Beautiful condo, not exactly kid-friendly
We had a great time during our stat here last month. The condo is beautiful, nicely decorated, and we loved Kauai. During our stay, the owner was super nice and even let us stay in the unit without charge a bit late to accommodate our flight times.
The condo had everything we needed on arrival other than coffee, so we left a little behind for the next guest. It's well stocked with everything you could need otherwise, including complete beach gear (although some of that stuff is not in great shape.. snorkel masks were broken, etc).
The only downside to the unit itself was that it's literally the furthest from the beach in the entire complex. With little kids and beach gear, and heat, it was a truly miserable 15-20 minute walk each way. It's really not feasible with small kids without a car, and that's a bummer in Kauai! The unit is also not a true four bedroom (one is a loft without a door that you walk through to get to another bedroom), which might be an issue.
The real issue for me was after our stay. My daughter threw up in bed the night we arrived and didn't tell anyone until morning so ALL of the linens were stained. I washed them multiple times, and her cleaning lady tried, but they were ruined. I asked how to pay for those, and she replied asking me to call her, which was weird. I have little kids so the phone is basically impossible. I didn't hear a word back until a month later when she charged me over $400 and sent a bill including chocolate on another set of bedding and a broken shower head. Neither of these were told to me beforehand, she just charged my debit card!
The problem I have is that no one even HAD chocolate during our stay. The shower head fell off when we first tried to use it so we just used another bathroom. The TV and electronics were all moved around and unhooked when we arrived, by a prior guest, and I'm pretty sure they did this stuff, too, but I just got stuck with the bill. When I mentioned (nicely) that I was surprised by these charges, she replied (not nicely) that she should've charged me for extra carpet cleaning and her cleaning lady's time trying to clean the linens, too. Holy rudeness.
I understand that this is a private home. But, my daughter puked, and now I'm out over $400, and it feels like they went over things with a fine tooth comb after that looking for anything else. As a single parent, $400 is a big deal to me.
In the future, I will stick with hotels where puke doesn't result in high fees.
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that you didn't contact my On Island Representative during your stay to let her know about the situation regarding your sick child and the broken shower head. The reason I asked you to call me was so that I could understand what happened to our condo during your stay. I got a call immediately from my cleaning gal regarding the condition the condo was in after you left.
I tried to accommodate all your needs, like late check out without a charge, etc but when you wouldn't return my calls and the amount of the replacement linens and repairs added up I had no choice but to charge you which is clearly stated in the contract. This is the FIRST time I have had to charge a guest for damages. We want the next guest to arrive to a clean and pristine condo.
I sent you a 5 page color brochure which shows exactly were the condo is located in the resort as well as the floor plan for the condo. There should have been no surprises regarding either.
We rent our "Homeaway from Home" to guests and expect them to care for our home as if it was there own!! You are responsible for any damages done to the condo during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?