Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Go Back In Time To The Real Hawaii And The Ultimate Getaway.

Karon Hansen

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Karon Hansen

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Go Back In Time To The Real Hawaii And The Ultimate Getaway.

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Hauula Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 bed/1bath beachfront cottage with spectacular ocean views

This romantic cottage sits on a beautiful, semi-secluded, sandy beach. Relax in comfort overlooking the ocean, and listen to the waves breaking on a distant reef. This cottage can accommodate up to four guests. It has a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, and beach equipment. Parking and wifi are included. Just bring a few clothes, pick up groceries on the way, and you won't want to leave once you get here! Lounging, swimming, snorkeling, walking, and picnics on the beach are my favorite things to do; but if you like to hike, bike, surf, SUP, golf, or go sight-seeing, there are plenty of places nearby to do these activities. The Polynesian Cultural Center is 5 miles north, the Turtle Bay Resort is 10 miles north, followed by 7 miles of the world's most famous surfing beaches.

  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Karon Hansen (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2015

About Karon Hansen

City life in Honolulu can be hectic, so I retreat to these cottages in the country for fun and relaxation. I live and work in Honolulu, but originally came from California, then moved to Kauai and Maui, before finally moving to Oahu. I love island living, and when traveling, I like to visit other islands. I'm a teacher, like to travel during vacations, and would be willing to trade time in my vacation cottage, in exchange for time in your vacation home, depending on the destination.

Karon Hansen purchased this condo in 1990

Why Karon Hansen chose Hauula

I've been coming to this condo complex for 20+ years, and go there often on the weekends to relax and enjoy the ocean. I fell in love with these cottages the moment I saw them because they are only 45 minutes from Honolulu; in a quiet neighborhood, and on a wonderful, safe beach for children. Since then, this place has become my 'secret getaway' with its semi-secluded location, white sandy beach, and warm tropical waters. Many TV shows and films have filmed at this location. The homeowners and guests are friendly and many homeowners have owned their apartments for more than 20+ years, just like me. The location is truly a secret spot, and you'll feel like time stops when you're here.

What makes this condo unique

If you have a busy life and want to get back to basics and nature, with modern amenities, but without the hassles of camping--this is the place. If you want to experience a stress-free island lifestyle--this is the place. If you've always dreamed of living on your own beach--this is the place. If you want the benefits of a big metropolitan city and live in the country at the same time--this is the place. Everything has been well thought out for your enjoyment--you'll have an outdoor beach shower, beach chairs and towels, BBQ, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, and peace of mind.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Go Back In Time To The Real Hawaii And The Ultimate Getaway.
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews

Bruners stay in Hawaii

  • 4 of 5

After just getting settled in we had to move because of an office mix up. First place was truly awesome. The place we moved to was nice but on the second level with no deck. Overall was a fantastic place away from the crowds. Will come and stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway

Cute condo, Awesome view!!!

  • 5 of 5

Like others have said, this is not a 5 star resort, but it's just what we were looking for. Cute condo, on the beach, away from the craziness of Honolulu, stocked with beach chairs, towels and snorkel gear.

With that said, it's a bit of a drive away from any tourist type activity you may want to do. We drove at least 45 minutes to an hour each day to our destination.

There's a few good restaurants around, it is cheaper to eat out than to cook. I was hoping to cook more since this property had a kitchen, but found that buying groceries at the local market was quite expensive. I recommend shopping in a bigger town before checking into the condo, the local markets have limited stock at a higher price. Also recommend buying laundry soap pods and dryer sheets at home (we remembered the laundry soap but forgot about the dryer sheets). The kitchen is stocked with bare essentials as far as dishes and cutlery, very few spices and not much else. This wasn't an issue for us as we ate out majority of the time. Kaya's Market is a minute walk away and carries all forgotten essentials and has a small kitchen in the back, they serve good, home cooked meals at a decent price.

The polynesian cultural center is close and it's a must see!

Overall, we loved the condo, highly recommend staying here for relaxation and rest!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and 5-star rating! This amazing beach is definitely a 5-star location, as you discovered. You are right, the drive is long to other tourist attractions, but this exactly why we like this location, and it's the reason why the beach seems so private and exclusively yours. I agree with you about the Polynesian Cultural Center, it is a "must see". By the way, a village market-place opened there this week with lots of cute little shops and eateries. We have many guests who return, year-after-year, and we hope to see you again too. Mahalo. Karon
Santa Cruz


  • 1 of 5

I'm not sure why the place has such great reviews, unless everyone is worried about hurting the owner's feelings. I'm sorry, but I don't want another couple to be duped the way we were.

My boyfriend and I arrived the night of January 25th. Our vacation was a week long, however Karon kindly informed us the unit was only available for 5 nights and she could not accommodate us for the last night we requested, the night of the 31st. This was fine with us so we rented a hotel in Waikiki for the last night. My bf and I are both avid surfers and wanted to stay in the North Shore for the Volcom surf competition at Pipeline. We didn't want to do anything touristy, just wanted to live, eat, and surf as the locals did. We decided to look for cottages and decided upon this one.

The night we arrived it was pouring rain. We gathered our belongings out of the rental jeep and trudged up the stairway to our unit. We had the email handy so that we could look up the access code to get our keys, but we punched in the numbers multiple times to no avail. Luckily Karon had left her phone number in the instructions so we called her for further information. Turned out she had accidentally switched a couple of the numbers around. No big deal. We typed in the correct numbers, and away into the cottage we were.

Greeted by ant traps! Gross. Alrighty then, I guess they have an ant problem. Ants were pouring out of cracks innthe ceiling and marching along the window sills. There wasn't any food laying out or anything, so maybe it's just something that happens when it rains. We left them well alone and they didn't bother us much.

We tried to log into the wifi with the email instructions, but again something seemed to be amiss. The wifi name she gave us was "NeatGear62" of which there was no such thing listed. We tried the next best thing, "netgear52" and plugged in the password we were given. This turned out to be the correct one. I wish someone had double-checked that email before it had been sent.

The worst of all were our next-door-neighbors; a couple with three screaming children. If you're going to label something as a "dreamy beach cottage" please, for the love of God, mention that you will be sharing a wall with another unit. Furthermore, what was between the units could hardly be described as a wall; it was a thin, sliding wooden door which had been glued in such a way it could not be pried open. This was obviously supposed to be one single, large unit that someone

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Victoria, I'm so sorry that we didn't have better weather when you arrived, but the weather is beyond our control. Unfortunately, ants do appear sometimes, especially when the weather is very rainy or unusually humid for some reason. (This was the case for other beach front properites during that storm too.) However, with that said, I'm surprized you chose to write negative comments, and only give us one star, especailly since you received a full refund for your booking. There are reasons why other guests have given us 4-5 star ratings. Simply said, they liked the location, the amazing beach, and felt they were getting wonderful accommodations at a great price! We hope you will come back again, and at least try one of our other accommodations, because we really do try our best to insure our guests are well taken care of, and that was the case with you too. Mahalo.
Northwood, Ohio

It's Not a 5-star Resort

  • 5 of 5

But.. we weren't looking for that anyway. This is a nice little cottage which we found in a pinch after having our previous vacation cancelled by the homeowner. It was just big enough for my wife and I to enjoy our stay. The beach was very close which made it nice to wake up in the morning to the sound of the surf and cool ocean breezes. We were able to lounge on the beach and go snorkeling right out of our back door. There are few grills to share with other guests. Easy driving range from restaurants and other activities. If we ever make it back to Oahu, this will be on our list of places to check out.

  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

awesome vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We just finished our week long vacation and cannot say enough good things about our stay! We arrived extremely late on a Sunday night and we were greeted by friendly, helpful security staff who helped us to our parking spot and unit. Once we got inside we were pleased with the condition of the condo. Certainly not huge but far superior to a hotel room. Everything was clean and well stocked. We were able to cook meals easily with the supplies on hand. The beach front access is what makes this place priceless! Waking up to the sound of the waves and the amazing view was amazing. The private patio is literally 30-40 ft from the sand. Most days we had the beach all to ourselves so it felt like a private beach. It was peaceful and quiet the entire week. We loved every minute of it! We plan on coming back!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

Steps away from ocean

  • 5 of 5

Beach front cottage and listen to ocean while you sleep. Great location and property management very friendly. Will recommend to our family and friends.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Crouching Lion
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Nearest Motorway
Kamehameha Hwy, 2 lane road in front of property
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Hauula Kai Shopping Center
Nearest Beach
on site
Car: recommended

This location is the perfect get-away for families, couples, and retirees who want to relax and spend time on a semi-secluded beach together. It's best assets are the relaxing atmosphere, lovely beach, beautiful sunrises and moon rises over the water, and romantic starry nights. Time seems to stop here and you get the feeling that you've gone back in time to what Hawaii must have been like 50 years ago, and one recent guest wrote that if they could go back in time, they would want to live here!' There are plenty of things to see and do, onsite and nearby, and you are only 10 miles away from world famous surfing beaches, two 1st class golf courses, and the historic town of Haleiwa.


Rates & Availability

From $139 Per night

Hauula Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 13.96%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Hauula Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort ...
  • River ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Separate vanity-sink, WC and tub/shower rooms.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Queen bed, double-size futon sofa, extra folding futon and/or crib available upon request.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Family fun all day long on the beach. Beautiful setting for romantic weddings and memorable anniversaries on the beach in front of the cottage!

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote