AFFORDABLE FAMILY-FRIENDLY SUMMER COTTAGE W PRIVATE POOL

From
$700
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

John

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AFFORDABLE FAMILY-FRIENDLY SUMMER COTTAGE W PRIVATE POOL

Lake Worth House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom 2 bath plus Loft Bedroom and Office, sleeps up to 8!

'Key West Style' cottage close to downtown Lake Worth nightlife and beach. BIG fenced in back yard contains a private swimming pool, jacuzzi, barbecue grill and poolside gazebo with dining table! Perfect for your family summer vacation!

This house has everything you will need for your beach vacation. Close to the beach-- lots of towels and blankets on hand for the beach or the pool. A closet stocked with lots of games will keep the whole family occupied in case it rains!

Modern open kitchen with extra-large stainless steel appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher) and stocked with everything you will need for dinner or dinner party -- huge butcher block counter top where the whole family can eat together. Outdoor dining at a large teak table, or in the 'poolside cabana!'

57in television with DirecTV and TiVo in the living room, High Speed Wireless Internet anywhere in the house or yard -- take your laptop out by the pool!

Family-sized washer and dryer will keep up with all of the dirty clothes..

** Please note that I am sometimes unable to answer emails or telephone calls during the weekends from April to June and also from May 31- June 8, 2014 -- I am currently in training for AIDS/Lifecycle, a 545-mile bicycle ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles which raises money for AIDS/HIV Services.

Cottage residents will use the emergency contact number during this time, but I will be unable to book reservations from my bicycle. I apologize for the inconvenience, but assure you it is for a GREAT cause.

For more information, please visit www.aidslifecycle.org. Or to sponsor me, please visit www.tofighthiv.org/goto/johnhannum

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered

John

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I grew up and spent most of my life in the Palm Beaches, but now divide my time between Florida and California. My canine kids and I were very happy when we lived in Lake Worth full-time and have a lot of good memories there... I love to share the very tropical, laid back style of Lake Worth with visitors from all over the globe!

John purchased this house in 1996

Come and enjoy my little oasis. It is the perfect place to unwind (pool, spa, suntanning, etc) while still staying in touch with the world (close to everything, high-speed internet, etc).

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

12 Reviews Write a Review
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Honest, Kind and Understanding Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I felt the need to write a review, even though I never stayed here. During the investigation/research for a place to stay, I was interested in this house. John was more than helpful and informative. He answered all questions that I had. Ultimately, circumstances didn't allow me to stay here. However, I'm sure the place is wonderful and John would do whatever it takes to make your stay a good one. All owners should be as attentive as he seems.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words, Sean.
business
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Cute cottage, perfect for a laid back vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My friends and I had an awesome spring break when we stayed at this cute charming cottage. The cottage was located in a pretty laid back area and was about a 10 minutes drive to West Palm Beach, which was perfect for us. We were able to go to the beach almost everyday and when we came back we liked to relax in the hot tub. Whenever we had a problem or a question John was always very easy to get a hold of, and when we arrived at the cottage there was a binder with all kinds of information about the area, which was really helpful. It was a short walk to the downtown area which is very cute. We ate at Dave's Last Resort the last day of our trip and the food was really good!

There were 10 of us that stayed in the house and it was plenty big enough for all of us. The house had everything we needed. Staying at this Lake Worth cottage helped make this spring break trip memorable for all of my friends and I. Hopefully we can come back again next year!

Meaghan and the group
Owner's Response: Thanks for being a great group and taking care of my little cottage, Meaghan! It was a pleasure working with you and I hope you and your group come back next year :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

AS GOOD AS IT GETS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Wow! What an extraordinary vacation. From check-in to departure, everything was top end. Let's start with the check-in. Our first venture began when I broke the house key off in the lock. We hadn't even entered the property when I contacted the owner. With no hesitation, he got a new key. We were in!

The house and backyard were as we pictured it. The swimming pool was well maintained. The hot tub was fabulous. For my dog, the backyard was ideal, fenced in and grassy. The entire family enjoyed that setup.

Everything was clean, neat and in order when we entered the house. The description and pictures of the property mirrored the house itself. The selection of amenities was excellent. The TVs were terrific. The beds were extremely comfortable. The showers were really nice. Even the towels and bed spreads were made to have the renters feel right at home.

Let's talk a bit about the owner. During a month-long stay in any vacation location, things go wrong. In the few instances we needed help, the owner was not only accepting of our requests but acted immediately to rectify the problem we were experiencing. One problem arose that was particularly vexing. The owner had people at the house until 11 p.m. that night, fixing the issue. Don't focus on the issue, focus on the responsiveness. Even on checkout day, the owner made sure everything had gone well.

To recap, the house was in excellent shape. It was warm and inviting. The amenities were as advertised. The furnishings were better than described. Finally, the owner seemed like family by the time our month was up. He welcomed every call and text message. Some, I must admit, were trivial; yet, the owner treated every contact as if it were the most important priority of his day.

Do not miss out on a great vacation. This 1300 square foot gem "plays" bigger than its dimensions. Rent the property and enjoy yourselves. Every day will be treasured.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Jeffrey! Thanks for the review, and I am glad you guys had a good time. Thanks for taking excellent care of my part-time home and I hope you will come back again whenever your travels bring you to the Palm Beaches :-)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
1

Needs some improvements

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
It isn't as nice as the pictures make it look. The hot tub had sand in it. The paint on the window sill in the bedroom was chipping off. The couches were dirty and stained we had to put sheets on them before we sat on them. The air-conditioning duct had black mildew on it. The bikes had flat tires on them. Ran out of toilet paper. The back door screen was tore away from the door. The patio furniture in the back yard was rusty. Pool was dirty we had to call to get it cleaned. If I would have know what it looked like I would have stayed somewhere else. It needs some improvements. Until then I would not recommend it to any of my friends.
Owner's Response: Dear Guest --

I am disappointed to hear about your lack of satisfaction with the cottage and wish I would have known about some of these things when you arrived! As we discussed when you called, I did offer you a full refund for your dissatisfaction. As you can tell from the other reviews here, I feel that this review is a bit unfair. However, it may be a good forum for me to address a few points about the Cottage --

Let me begin by saying that the cottage is a 75-year old house... not a newly constructed place! The pictures are recent and I believe they show the 'charm' (although this renter would call them defects) along with the good. Look carefully and you will see that while I try to keep the place maintained well, it is still an older home (think Key West)...

Now for a few specific comments based on the review:

*The pool and spa are serviced weekly by a professional company. Upon hearing that someone had used the hot tub and left sand in the bottom, I placed a call to the pool company and had the person return to take care of the issue.

*The couches are both made of microfiber and are cleaned regularly. However, based on this review, I have had them steam cleaned and I think they look great!

*I am unable to find any mildew on the A/C and the vents are cleaned quarterly.

*My bikes are not for tenant use, and I have since locked them up to avoid any confusion.

*As part of the initial setup for each group, I include an initial stocking of supplies which are NOT meant to be comprehensive for a week's stay for 8 people. These supplies include 2 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom, 1 roll of paper towels, dish soap (both hand dishsoap and dishwasher soap), hand soap, a bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and a bar of soap per bathroom. Hopefully, this is sufficient to get your group started during your stay.

*There is a spot of rust on the table under the gazebo. I didn't notice it until this review (even then it took me a while to find it). Hopefully, it will last until spring when Home Depot has a good sale on outdoor furniture.... Things rust in Florida. I did replace the metal chaise lounges over the summer with some nice plastic ones, so perhaps a plastic table is in order this time.

*The screen must have come loose but has been re-secured.

I hope readers of this review will understand that everyone cannot be pleased. I do, however try. I take pride in my home, and hope that you will enjoy it as well!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Affordable Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
Golden, Ms.
5

BEST HIDDEN LITTLE GEM IN LAKE WORTH !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I rented the cottage for the week of the 4th, so we could spend time with our daughter, son-in-law and Grandchildren. We had a BLAST. It is everything, plus. John is a sweetheart and was quick to answer any question that we had. The house was clean, extremely homey and our family totally enjoyed our stay. We have told several of our friends about the little gem we rented and now they are looking into the cottage. John you will most definately be having us return everytime that we are in Florida. I can't wait to return. The cottage is anyones home away from home, we encourage everyone to enjoy this home, you will not regret it. There is so much to do and with the pier being less than 5 miles from ther cottage you can enjoy the ocean,the resturants and the pier. Get out and explore you will fall in love. John, we will be in touch with you again. Thank you so much for opeaning our home to our family. Frank and Jackie.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
PBI
Nearest Train
7 Miles
West Palm Beach
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Worth
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Downtown Lake Worth has LOTS of fun places!
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Just a few blocks from the Lake Worth County Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Great restaurants just blocks away

Blocks from the downtown dining and nightlife. Minutes from the beach.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Lake Worth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Base Rate
$1,400
$3,900
7 nights
 
Discounts: 14 nights or more: $170 Nightly
 
Summer
May 1 - Sep 29
$980
$3,000
7 nights
 
Discounts: 14 nights or more: $115 Nightly
 
Fall
Oct 1 - Nov 15
$800
$2,700
7 nights
 
Discounts: 14 nights or more: $100 Nightly

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0.00 + Tax
Cleaning $100.00 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300.00
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Lake Worth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Parking
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Paper Towels
  • Security System
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is between Master and 2nd Bedroom. Bathroom 2 is located in the Office room (with the Loft Bed).
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft Bed - 1 queen , LOFT Bed
  • Bedroom 1 has a Mission Style Queen bed and dresser. Bedroom 2 has a Queen Murphy Bed, which can be put up to create open space for exercise, yoga, or any other activity you can think of. The office/library has a Queen LOFT bed which is accessed via ladder. Please note that the ladder to the loft bed is over 6 FEET.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • eco tourism
  • antiquing
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • jet skiing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • deepsea fishing
  • snorkeling
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • golf
  • surfing
  • surf fishing
  • pier fishing
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
Email Owner Email