FAMILY-FRIENDLY SUMMER COTTAGE W PRIVATE POOL

John

Advertiser since 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

John

Advertiser since 2010
Speaks english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FAMILY-FRIENDLY SUMMER COTTAGE W PRIVATE POOL

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Lake Worth House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom 2 bath plus Loft Bedroom and Office, sleeps up to 8!

'Key West Style' cottage close to downtown Lake Worth nightlife and beach. BIG fenced in back yard contains a private swimming pool, jacuzzi, barbecue grill and poolside gazebo with dining table! Perfect for your family summer vacation!

Please note that the cottage is a 75-year old 1,300sq ft stand-alone home with wood floors and doors, crystal doorknobs, skeleton keys, etc. It is not new construction. It is not a condo or apartment.

The cottage is stocked with everything you should need for your beach vacation. Close to the beach-- lots of towels and blankets on hand for the beach or the pool. A closet stocked with lots of games will keep the whole family occupied in case it rains!

Modern open kitchen with extra-large stainless steel appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher) and stocked with everything you will need for dinner or dinner party -- huge butcher block counter top where the whole family can eat together. Outdoor dining at a large teak table, or at the smaller table in the 'poolside cabana!'

57in television with DirecTV in the living room, High Speed Wireless Internet anywhere in the house or yard -- take your laptop out by the pool!

Closet washer and dryer will keep up with all of the dirty clothes..

** Please note that I am sometimes unable to answer emails or telephone calls during the weekends from April to June and also from May 30- June 9, 2015 -- I am currently in training for AIDS/Lifecycle, a 545-mile bicycle ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles which raises money for AIDS/HIV Services.

Cottage residents will use the emergency contact number during this time, but I will be unable to book reservations from my bicycle. I apologize for the inconvenience, but assure you it is for a GREAT cause.

For more information, please visit www.aidslifecycle.org. Or to sponsor me, please visit www.tofighthiv.org/goto/johnhannum

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
John (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About John

I grew up and spent most of my life in the Palm Beaches, but now divide my time between Florida and California. My canine kids and I were very happy when we lived in Lake Worth full-time and have a lot of good memories there... I love to share the very tropical, laid back style of Lake Worth with visitors from all over the globe!

John purchased this house in 1996

Why John chose Lake Worth

Come and enjoy my little oasis. It is the perfect place to unwind (pool, spa, suntanning, etc) while still staying in touch with the world (close to everything, high-speed internet, etc).

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
selden
5

a beautiful family getaway.

  • 5 of 5
my family and i had a wonderful time in the cottage. plenty of space. even for our dog. the backyard was faboulos. the pool was awesome. there was a welcome cake and milk in the refridge when we got there. theres only one thing that should be done there should be a pool ladder on the steps of the pool. other that our stay was excellent, excellent, excellent and john was there for every little thing i needed help with on the phone. cant wait to stay there again next year. robert and family.
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert. Thanks so much for writing the review and explaining the pros and cons of the cottage. I really want travelers to understand the details of the cottage so that they will know whether they will be happy staying there. I hope you will return and send many of your friends :-)

Thanks
John.
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

We had a most enjoyable vacation!

  • 5 of 5
Loved the cottage, patio porch, of course the pool! Area was so convent for groceries, antiquing, restaurants, and the beach! Everything you could need was furnished. John is a very hands on landlord. He wants his guests to enjoy their time and does anything to make that happen! Will surely return ?
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Honest, Kind and Understanding Owner

  • 5 of 5
I felt the need to write a review, even though I never stayed here. During the investigation/research for a place to stay, I was interested in this house. John was more than helpful and informative. He answered all questions that I had. Ultimately, circumstances didn't allow me to stay here. However, I'm sure the place is wonderful and John would do whatever it takes to make your stay a good one. All owners should be as attentive as he seems.
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words, Sean.
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

Cute cottage, perfect for a laid back vacation.

  • 5 of 5
My friends and I had an awesome spring break when we stayed at this cute charming cottage. The cottage was located in a pretty laid back area and was about a 10 minutes drive to West Palm Beach, which was perfect for us. We were able to go to the beach almost everyday and when we came back we liked to relax in the hot tub. Whenever we had a problem or a question John was always very easy to get a hold of, and when we arrived at the cottage there was a binder with all kinds of information about the area, which was really helpful. It was a short walk to the downtown area which is very cute. We ate at Dave's Last Resort the last day of our trip and the food was really good!

There were 10 of us that stayed in the house and it was plenty big enough for all of us. The house had everything we needed. Staying at this Lake Worth cottage helped make this spring break trip memorable for all of my friends and I. Hopefully we can come back again next year!

Meaghan and the group
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for being a great group and taking care of my little cottage, Meaghan! It was a pleasure working with you and I hope you and your group come back next year :-)
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
5

AS GOOD AS IT GETS

  • 5 of 5
Wow! What an extraordinary vacation. From check-in to departure, everything was top end. Let's start with the check-in. Our first venture began when I broke the house key off in the lock. We hadn't even entered the property when I contacted the owner. With no hesitation, he got a new key. We were in!

The house and backyard were as we pictured it. The swimming pool was well maintained. The hot tub was fabulous. For my dog, the backyard was ideal, fenced in and grassy. The entire family enjoyed that setup.

Everything was clean, neat and in order when we entered the house. The description and pictures of the property mirrored the house itself. The selection of amenities was excellent. The TVs were terrific. The beds were extremely comfortable. The showers were really nice. Even the towels and bed spreads were made to have the renters feel right at home.

Let's talk a bit about the owner. During a month-long stay in any vacation location, things go wrong. In the few instances we needed help, the owner was not only accepting of our requests but acted immediately to rectify the problem we were experiencing. One problem arose that was particularly vexing. The owner had people at the house until 11 p.m. that night, fixing the issue. Don't focus on the issue, focus on the responsiveness. Even on checkout day, the owner made sure everything had gone well.

To recap, the house was in excellent shape. It was warm and inviting. The amenities were as advertised. The furnishings were better than described. Finally, the owner seemed like family by the time our month was up. He welcomed every call and text message. Some, I must admit, were trivial; yet, the owner treated every contact as if it were the most important priority of his day.

Do not miss out on a great vacation. This 1300 square foot gem "plays" bigger than its dimensions. Rent the property and enjoy yourselves. Every day will be treasured.
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Jeffrey! Thanks for the review, and I am glad you guys had a good time. Thanks for taking excellent care of my part-time home and I hope you will come back again whenever your travels bring you to the Palm Beaches :-)
business
Family-Friendly Summer Cottage w Private Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p351506
-+1 5617075920
Lake Worth Palm Beach County
1

Needs some improvements

  • 1 of 5
It isn't as nice as the pictures make it look. The hot tub had sand in it. The paint on the window sill in the bedroom was chipping off. The couches were dirty and stained we had to put sheets on them before we sat on them. The air-conditioning duct had black mildew on it. The bikes had flat tires on them. Ran out of toilet paper. The back door screen was tore away from the door. The patio furniture in the back yard was rusty. Pool was dirty we had to call to get it cleaned. If I would have know what it looked like I would have stayed somewhere else. It needs some improvements. Until then I would not recommend it to any of my friends.
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest --

I am disappointed to hear about your lack of satisfaction with the cottage and wish I would have known about some of these things when you arrived! As we discussed when you called, I did offer you a full refund for your dissatisfaction. As you can tell from the other reviews here, I feel that this review is a bit unfair. However, it may be a good forum for me to address a few points about the Cottage --

Let me begin by saying that the cottage is a 75-year old house... not a newly constructed place! The pictures are recent and I believe they show the 'charm' (although this renter would call them defects) along with the good. Look carefully and you will see that while I try to keep the place maintained well, it is still an older home (think Key West)...

Now for a few specific comments based on the review:

*The pool and spa are serviced weekly by a professional company. Upon hearing that someone had used the hot tub and left sand in the bottom, I placed a call to the pool company and had the person return to take care of the issue.

*The couches are both made of microfiber and are cleaned regularly. However, based on this review, I have had them steam cleaned and I think they look great!

*I am unable to find any mildew on the A/C and the vents are cleaned quarterly.

*My bikes are not for tenant use, and I have since locked them up to avoid any confusion.

*As part of the initial setup for each group, I include an initial stocking of supplies which are NOT meant to be comprehensive for a week's stay for 8 people. These supplies include 2 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom, 1 roll of paper towels, dish soap (both hand dishsoap and dishwasher soap), hand soap, a bottle of shampoo, conditioner, and a bar of soap per bathroom. Hopefully, this is sufficient to get your group started during your stay.

*There is a spot of rust on the table under the gazebo. I didn't notice it until this review (even then it took me a while to find it). Hopefully, it will last until spring when Home Depot has a good sale on outdoor furniture.... Things rust in Florida. I did replace the metal chaise lounges over the summer with some nice plastic ones, so perhaps a plastic table is in order this time.

*The screen must have come loose but has been re-secured.

I hope readers of this review will understand that everyone cannot be pleased. I do, however try. I take pride in my home, and hope that you will enjoy it as well!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
PBI
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Downtown Lake Worth has LOTS of fun places!
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Just a few blocks from the Lake Worth County Club
Nearest Train
7 Miles
West Palm Beach
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
Great restaurants just blocks away
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Worth

Blocks from the downtown dining and nightlife. Minutes from the beach.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lake Worth House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Oct 1 2014 - Nov 15 2014
7 night minimum stay
$800
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
$4,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Pet Fee $0
Tax Rate 11.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Lake Worth House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom 1 is between Master and 2nd Bedroom. Bathroom 2 is located in the Office room (with the Loft Bed).
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft Bed - 1 queen , LOFT Bed
  • Bedroom 1 has a Mission Style Queen bed and dresser. Bedroom 2 has a Queen Murphy Bed, which can be put up to create open space for exercise, yoga, or any other activity you can think of. The office/library has a Queen LOFT bed which is accessed via ladder. Please note that the ladder to the loft bed is over 6 FEET.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Contact Me

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote