open the windows at night which leaves you dependent on the AC to cool down. To be fair, I discussed all these issue with the owner before posting who continued to stare "the AC policy is in the house information document, which was available to read online." If you stay here, be ready to swelter unless the owner shows more flexibility than he showed us.
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that this guest was not satisfied with the AC setting. I made it clear in the property description sent to him both at the time that he made a reservation and before check in that I had a governor on the AC, which set the lower limit at 74F. I have hosted over 100 guests at my home in the 3.5 years and NO ONE has ever complained that it was too hot at night. In fact the last guest complained that when they tried to sleep without a comforter, they were too cold!

I explained to him that at the current setting, my electric bill for October 2013 was $1,240 and for July 2013 $1,000. I have been trying diligently to find ways to avoid unnecessary electrical consumption such as installing a solar hot water panel and installing sensors which signal to shut off AC if any on door or window is open for more than 90 sec. I have also tried to get permission to install PV solar panels for the last 2.5 years but the HOA has yet to approve them.

Because of the high price of electricity on the Big Island, most of the vacation home owners and hotel managers limit how low the AC can be set. I had a previous prospective renter insist that I remove the AC limit but I declined and she choose not to rent from me. I wish that Cameron would have done likewise rather than write this exaggerated complaint.

I am planning to install PV solar panels within 2 weeks and will try lowering the AC setting to 72F at that time.

Map

Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Tommy Bahamas
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Mauan Lani North & South Courses
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Tommy Bahamas, Ruth Chris
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Fairmont Orchid
Car: necessary

Manta Ray Dives, Swim with Dolphins and Sea Turtles, Zipline Canopy Tour, Dinner/ Whale/ Dolphin/ Sunset Cruises, Ironman Competition, Helicopter Tours, Live Volcano Flow Tours, Observatory Tours and Star Gazing, Delicious & Entertaining Luaus, Hula Events/ Festivals/ Classes, Ancient Hawai`ian Temples/ Petroglyphs, Historic Royal Fish Ponds ( 2 Miles), Anchialine Pools, Tropical Botanical Gardens, Akatsuka Orchid Gardens, Kona Coffee Farm Tours, Farmer and Fish Markets, Submarine Rides, International Bill Fish Tournament, Deep Sea/ Sport Fishing, ATV Tours, Motorcycle/ Scooter/ Bicycle Rentals

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $259 Per night

Mauna Lani Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High
Dec 20 - Jan 2
4 night minimum stay
$469
 
 
Low
May 1 - May 25
4 night minimum stay
$259
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes 259-469 Vary by season
Discounts: 7-9 days -5%, 10-13 days -10%, 14-20 days -15%, 21-27 days -20%, 28-34 days-25%, 35-41 days -30%, ≥42 days -35%
Go to "Links" section for link to site that can provide you with exact quote.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Mauna Lani Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2489 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gym
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • PC
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Lower - toilet , tub , shower
    Master Upper - toilet , shower
    Shared Lower - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Upper Guest - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Lower Level - 1 king , Ensuite Bath, Walkin closet, Nice View
    Master Upper Level - 1 king , Ensuite Bath, Walkin closet
    3rd BR Lower Level - 2 double
    4th BR Lower Level - 1 queen , Nice View
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Ka Milo Recreation Center is a 3 minute walk from our door and features a state of the art fitness center with gym and junior Olympic lap pool, two hot tubs, lagoon pool with shallow children’s area, lounge chairs, patio tables and a covered pavilion with seating and outdoor kitchen for group gatherings. Our key to the recreation center is in the home for our guests to use the facility. The Fairmont Orchid Resort and The Shops at Mauna Lani are a 10 min walk away. The Mauna Lani Bay Hotel and Owner’s Beach club are 2-3 mile drives away. Our access card is in the home for guests to access the Owner's Beach. These venues offer numerous restaurants, boutique shopping, a gourmet food market, DVD rental and beach access and activities including whale watching in season. Digital on TV in Great Room, other TVs with basic cable, each with DVD. Propane Wolf Grill with utensils.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote